Customer Reviews for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p Ambient Light Sensor 2-year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
3.932 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
(out of 44 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
34 of 44(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Review 1 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burlington, WA
Date:December 1, 2010

Amazing!

Pros: amazing picture, 3yr warranty with amex card, super thin, great sound
Cons: makes us want to watch movies all the time
Model Number: m420SV
"I've been shopping for a tv for awhile now waiting for the right deal to come along. Originally, I had planned to buy a TV on black Friday, but this years selection left something to be desired. We decided to head down to our local Costco to browse the TV section.
I tend to be really picky on TV pictures, and can easily spot graphical flaws, which drive me nuts. We went up and down every isle until trying to pick the TV we liked best. The new Vizio line of edge lit LEDs really caught my eye. The picture was incredibly clear, motion was smooth, the TVs had a great form factor being so remarkably thin and the price was unbelievable compared to other sets in that price range.
After going home and contemplating, researching and considering our options it came down to one of the Plasma TVs and the Vizio M420VT. Reviews of plasmas tend to be very good, but the glare off the screens (even with anti-glare coatings) drive me crazy and diminish the picture quality to my eyes unless its in a very dark setting. The choice was easy at this point, we went with the Vizio M420VT.
Mounting the TV was a sinch, and because of the TVs light weight we were able to us a smaller mount than what would normally be required for a TV of this size (we went with the SMF1B1 mount also found in costco stores).
After having the TV for a few days and playing around with all the settings we are incredibly happy with our purchase and I would highly recommend this TV to anyone! Go into the store, check it out for yourself if you want, but I guarantee you wont be disappointed.
Also, some people have had problems with the stand, my TV did not have this issue, however I have read online that most the time the issue is caused by people installing it backwards. If you buy this TV and have a problem with it, just turn the stand around and try again. :)"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:January 19, 2011

Outstanding TV

Pros: great picture, easy setup
"I have purchased five Vizios. Bought the 37" a week ago and like it so much I went back two days later and bought this 42" model. Great picture/easy setup. Some people who have reviewed this TV said they had to turn off the Ambient Light Sensor to get a better picture. I did not have that problem."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:December 23, 2010

Great TV with one catch

Pros: great picture and easy to set up
Cons: clouding in the corners when viewing dark scenes
Model Number: M420VT
"Got this TV 2 weeks ago and for the most part we love it. This is the first LCD TV we have owned so it is a big improvement compared to our 15 year old tube set. Very easy to set up and easy to navigate around the settings. One major problem~The corners of the screen have lighter spots (clouding) when the black screen is shown or when viewing dark scenes. Perhaps I got a lemon but after researching the problem, it seems very common with most LED Edge Lit models."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 13, 2010

no Aux-out? are you joking?

Pros: picture quality is excellent, product design is stylish
Cons: no audio-out jack wth?
"okay I have to honestly say
this product has the best price, and the best picture, even better than the Panasonic 699 one.
but IT DOESN'T HAVE the audio-headphone-jack!!!!!!
how am i gonna connect to my baby BOSE speakers?
why does such a famous-high-quality-brand limit consumers only to buy their own speakers?
I don't get it!!!!
i really like Vizio but this "NO-AUX-OUT" design really really makes me sick"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 29, 2010

GREAT TV

Pros: huge and incredibly clear picture
"I spent a long time searching for a good flat screen (my first one), and a good deal. This TV is probably the best purchase I've made all year!
The picture quality is incredible. The only issue I had in the beginning was the "soap-opera effect"... i even considered returning the TV because I thought it was just an effect from HD or LED/LCD. But I flipped through picture options in the menu and turned off the "smoothing motion" option. Back to normal! (the option is great for watching sports though).
For the person who reviewed that the TV leans forward on the stand... I wonder if you screwed it in correctly? when I pulled it out of the box, I just placed it in the stand, but then saw the little baggy of screws. It stands perfectly upright for me when screwed on."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 26, 2010

Awesome - After Turning off Ambient Light Sensor

Pros: thin awesome picture with some work pwr consump
Cons: ambient light sensor
Model Number: M420VT
"Wow, what a picture! When we first hooked the TV up, we almost returned it becuase the picture was so poor. After messing with the Custom picture setting I turned off the Ambient Light Sensor, which greatly improved the picture. Actually - it's an awesome picture."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Thousand Oaks,CA
Date:February 28, 2011

