Customer Reviews for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone

with Link-to-Cell Bluetooth Convergence and Answering System
Average Customer Rating:
4.274 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
(out of 62 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
4
52 of 62(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Review 1 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northbrook, IL
Date:February 15, 2011

Great Phone for Land/Cell Users!

Pros: link-to-cell, call block capability, silent mode, call quality, new message alerts on handsets
Cons: no speed dial
"Great phone for Land/Cell phone users! Call quality is excellent, but it's the other features that I REALLY like.
First, the bluetooth link to cell feature worked flawlessly for both phones I tried (Samsung Captivate/Pantech Breeze II). You can program different rings for each cell phone, so that it differentiates by ring from the land line/other cell line. I also transferred all my cell contacts to the phone's address book by Bluetooth.
This telephone system will work with just the cell phones if you do not have a land line. With the Panasonic you can have the convenience of several handsets around the house to answer a cell call in addition to your cell phone, but you might want to be aware that the answer machine does not pick up cell messages (which makes sense to me, as I rather have my messages on my phone). Therefore, if you don't have a landline, the answering machine serves no function and becomes just a 'decorative' device.
A nice feature of the answering machine (if you do have a land line) is that each handset also alerts that you have a message and you can play it directly from the handset (which is convenient if your answering machine is downstairs and you are upstairs.)
I also like the call block capabilities. You can block all those 'out of area', and other unidentified calls so that they get a busy signal (note it will ring one or twice before it identifies that it's on the block list, but that's still a great improvement to me.) You can also add up to 30 other numbers to block as well.
Another cool feature is that there is a silent mode, where you can program it not to ring at certain times (as at night), which is handy if you have a handset in the bedroom.
Talking caller id works great for us.
Cons: It does not have any speed dial. That's one feature I really miss!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2011

Excellent Purchase

"Panasonic has come up with an Excellent product with this Link-to-Cell with DEC. This phone system links can link up to 2 cell phones and a landline (you do not need to have a landline) phone. The setup is simple and you can transfer your contacts on your cell phones to this phone system with a few simple clicks. This has solved a couple of common problems that we have had at our household with missing cell calls. The 1st is leaving a cell phone in our attached garage and missing calls and the second the cell phone is on different floor and we can’t get to the phone in time before the call goes to voice mail. After just 3 days of having this product I have recommended this to several coworkers and friends who have also purchased this phone and are also happy with their purchase. You do need to have your cell phones within 20 feet for a clear call. Now I mentioned earlier that this solved a problem leaving for a cell phone in the car; in our home the garage is just outside the kitchen where the base unit is located. The phone system can also block calls with a few clicks on any of the handsets; it also displays missed calls and messages on each handset. You can program each handset to ring or not ring for each line and set each handset for a different ring for each cell.
This is a great product. If you have a cell phone and want it to act like a home phone or to solve problems similar to the ones that I have, you will be happy with this phone system.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pleasant Hill, CA
Date:March 28, 2011

Better than expected

Pros: uses aa nimh batteries, long battery life, headsfree headset jack!
Cons: too many keypresses for some menus
Model Number: KX-TG6583T
"I've owned several Panasonic phones over the years, and generally liked them and felt they met my expectations. This was the first one that truly exceeded my expectations.
The bluetooth capabilities were more useful than I really thought. I never liked talking on a cellphone, and this system eliminates the need to directly talk on one in the home. I can easily see buying this system even if I had no landline number. And I was surprised at the range of the bluetooth. I thought the mobile phone would need to be close to the base station, but it can be picked up from several rooms away with no problem. It even works if the phone is in the car in the garage, with all doors closed.
The basic phone functions work well, as expected. I love being able to screen calls from any handset (using the answering machine), and I also like seeing both the name and the number on caller ID. The name is the one in the phone directory, if present, not the one that is sent. Also, this is the name the talking callerID uses, so if you use nicknames, that's what you will hear.
The menus are easy to understand, but a little cumbersome sometimes. Too many key presses for some things. Like to erase a caller from the callerID list, you need to press erase, but then it confirms it with a default of No, so you need to select Yes, then enter, changing buttons along the way. I hate it when devices assume I don't want to do what I said!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:N. GA
Date:April 26, 2011

