Customer Reviews for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet

Print/Scan/Copy/Fax
Average Customer Rating:
3.466 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(307 Reviews) 307
(out of 307 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (307 reviews)
5 stars
129
4 stars
50
3 stars
26
2 stars
39
1 star
63
185 of 307(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Review 1 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cave Creek, AZ
Date:November 6, 2013

Fantastic Buy!

Pros: consistently perfect with rarely a glitch., two sided printing, completely wireless, a great buy at this price
Cons: for some work at home business some may think tho, would enjoy an upgraded scan software
Model Number: 8600
"I have had this printer for over a year. And, I will admit, I have had six HP printers in the past, so choosing a new printer is fairly simple for me. Every one I have had has worked beautifully; so why would I buy another brand name? All those printers were still working well when I placed them into retirement buy donating them to a local school. They were replaced because the technology continues to get better and better. Sure, I have had a few paper jams(3 in all), and they were my fault; but this unit gives you phenomenal features. I don't use a landline phone. I only have used cellular for the past ten years. You don't need one to send or receive faxes. You are given a fax number, and best of all; you're first twenty faxes are FREE! Speed is very good.but obviously not as fast as a laser. Copies are crisp and clear. I have never had streaks on anything the machine does for me. The scanner is a wonderful tool to have on occassion when convenient. While the software for the scanner isn't the best, it still serves my needs. I scan in all my tax documents and store them on my computer after I fax them, or email them directly to my accountant. All without placing a finger on the machine.Incredible features, and all without using a single wire. I can sit in my man cave watching a football game, and I can perform every activity this machine is packed with.The ink as with all inkjet printers is relatively expensive, but you can offset the cost by returning your empty cartridges. HP is great when it comes to recycling! I can also print on both sides of a piece of paper, so you will save on paper costs, and the ink doesn't seem too expensive after everything is considered If you have never set up a wireless network with a printer, just take it easy, the machine tells you everything you need to do. You also have a vast array of choices in order to achieve the best quality, which is personal inmost cases. Obviously, I can't say enough about this All-in-One machine. I wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone who would love all its' features."
Review 2 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calif.
Date:November 4, 2011

Right out of the Box

Pros: great for the price
Cons: none
Model Number: HP 8500a
"Prints fine no problem with set up. Print looks very good and pictures are great. The copies it makes are also good. Right out of the box this machine works."
Review 3 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2011
Pros: once connected wirelessly its a grest printer
Cons: took some time to get teh scanner and eprint app u
Model Number: hp office jet pro 8500A plus
"took me some time to get the scanner and eprint app going, i am up and running and the printer is fantatic, quick ,quite with very easy on screen tools"
Review 4 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 1, 2011

Nice Printer

Cons: no slot to insert single envelopes
Model Number: 8500a Plus
"This is a very nice printer at a great price. Compared to my last printer, this one prints 4 times the number of pages for only a few dollars more. Was very easy to set up.
Main problems I've had is being able to copy from card reader to computer. Have yet to figure that one out.
The other issue is there is no place to put a single envelope, photo paper or any other paper when only wanting to print one item. You have to basically unload the paper supply and put what you want to use in, then put the paper supply back when done. Kind of a missed feature when they designed it.
"
Review 5 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:El Cajon, CA
Date:October 31, 2011

COSTCO & HP are The Best!

Pros: price, hp quality, costco availability!
Cons: multible ink cartridges
Model Number: HP Ink jet 8500A all-in-one
"This HP 8500A is an upgrade to my HP 7410 All-In-One. I'll miss my 7410 as it gave me years of great service, but it was time to upgrade to a newer version. HP recommended the 8500A. Except for getting use to multible ink cartridges now, unlike the two in my 7410, this all-in-one seems to perform just as good! And thankfully COSTCO sells the 8500 ink cartridges in multi-paks!"
Review 6 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:McGaheysville Virginia
Date:October 31, 2011

Perfect match for our home use

Pros: great for home office
Cons: attracts dust easily
Model Number: HP 8500 A Plus
"Printer was very easy to set up, works beautifully as a wireless printer. Print quality is extraordinarily crisp and clean. Photo prints we amazing. Only issue is how it seems to attract dust."
Review 7 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin,TX
Date:October 31, 2011

