Customer Reviews for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor

with 2.4” Handheld LCD Receiver and 2 Cameras
Average Customer Rating:
3.684 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
(out of 57 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
20
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 star
4
47 of 57(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Review 1 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2011

A must have for every parent!!

"I have a pricier video baby monitor that I wanted another camera for. It would have cost $100 to add one camera, and that's all I would be able to add. I saw this at Costco and bought it without any research which is very unlike me. It is amazing!!! And such a great value!! My old monitor would cut in a out if someone was in the hallway, and if it wasn't in the right spot on the night stand would static out when you moved in bed!! I've had a great signal with this monitor and I love that it came with 2 cameras, and that I can expand it up to 4!! And the portability if great as well. I wish I had it when my son was younger and we visited other people homes. It's nerve wracking to leave your kid sleeping in a room where you can't see them and you know they will be freaked out when they wake up because they don't know where they are!! The only thing I think this system is missing is a larger unit that can be kept in one spot to accompany the portable one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chico, CA
Date:January 21, 2011

I like it better than my other baby video monitor.

Pros: bright clear picture, watch 4 cameras at once, easy and light to carry around, intercom function is nice., no popping or static (huge pro)
Cons: 450ft line of sight equals 75 feet in my house, can not use two monitors, monitor has a short battery life of 4-5 hours, shorter power cords for the camers
Model Number: LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
"We have been using a handheld Summer monitor for 3 years but wanted more cameras to watch 2 different rooms at once. I wound up buying two kits, as it was cheaper than buying one kit and 2 extra cameras. I found that Lorex monitor is much easer to carry around due to its size and weight, but it does not feel as sturdy. I was disappointed that I’m not able to watch the cameras from both my monitors as the cameras “sync” to only one monitor. I guess that is great for security, but bad for my situation (we are not in suburbia). Battery life is about 4 hours leaving the video on, but in fairness the box tells you that so it as not a surprise. The video is clear and crisp and the sound is great until you reach the end of the transmission range then it gets choppy. Unlike my old monitor, there is no cracking or popping, which is a huge plus especially at night.
I give it 4 stars due to the “short” in home transmission range of 75ft in my house and not being able to use two monitors.
"
Review 3 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:January 12, 2011

Good not great

Pros: price, two cameras, two way audio, works across my 1700 sq. ft. house, night vision is good, wireless connection flawless
Cons: colors faded and incorrect after a week, everything is green or purple, battery life on monitor not good, but only tired it once, i leave everything plugged in
Model Number: LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
"I like this product a lot. It is inexpensive for a monitor and two cameras. I don't think you can do better for the price. I did a lot of research. I looked into real security cameras and most don't have true two way audio with all the features you get with this. Anything that will work better would have to have a computer on all the time. I use this for my son(not a baby), so he can feel safe. I am disabled and needed to be able to speak to him across the house. I took off one star because after a week of nonstop use the color is now incorrect. In the daylight everything is green or purple, it should be tan. I saw reviews about the distance not being good I have had no issue. I am in a 1700 sq. ft, house and have the connection is good. I will say I do leave the monitor on the stand and the cameras plugged in so that might help but I am not sure. The one time I left the monitor out of the cradle on my bed it did die fast as others had said."
Review 4 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:February 28, 2011

Great monitor!

"We've been using a couple different monitors since our daughter came from the hospital 15 months ago, and we finally invested in one that's worth it! Our daughter has a serious medical condition which requires the use of various pieces of equipment and this has been great. We can have 1 camera on her ventilator and 1 camera on her pulse ox machine. It has great, clear images, good sound, just a wonderful monitor. In fact, we're looking to purchase an additional camera, maybe two, for other uses. I've even shared the info with our nurses who work at night, and she is going to share it with some of her other patients. The only reason I give it 4 stars, instead of 5, is because we haven't used it for a really long time yet. But it's really closer to 5 stars!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:IL
Date:December 3, 2010

Some good, some bad

Pros: portability, two way communication
Cons: vox sensitivity
Model Number: 558232
"Set up was easy. The picture on the monitor is good. It's nice to have a portable monitor.
Unfortunately, the monitor started freezing frequently and the battery had to be removed to get it working again. Eventually the monitor screen turned white and never worked again. The customer service department was fantastic. They sent a replacement right away. The replacement has been working fine for the past two days. I hope it continues, as this product helps me monitor movement easily and improve safety. The VOX option doesn’t seem to work for me. Having it adjusted at the least sensitive setting, it still kicks on every few seconds no matter where I put the camera. This uses too much battery power to make the monitor battery last long. Also, seating the monitor in the charger is a little clumsy and takes practice to get the angle just right. That being said, I would buy it again because of its simplicity and portability."
Review 6 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2011

