Customer Reviews for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System

ECO DVR w/ 500GB HDD iPhone, Blackberry®, Android™ & PC compatible
Average Customer Rating:
4.11 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 118
(out of 118 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
38
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
11
101 of 118(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Review 1 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, Virginia
Date:February 18, 2011

JUST OK

Model Number: LH118
"The Lorex cameras are good but the DVR is an older system, set up is rather simple, preview through internet using another computer is ok...BUT as far as previewing through iphone, smart phones...after struggling on my own for the whole morning following the instructions, I gave in and called tech support and found out that this model of DVR does not support iphone, smat phone preview functionality.
As for my purpose, I needed the iphone, smart phones preview capabity. Hence, I had to return the system to Costco.
I really like Lorex though, tech support told me that the model LH328 will support iphone, smart phones preview.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New North Davis, CA
Date:February 20, 2011

Buy Something Else!

Cons: poor quality, cheap mouse and remote
Model Number: LH110
"Near the end of the set up, the mouse and cheap remote stopped working. I changed to a better mouse, but the port doesn't respond any more. Also, the first camera stopped operating and had to be replaced. All components are of the lowest quality. I've had it for one day, and will return it to Costco.
I'll try the more established QSee."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:February 24, 2011

Easy to Use but Limited Functionality

Pros: unit is small form factor
Cons: 7 user accounts max, 6 character passwords max, users cannot be assigned specific cameras, camera distance must be far from monitored areas
"The Lorex 8 Channel Surveillance System contains a small footprint DVR that is easy to configure but has many limitations.
security is very limited - 7 user accounts - passwords can only be 6 characters - you cannot limit a user to specific cameras. The display names can be only 7 characters long - and the direct interface to the unit takes only a mouse - so you have to logon clicking letters on a display keyboard (cumbersome). Finally, the focal length/angle of view for the lens in the cameras is terrible for a security camera (the cameras need to be too far away to get a wide enough area to monitor which makes the image quality poor and the IR coverage weak.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:BOSTON, MA
Date:February 25, 2011

Good Product, Reasonable Price

Pros: great price easy setup great remote and i-phone
Cons: little confusing on the remote setup.
Model Number: LH100
"Got the 8 ch system, was able to set it up within 1 hour (USED EXISTING CAMERAS) for both remote viewing and I-Phone setup. Called customer support to help me with the setup and they were to the point and very helpful. I own multiple gas stations and I have gone through many systems in the past. Got tired of paying thousands of dollars for a so called "better system" Will convert all stations to this system."
Review 5 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2011

Horrible DVR system and poor video quality

Cons: horrible video quality
"I have a LH108 which is the model before these and get great video quality. I bought these for the Android support and when I was installing them the first camera I took out did not work and the others had horrible video quality. I thought it was the cameras so knowing that my older cameras work great I hooked the DVR into them and got the same results. You can't make a face out of someone standing in front of the cameras and the night vision is really bad. I called tech support and was told to perform a factory reset in which I told them it was already at factory defaults as I just bought it and got nothing further from them. Needless to say these are going back.
I don't care what others are saying about how their system is great and they don't know why its getting 1 star. Lets hope they never get robbed and need to use the video to catch the thief because they will never get a quality photo from this system. But hey if you want to risk it go for it."
Review 6 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MidWest
Date:March 17, 2011

Lorex ECO DVR

Cons: tech support, defective fan, loud noise, very cheap low quality cameras
Model Number: LH100
"I have had the ECO DVR replaced 3 times with each unit having a defective fan, this latest time Lorex wants to charge me for the replacement cost with no guarantee that the fan problem has been fixed. The fan will Squeel and it sounds as if the bearings are going out, it is very loud and annoying. The technical support acts as if this is a new issue to them and I know others are experiencing the same issue. I would not purchase another Lorex unit if they gave me the money with this type of support.
I guess I am a bad review for their company but be warned, when you start having these issues you will get the same run around. Cosco needs to stop carrying this product..
"
Review 7 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:April 7, 2011