Great Printer

Pros: easy wireless set up, easy set up all together, easy to operate, touchscreen
Cons: shows all dust that lands on it
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus
"I was so hesitant to purchase this printer with all the negativity that had been written about it. I would shop around and would always come back to this one. I read reviews not only on the Costco web site but also on the HP web site and still there were so many dissatisfied customers that I had put buying a printer on hold. I saw this one advertised on Costco.com for 179.99 and this was the lowest I had seen this printer priced so I decided to take the plunge and ordered it through Costco.com. It arrived in less time then specified and I was a little leery to take it out of the box and attempt to set it up. I got it out of the box got it all set up following all the directions and set up was a breeze. I had no problems with setting up the printer at all. Nor have I had any problems printing anything so far. I have yet to use the scan/copy/fax applications to date, however I don't foresee any problems doing any of these as its as easy as 123 to operate. I am very pleased with my purchase with one exception. Its black and beautiful but it shows every speck of dust that lands on it. This is the only disadvantage I can see so far. I say if you are looking for a printer this is a great printer that does it all. Wireless set up was a breeze."
Review 8 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New City, NY
Date:October 31, 2011

Great for a small office

Model Number: Office Jet Pro 8500A Plus
"This printer replaced an older Brother laser all in one. The footprint is smaller for my home office, it's color and does everything it's cracked up to be. Very easy to set up and interfaces with everything. What's really nice is that you can program this unit to have incoming faxes go straight to e mail, this saves lots of paper, the iMAC makes pdf's from everything so you can file the documents or re send them. Set up was a snap. For the price this unit is perfect for a small home office environment"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WI
Date:October 30, 2011

What a huge disappointment

Cons: doa
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One
"Wow. I don't even know what to say about this printer. It seemed like this would be the perfect replacement for our printer that just died. However, that is not the case. It won't even complete the set up and keeps saying it is out of paper when it is certainly not out of paper. I haven't been able to get one single sheet of paper to pass through the machine. The wireless connectivity only took about ten minutes for that to disconnect and tell me that there is an unknown error. What a bunch of garbage. This is going right back in the box and back to the store. I don't know if I should get another one of these or just a different brand all together."
Review 10 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:October 24, 2011

one star...for being a pretty paperweight

Pros: shiny, can buy ink at costco
Cons: ink guzzler, bad software, bad cables, connectivity issues, printer recognition issues, small paper tray, flimsy construction, frustrating touch screen, pertruding paper tray
Model Number: HP officejet pro 8500A plus
"worked one day. Then nothing. connectivity issues. telling me I need to "install software" even though I did it like 4 times. INK GUZZLER. keeps cleaning printheads and doing alignments by using all your color ink. software issues, cabling issues. I only had it one week and thank goodness for costco return policy because I would just had paid $200 bucks for an oversized paperweight. I have to touch the touch screen several times for it to respond to anything. It also does not automatically turn back on when trying to print something."
Review 11 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2011

So far, so good

Pros: fast operation, good print quality
Cons: loud when operating
"The HP8500a Plus replaced a Brother 640CW printer that lasted for about 4 years. The Brother consumed ink cartridges like they were going out of style. I purchased this printer partially because of the stated printing efficiency. We shall see.
Compared to the Brother: This printer is very fast, and the scanning is also fast. Image quality also is much better and docs look crisper.
A couple of points to consider
1. The printer is loud when it operates - much louder than the old Brother. If you have it in a closet or another room, no problem.
2. The setup takes about 20 minutes, which is about 15 minutes longer than the Brother. Not a big deal, just a heads-up.
3. I had to use a USB cable to initially setup the printer from one of my MacBooks. Then I was able to connect it to my network without a problem.
Overall, I was able to successfully configure it to work with 2 MacBook Pros and a TimeCapsule with very few problems along the way.
I give it 4 stars after a few hours of operation. It would get 5 if it was quieter. If problems arise, I will return with another review."
Review 12 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2011