Good Video Monitor

Pros: two way-talk, two cameras, video quality, size
Cons: vox doesn't work, chipping sound when sound is on
"I don't think you will get a better video monitor for the price. We purchased it because it came with two cameras, and for the two-way talk. The picture quality is good-unlike other video monitors you can see the details in a whole room and not just what is focused on. The VOX doesn't work and there is a cricket like chipper when the sound is on. When we go to bed we keep the sound off, but when our three year old is in her room playing I keep the sound on so I can hear what she is doing. The two-way talk is worth purchasing the camera, especially if you have an toddler/preschooler. For our newborn I use our Angle Care Monitor for all night sound, and the Lorex for the visual. Being able to only purchase one video monitor for both kids makes the price well worth it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:July 13, 2011

works but the VOP is broken

"I like this product, and I Like the price. However if you use the VOP function to have it only turn on when it hears noise, it stays on all the time due to a whiny kind of ringing made when the camera turns on. I called Lorex customer service and was told to just not use that function which I think is a pretty pathetic response to a built in feature not working.
That said the product does what I need, picture quality isn't great but good enough to see that the kids aren't getting into trouble.
Talking to the kids through the intercome FREAKS them out - jfyi :-)
Overall 3 stars b/c the VOP doesn't function and the Lorex response was kinda pathetic, but the cameras themselves work very well with little to no interference."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:March 8, 2011

Such high hopes, but falls short

"This is the second system we purchased, having used the Summer system for 3 years to monitor our two kids. We didn't like the Summer system because it gave a lot of feedback and static, and we had to carry two monitors around. This one seems like the design was all in the right direction, but execution just did not follow through. We'll be returning this system too and probably moving to a different Summer system or a regular security camera system.
Pros:
Compact Size
-Cameras can run on batteries (but why if you are mounting them in a room?)
-2 way speaker is cool (I like telling my son, "Lay back down!" LOL)
-Many cameras on one monitor
-VOX seems like a nice option
-Price was great compared to other systems (sometimes you get what you pay for though!)
Cons:
-Gives terrible feedback - a very annoying cricket-like noise despite which camera you are using and where you put system; we have moved them to every possible place, turned off every electronic gadget that could provide interference, and still the crickets persist. You just can not sleep with this thing on (see other reviews also)
-Monitor doesn't hold charge very long
-There is no visual volume (lights that indicate noise, so you can have it on mute and see if there is noise coming from the monitor)
-No way to upgrade system (via computer) for bugs, software upgrades
-Monitor froze within first 5 minutes (showing a stale view on the screen) and the only way to restart the thing was to take the battery out and start again.
-VOX seems nice unless you have a child who snores, talks in his sleep, turns over, cries out, coughs, etc. Then the monitor screen will be turning on and off all night in your face.
-The volume at it's highest level is so low you can not hear much of what is going on. My son got out of bed 3 times last night and we didn't hear a thing until he was at his open door yelling for us (previous monitor we could actually hear him moving covers to get out of bed!)
-The monitor (if not in charging base) does not stand up on any type of easel. So if you have it on the table in front of you, you will not be able to see the screen because it has to lie on it's back (or end but it's too narrow to stay upright and falls over constantly)
-There is a great deal of choppiness and slight time delay in movement from the real thing to the monitor.
-Cameras do not swivel from side to side much so if we mounted it in desired location, the view would be sideways. Had to alter where camera went because monitor would just not turn in right direction to get proper view.
-Cords on cameras are VERY short so you don't have too much choice in where to mount it if you want to keep it plugged in (barely reached to ceiling height)
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2011

Meh....wish it had better charging/battery life...

Pros: travel friendly/good image/good sound
Cons: charging ability stinks/battery life stinks, camera stops working
Model Number: LW232
"For the price, I kind of expected better. One of the cameras stopped linking with monitor, tried re-linking several times and failed. THought it might be the charger, as when I cahrged it with one charger vs the other it would work...nope..Finally had to write numbers in the back to figure out which one is working with which charger so I can always select the right camera for when I needed. A pain. Also, the charging connector broke off of the "motherboard" inside the monitor and slipped in the unit - cant charge it anymore! Very flimsy how they connected the charging link to the internal components. Tried replacing through Lorex, and they are ready to do so but I need to send in and I frankly dont want to go through the hassle of paying shipping and waiting another 15 plus days. (it took them a week to tell me I could return it). Thank goodness I bought it at Costco! returning tomorrow and ordering again online and crossing fingers that this one will work. Will re-review if opinion changes.
PROS: Very good image! Baby figures out that Mommy/Daddy are in the camera and looks at it to complain out loud! talk back is great feature - PERFECT for travel!"
Review 10 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2011