Nice Phones. With Peaves But Still OK

Pros: bluetooth features, bluetooh headset function., battery life, voice quality, bright lage displays, corded head set jack.
Cons: short bluetooth headset range (20 feet).
Model Number: Panasonic KX-TG6583
"I got the phones mostly for the Bluetooth (BT) headset capability.
I have a spare Blueant Q1 and wanted to use it while cooking and keyboarding and such. It works well but not like it does with my Cell phone where I can leave my phone in the car and walk into a convenience store without loosing connection. The range is short as in 20 feet but that's OK. I'm not returning the phones. That is why it looses a star.
The handsets are pretty light. Voice quality is crystal clear and my service is Comcast.
The menu and owners manual is a learning curve but once I got with the authors mentality find it a breeze.
Ringer and speaker phone volume could be louder but not a deal breaker. Speaker phone is pretty clear as callers have no idea I am on speaker phone.
It transferred all 292 of my contacts from my Motorola DROID with no problem. If you have a contact with more than one phone number the phone makes separate listings for them. I'm not gonna cry I guess.
Voice Caller ID is nice but she is a tiny bit slow but I like not having to pick it up to see.
The link to cell over the handsets is great. On weekends I leave it enabled.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:March 6, 2011

Amazing phone

Pros: seamless integregration of cell and landline, bluetooth connection to cell, downloadable cell phonebook to panasonic, regular rechargeable batteries
Cons: a tad complicated for the digitally challenged
"If you've dumped your land line phone to save money in this tough economy, but you hate holding a hot little cell phone in your hands while worrying about cell radiation, this is a great phone for you. You don't need a land line with this phone. You can easily upload your cell phone directory into these phones via Blue Tooth, and any changes you make to the directory in one phone automatically registers in the other two.
If you have a landline and a cell phone, this system integrates them seamlessly.
If you buy the very cool Ooma broadband Internet phone available on Costco.com to save money as I have done, you'll appreciate the ability to integrate your cell and your Ooma phone whenever the cable goes out and the Ooma phone is temporarily not working. Just push the "Cell" button on the Panasonic DECT 6.0.
By the way, the Ooma phone gives you unlimited long distance calling in the U.S. for a very cheap monthly price. For me, it's $3.74 a month.
Thank you Costco for bringing me these products and saving me money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vienna, VA
Date:March 29, 2011

Hi Tech Functions, Flimsy Feel

Pros: system-wide use of bluetooth with cell phones., ability to add extra handsets fairly easily., easy to load cell phone contacts to the phones.
Cons: the handsets feel cheap.
"I recently upgraded my old Panasonic cordless phone system to the Panasonic DECT 6.0, and am very happy with the purchase. I actually ordered two sets, thinking that the second set was cheaper than buying two additional handsets, and was very happily surprised that I can use the extra base unit as a charger, with all of the phones connected to a single base.
I also hooked up my Iphone via Bluetooth, and it works like a champ. If my Iphone is anywhere near one of the phones, I can use any handset in my house to make and receive calls from my Iphone. Way cool if I get calls from work and my phone is not nearby, and also lets me use my Iphone to make long distance calls. I can dial and receive calls on my Iphone from any handset.
Call quality is good. Speakerphone quality is good. Neither is exceptional, but more than adequate.
The handsets feel very light and kind of cheap, almost like a child's toy. But it's still new, and durability has not been an issue for me yet.
I would definitely buy again."
Review 7 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Veneta, OR
Date:February 21, 2011

Excellent Phones

Pros: nice clear voice quality, easily connects to cell phones
Cons: it takes about 5 seconds to connect
Model Number: KX - TGA651
"I bought this set of phones because our cell phones have a lousy signal in our double-wide (metal) mobilehome. They will get a marginal signal only in the kitchen window. I set up our Panasonic answering machine on the snack bar in the kitchen and both my husband's cell and my cell phone will connect via Bluetooth very easily. We are now thinking about canceling our home phone, they work so well. We could use these phones connected to the Bluetooth in our cell phones all over the house.
The only slightly bad thing I can think of concerning these phones is you can't pick up the phone and answer immediately. When you answer your cell phone, they take about 5 seconds to connect. It isn't really a problem but you'll find yourself saying "Hello, hello?" several times before they connect to the person that's calling. After the first week or so, you'll remember to pick up the phone and wait 'til you hear them connect before saying "Hello". Not a big deal at all."
Review 8 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Zigzag, OR
Date:April 8, 2011

Talk on cell and land line on the same phones!

