Customer Reviews for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham

Spanish Style Prosciutto. 11 lb Minimum Weight
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
(out of 44 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
39 of 44(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Review 1 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:los angeles
Date:September 7, 2011

Excellent

Pros: great quality great price
"We have purchased this ham several times, it has always been excellent. since it is boneless, we have found that cutting it in several pieces and vacum pack the pieces, is the most practical way to store it. That way you use a smaller piece at a time and it is more manageable. It is delicious!"
Review 2 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:July 12, 2011

Could have been better...

"Had really looked forward to this jamon, having had it in Spain when I was there. It's OK but not great. When it arrived, all the ice bags had thawed, so it may have gotten warm in the two days that it took to get here during shipping. I thought that there was a very slight taste of rancidity, although when I stripped off the fat for slicing it lost some of that flavor.
It was just OK, sorry. I don't think I'd order this again even though the price was excellent."
Review 3 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:June 24, 2011

Be forewarned!

Cons: costco should warn the "uneducated" buyer
"This product should only be purchased by native-borne Spaniards who have since childhood acquired a taste for the tasteless D'artagnan. It is not remotely in a flavor category recognizable by a U.S. buyer as "ham" (smoked or otherwise).
But that's the least of its problems. As an old butcher/meatcutter I can assure you this product is as tough (and I mean "inedible") as a dinosaur's tail. I don't care how thin you slice it. I finally had to turn it into ground meat (still tough)."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:June 12, 2011

Delicious

Pros: delicious, professionaly packed, prompt 2 days delivery
Cons: 20% to 30% fat, needs butcher handling, needs to be refrigerated
"This is delicious ham. However be prepared for the role of a butcher in your house. It is heavy, fatty, slimy. You will need place to store it and tools to handle it such as large sharp knife and a motorized slicer.
The label advises to "refrigerate" it. Hence decent space in your refrigerator. Finally take about 20% - 30% off the weight for fat if you calculate what the cost is per pound.
"
Review 5 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:May 9, 2011

Great quality product

"Ham arrived in good condition on a timely basis. Quality is similar to product I have eaten in Barcelona which was memorable. Ham must be sliced paper -thin for optimal flavor and tenderness. An electric slicer is recommended for slicing"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stanley, ID
Date:May 5, 2011

Buen Jamon!

Pros: authentic serrano from spain, strip plastic keep in cool dry air to mature cure
Cons: since it is sealed in plastic it is quite moist., moisture content makes ham seem immature in curing
"It is great to be able to get genuine Spanish Serrano ham brought right to your door. You of course need a good knife to cut the very thin slices that are the traditional way to serve and enjoy serrano ham. The traditional long, slim, very sharp knife is known as a jamonero in Spain, because it is made for the purpose. Use the closest version of knife that you have of high quality, and keep it sharp. You should be able to see the knife blade through the ham slice if you are cutting it thin enough. Don't worry if your slices are not large in size; thinness is more important than size or regularity (beauty) of slices . Enjoy the unique flavor as you savor every tidbit. My wife, from Spain, has been enjoying the ham daily be it as an appetizer or as an ingredient in a main dish. We bought our first to try it, then promptly ordered two more."
Review 7 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MIAMI, FL
Date:May 2, 2011

GRATELLY SURPRISED

Pros: good price, goodtaste
"WE BOUGHT THIS HAM WITH NOT TOO MUCH EXPECTATIONS BECAUSE HARDLY COULD FIND HERE THE SERRANO HAM THAT WE LOVED FROM SPAIN. WE WERE GRATELLY SURPRISED TO RECEIVE AND TASTE IT. IT WAS VERY GOOD. I HOPE YOU KEEP SELLING THIS KIND OF GOURMET FOOD."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Texas
Date:May 1, 2011

OUTSTANDING

"I loved it. Reminded me of my childhood summer vacations in Extremadura. Ordered 2 more for my uncle and father who are spanish born and they LOVED it. You have to cut through the fat...it definetely does not look like the picture. But the fat is what gives it the wonderful flavor. Just trim it off. All hams are rancid on the outside even the 100 dollar a pound hams in Spain. This is wonderful and a great bargain."
Review 9 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:April 27, 2011

Rancid, underweight

"It arrived packed ok in ice packs... but the prosciutto was literally rancid to about 1" deep and was underweight (not the 11lbs. advertised). Also, the expiration date was about 6 months away... feel its a short time for smoked/cured meats."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2011

D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham

"We truly are enjoying our Spanish ham. Reminds us of Barcelona! Delicious."
Review 11 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2011

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

Pros: great tasting
"REALLY GOOD, AND IF IT CAME ALLREADY SLICED MAYBE IT WOULD SELL BETTER, BUT OVERALL IT'S SUPER GOOD..."
Review 12 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:irvine, ca
Date:April 26, 2011

best ham ever

"delicious when sliced very thinly. only catch is that when you want thin slices you need an electric slicer. our chef's choice slicer (from Costco) does the job nicely."
Review 13 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:April 25, 2011

Very good ham

Pros: a lot of ham..good ham
Cons: a lot of ham - need to share
"Taste very good. Even the fats (about 3 lbs) smell real good. I ended up about 10 lbs of ham. Good price for Spanish hams.
I have no problem slicing it as others had mentioned. Just need a sharp knife. It's tricky to slice it real thin, otherwise it becomes a little bit chewy, just a little."
Review 14 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:April 22, 2011

Excellent

Pros: excellent, very unexpensive
"The ones that are not use to eat Jamon Serrano, will have dificult at first, but the Serrano Ham is delicious and remember that you may start eating small very very thin portions with bread and some fruti such as Nectarine, Mellon, Strawberry or Apple, you'll need an expert to cut it, but once you learn, it will be a diferent ball game. (take a look at the prosciuto in the market the one pakage and you will know how thin the portios may be)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2011
"Very good Jamon Serrano. We ordered one,
enjoyed it and ordered another. Hope costco continues to carry this product.
"
Review 16 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hunterton County, New Jersey
Date:April 18, 2011

Authentic

"This ham tastes just like the ham we had in Spain! When I saw it online, I had to give it a try. Well worth the money."
Review 17 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2011

Great value

Pros: great taste and value
"Nice product - as the owner of a Castillian Spanish restaurant, we use Serrano ham in a number of dishes. The hams we bought from Costco are an excellent value and meet or exceed the quality of our wholesale importers."
Review 18 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Date:April 14, 2011

D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham

Pros: very tasty, not too salty
Cons: none
Model Number: Item # 555867
"Excellent Jamon Serrano. Must be cut very
thin with a good Jamon Knife to fully
enjoy this Jamon. Ordered another one after the first passed the taste test. Goes great with red wine and as a tapa.
"
Review 19 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:April 14, 2011

Serrano Ham

"Best piece of Serrano ham i've tasted outside of Spain!!"
Review 20 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sunny Isles, FL
Date:April 13, 2011

Buen Jamon

Pros: not salty, not much fat, 5.9 kg my received piece
Cons: needs boneless jamonero
"After 3 years of continuous visits to Spain, I was looking for some Spanish jamon. It was difficult to bring with me more than 3 pounds on every trip. La tienda had jamon serrano but was listed for more than $300. This jamon is not the best as the one from Salamanca region, but its very good, not salty like the other deplorable Canadian jamon sold by Costco. I have the knifes to cut the slices, but will buy a jamenero to grip while I cut, has to be of the boneless press type. Make sure you buy along some Manchego cheese, Vigo squid and some La Rioja wine, all sold by my local Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>