Good value for what you get

Pros: great value, android support, lots of features, day/night sensing cameras auto switch to bw
Cons: tech support is hit and miss up to 1hr hold times, insects are attracted to the ir night vision leds, cables have different power connectors on each end, downloading video is very slow even on lan
"If your expectations are reasonable for a value system such as this you shouldn't be disappointed.
If your expectations are to capture photo-realistic evidence that you can zoom and enhance endlessly this system is not for you.
If you want peace of mind that your property has not been intruded upon, or you have lingering doubts about a noise you heard and want to see what it was and have a tight budget this is a great system.
Technical knowledge is needed to configure things especially remote access. Ask your geek friend to help out or pay for the professional installation.
Some advice from my install:
A/V cables do not have the same connectors on both ends. Make sure you are running the correct end of your cables to your cameras/DVR. All but one of mine were run incorrectly due to this. I ended up resoldering new connectors as to not have to climb through the attic af a vaulted ceiling again.
When setting up remote access on a residential Internet connection you will not be able to use the default web port 80 as most ISPs block it. Change this to something like 8080.
When forwarding these ports in your router be sure to include the new http web port 8080, media 9000. Failing to forward port 9000 will lead to authentication failures as mentioned in other reviews. Forward the smartphone 1025 if you intend to use an iDevice or Android. If you are only using a smartphone only 1025 needs forwarded.
The Android app will crash your phone if the Lorex app is not configured properly. I had to pull the battery out of my Droid X multiple times until it was configured properly. Once configured no further problems/freezes occur.
Overall I am happy with this system. I've installed systems costing 5x as much with less features and usabilty. But a lot of that price is for great support.
For the current price (not allowed to post) it is well worth it.
If you are a non-techie and plan to do this without help be prepaired for very long hold times as high quality, prompt support does not exist. But that should be expected at this price.
Decent remote access through the web, iDevice or Droid"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 25, 2011

Buyer Beware

Pros: works great for three months!, lovely "on hold" music on customer service line
Cons: stops working after three months!
Model Number: LH118
"DVR stopped working 3 months after installation. (Unit would continously lockup and reboot every 10 minutes).
Dealing with their customer service department for the RMA was a nightmare. If you like getting continuosly transferred from operator to voice mail then LOREX customer service is for you!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 1, 2011

Gambling with this system

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: clunky interface, known to break down after a few months
Model Number: lh118000
"Although I read some reviews of this system failing after a few months, I thought I would take a chance on it. Initial setup using the Lorex console was clunky, but fairly easy to setup for remote viewing from another PC and was able to view cameras from my android phone. All was good for about 3 months, then system started rebooting every 10 minutes and would not record. Tech support had me update firmware, but it didn't help. They wanted me to ship the dvr to them & they would send me a new unit in about 3 weeks. Didn't want to take another chance, so returned system and will look into buying another system, as long as its not lorex."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:February 17, 2011

Poor quality

Pros: price and smart phone capability
Cons: very poor quality
"The cameras and the DVR are of poor quality. The only attractive thing is the smart phone viewing capability. I returned it the day after I received it. Costco's customer service is truly excellent."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2011

not bad not great

Cons: cameras
"I purchased this unit to replace my old quad lorex system I have had for nine years. (just wanted more camers and other goodies) the system Is not bad, in fact the controls take a bit to get used to then its easy as pie to run. I like the system its self as a whole, with the 22 inch screen.
The cameras however leave a lot to be desired as far as focus. On the other hand the night vision on them ROCKS and is super!!!
"
Review 12 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Lauderdale
Date:March 28, 2011

Guaranteed frustration

Model Number: 1100
"I regret purchasing the lorex security system.
Their support is virtually non -Existant. Spent days trying to set-up access to remote monitoring- as of yet unsuccessful. 1 camera was inoperable straight out of box.
Lorex does not respond to your Email
concerns. Camera resolution is poor.
Save yourself frustration an disappointment doen't buy this poorly made and unsupported product!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:March 31, 2011