Pros: answer your cell phone from any room
Model Number: KX-TG6583
"Our previous cordless phones were Panasonic and sister, mother-in-law and daughter had them, too. We had ours for about 3 or 4 years and one of the chargers went out. So after getting a new cell phone and a Microcell from AT&T to give us 5 bars of service at home, we bought these as the bluetooth to cell option was enticing.
Super easy to set up and a larger phonebook than the previous version. It has the same ease of copying the phonebook from one handset to the others.
I can answer my cell from any of the handsets and my husband can join the conversation on any of the other handsets OR make a call via land line while I'm talking via cell.
I like these phones so much I bought another set for my son who only has a cell phone. Now both he and a roommate don't have to carry their cell phones around. He only needed 2 handsets, so I took the 3rd to give us 4 handsets as we had before.
I'm recommending these to everyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Park Ridge IL Chicago Area
Date:April 2, 2011

Panasonic Bluetooth Exceptional Convenience

Pros: bluetooth reception, 3 panasonic phones ring when you get a cell call, good price at 100 bucks, never set up bluetooth and was easy
Cons: the phone is a little lite in actual weight, no other cons
Model Number: KX-TG6583
"I hate to write reviews but because this is a membership and a good company.... so here it goes. I love Panasonic telephones..Have many different cordless versions and most are good if not great compared to the competition.
This phone is so so cool , as you can use it to answer your Cell phone (provided it has Bliuetooth capability) on your home cordless panasonics (all 3 of them) . You only need to be within 25 feet of the base unit to get an execeptional signal quality Base to Cell. Plus it rings just like your cell phone ringer so you can identify which phone is actually ringing. So cool its not funny. I have had these now (3 satellites plus the base) for 3 weeks now and never miss a call on my cellphone! Usually i would never hear the cellphone ring...and then i would have to dial into VM to get; my Cell calls. What a convenience!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Redmond WA
Date:March 9, 2011

Great home phone

Pros: works as advertised
Model Number: KX-TGA651
"I've been using this phone for over 2 weeks now. It works just like stated and I don't think there are any issues with it. It has two BT connections and it pairs perfectly with our cellphones when we get into the house. We've answered our cell phones using this phone and it worked perfectly everytime. We've dialled out using the cell phones and no issues there either. The voice promp announcing the caller is a great help. No more running to the phone to see who is calling. And it blocks numbers you don't want calling in. All in all a really great buy at a great price. Fast delivery as usual from Costco. If there is one thing I would have liked, it would have to be integrating with a PC so that entering data would be easier, but then this is a home phone and not a cell phone. I'd buy it again!"
Review 11 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Franklin, TN
Date:March 10, 2011

Disappointed in Panasonic

Pros: good voice quality
Cons: cell phone connection only works sporadically, poor customer service
Model Number: KX-TG 6583
"Bought this due to previous excellent experience with Panasonic products, and because of the Bluetooth to cellphone connection. When first set up it worked fine with 2 cellphones connected. When leaving the premises with the cellphone and returning, the indicator light shows we were reconnected, however sometimes we could NOT answer incoming cellphone calls. Unplugging and replugging the base fixed this, but only until the next time. We contacted Panasonic, who indicated the system only works with certain cellphones. They emailed us a list of those, however the model numbers for Samsung were missing for most so we couldn't determnine if ours are compatable or not. We are seriously considering returning the set."
Review 12 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roseville, MI
Date:March 4, 2011

Great Cordless Phone!

Pros: excellent call quality, very easy to set up, very easy to see, easy bluetooth link
Cons: backlight not easy to reactivate in the dark.
Model Number: KX-TG6583
"This Panasonic cordless answering phone system is really great. I easily downloaded the address book from my BlackBerry, via Bluetooth, which kept me from having to manually enter all my contacts. I can answer cell phone calls easily without having my phone on me which really is a timesaver. Great voice quality and easy to use. I added 2 more extension handsets and it was very easy to register and link them to the base as it recognized and numbered them as soon as they were put on the charging stand. Being able to answer and dial from both my landline and cell with this system is a great convenience and having Costco stand behind behind this product is great peace of mind also. Easy 5 star recommendation!"
Review 13 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:March 18, 2011