Falls short of expectations

"Important notes:
-Video Quality is ok.
-Sound feedback on remote monitor is noisy, especially in night situations.
-the voice activated control, VOX, does NOT work as intended - was very important to us, and main reason to buy - the sound mic is so sensitive that the camera stays on, even at low sensitivity settings.
-camera/picture feature is useless. the video quality is so bad that you probably will never take and keep a picture taken by it.
For the price, would have picked another."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 2, 2011

Best Nightvision -- Great Picture - Convenient

Pros: great nightvision sound is good, talk button on monitor is very helpful at night, good picture
Cons: only comes with 2 cameras - would be great wih 4
"This is the best baby monitor I have used. The night vision on the camera is excellent, and the sound feature is also nice -- you can turn it up or down -- the monitor doesn't come on until there is sound in the room. Our child doesn't sleep very well, and wakes up often in the night. I can now press the talk button on the monitor and tell him to lay back down without going in his room. Very often, he lays back down and goes back to sleep."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, Ut
Date:January 11, 2011

Great Video Monitor

Pros: great night vision, big lcd screen, 2 cameras
Cons: short battery life, speaker is quiet
"We shopped around and decided to get the Lorex. It's a great monitor! It's easy to set up and use. The night vision is great and I love the 2 way speaker. The only draw back is the speaker to hear is on the back so it's kind of quiet and hard to hear unless you are close to it. Other than that I would hightly recommend this video monitor."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:April 12, 2011

Love this monitor!

Pros: talking feature, two cameras
"For the price, this is the best monitor! I love it! My kids are older, (2.5 and 5 years old) and I got it so that I didn't have to run to their rooms every five minutes to make sure they were okay when they were in there playing. Now I can keep an eye on them from downstairs and even talk to them through the monitor like an intercom!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:January 12, 2011

Best Monitor Purchase

Pros: talk back feature, no interference or picking up strange video etc., video quality, 2 cameras can support up to 4, price, easy set up easy to use, split screen option between 2 cameras to view both
Cons: none.
"My husband and I sleep on the 2nd floor and my children are on the first floor, so a video monitor is a must at our house. We previously had the Summer Infant monitor that supports 2 cameras. It was a decent monitor, however, we could pick up a neighbor's baby on the camera because it wasn't a secure transmission - a major con. But, having had a video monitor before we had very realistic expectations of this new monitor.
The Lorex is extremely easy to set up & use. The video picture is much more clear than our previous monitor. I am very impressed with the quality. The audio isn't quite as loud as the other monitor, but that is a plus for us, because I felt that the other one was almost too sensitive, we would pick up too much "other" noise. I can hear my kids breathing with the Lorex, so it is still extremely sensitive, but it also has features to have the audio only come on to louder sounds.
The rotating camera & split screen features are awesome. By far, my favorite is the ability to "talk" through the monitor (like a walkie talkie) to our kids. Being on different floors this is such a great feature for us.
This monitor can support up to 4 cameras, which is rare on a video monitor. We only need 2, but its nice to know that we could "expand" if we wanted or needed to.
The monitor also has the ability to use a SD card (which it comes with) and take pictures. Its not really a feature that we will ever use, but its neat, I guess.
Another plus - we haven't picked up ANY interference from our WiFi, cordless phone nor have we been able to see any strange children! Yay!
Overall this is the best monitor we have owned. I absolutely love it & the price is incredible. By far one of my favorite & best "kid" purchases."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:September 16, 2011

Absolutely Essential

"I went through all the reviews that I could find before I bought this product at a local Costco. I was a bit hesitant due to some reviews, but with the Costco’s return policy I was willing to take the chance. It has been almost seven months that we are using this baby monitor daily and both my wife and I love it. My office is in the basement (with a concrete slab over it), and our baby is on the second floor and I lost signal only once for about 2-3 seconds. In our house we have wireless networks, x10’s, zigbee(s), Bluetooth, wireless phones, and I had never, ever had any issues. Granted the signal strength is not something to rave about, but as long I see the image of my baby and hear the sound he is making, I could care less about how many bars there are."
Review 16 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lehigh Valley
Date:December 27, 2010

