Customer Reviews for Taylor Body Fat Scale

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Taylor Body Fat Scale

BIA Technology and Cal-Max™ Feature
Average Customer Rating:
2.583 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
6 of 12(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Taylor Body Fat Scale
Review 1 for Taylor Body Fat Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Meridian, Idaho
Date:January 27, 2011

Excellent for the Price

Pros: price, quality, attractive, accurate, large platform
Cons: didn't come with an instruction manual, doesn't take standard batteries, metallic taste in mouth after using bia feature, must stand directly above screen to read
"Both my husband an I have gotten accurate readings consistently from this scale. It gives readings for body fat %, Muscle %, BMI, Bone Mass & Water %. It stores up to 12 seperate user profiles. It has a lot of features for the price that give accurate readings.
It's stainless steel & larger than most bathroom scales. It looks much more expensive than it is.
As far as the comment in another review that it doesn't give accurate readings; we have not found that to be the case at all. As with most digital scales, the closer a person is to the weight limit, the more likely you are to get an inaccurate reading. Unless you are close to 400 lbs and a scale is medically necessary for daily weigh ins, this scale does exactly what it was designed to do.
It did not arrive with a user manual. Costco's website provides a link to the user manual because setting up user profiles was a bit confusing. Unfortunately the manual from the link has different features than the scale that was sent.
One other item of note is that sometimes after using the BIA feature, there is a distinct metallic taste in my mouth. Not sure what to make of that, but it should be noted."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Taylor Body Fat Scale
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:January 25, 2011

Not consistent readings. Not acceptable.

Pros: beautiful looking, stainless steel slim platform, big backlit display
Cons: not accurate, different readings in consecutive weighings, uses button cell batteries- can be hard to get
"Scale showed 3 different weights in 3 consecutive weighings with maximum variation of 2kg. I also have the OMRON scale and that is always consistent by contrast."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Taylor Body Fat Scale
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:April 13, 2011

Good, some UI problems

Pros: many measurements
Cons: tedious to use, looks messy
Model Number: 5558F
"This scale seems to have a slightly greater variability and about three-quarters pund upward bias compared to my WeightWatchers scale (I put them next to each other on the floor and used each for a couple weeks) ... for example, the WW scale might report 157, 157,2, 157 over the course of a day and this scale will report 157.8, 158.6, 158.2. The body fat numbers seem "reasonable" (I have nothing to compare to), perhaps a *bit* high, but they trend sensibly (I've been losing weight, and the BF% has come down).
The scale has some annoyances, though - it takes too long to get ready to weigh, the results scroll by too fast to copy down easily (so you have to start it, measure yourself, then restart it to watch it replay the last measurement), and the metal surface looks really messy if you do indeed step on it with moist feet (as recommended)."
Review 4 for Taylor Body Fat Scale
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:January 25, 2011

Problematic Scale

Pros: good price
Cons: times out, must stand perfectly still, button batteries instead of aa or aaa
"This scale was a great price, but it is not the best working product I have ever purchased. Using using it is problematic.
It has a large weight capacity, 400lb. When I use the scale, it often times out before it gives me my weight. I'm just under the capacity (370). It does not error out, it just times out and shuts off. I cannot get the BMI index to work in any event.
My wife is irritated because you are supposed to use it in bare feet, no shoes or socks allowed.
I need to check weight daily for medication purposes. If it had cost more than it did, I would return it. I can get it to work often enough, but it's an inconvenience when it shuts down before giving a weight and I have to start over.
It may work better for smaller people or if you have stable balance on it. I find it a little hassle to use."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Taylor Body Fat Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Az
Date:February 11, 2011

Taylor body fat scale

"Great scale, program in your age, gender, and height and the scale gives you accurate readings of your water, body fat, etc.
Easy to program and I like the way it automatically turns off.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Taylor Body Fat Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:napa, ca
Date:March 6, 2011

good value

"Weighs consistently and is close in accuracy to my dr.'s scale (within 2-3 pounds). Great value for the price. Lots of cool features. Easy to set. Very easy to read numbers, but they roll by too fast when viewing body fat, etc... (can't read the text fast enough before it rolls by). Damp feet don't seem to make a huge difference in body fat %, etc, but the athlete feature certainly does. I'd consider carefully before using that feature (read-be sure you work out as it says in the guide, otherwise, the #s displayed between athlete and non-athlete are so different, you'll likely get an invalid reading)."
Review 7 for Taylor Body Fat Scale
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Western Washington
Date:February 13, 2011

Dud

Pros: looks nice
Cons: wafer style batteries are expensive, batteries don't last, inconsistent readings, often doesn't read at all
Model Number: 5778
"I had the same experience as several other reviewers. The measurements were not consistent, the scale often timed out before giving a measurement, and the wafer-style batteries died quickly. I replaced the batteries and the new ones died within a couple of weeks. I am not near the weight limits for the scale. I weigh in at 192.6, or is it 188.4, or is it 187.5?"
Review 8 for Taylor Body Fat Scale
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:March 9, 2011

Rating our Taylor bath scale

Model Number: CP740441033CUS
"We purchased a Taylor Digital Bathroom scale around the 1st of the year that provides incorrect weight and a different weight just about every time I use it. Location in our house makes no difference..
If I still had the receipt and box I would return it."
Review 9 for Taylor Body Fat Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lincoln, NE
Date:January 29, 2011

fine scale

Pros: works well, loww cost
Cons: numbers small need to put my glasses on.
"Scales works fine, but you need to calibrate it frequently. else you get bad readings. The only problems is the numbers are a bit small, and the metal can be pretty cold in the morning."
Review 10 for Taylor Body Fat Scale
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Texas
Date:March 22, 2011

Returned it immediately

"The scale arrived and there were scratched across the front and it looked really cheap to me. I returned it the next day"
Review 11 for Taylor Body Fat Scale
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 5, 2011

Bad purchase

Cons: battery doesn't last
"- Battery lasted less than a month
- Not consistent (weighted myself 5 times in a row and weight changed by 10lbs!!!)
"
Review 12 for Taylor Body Fat Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Queens, NY
Date:February 12, 2011

It is a steal.

Pros: nice looking solid construction, fairly consistant large backlit readings
Cons: readings last just a few seconds, footprint could be a little bigger
Model Number: Taylor body fat scale 5778f
"This model uses 3 aaa batteries which are included. Light weight and compact. Good price with decent quality."