Returned- It didn't work

"I didn't get passed setting up the cameras because the DVR box would not output the video signal to my Computer Monitor via the VGA connection. I tried a Dell monitor, an LG monitor, and even tried connecting it to 2 of my TV's with 3 different VGA cables but wasn't able to display the video images to the screen. I called their tech support and they could not help me so I returned it to Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:February 25, 2011

Oustanding Product

Pros: very easy to setup, excellent video quality
Model Number: LOREX LH1885B 8CHANNEL
"The camera system was extremely easy to setup. The cameras have an excellent resolution, both in color (day) and balck & white (low light). The instructions to setup my iphone to monitor my system remotely worked the first time. You do have know a little bit about your router on how to set it up but your router instructions should help with that."
Review 15 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:February 28, 2011

Technical nightmare

Cons: technical not as simply as they indicated.
Model Number: eco 1100 series? 8 channel Lorex
"Was excited to receive new security system. Opened box, began reading.....I am not familiar with GREEK, so I called Tech support to find out if I can even use the cameras in my situation. ( HotSpot Internet Access, no cable or dsl, laptops for monitors) Was told to get cheap router and vga cable (extra $75)and I could get viewing of camera pics without internet and the router would allow me to access that info anywhere in the house. 5 hours later, very frustrated and NOTHING worked. Called Tech support first thing Monday morning, 11/2 hours on phone with them doing remote computer takeover and NOTHING! Was told I would need a professional to set up system as I needed with laptop and wireless hotspot device in house. (And I would need dedicated monitor (extra $150) Returned product today!"
Review 16 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2011

AWSOME SYSTEM

Pros: price point for what you get
Model Number: lorex 8 camera systems
"I have read the reviews on this product and don't agree with them, These units are awsome, we have installed dozens of them with out a single problem, as far as the manuels they are easy to understand, and if you use the quick set up guide it is hassel free. Not to say some could have problems due to the mass number of units costco sell. For the homeowner on a budget they are all you need, night vision works great and a dozen customers are totally satisfied, so you do the math..."
Review 17 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:June 7, 2011

Great product for the price

Model Number: LH110
"Set it up and ran all the cables myself, used online FAQs and had a problem with the software identifying the Apple Airport Extreme router. One call to tech support, 20 or so minutes of wait time, and Miguel was great. Did all of the set up remotely on my computer, and had me up and running in no time. He did the iphone set up, remote access set up,,, everything. Definitely great support from Lorex.
Thank you."
Review 18 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:March 15, 2011

Now has remote viewing with Android

Model Number: LOREX ECO LH100
"I love this system. Very easy to work with. LOREX doesn't show support for Android remote viewing on the older model but this unit and the predecessor LOREX ECO LH100 are both Android supported using Meye remote viewing software. Works great. I would reccomend a buy on this system."
Review 19 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Amazon, South America
Date:March 18, 2011

Good Invisible night vision!

Pros: night vision invisible is great!
"Cams not the best, picture quality a little poor but night vision Invisible is GREAT!"
Review 20 for Lorex 8 Channel/ 8 Color Camera Surveillance System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Myers, FL
Date:June 28, 2011

Easy, Inexpensive, Quick and Feature-Packed

Pros: vga monitor display can be customized in many ways, a kid could setup the dvr and cams, programming from ie page is easy and thorough, thinking of buying another package for home
Cons: the bnc outputs cannot be as customized., programming dvr at vga is cumbersome
"We were replacing our DVR and a few cameras at the Office. I had the DVR setup and working in two minutes. Had some of our existing cameras on the DVR immediately. Setup the LAN IP for our office network, sat at an office workstation and was viewing the Live Cams in seconds. Went to Lorex to create the free DDNS in two minutes. Then setup the Router to Port Forward Traffic. BOOM, now able to view the Live Cams from the Internet. Hooked up 2 new cameras and WOW, these made the old cameras look terrible. Now we are planning on swapping out all the old cams. The color was so bold and the picture was so crisp, no comparison. The only thing that could have made this package better... providing a little monkey to crawl thru the attic and run the cables."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>