Customer Reviews for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham

Spanish Style Prosciutto. 11 lb Minimum Weight
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
(out of 44 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
39 of 44(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Review 1 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Gatos, CA
Date:December 20, 2010

Things to Consider

Pros: nice flavour, some fat trim good to use as pancetta, nice product depending on your price tolerance.
Cons: not as illustrated very fatty, not as shown in illustration on retailer's site.
"Jamon is a high end gourmand's treat and this ham is made in that style, though it is not Jamon Iberico. A reasonably worthy second runner up.
I received a substantial sized package which revealed a well packed and cool ham in a leg shape.
Unwrapping the ham revealed a large piece enclosed in sturdy plastic vacuum wrap. Inside the wrap was a product not as shown in the image of the product on the retailer site. The ham is enclosed in a thick layer of fat, which is necessary for the long timeframe cure without chemical preservatives.
I trimmed the fat layer and sliced with an electric meat slicer, then repackaged in 1.5 lb FoodSaver (yes, Costco item) vacuum packages.
This ham is good. Some of it, approximately 10% of usable, is a bit tough (gristly).
Yield from a [claimed] 12.15 lb ham was 3 lbs 6 oz fat with 8 lbs 8 oz well marbled edible.
Serving suggestions:
Multi grain cracker spread with cranberry bourbon mustard and a slice of this ham. Quite nice.
Cracker of choice with a slice of this ham, a dollop of soft mild creamy cheese and a drizzle of honey. Lovely.
Bon appétit, Diane
"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sunny Isles, FL
Date:April 13, 2011

Buen Jamon

Pros: not salty, not much fat, 5.9 kg my received piece
Cons: needs boneless jamonero
"After 3 years of continuous visits to Spain, I was looking for some Spanish jamon. It was difficult to bring with me more than 3 pounds on every trip. La tienda had jamon serrano but was listed for more than $300. This jamon is not the best as the one from Salamanca region, but its very good, not salty like the other deplorable Canadian jamon sold by Costco. I have the knifes to cut the slices, but will buy a jamenero to grip while I cut, has to be of the boneless press type. Make sure you buy along some Manchego cheese, Vigo squid and some La Rioja wine, all sold by my local Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stanley, ID
Date:May 5, 2011

Buen Jamon!

Pros: authentic serrano from spain, strip plastic keep in cool dry air to mature cure
Cons: since it is sealed in plastic it is quite moist., moisture content makes ham seem immature in curing
"It is great to be able to get genuine Spanish Serrano ham brought right to your door. You of course need a good knife to cut the very thin slices that are the traditional way to serve and enjoy serrano ham. The traditional long, slim, very sharp knife is known as a jamonero in Spain, because it is made for the purpose. Use the closest version of knife that you have of high quality, and keep it sharp. You should be able to see the knife blade through the ham slice if you are cutting it thin enough. Don't worry if your slices are not large in size; thinness is more important than size or regularity (beauty) of slices . Enjoy the unique flavor as you savor every tidbit. My wife, from Spain, has been enjoying the ham daily be it as an appetizer or as an ingredient in a main dish. We bought our first to try it, then promptly ordered two more."
Review 4 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:April 22, 2011

Excellent

Pros: excellent, very unexpensive
"The ones that are not use to eat Jamon Serrano, will have dificult at first, but the Serrano Ham is delicious and remember that you may start eating small very very thin portions with bread and some fruti such as Nectarine, Mellon, Strawberry or Apple, you'll need an expert to cut it, but once you learn, it will be a diferent ball game. (take a look at the prosciuto in the market the one pakage and you will know how thin the portios may be)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thornhurst, Pa
Date:April 4, 2011

Good deal

Pros: great taste, great price
Cons: tough to chew
"Tried this for the first time due to the deal. I dont have a serrano ham knife or holder but my shun knives made short work of it. The trimming cuts alittle over 3 pounds of waste off. I am getting a food slicer to cut the transparent slices needed. This would be tough to eat without paper thin slices from a food slicer. Great taste though and it is better than prosciutto."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:January 14, 2011

Excellent Price / Excellent Jamon Serrano

"Genuine Jamon Serrano, from Spanish raised pigs and cured in Spain.
Great taste, great aroma, great price - Much better than any prosciutto. Comes second only to Jamon de Pata Negra.
You will need a food slicer though- and highly recommend a vacuum seal because it is a lot of ham.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Florida
Date:December 20, 2010

Highly recommended

Pros: smells and tastes great!, excellent price and good shelf life.
Cons: none
"I know Jamon Serrano from Spain, this is one of the best. The range of price- quality it's superior. Besides the great flavor, I was very impressed with the low salt content. Congratulations Costco, You made a spaniard very happy with this purchase!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MIAMI, FL
Date:May 2, 2011

GRATELLY SURPRISED

Pros: good price, goodtaste
"WE BOUGHT THIS HAM WITH NOT TOO MUCH EXPECTATIONS BECAUSE HARDLY COULD FIND HERE THE SERRANO HAM THAT WE LOVED FROM SPAIN. WE WERE GRATELLY SURPRISED TO RECEIVE AND TASTE IT. IT WAS VERY GOOD. I HOPE YOU KEEP SELLING THIS KIND OF GOURMET FOOD."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:May 9, 2011