Just ok....might try another brand

Pros: two cameras, can speak into the unit /2way, can look at 2 cams simutaneously
Cons: battery life is poor, vox feature is too sensitive to work properly
Model Number: LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
"I have read reviews on all kinds of baby monitoring and they all seem to be about the same. This unit comes with two cameras which is great. The night vision is adequate. The monitor unit is in color and you can actually take pictures with it. I thought this was odd but is good for a laugh. The VOX setting allows you to set the sensitivity of the unit in that it will turn the screen on when it "hears" something. Cool idea but not perfect. It can run the battery dead if using the unit off the base. The battery life is not great. The unit DOES interfere with wireless. It does an adequate job of allowing me to hear what is going in the room the camera is in. You can also speak into the unit, as I watch my dog trying to sneak a nap in a "no no" room."
Review 17 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:January 15, 2011

Interference caused me to return camera

"Almost everything works as advertised with this camera and monitor. The picture/audio are great, the handheld unit is easy to use and the automatic night vision is a great feature. However, I think the camera feature is more of a gimmick than anything useful. The documentation says the picture resolution is 320x240, which is worse than the screen on my Blackberry. It might be fun to take pictures to look at on the handheld unit, but they are worthless if you export them off the device.
Although we wish we could keep the monitor, there is a major feature that is causing us to return it. There is a subtle beeping noise every time the video is on. I tried two different cameras and got the same results. The noise is mildly bothersome, but it is preventing the VOX setting from working. VOX allows you to put the display into sleep mode and it turns back on when a noise is detected. This is pretty much the most important feature of a camera or baby monitor. It is incredibly useful to have a visual indicator (the screen turning on) in order to know that the baby is making noise. Our audio-only monitor has blue lights that flash when noise is detected and we have relied on this feature many times in the 19 months we have owned that monitor. The Lorex has a few red bars at the top of the screen to indicate when the baby is making noise, but they won't stand out if the monitor is sitting on a table in the living room. Even if they did stand out, we would need to leave the video on all the time which is a big drain on the battery.
I contacted Lorex customer service by email. It took them over 4 days to get back to me and the response was a joke. To tell a customer to use a different feature of your product really indicates the low quality. Also, they say to try the camera after "powering off the DVR". I never mentioned a DVR in my inquiry and I have no idea what this person is talking about. My inquiry asked if the monitor was compatible with a WiFi router in the house and they completely ignored the question. Here is the response exactly as they wrote it:
"Thank you for contacting Lorex technical support service. We have received your request.
The best option would be to try your camera after powering off the DVR.
In the case of VOX, try to disable the VOX and use the Power save mode.
Thank you for choosing Lorex.
Regards,
Leslie
Lorex Technical Support Specialist"
I would NOT recommend this monitor or other Lorex products. I will be getting a refund and buying a different company's product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:February 2, 2011

average

Pros: size
"video clarity is decent. i can still make out some details. night vision is better than i expected. the VOX (or voice activated feature) simply didn't work. it's supposed to keep the monitor silent so you don't hear "white noise" when there's no sound picked up by the mic. it cycled on/off every 20 seconds despite the sensitivity settings. i left the mic/camera in an empty room.
battery life of the camera lasted less than 5 hours max. i left the hand held monitor in the charging cradle. i guess you can just keep the camera plugged in.
i might just invest in a network ip camera and supplement that with an audio-only monitor.
the size is very nice. easy to hold and easy to mount the camera."
Review 19 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia,NY
Date:May 31, 2011

Pick another brand

"Just received from Costco.
Cons:
- Screen is too small
-Video image does not seem to be live, it does a weird pause/buffering thing when the baby moves.
-Battery lasts a very very short time even if not in use. If you don't leave it in the charger, you won't be able to use it for long.
-2 cameras but only 1 monitor. Not ideal. Can't have more than 1 person watching.
-Settings are difficult to get working properly.
PROS:
Picture is in color.
Can do a split screen on monitor.
Returning unit and buying another summer unit. While we weren't totally thrilled with that product, it was much much better than this product. At least the image is live and there is more than 1 monitor.
"
Review 20 for LOREX LIVE snap Digital Wireless Home Video Monitor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:phoenix
Date:July 5, 2011

Like this Monitor

"I love that I can switch between my twins in separate rooms and view them both. It did take me a while to figure out that I need to push the menu button a few times to view them both and I am still not completely sure how to make the audio automatically switch between the two but usually could manage to do it by toggling up and down. Biggest con would be that there are no lights to show audio intensity like the summer monitors offer. I LOVE the way you can twist the camera's in any direction to get exactly what you want. I also took quite a few snapshots which are cute even if they aren't great quality."
1 2 3 next>>