Customer Reviews for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet

Print/Scan/Copy/Fax
Average Customer Rating:
3.466 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(307 Reviews) 307
(out of 307 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (307 reviews)
5 stars
129
4 stars
50
3 stars
26
2 stars
39
1 star
63
185 of 307(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Review 1 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2011

Terrible

"This product is riddled with faults. Documents print out in backwards order (first page prints face up, followed by the second page face up, and so on)- I contacted tech support regarding this, and there is NO setting on the printer to correct this. Also, the scan-to-email feature took a significant amount of time to research and trial and error to figure out what SMTP codes are- I had no clue what this was until buying this printer and the directions offer no support as to how to figure out what your email service provider's SMTP code is (don't buy this printer and you won't have to worry about what this is)... And another also- setting up the email-to-print feature did not work either. This printer is chock full of neat sounding features that do not work. Save your money- it sounds like a great deal, but I assure you that it has wasted at least $200 of my time. I love Costco and I'm thankful that they have such a great return policy- this is the first item in a long time that I will be returning."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2011

So far, so good

Pros: fast operation, good print quality
Cons: loud when operating
"The HP8500a Plus replaced a Brother 640CW printer that lasted for about 4 years. The Brother consumed ink cartridges like they were going out of style. I purchased this printer partially because of the stated printing efficiency. We shall see.
Compared to the Brother: This printer is very fast, and the scanning is also fast. Image quality also is much better and docs look crisper.
A couple of points to consider
1. The printer is loud when it operates - much louder than the old Brother. If you have it in a closet or another room, no problem.
2. The setup takes about 20 minutes, which is about 15 minutes longer than the Brother. Not a big deal, just a heads-up.
3. I had to use a USB cable to initially setup the printer from one of my MacBooks. Then I was able to connect it to my network without a problem.
Overall, I was able to successfully configure it to work with 2 MacBook Pros and a TimeCapsule with very few problems along the way.
I give it 4 stars after a few hours of operation. It would get 5 if it was quieter. If problems arise, I will return with another review."
Review 3 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:September 5, 2011

Just what I was looking for

Pros: works with a mac as well or better than windows xp, networked without any problem
Cons: a little slow with the first page, can either use wireless or wired ethernet not bot
Model Number: HP 8500A Plus
"After the ADF broke in my Canon MFP, I bit the bullet and bought a 8500A Plus to replace it. I was surprised to find out that this MFP did almost everything that the Ricoh document center at the office did. I was surprised to see that setting it up in Windows XP was too easy. A few wizards and I was printing, scanning, and faxing. Then I went to my iMac, and everything was setup in less than 20 minutes. I spent an hour or so playing with the HP utility playing with it, and setting up more options. I suppose that I should read the manual, but I'm a man, I could change, if I have to. I can scan from the iMac to the iMac, or from the MFP to the iMac. This is a big thing since the printer is upstairs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:May 8, 2011

Poor Value

Model Number: hp officejet pro 8500a plus
"Since I bought this printer one one ago, I have called HP tech support more than ten times. Initially the printer will not print full page pdf documents and I was told it was a Microsoft problem. After repeated phone calls and several hours on the phone, they managed to tweak it to print just fine.
However, the printer does not have a universal setting to print documents in reverse order; it first prints the first page and last prints the last page; based on the latest from HP tech support, it's a Microsoft problem again.
Based on this experience, I am looking already to buy a new brand printer and kiss HP adios for good. Just about had it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:June 8, 2011

HP8500A PLUS

Pros: all in one prints quickly., it comes with a set of ink, best prices compared to others;
Cons: very bulky, too loud even for scanning, scan to computer loses connection when cpu is off, long time to start up, wish it came with a manual in the box., manual have to go online
Model Number: HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
"Wish HP could be consistent with their model # and give sep model # for new models instead of a, Plus, Pro and Premium, really confusing.
It took long time to have it set up. Watch out how to put ink, then expect to spend time with paper jam.(but fixable once you figured out the exact spot for papers)
Wireless, easy to setup.
Printing- great ! once you mess with the tray and pull out 25 pages of jammed papers during the intial setup. (model withe Duplexer, make sure to push it in all the way)
Paper Tray- I wish they tell you how far to put the paper, this could prevent all the jams and restarting of checking printer.
I tested the double sided scanning and printing- Excellent.
Color- OK, better with good quality papers
scan mode- a little too slow.
scan to emaill- did not explain the setup too well, so never got it to work.
"
Review 6 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New City, NY
Date:October 31, 2011

Great for a small office

Model Number: Office Jet Pro 8500A Plus
"This printer replaced an older Brother laser all in one. The footprint is smaller for my home office, it's color and does everything it's cracked up to be. Very easy to set up and interfaces with everything. What's really nice is that you can program this unit to have incoming faxes go straight to e mail, this saves lots of paper, the iMAC makes pdf's from everything so you can file the documents or re send them. Set up was a snap. For the price this unit is perfect for a small home office environment"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cave Creek, AZ
Date:November 6, 2013

Fantastic Buy!

