Customer Reviews for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display

Blu-ray HDMI 8-in-1 Card Reader 5.8lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.393 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
(out of 28 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
5
19 of 28(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Review 1 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:January 17, 2011

Great buy, but why no Gigabit Lan

"For me this is a dream laptop, newest quad core SandyBridge processor (which is a big performance boost over the i7 740 line) , Blu Ray player, lots of memory, big hard drive, USB 3.0. The screen resolution is a little lower than I'd like, but the deal breaker is the 10/100 Lan. I didn't think anyone was still putting out a laptop with this dummied down network connection. I guess the wait continues..."
44 of 45 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:May 17, 2011

too bad toshiba couldn't hold it's own :(

Pros: fast new i7 nice picture nice having # keyboard
Cons: errors out of box sluggish system, too heavy slippery keys
Model Number: A665
"Only had it on for first 2 hours and had to twice reboot and call tech support!!! It had an error out of the box about the HDD sensitivity, when you get something brand new, it should never have errors out of the box!!! It had to do with vibration sensitivity to the Hard Drive and accd. to tech support, there was a setting to adjust how sensitive the hard drive protection is to vibration (it you are still following, good job!). So I adjusted and moved on to testing the Blu Ray and off to reboot number 1! Now it wouldn't be a windows machine without a reboot out of the box, now would it?! And of course with lovely 7, we now cannot do a hard shut down, we "Hibernate" (guess they are all for medicated suicide!!). At any rate, this laptop will go back to lovely Costco, all for now trying a Samsung with similar specs that weighs less, had a 1 gb of dedicated graphics, and a bigger/faster hard drive!!!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 26, 2011

Very fast

Pros: 2nd generation i7 cpu, blu ray drive, nice keyboard, 8 gb ram
Cons: intel video slower than i expected, no blu ray burner, no win 7 install disks, need higher resolution screen
Model Number: Toshiba A665
"This 2nd generation i7 CPU is fast. Replacing my 1st generation i7 laptop it is very noticeable however the graphic performance is the bottleneck here. The keyboard was a nice surprise. Would be nice if it had a blu-ray burner then it truly would be future proof for my use. My biggest gripe which seems to be the norm these days is the 'make your own system disk' way of doing things. If you want to reformat the drive with a clean install without all the hocus pocus junk they load up on a new laptops you can forget it as the system disks it creates includes all of the junk too so the only way to do a pure clean install is to purchase Win7 Pro separately.
Overall however this is a good fast laptop."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:May 19, 2011

This Toshiba Rocks!

Pros: intel i7 2nd gen, 8gb ram, full size 10key pad
Cons: shipping charge
Model Number: A665-S5185
"I am happy with this purchase. It is fast and will do most of your computing needs without delay. It is equipped with the 2nd gen intel core i7 processor. The screen is bright and sharp. It has a full size 10-key pad which is helpful since I do lots of spreadsheets. Generous 8GB memory and lots of hard drive. Don't worry about the HDD protection warning-it is not an error, it is a built in safety feature on most Toshibas. You can adjust the HDD sensitivity or just turn it off. Set up is easy right out of the box. BluRay is an added bonus."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland Oregon
Date:May 31, 2011

Problems out of box

"First one had dvd problems that tech support could not fix. Could not burn dvd or play dvd/cd. Took it back. Second one also had dvd issues but was different from the first. It was real flacky when trying to play dvd and also would not burn dvd. It's also going back. I'm sure it can be fixed but not interested when it's broke out of the box."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:May 18, 2011

Fast and Attractive but lacking key features

Pros: fast processor; 8 gb memory: roomy keyboard, attractive finish, usb 3.0 and hdmi ports
Cons: no bluetooth, narrow viewing angle of display, no esata port
Model Number: A665-S5185
"Since I hate it when Costco doesn't show the actual model number- this machine is a Satellite A665-S5185 and you can get the full specs at Toshiba's site. It took me about six hours to work out the buggy Toshiba software to actually play a Blu-Ray and create a back-up image. Once up and running the peppy Intel Core i7 really shines in spite of the integrated video and 5400 rpm HD."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles CA
Date:May 22, 2011

Good professional computer

Pros: excellent speed, hdd sensivity protection, resolution, good sound
Cons: mouse pad need improvement, web cam resolution could be imporved
Model Number: A665-5185
"I was looking for i7 Laptop, first bought HP dv6t series. The package was not good , the whole laptop was like plastic . Then I retruned HP and bought this Tosibha A665.
This is much better comparing to HP. We need to update the system software, BIOS, Window 7 . Once it is done the resolution speed are very good . The HDD sensitivity protection tool is very useful one .
Customer support is very good .
Cons : The track pad could have been improved . The volume adjustment is slightly slow response."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2011