HP Printer Purchase

"This is the second and last HP printer I've purchased that had to be returned as it did not work."
Review 13 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:September 5, 2011

Just what I was looking for

Pros: works with a mac as well or better than windows xp, networked without any problem
Cons: a little slow with the first page, can either use wireless or wired ethernet not bot
Model Number: HP 8500A Plus
"After the ADF broke in my Canon MFP, I bit the bullet and bought a 8500A Plus to replace it. I was surprised to find out that this MFP did almost everything that the Ricoh document center at the office did. I was surprised to see that setting it up in Windows XP was too easy. A few wizards and I was printing, scanning, and faxing. Then I went to my iMac, and everything was setup in less than 20 minutes. I spent an hour or so playing with the HP utility playing with it, and setting up more options. I suppose that I should read the manual, but I'm a man, I could change, if I have to. I can scan from the iMac to the iMac, or from the MFP to the iMac. This is a big thing since the printer is upstairs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:AUSTIN, TX
Date:September 3, 2011

Won't Scan in OSX Lion!!

Cons: will not scan with osx lion yet!!
Model Number: HP OFFICEJET PRO8500A PLUS
"HP needs to update the driver so it will scan to the computer. I love everything else about the printer, but can't believe HP wasn't on top of the driver issue with the Lion update. It's been a month now!!! and no scanner update yet!!!"
Review 15 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:August 29, 2011

HP 8500a plus

Model Number: HP 8500a Plus
"Into the fourth day of operation: logical settup in 30 to 40 minutes all options work as advertised.
Already used as a printer, scanner and fax with no issues.
"
Review 16 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Yakima, WA
Date:August 26, 2011

Giving it Another Shot

Pros: stylish, print jobs are fast
Cons: invasive software, not as hardy as they claim
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500A
"This purchase replaces the previous model 8500 series we had for only 14 months. We had to replace the print head, deal with a mystery error message, and finally the ink cartridge carrier died and it wasn't worth fixing. I imagine we are harder on the printer that we think. You will notice that if you have a big print job that static electricity will build up causing pages to stick together. You will waste a lot of paper if you don't give the printer a rest after every 50 pages or so. 10 min. should do it.
Noticeable differences for this new printer is that the software installed quicker and easier than the last one. I would recommend only installing the basic software and watch for extra desktop icons they think you need. Just delete them."
Review 17 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:August 24, 2011

Exactly what we needed....

Model Number: HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
"Easy to set up. Easy to use. WiFi and ePrint is awesome. Hubby is not techie at all, but it's very easy for him to use. I set up two laptops and two iPhones (3gs & 4) to print with ease. We can now scan with ease. Great copies. Great photos. Love the fact that there are four color (3 color & 1 black) cartridges and two color print heads, that info was not in the specs that I read.
The only negetive is that the printer is a bit noisy, but that is just a minor annoyance for me.
"
Review 18 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:August 13, 2011

Easy Setup

Model Number: HP 8500A PLUS
"Set up the wireless connection. And, the eprint from my cell phone (cool), I did download the firmware upgrade available on the support website. Always install the drivers from the website instead of the CD supplied with any computer product.
Works good! Hoping that the ink use is less than previous printers."
Review 19 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:August 10, 2011

Great printer quality and features!

Pros: high print quality, double sided printing, wireless support, ipad printing support
Cons: large
Model Number: OfficeJet Pro 8500A Plus
"I've had this printer for about 6 months now and I am very impressed with the quality and features. First of all the ink is always sharp on the page which has been a problem for me on other printers especially if I did not use it for a few days. The first pages would be faded or streaky--but not on the 8500. The double sided printing is also a big plus since it helps me save pages. The wireless capabilities and support for printing from the iPad are awesome as well. I would definitely recommend this printer."
Review 20 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2011

HP has lost quality control

Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500 series
"I've bought 4 of these printers this year. They've all failed. 2 failed DOA. 1 had an ink cartridge connection burst, 1 never printed 2-sided. I'm a computer consultant and repair tech, and I've quit recommending HP printers. Sad. I used to prefer them. Try a Canon or Epson or Lexar or even a Dell, but don't buy the HP until they fix the quality."
1 2 3 next>>