Bad sounds

Model Number: M420VT
"I got it 2 months ago. From begining I noticed that sound is going up and down and does not stay still. Called C.S. they sent someone, replaced speakers and some circuit board. Nothing changed still sound is fluctuating. I am returning this back to Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Ramon, CA
Date:February 3, 2011

Great Value

Pros: great picture quality, great value, 4hdmi ports
Cons: ambient light sensor doesn't work
"My wife and I couldn't be happier with our purchase, especially givent the cost. A quick internet search for this TV model shows other places selling the same TV for 200-300 dollars more. The picture is great (however, the ambient light sensor doesn't work, as indicated in other posts.) However, that wasn't a feature I was looking for, so I don't feel ripped off at all.
Make sure your Home Theater has an Optical Audio jack - I got lucky, but if your HT is a little older, you'll need an adapter."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:January 6, 2011

M420VT

Pros: clear picture, price
Cons: ambient light sensor and dcr
"After turning off the DCR dynamic contrast ratio, the problem with the picture fading during dark scenes stopped. I also have the ambient light sensor turned off. The picture is very clear and no issues after 2 months of use. Very happy with purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lake Oswego, OR
Date:January 3, 2011

good tv for the price

Pros: price
Cons: no audio out!
"No audio out jack! no way to plug in TV ears!
picture is excellent, no problem. however, when watching DVD/movie, picture sometimes goes dark and not sure if it's tv or the DVD player (sony) purchased at same time. we did turn off ambient lighting as i read previous reviews and knew to do that. Not always easy to get a movie started, get a lot of flashing unless i turn tv on AFTER i have the DVD playing.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverside, CA
Date:January 3, 2011

Great TV

Pros: great picture quality
Model Number: M420VT
"Picture on thsi set is excellent. For those who have been reporting problems, the fix is to simply turn off the Ambient Light Sensor in the setup on the menu. I had a problem with the picture fading in and out, and this simple setting adjustment fixed it. The picture is now the bright sharp picture I expected. With the Costco extended warranty plus another year from American Express this is fully covered for 3 years. other stores charge a couple of hundred more for that."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Yonkers, NY
Date:January 2, 2011

OK, but watch for a faulty ambient light censor

Pros: great picture
Cons: faulty ambient light censor
Model Number: m420vt
"I purchased it because it was recomended by Consumer Report and because the picture quality looked excellent. Everything was good fo 1 day. On the second day I noticed that the brightness was flactuating. Eventually, the picture got darker and stabilized. The picture quality was dissatisfactory. It looked like there was a light censor, which multifunctioned. After doing some research, I found "ambient light censor" in the "picture" submenu. When I turned it off, the picture quality returned back to excellent. It appeared that the ambient light censor was not doing a good job. I decided to return TV back to COSTCO because it tells me that something about the brand reliability and because it was a New Year present. Presents have to be perfect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:DCSuburb
Date:December 28, 2010

1+1 = 0

Pros: awesome picture clarity, easy set-up, great customer service, price
Cons: see narrative below
Model Number: M420VT
"Being in the market recently for another flat screen brought me to Costco first. i had some dimensional considerations with cabinetry size, picture quality, and budget. I was very impressed with this set (M420VT) in the store by comparing the overall picture quality to others. I purchased on 11/19/10, and the set-up was a no-brainer. The first problem was turning off the ambient light sensor, no big deal. However, while watching broadcast (DirecTV) or dvd/bluray disc during dark scenes or the black background of credits the screen would lose 50% or more of its brightness. So, time to go back to the menu and manual for a fix, but to no avail. I then contacted Vizio customer service for help. The problem was not resolved with them and there were some hoops to jump through, which I was willing to do, but that didn't work-out either. I then decided to call Costco Concierge Service with the problem and the rep there also tried a fix with settings (no luck). Costco then contacted Vizio so all three parties could conference call. Vizio arranged for a new replacement set to be shipped to me on 12/21/10. I received a call the day before that stating that the tv was "lost" in shipping and that a new set would be received on 12/28/10. I agreed to that circumstance, but later in the day I received another call from the shipper stating that they would ship a set out next day, and arranged to have it delivered on 12/23/10. Well, the new tv timely arrived and I began the assembly and set-up process again. The problem still persisted, and at least that much was consistent. On 12/24/10 I received a call from Costco to follow-up on the service and explained that I was still having the same problem and have decided to return the set directly to the local store. I have not returned the set as of yet, but I will probably buy a Sony, even though the screen size is smaller. I know there will be no problem when returning, so I continue to do business with Costco, although I have returned very few items in the past, and never a tv."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:December 19, 2010