Best Panasonic Cordless Yet

Pros: ni-mh aaa batteries, solid construction, headphone jack, sound quality (good-excellent), belt clips (removable), bluetooth link to 2 cell phones, dect 6.0
Cons: phone directory could be improve
Model Number: KX-TG6583
"Just finished switching from Vonage to Ooma and decided to upgrade phones too. We purchased two sets so as to have 6 handsets and paired them all to one base. The bluetooth feature works wonderfully with our two Sprint HTC Touch Pro2 phones. Copying contacts from the cell phones was easy and once on one handset they are seen on the rest. It would be nice if the directory allowed multiple numbers per person (like most cells). Instead it duplicates entries that have more than one number, so some editing is required. Since this is a one time thing, not a big deal in my book. Love the sound and build quality."
Review 14 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Estes Park, CO
Date:March 29, 2011

so far, so good

Pros: functions as a landline, connects to cell phones
Cons: doesn't promise to connect to an iphone 3g
Model Number: Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone - Item# 552613
"A previous Panasonic set that only made our cell phones work on extra handsets (not purchased from Costco) ceased working properly within months, so I was a little leery of ordering this set which also functions as a landline. Our previous experience with Panasonic phones has been mostly good, however. Thus far, I am very pleased with the way these phones are working. Having to try to run downstairs to pick up a cell phone in 4 rings wasn't working. So far, these handsets work great for my iPhone4. It appears from the website that they will not work with an iPhone3G, but we haven't tried that yet."
Review 15 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Banning, CA
Date:March 11, 2011

upgrade Purchase

Pros: you do not have to look for your cell-phone, sets up easy - it is user friendly, you can read the big numbers, it lights up
Cons: i have not found one yet...
Model Number: kx-tga651
"The telephone set I replaced was also Panasonic. It was an older model - 5.8 Ghz, it also had three phones. It was 3-4 years old and as most of you know the replacement batterys (if you can get them) can cost as much as a new Telephone Set. When I read that this Model "linked-up" with a cell phone I decided to give it a try. So far It has done everything they said it would do. It is as clean on Speaker as it is on Talk - it down-loaded the cell phone phonebook, you can make and recieve call on the cell-phone as well as the house-phone ALL while using the house-phone. It was a great buy."
Review 16 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2011

Who's Calling???

"We've had a Panasonic cordless phone with Talking Caller ID for many years (loved it because it clearly announced who was calling), so purchasing a replacement Panasonic was a no brainer. Unfortunately, we can't understand the Talking Caller ID on the new phone. Now, when someone calls we look at each other and say "Who's Calling??". Sadly, the voice quality of this phone is worse than the one we bought years ago. Also, the phone is made of a slippery plastic, with a poorly positioned slip guard, so be prepared to drop the phone. Very disappointing purchase."
Review 17 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lansdale PA
Date:March 15, 2011

problems with fine print

Pros: great if it works
Cons: need more info upfront
Model Number: Panasonic Dect 6.0
"I read about this phone in the New York Times. My friend was so impressed with the possiblity of your cell phone ringing on your house phone she bought one immediately.She was so happy she ordered one for me and one for my daughter.
However, buried in the fine print of installation instructions, after the handsets overnight charge was a panasonic link telling you exactly which cell phones were compatible. Neither of us had compatible phones. I shipped the open set to my son in Texas and learned how to ship a return to Costco.
"
Review 18 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:March 18, 2011

Repeat customer

Pros: everything
Cons: none
Model Number: KX-TG6583
"We have been using Panasonic cordless phones for 10 years, the only reaon you need to replace is to get updated phones. Several members of our family have purchased Panasonic phones as well because they have been impressed with the quality and durablity of the our phones. I purchased this unit for my small business becasue panasonics work great on landline or VOIP phone systems which I run at home and business. DECT 6.0 is the new techology and this unit was half the price we had found at many locaitons."
Review 19 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:March 30, 2011

Good phone for the price!

Pros: good voice quality, bluetooth works great!, large screen and text
Model Number: [Model KX-TG6583]
"We've had the phone for 2 weeks with no problems. The screen and text is much
larger than our previous model. The bluetooth link-to-cell is very convenient
for receiving all calls, especially when cell
phones are in the other rooms. The voice
announcement of incoming calls is wonderful and makes it easy to avoid answering telemarketers. Plus you can block those calls. The quality of voices seems very good. The frequency of this phone has eliminated the wireless 'drops' to our computer.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus 3-handset Cordless Phone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2011

Better than expected

Model Number: KX-TG6583
"I am extremely happy with this system. The range on the Bluetooth is amazing. I was a little concerned that I wouldn't be able to have my phone in the other room on the charger but that's not the case. I can literally walk all around the house with my cell phone in my pocket and it still maintains a connection with the base. I can't tell a difference in call quality although I've heard one person say it didn't sound as clear on their end. Combined with Ooma, this is the ultimate setup."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>