Pros: consistently perfect with rarely a glitch., two sided printing, completely wireless, a great buy at this price
Cons: for some work at home business some may think tho, would enjoy an upgraded scan software
Model Number: 8600
"I have had this printer for over a year. And, I will admit, I have had six HP printers in the past, so choosing a new printer is fairly simple for me. Every one I have had has worked beautifully; so why would I buy another brand name? All those printers were still working well when I placed them into retirement buy donating them to a local school. They were replaced because the technology continues to get better and better. Sure, I have had a few paper jams(3 in all), and they were my fault; but this unit gives you phenomenal features. I don't use a landline phone. I only have used cellular for the past ten years. You don't need one to send or receive faxes. You are given a fax number, and best of all; you're first twenty faxes are FREE! Speed is very good.but obviously not as fast as a laser. Copies are crisp and clear. I have never had streaks on anything the machine does for me. The scanner is a wonderful tool to have on occassion when convenient. While the software for the scanner isn't the best, it still serves my needs. I scan in all my tax documents and store them on my computer after I fax them, or email them directly to my accountant. All without placing a finger on the machine.Incredible features, and all without using a single wire. I can sit in my man cave watching a football game, and I can perform every activity this machine is packed with.The ink as with all inkjet printers is relatively expensive, but you can offset the cost by returning your empty cartridges. HP is great when it comes to recycling! I can also print on both sides of a piece of paper, so you will save on paper costs, and the ink doesn't seem too expensive after everything is considered If you have never set up a wireless network with a printer, just take it easy, the machine tells you everything you need to do. You also have a vast array of choices in order to achieve the best quality, which is personal inmost cases. Obviously, I can't say enough about this All-in-One machine. I wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone who would love all its' features."
Review 8 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, Va
Date:March 8, 2011

8500A Plus - Great Wireless MFP

Pros: speed, looks great, easy to configure
Cons: none
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500 A Plus
"Work at home 1-2 days a week, use desktop and laptop and wife uses laptop. Setup in under 30 minutes, wireless setup was a snap. Highly recommend the PLUS model for the interface panel alone.
Prints, faxes, scans and makes copies flawlessly. XP and Win 7 were easy to setup and no problems in over 2 months of use.
check the dates on some of the reviews, as they are for older model. 8500 A Plus all black model"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Greensboro, NC
Date:May 26, 2011

Great when it works, which is not often

Model Number: 8500A
"Paper Jam failure when no jam.
Out of paper, when it has paper.
Jams up the phone line cycling.
Has to be unplugged and reset everyday.
Cleans the printer heads all the time?
This is the second one we have purchased and the second one that is going back.
Set up was fine and for the first few weeks it was awesome.
Now it is a piece of junk.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Silverdale, Wa
Date:April 8, 2011

DONT BUY

Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500a Plus
"I am on my second printer. Terrible set-up, but most importantly, FAXING. Both units will not print or receive page number "4", and the scan doesnt recognize page "4" either.
This one is going back. Time to buy something else. Enough of MY TIME wasted on this HP Junk."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Yakima, WA
Date:August 26, 2011

Giving it Another Shot

Pros: stylish, print jobs are fast
Cons: invasive software, not as hardy as they claim
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500A
"This purchase replaces the previous model 8500 series we had for only 14 months. We had to replace the print head, deal with a mystery error message, and finally the ink cartridge carrier died and it wasn't worth fixing. I imagine we are harder on the printer that we think. You will notice that if you have a big print job that static electricity will build up causing pages to stick together. You will waste a lot of paper if you don't give the printer a rest after every 50 pages or so. 10 min. should do it.
Noticeable differences for this new printer is that the software installed quicker and easier than the last one. I would recommend only installing the basic software and watch for extra desktop icons they think you need. Just delete them."
Review 12 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin,TX
Date:October 31, 2011

Great Printer

Pros: easy wireless set up, easy set up all together, easy to operate, touchscreen
Cons: shows all dust that lands on it
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus
"I was so hesitant to purchase this printer with all the negativity that had been written about it. I would shop around and would always come back to this one. I read reviews not only on the Costco web site but also on the HP web site and still there were so many dissatisfied customers that I had put buying a printer on hold. I saw this one advertised on Costco.com for 179.99 and this was the lowest I had seen this printer priced so I decided to take the plunge and ordered it through Costco.com. It arrived in less time then specified and I was a little leery to take it out of the box and attempt to set it up. I got it out of the box got it all set up following all the directions and set up was a breeze. I had no problems with setting up the printer at all. Nor have I had any problems printing anything so far. I have yet to use the scan/copy/fax applications to date, however I don't foresee any problems doing any of these as its as easy as 123 to operate. I am very pleased with my purchase with one exception. Its black and beautiful but it shows every speck of dust that lands on it. This is the only disadvantage I can see so far. I say if you are looking for a printer this is a great printer that does it all. Wireless set up was a breeze."
Review 13 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:April 3, 2011