Great Purchase

Pros: great price, great picture, very thin and light., picture doesn't fade when you move around the room
Cons: none that i can find
"It took me about 6 months of looking before I found the TV I wanted with the price I was willing to pay. If you’ve been shopping for TV’s, then you know that the LED/LCD prices are higher than the LCD. So I waited and waited. I wanted the other specs as well such as the 1080P and 120 hz. I decided on this TV and was on pins and needles until it arrived (it was ordered online). Now that it’s here and all set up, I am very happy with my purchase. I would buy this TV again. This TV was purchased for the master bedroom, so it’s not being used as a ‘theatre type’ TV. But the sound is very good and clear. The picture is beautiful – crystal clear. At first it seemed kind of dark, but the TV comes with many settings to tailor the picture to your liking and to the light level in the room as well. We used a HDMI cable which made the picture look even better, but the TV still looked really great without it. So if you don’t want to spend the money on the cable, you don’t have to use it.
All in all, this was a great purchase. I am very happy with the TV.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pensacola, FL
Date:December 7, 2010

Tilt issue

Pros: picture thinness price
Cons: stand design leads to setting it up backwards.
"For those of you experiencing tilt issues with this fine TV, try turning the stand around. The design is not intuitive, because the curved part goes toward the back. In my haste to set it up, I made the same mistake. It is keyed to go oon in only one direction. If you do it backwards, it will tilt forward. After I discovered this, I realized what a great set, great picture, and great price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:December 5, 2010

Great Buy...

Pros: great picture, great price
Cons: no rca outputs, some inputs/outputs located on the sides
Model Number: M420VT
"Purchased this TV to replace a 27" analog set... yes, it was time to get into the current decade. I researched plasma, LCD and LED (edge lit and back lit) TVs and based on technology and price, decided on the Visio M420VT. So far, so good. The picture is clear and crisp. Motion is good. Of course, since I'm coming from a CRT set, any of the new technology would look great to me. I did have a strange thing happen: the picture during dark scenes would get darker after about 15 seconds, and would lighten to normal after about 15 seconds when a brighter scene returned. Tried different picture settings to no avail. Finally reset the TV to default for the picture settings and problem went away. Added my picture settings one at a time and all is well. Don't know what the problem was, but it's gone.
One more side note... purchased a Harmony 700 (Logitech) remote from Costco and out-of-the-box it wasn't 100% compatible with the Visio TV (input switching problem); however, Logitech Tech Support resolved the issue. So, if you do purchase a Harmony remote to use with this TV, it may be necesssary to contact Logitech Tech Support to get things working right (and I HIGHLY recommend the Harmony remote!)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San antonio TX
Date:November 28, 2010

Simply Amazing TV for price

Pros: led, amazing picture, great build quality, cheap, nice remote, low power consumption
Cons: none
Model Number: m420vt
"Not much to say just that this tv is an all around awesome tv. From sound to picture. I was skeptical about vizio cause of mixed reviews but this tv is top of the line. dont judge on picture quality if you have not used it with a blu ray. Jaw dropping colors and vivid pictures. Also i have had no problems with tv leaning forward as stated on another review."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:November 18, 2010

Great picture, features, and price

Pros: 4 hdmi connectors, usb port, media playing capability, picture quality, light-weight, low power consumption, excellent audio quality
Cons: no headphone jack, minor electronic component noise
Model Number: VIZIO M420VT
"I just got this unit set up two days ago and am amazed at the picture quality. HD shows on my DirecTV service are so clear they look almost too good. Blue-ray disc performance is incredible. It has many of the features that one would expect in this price range - which makes this a great deal. Connectivity is very good, but lacking a jack for wired headphones. When you get close to it there is a little noise that sounds like a power supply or similar component - but this is not audible at a normal viewing distance."
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bend, OR
Date:November 17, 2010

Awesome Love it

Pros: picture, razor thin, light
"waited a long time to purchase a Flat Screen and I believe I have purchased the best there is to offer for this price. Amazing picture quality."
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO 42" LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:January 20, 2011

Poor audio Out

Model Number: M420VT
"Make sure your audio equipment has a SPDIF (Optical) Input otherwise you will not be able to to connect to theater equipment. This TV does not have Left / Right speaker output.
The equipment speakers are 5 watt and therefore, audio is very poor."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>