Great quality product

"Ham arrived in good condition on a timely basis. Quality is similar to product I have eaten in Barcelona which was memorable. Ham must be sliced paper -thin for optimal flavor and tenderness. An electric slicer is recommended for slicing"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2010

Excellent ham

Pros: huge nitrate-free prosciutto-like ham for party
Cons: you'll have plenty left unless your party has 500!
"I love the fact that this ham is cured only with sea salt (no nitrates)! I ordered this for a party where we had champagne, heavy h'ors deuvres and about 100 people. Before the party we got through the fat rind and into the center where the meat was more tender and less bitter. We would occasionally get a bitter, tougher bite of the outside but that's not my taste. The thing is huge! We only ate maybe 2 lbs of the ham at the party. Had numerous compliments. People really liked picking at the cuttings. Only question now: where do I serve the remainder?"
Review 11 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:December 15, 2010

Excellent for a large crowd

Pros: something different and easy to serve.
Cons: slicing and trimming takes a little time.
"Superb delivery - it arrived in 2 days. An excellent purchase all in all. You need to have a very sharp knife to slice it. Trimming takes some time, because when you arrange slices attractively on a platter, you want the fat off. The slices from the end were a little tough, but then further into the center of the ham, they got softer. The taste is delicious, had a hint of sage in it in my opinion. Brought a platter to a party and the slices disappeared in a matter of minutes. Delicious fried in pan with potatoes. Definitely worth a try."
Review 12 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orlando
Date:April 13, 2011

Good Value

Pros: great price/value
Cons: a lot of work
"When comparing to the cost of Serrano from other sources this was a steal. Yes, there is work involved but at less than half the unit price, even after factoring in the waste from rind and fat, it is a good value. I would not recommend this purchase unless you have a reasonably good electric slicer (not an electric knife). I would also recommend that you slice it all, neatly stack the slices and vacuum seal it in smaller portions and freeze some for later use. The taste is excellent and it does not appear to suffer from freezing."
Review 13 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Corona, Ca
Date:December 25, 2010

Good but not worth the trouble

Pros: taste
Cons: too fatty cumbersome to slice
"Found the slicing and cutting too cumbersome and time consuming plus a great deal of waste. Lean portions are tasty and go great served with grilled peppers & olives. A good carving set a MUST!!!
Won't order again.
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:June 24, 2011

Be forewarned!

Cons: costco should warn the "uneducated" buyer
"This product should only be purchased by native-borne Spaniards who have since childhood acquired a taste for the tasteless D'artagnan. It is not remotely in a flavor category recognizable by a U.S. buyer as "ham" (smoked or otherwise).
But that's the least of its problems. As an old butcher/meatcutter I can assure you this product is as tough (and I mean "inedible") as a dinosaur's tail. I don't care how thin you slice it. I finally had to turn it into ground meat (still tough)."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:July 12, 2011

Could have been better...

"Had really looked forward to this jamon, having had it in Spain when I was there. It's OK but not great. When it arrived, all the ice bags had thawed, so it may have gotten warm in the two days that it took to get here during shipping. I thought that there was a very slight taste of rancidity, although when I stripped off the fat for slicing it lost some of that flavor.
It was just OK, sorry. I don't think I'd order this again even though the price was excellent."
Review 16 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Texas
Date:May 1, 2011

OUTSTANDING

"I loved it. Reminded me of my childhood summer vacations in Extremadura. Ordered 2 more for my uncle and father who are spanish born and they LOVED it. You have to cut through the fat...it definetely does not look like the picture. But the fat is what gives it the wonderful flavor. Just trim it off. All hams are rancid on the outside even the 100 dollar a pound hams in Spain. This is wonderful and a great bargain."
Review 17 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:northern california
Date:December 17, 2010

small expensive disaster

Cons: hard tough unchewable
Model Number: spanish ham
"First Costco purchase for us that wasn't a great success Unusable actually - shipping
container broken - leaking melted ice pac ks
Meat impossible to cut - could shave a bit off surface but too tough to chew unless cooked like bacon then crispy
We bought two and then gave it to local food bank as we couldn't carve or chew
hoping that some local folks with Spanish food experience could enjoy
"
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:June 12, 2011

Delicious

Pros: delicious, professionaly packed, prompt 2 days delivery
Cons: 20% to 30% fat, needs butcher handling, needs to be refrigerated
"This is delicious ham. However be prepared for the role of a butcher in your house. It is heavy, fatty, slimy. You will need place to store it and tools to handle it such as large sharp knife and a motorized slicer.
The label advises to "refrigerate" it. Hence decent space in your refrigerator. Finally take about 20% - 30% off the weight for fat if you calculate what the cost is per pound.
"
Review 19 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:April 13, 2011

Finally very good serrano at a descent price

"I recently moved from Europe to the US and really missed the Spanish serrano I used to eat regularly. Thanks to Costco I can enjoy this delicious ham again at a very reasonable price. This is REAL serrano ; and is best enjoyed when you slice it very thin. Definitely a good pick, Costco. Thank you!"
Review 20 for D'Artagnan Boneless Jamon Serrano Ham
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:los angeles
Date:September 7, 2011

Excellent

Pros: great quality great price
"We have purchased this ham several times, it has always been excellent. since it is boneless, we have found that cutting it in several pieces and vacum pack the pieces, is the most practical way to store it. That way you use a smaller piece at a time and it is more manageable. It is delicious!"
1 2 3 next>>