Blistering speed

Model Number: A665
"Replacing 6 yr old Dell Inspiron that, despite reinstall and RAM upgrade, remained "sluggish". This laptop is as fast as my custom desktop that grades out as a 5.9/6.00 under the MS Window Experience Index. It looks great too and the screen is terrific. Great at multitasking. Only drawback for me (not an expert typist) is the qwerty keyboard is skewed left of center to make room for number pad--a rare feature on laptops."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:May 24, 2011

Jury Is Still Out

Pros: keyboard
Cons: spacebar
Model Number: SATELLITE A665
"Having problems with the space bar but the keyboard is nice. Having problems with multiple websites where the web page has to be recovered. If I cannot resolve this, will have to return this and hope Costco offers something better. Already returned the ASUS last month which was flimsy. Compared to the ASUS, the Toshiba is nicer except for the few issues"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Catonsville, MD, USA, Planet Earth
Date:January 29, 2011

Received With One Bad USB Port

"Not happy I invested a couple of hours, before learning this, but as expected, no problem with Costco return.
Seemed good otherwise in the couple of hours I used it. Trackpad offset seems odd, why was it not offset to the left? Doesn't seem bothersome however."
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:June 28, 2011

Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop purchase

Pros: value for the price, fast processor, runs cool
Model Number: 111756323619
"I bought this laptop for one of my sons. The out of the box configuration was simple and I completed it within a half hour. The processing speed is fantastic. My ISP supplies free security software and that installed quickly without any issues.
My son loves his new Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Eastern Washington state
Date:May 31, 2011

Not for me

"Just wasn't good enough for me. There may have been settings to change to make it easier to use, but why did it come that way. Anytime I moved it, the hard drive parked. The web cam was minimal at best. Took more than one keystroke to turn off volume. Mouse pad was too sensitive. Space bar is too hard to work. I had to strike it twice or three times. I took it back."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:north carolina
Date:May 28, 2011

toshiba a665

Model Number: satellite a665-s5185
"unboxed this item,, no damage in shipping was observed, connected it to a/c outlet and it booted perfectly.
with about 10 hours of usage, no problems.
it is faster than anything i have ever seen.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:May 31, 2011

Great Laptop

Model Number: Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop
"I intially bought the ASUS that had similar features but returned it. This laptop is superior on every level. Lightning fast, powerful, reliable, and well made. The speakers are also first class."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:N. California
Date:September 27, 2011

Monitor quit after 90 days of use

Model Number: A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM
"My son bought this for college because I, and friends, had previously had Toshiba laptops that held up well to being carried all over the place (business trips, ski lodge, etc.).
However, this one has hardly been used at all, and suddenly the monitor quit. We bought it in early June, started using it in early July sporadically, and started using it regularly one month ago. So, after one month of daily use, sitting on a desk every day, the monitor suddenly stopped functioning.
It was 20 days after the Costco 90 day return period, so now it has to be shipped back to Toshiba, and my son has to go 10 days with NO computer.
I think this is ridiculous. I'm now very disappointed in Toshiba reliability. If it quit after 30 days of use, how is it going to hold up over time???"
Review 16 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, Oregon
Date:May 27, 2011

Worst Laptop Ever

Pros: great value
Cons: no recovery disks
Model Number: Toshiba A665
"Product died in ~3-4 hrs, experienced disk vibration issues and the system failed to boot subsequently. Similar issue was reported by another reviewer as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Silicon Valley, golfer, traveler, retired
Date:May 29, 2011

Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop

Pros: excellent value, delivered as promised, excellent for working with digital pics.
Cons: moving in the powered up mode causes a warning., is this warning necessary?
Model Number: Satellite A665
"As usual COSTCO delivered a great product early. I missed the Christmas offering and was happy that I waited for this second oppportunity."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:June 27, 2011

Fast Machine

Pros: fast shipping and everything works as advertized, nice clear screen
Cons: screen resolution could be higher
"I use this machine for demos running sql databases and this thing is very quick."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:los angeles
Date:June 28, 2011

Just get a MAC!!!

Pros: looks great!!!
Cons: looks are deceiving
"This brand new windows laptop with all the bells and whistles was running and responding slower than my 4 year old iMac. I ordered the toshiba to do some video editing while sitting on the couch instead of sitting at a desk but had to return it within 3 days for I could no longer bear the pain of dealing with the hang up's of a windows machine.
I thought, just maybe justtttttt maybe things have gotten better in the past couple of years especially with windows 7 but NOPE!!!! not a chance.
So I'm sticking with my iMac and just have to suck it and sit at the desk while I do hours of HD home video editing. I will get a Mac laptop sooner or later :-))"
2 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba A665 Blu-ray Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz LED Backlit Display
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2011

Thank Goodness for Costco's Return Policy!

Model Number: Toshiba A665
"Bought this laptop for my son who is headed to college. Couldn't even finish setting up Windows - blue screen of death. Called Costco Concierge and they stated the manufacturer had announced a recall on this laptop. They recomended returning it to my local store and to choose another laptop. Store was great - return was smooth. Looking for another laptop now."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>