Half in One

Pros: duplex printing
Cons: low resolution on adf scan, scanned files too large, very large footprint
Model Number: HP 8500A Plus
"I bought this product with high hopes but was disappointed when I got it installed. It did not play well with Adobe Acrobat and when I used HP's software to make PDF files they were as much as 100 times larger than those made with Adobe. I found the same problem with files in other formats. There is no provision for bitmap scanning so I could not do a work-around. I routinely scan at greater than 300 dpi to get better resolution. When I tried to go beyond 300 dpi using the document feeder it announced that it is limited to 300. To get the quality I want I would have had to feed every page by hand. I found it to lack functionality in both the scanning hardware and software and so returned it."
Review 14 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WI
Date:October 30, 2011

What a huge disappointment

Cons: doa
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One
"Wow. I don't even know what to say about this printer. It seemed like this would be the perfect replacement for our printer that just died. However, that is not the case. It won't even complete the set up and keeps saying it is out of paper when it is certainly not out of paper. I haven't been able to get one single sheet of paper to pass through the machine. The wireless connectivity only took about ten minutes for that to disconnect and tell me that there is an unknown error. What a bunch of garbage. This is going right back in the box and back to the store. I don't know if I should get another one of these or just a different brand all together."
Review 15 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 1, 2011

Nice Printer

Cons: no slot to insert single envelopes
Model Number: 8500a Plus
"This is a very nice printer at a great price. Compared to my last printer, this one prints 4 times the number of pages for only a few dollars more. Was very easy to set up.
Main problems I've had is being able to copy from card reader to computer. Have yet to figure that one out.
The other issue is there is no place to put a single envelope, photo paper or any other paper when only wanting to print one item. You have to basically unload the paper supply and put what you want to use in, then put the paper supply back when done. Kind of a missed feature when they designed it.
"
Review 16 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:October 24, 2011

one star...for being a pretty paperweight

Pros: shiny, can buy ink at costco
Cons: ink guzzler, bad software, bad cables, connectivity issues, printer recognition issues, small paper tray, flimsy construction, frustrating touch screen, pertruding paper tray
Model Number: HP officejet pro 8500A plus
"worked one day. Then nothing. connectivity issues. telling me I need to "install software" even though I did it like 4 times. INK GUZZLER. keeps cleaning printheads and doing alignments by using all your color ink. software issues, cabling issues. I only had it one week and thank goodness for costco return policy because I would just had paid $200 bucks for an oversized paperweight. I have to touch the touch screen several times for it to respond to anything. It also does not automatically turn back on when trying to print something."
Review 17 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 11, 2011

Stay Away

Model Number: 8500a
"Thought setting this up and operating would be a breeze. Not quite. While I was finally able to install it, I continued to receive an error message that printheads won't align. Spent more than an hour with technical and was told printer was defective and they would replace with a reconditioned one. Person I spoke with knew nothing about the product nor did his supervisor. Glad I purchased from Costco who stand behind the product. Best to purchase something other than an HP product as they do not truly support their merchandise."
Review 18 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:August 10, 2011

Great printer quality and features!

Pros: high print quality, double sided printing, wireless support, ipad printing support
Cons: large
Model Number: OfficeJet Pro 8500A Plus
"I've had this printer for about 6 months now and I am very impressed with the quality and features. First of all the ink is always sharp on the page which has been a problem for me on other printers especially if I did not use it for a few days. The first pages would be faded or streaky--but not on the 8500. The double sided printing is also a big plus since it helps me save pages. The wireless capabilities and support for printing from the iPad are awesome as well. I would definitely recommend this printer."
Review 19 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fallon, Nevada
Date:March 6, 2011

Greatest Disappointment

Pros: looks nice just does't function., i liked the usb flash drive plug-in
Cons: feeds blank paper sheets between pages., often feeds multiple sheets at the same time., print jobs sent to it may not print out for some
Model Number: 8500a Professional
"This has to be the poorest product I have ever purchased from Hewlett Packard. Evidently a beta product released to market before being tested. Spits out extra blank pages when it prints out, achieves it's stated pages per minute because it feeds about 12 pages at a time and prints out 1" on each successive page. A friend of mine is an IT professional; we could never get this printer working correctly. Tried reloading driver software, checking all settings repeatedly. This is a junky product."
Review 20 for HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:August 24, 2011

Exactly what we needed....

Model Number: HP 8500a Plus e-All-in-One Wireless Inkjet
"Easy to set up. Easy to use. WiFi and ePrint is awesome. Hubby is not techie at all, but it's very easy for him to use. I set up two laptops and two iPhones (3gs & 4) to print with ease. We can now scan with ease. Great copies. Great photos. Love the fact that there are four color (3 color & 1 black) cartridges and two color print heads, that info was not in the specs that I read.
The only negetive is that the printer is a bit noisy, but that is just a minor annoyance for me.
"
1 2 3 next>>