Customer Reviews for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display

Blu-ray HDMI 8-in-1 Card Reader 5.8lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.393 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
(out of 28 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
5
19 of 28(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Review 1 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:N. California
Date:September 27, 2011

Monitor quit after 90 days of use

Model Number: A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM
"My son bought this for college because I, and friends, had previously had Toshiba laptops that held up well to being carried all over the place (business trips, ski lodge, etc.).
However, this one has hardly been used at all, and suddenly the monitor quit. We bought it in early June, started using it in early July sporadically, and started using it regularly one month ago. So, after one month of daily use, sitting on a desk every day, the monitor suddenly stopped functioning.
It was 20 days after the Costco 90 day return period, so now it has to be shipped back to Toshiba, and my son has to go 10 days with NO computer.
I think this is ridiculous. I'm now very disappointed in Toshiba reliability. If it quit after 30 days of use, how is it going to hold up over time???"
Review 2 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:August 9, 2011

Good Choice

"This is my 3rd laptop purchase this year. The other 2 failed out of the box. Finally a manufacture (Toshiba) with quality control"
Review 3 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:san jose, california
Date:August 8, 2011

pixel damaged

"i saw one pixel damaged in the screen, all screen is ok but there is one dot that even tough i tried to ignored, i still can see it so i will return it and get another one, hope is ko next time"
Review 4 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 12, 2011

So far so good!

Model Number: A665-S5185
"I have owned nothing but Toshibas and so far this model has not disappointed.
This Windows 7 machine came preloaded with 8 GBs of RAM and it has performed well with all programs. The screen is 15.6" in size and is sharp in picture resolution.
Overall this model has done well after about 2 weeks. We shall see in a few months."
Review 5 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2011

Blistering speed

Model Number: A665
"Replacing 6 yr old Dell Inspiron that, despite reinstall and RAM upgrade, remained "sluggish". This laptop is as fast as my custom desktop that grades out as a 5.9/6.00 under the MS Window Experience Index. It looks great too and the screen is terrific. Great at multitasking. Only drawback for me (not an expert typist) is the qwerty keyboard is skewed left of center to make room for number pad--a rare feature on laptops."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:June 28, 2011

Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop purchase

Pros: value for the price, fast processor, runs cool
Model Number: 111756323619
"I bought this laptop for one of my sons. The out of the box configuration was simple and I completed it within a half hour. The processing speed is fantastic. My ISP supplies free security software and that installed quickly without any issues.
My son loves his new Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:los angeles
Date:June 28, 2011

Just get a MAC!!!

Pros: looks great!!!
Cons: looks are deceiving
"This brand new windows laptop with all the bells and whistles was running and responding slower than my 4 year old iMac. I ordered the toshiba to do some video editing while sitting on the couch instead of sitting at a desk but had to return it within 3 days for I could no longer bear the pain of dealing with the hang up's of a windows machine.
I thought, just maybe justtttttt maybe things have gotten better in the past couple of years especially with windows 7 but NOPE!!!! not a chance.
So I'm sticking with my iMac and just have to suck it and sit at the desk while I do hours of HD home video editing. I will get a Mac laptop sooner or later :-))"
2 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:June 27, 2011

Fast Machine

Pros: fast shipping and everything works as advertized, nice clear screen
Cons: screen resolution could be higher
"I use this machine for demos running sql databases and this thing is very quick."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MN
Date:June 26, 2011

So far we are happy with our purchase

Pros: size and price, speaker quality better than most laptops
Cons: location of dvd drive and power cord, keys on key board click louder
Model Number: Toshiba A665
"We have only had this laptop for a few days. The machine is fast and the fan is quiet. For the price it is a good deal because it has many nice features. Overall we are happy with our purchase."
Review 10 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2011

Thank Goodness for Costco's Return Policy!

Model Number: Toshiba A665
"Bought this laptop for my son who is headed to college. Couldn't even finish setting up Windows - blue screen of death. Called Costco Concierge and they stated the manufacturer had announced a recall on this laptop. They recomended returning it to my local store and to choose another laptop. Store was great - return was smooth. Looking for another laptop now."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2011

Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop: A good buy

Pros: superfast
Cons: no bluetooth
Model Number: A665
"I am very happy with this computer. It runs so fast I am amazed by its speed. USB 3 is nice. It will be perfect if it had a SATA port. Price is also very competitive for the features offered."
Review 12 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Eastern Washington state
Date:May 31, 2011

Not for me

"Just wasn't good enough for me. There may have been settings to change to make it easier to use, but why did it come that way. Anytime I moved it, the hard drive parked. The web cam was minimal at best. Took more than one keystroke to turn off volume. Mouse pad was too sensitive. Space bar is too hard to work. I had to strike it twice or three times. I took it back."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:May 31, 2011

Blazing Fast with Many Features

Pros: the i7 core processor is really great!
Cons: none.
Model Number: A665-S5185
"This is a full-feature notebook. For me it is a desktop replacement and I am very pleased with my purchase. This is my third Toshiba and I'm not disappointed. I really like the numeric keypad on the keyboard and the well-spaced keys as I have big hands."
Review 14 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:May 31, 2011

Great Laptop

Model Number: Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop
"I intially bought the ASUS that had similar features but returned it. This laptop is superior on every level. Lightning fast, powerful, reliable, and well made. The speakers are also first class."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland Oregon
Date:May 31, 2011

Problems out of box

"First one had dvd problems that tech support could not fix. Could not burn dvd or play dvd/cd. Took it back. Second one also had dvd issues but was different from the first. It was real flacky when trying to play dvd and also would not burn dvd. It's also going back. I'm sure it can be fixed but not interested when it's broke out of the box."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Silicon Valley, golfer, traveler, retired
Date:May 29, 2011

Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop

Pros: excellent value, delivered as promised, excellent for working with digital pics.
Cons: moving in the powered up mode causes a warning., is this warning necessary?
Model Number: Satellite A665
"As usual COSTCO delivered a great product early. I missed the Christmas offering and was happy that I waited for this second oppportunity."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:north carolina
Date:May 28, 2011

toshiba a665

Model Number: satellite a665-s5185
"unboxed this item,, no damage in shipping was observed, connected it to a/c outlet and it booted perfectly.
with about 10 hours of usage, no problems.
it is faster than anything i have ever seen.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, Oregon
Date:May 27, 2011

Worst Laptop Ever

Pros: great value
Cons: no recovery disks
Model Number: Toshiba A665
"Product died in ~3-4 hrs, experienced disk vibration issues and the system failed to boot subsequently. Similar issue was reported by another reviewer as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2011
Model Number: Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7
"Toshiba's support is horrible! Computer is OK, but if you need help from Toshiba, then you are in trouble"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 26, 2011

Very fast

Pros: 2nd generation i7 cpu, blu ray drive, nice keyboard, 8 gb ram
Cons: intel video slower than i expected, no blu ray burner, no win 7 install disks, need higher resolution screen
Model Number: Toshiba A665
"This 2nd generation i7 CPU is fast. Replacing my 1st generation i7 laptop it is very noticeable however the graphic performance is the bottleneck here. The keyboard was a nice surprise. Would be nice if it had a blu-ray burner then it truly would be future proof for my use. My biggest gripe which seems to be the norm these days is the 'make your own system disk' way of doing things. If you want to reformat the drive with a clean install without all the hocus pocus junk they load up on a new laptops you can forget it as the system disks it creates includes all of the junk too so the only way to do a pure clean install is to purchase Win7 Pro separately.
Overall however this is a good fast laptop."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>