Customer Reviews for J.A. Henckels 14-piece Forged Block Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

J.A. Henckels 14-piece Forged Block Set

Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
(out of 8 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 of 8(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J.A. Henckels 14-piece Forged Block Set
Review 1 for J.A. Henckels 14-piece Forged Block Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:AURORA CO
Date:October 19, 2011

OVER PRICED

Pros: big santoku knife, lifetime warranty, shears, sharp
Cons: knife block, shipping not free, 14 pcs vs 15 pcs, thin metal, handles small, handles look cheap, say's dishwasher safe but rec. hand wash, don't like sharpening steel to easy to make mistak
Model Number: 14 pc
"I RECEIVED THESE KNIVES ABOUT A WEEK AGO AND I HAVE TO SAY I WAS IMPRESSED ESPECIALLY FOR THE PRICE . KNOW YOU HAVE TO UNDERSTAND I BOUGHT 2 DIFFERENT SET OF KNIVES THIS ONE AND THE SABRE KNIVES THEY ARE ABOUT THE SAME PRICE .SO I FIGURED WHAT THE HECK . TO ME THEY ARE LIGHT AND THE METAL THICKNESS KIND OF THIN AND THE BLOCK ONLY REALLY HAS 2 SMALL SLOTS SO IF YOU UPGRADE LATER TO MORE KNIVES AND THEY ARE SMALL THEY WILL HAVE TO GO IN BIG SLOTS " LOOSE KNIVES " . MY LAST GRIPE AND MAYBE THIS IS SMALL BUT THE KN IVES AREN'T LABELED I LIKE TO KNOW WHICH ONE I'M USING . ORDER BOTH LIKE I DID AND YOU WILL SEE THE DIFFERENCE . SABRE HANDS DOWN WINS"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for J.A. Henckels 14-piece Forged Block Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:December 4, 2011

Entry line product for Zwilling

Pros: sharp, qaulity
Cons: rust
"Purchased this set over 5 years ago from Costo. There is rusty spots around the handle area and these do get machine washed most of the time. The International line is the cheaper line of Zwilling, these are stamped NOT forged. Easy was to tell is the single guy with a spear insignia is cheaper than the ones which have the twins. These are great knives for the price. Have no idea why people are complaining the knives are bending. That tells me that they are not sharp and are forcing the knife to the point their hand twist. Knives are not made to bend sideways people."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for J.A. Henckels 14-piece Forged Block Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:August 13, 2011
Pros: sharp
Cons: expensive
"We bought these knives in the store. They came packaged in a box and we had no idea that the wooden block actually has more spaces than the knives provided. This was a turn off as the set does not look nice on the kitchen counter.
As for the performance there is no doubt that the knives are very good. The blades are well balanced and they are heavy and sturdy to the feel.
The wooden block is also heavy and sturdy.
The scissors that are provided also are good.
"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for J.A. Henckels 14-piece Forged Block Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Encinitas, CA
Date:November 25, 2011

Fantastic Value!!

Pros: great quality at a great price
"The name speaks for itself! In other reviews, people have complained of the handles being too small on the smaller knives, what do you expect?! The knives are sturdy and sharp, the block is sturdy and the set looks beautiful on the counter. I bought a set for my best friend for a gift and she absolutely LOVES them! No complaints here. This is the perfect example of Costco standards and Costco value at it's best!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for J.A. Henckels 14-piece Forged Block Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:February 16, 2011

Great knives

Pros: price, quality
"Super sharp right out of the box. These knives are known for their quality and you can tell the moment you pick one up. The handles are thick and comfortable, and the blades seem to be balanced well. One point of interest is that the steak knives are not serrated, they are really sharp and cut cooked meat very well, but some will expect them to be serrated. Non serrated knives are easier to sharpen. Love them."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for J.A. Henckels 14-piece Forged Block Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Albany, Or
Date:January 3, 2011

Good sterdy sharp knives

Pros: sharp, sturdy, good looking
Cons: handles vary in size
"The reason I rated at a three star instead of 5 is the size of the handles vary upon the size of the knives. I am a 6'1" male, there for my hands are larger. I have discomfort handling the steak knives, pearing knife, and vegetable knife.
Other than that the blades came very sharp, and has a very sturdy design.
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for J.A. Henckels 14-piece Forged Block Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:HOUSTON
Date:February 3, 2012
"I sent this as a gift.
i was most impressed at the customer service level I received from Costco.
They sent me a e-mail on every process of the order.
They told me when it arrived and provide a POD of the deliver and the item shipped the same day I ordered, and arrived in time for the anniversery date.
"
Review 8 for J.A. Henckels 14-piece Forged Block Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stowe VT
Date:January 7, 2011

Excellent knives

"This set is complete, you will want for nothing. These knives are the best you can get for the money. A Cutco salesperson to my house, saw this set of knives knew he couldn't hold a candle to the quality and price and then left."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.