Customer Reviews for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System

Includes 1 - Pre-Installed Lamp Cartridge and 2 - Replacement Cartridges
Average Customer Rating:
3.783 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
(out of 92 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
17
68 of 92(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Review 1 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:September 9, 2012

Very Pleased

Pros: easy to use, treatment when you want to, pays for itself, easy to change cartridge, treats large area in one pluse
Cons: can't work in a bright room, tough to do upper lip (designed for larger area)
Model Number: Silkn' BellaLite
"Having done electrolysis that didn't last, and laser that was crazy expensive I was thrilled to find something that just might work at home. I have owned the Bella Lite since March 2012 and I am thrilled with my results so far! I am medium skin toned with dark hair, and am doing my underarms and bikini right now. I have done 6 treatments and am over 75% clear. I'll be doing my legs this winter once my tan fades. I am so excited at the prospect of not having to shave my legs next summer. This is well worth trying if you fit their 'ideal'. It does not work on blonde, or red hair; the darker hair the better.
Make sure you do the treatments in an under lit room. If the room is too bright the machine can misread your skin and not allow it to fire."
Review 2 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:May 22, 2012

Love it, it really works!

Pros: ease of use, at home treatment, very affordable given the value it brings
Cons: none
Model Number: Silk'n Bella LIte
"Bought this device about 6 months ago, and I just love it. I use it for my chin only which is the only body area that was causing me self-confidence issues. I am fair skin but black hair, so it shows right away when it grows. I've had chin hair for almost 2 decades and was plucking every day, to only get worse with age (44 yrs old here). What a pain!
I decided to buy the device and started using it as directed (make sure you do that). It worked wonders. Within a few weeks only, I saw a big difference: much much less growth, scattered and spaced in time.
The device is so easy to use, in the comfort of your own house. This is a GREAT solution to my problem. I love it and highly recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:May 15, 2012

Effective Hair Removal System

"First off I'm a guy and I experience severe razor burn and red bumps on my neck from shaving. I pretty much tried every sort of post balm aftershave including one that was $30! After conducting research on different hair removal devices I decided to give this one a shot and after three treatment sessions, the hair on my neck is starting to disappear and grow back slower! The biggest relief is not getting the burn or bumps anymore when I go to shave. I don't have to shave my neck area as often anymore. As far as chest hair, I can't really comment on it's overall effectiveness yet, but I am seeing a lot less hair growth on my chest and patches where the hair is completely gone. Will update on further progress in a month or two."
Review 4 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA.
Date:April 18, 2012

Fabulous

Model Number: silkn
"I have been using this machine for almost 2 years. It is the best investment!! I think all the reviews got deleted some how, because I left one in the past. Can't say enough good things about this. It pays for itself after 2 uses!! Love this machine!!! Use on underarms, bikini line, face and legs."
Review 5 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:April 11, 2012

Worst purchase ever

Pros: costco made the return painless
"I returned it .. Very expensive toy. Did not do the job."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2012

Don't waste your money

Pros: there are no pros
Cons: does not work, expensive
"I bought this product a year ago and have been using as they instruct. A year later- no difference. There is absolutely no change. This product does not get rid of hair like it claims. It does not even reduce it. The BellaLite does nothing but reduce your bank account a substantial amount."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:April 6, 2012

Works easily enough

Pros: easy to use
Cons: poor grid marking on skin
"I've only used the product once and it was easy to use as directed. There was a light burn/sting sensation at each pulse, but not really uncomfortable. I had no after effects. I can't attest to any hair removal, as you need to use it several times before noticing any results. The little grid mark it makes (with pressure) was only prevalent on lean areas, not on fatty areas, so hard to know if you are possibly overlapping the pulses unintentionally."
Review 8 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:April 6, 2012

Does Not Work

Pros: easy to use, non-painful
Cons: does not remove hair
"I was convinced enough to try this, relying upon other positive reviews and Costco's awesome return policy. I used product exactly as described and went through several cycles of hair removal, both at the starting/lower intensity and at the full power. I have dark hair with light skin, so the product should work for me. I treated the following areas: chin, upper lip, underarm, bikini and some on abdomen. Through all the cycles of treatment, I did not find ANY hair loss.
I have previously done professional laser hair removal and can say that this product is far less painful, even on the full power intensity. But, it simply did not work for me.
If you are considering purchasing, save all of the packaging, keep track of the areas treated and dates. I'm sure it works for some people, but certainly did not for me."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:April 4, 2012

WOW!!! Amazing results!

Pros: great value, privacy
Cons: cartridge face gets hot on high setting, cartidge cost
Model Number: BellaLite
"I started getting laser hair treatments about a year ago at a place that charged me $100 a session for a very small area. I decided to buy this product and saved up for a few months to buy it. When I finally got it I was appalled-the place I was going to was using this EXACT machine, and charging me that much for it?!
I have had this nasty rash on my upper arms since I can remember. I went to a dermatologist and he told me that I have a skin condition where when the hair grows out, the hair follicle becomes irritated and the hair can't come out through the skin. He told me to exfoliate and use a special lotion, and that helped a little bit but it still looked pretty gross to me. After I got my machine, I started using it on that area. I am so happy, after almost a decade of being embarrassed by this skin condition I have seen dramatic improvements! I had to do it once a week for about six months, but I finally found something that helped. I also have ingrown hairs on my legs that are visible bumps and those are completely gone now too. I love love love this thing! I have done my entire body except for my face and head! Definitely worth the cost because if I were going to a place to do it I probably would be at like $5,000 with the amount that I have been able to do at home!
The only complaints I have are the skin sensor sometimes thinks my skin is too dark, but I realized its because there wasn't enough light in the room. If I turn another light on in the room it fixes the problem. The face of the cartridge gets very hot when I do larger areas, I think that's because I have it on the highest setting. Other than that it's great, and I am so glad that I bought it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:April 2, 2012

So far so good

Pros: easy to use, very light
"So far I've only used my BellaLite hair removal system once because for the first few sessions, they have to be spaced two weeks apart, however, I like the ease of use of this product. I used it on the lowest setting but I think for my next session I will increase it because my hair was not totally removed. I will definitly need to come back to complete my review once I've used this system a few more times"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2012

Excellent

"Best home hair remover for the price.
Easy to use. Comes with 3 bulbs, others come with 2.
Instructions very easy. And I think after only 2 at home treatments, it is working. It is a little painful, like a rubber band snap on the skin, but no lasting pain.
"
Review 12 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2012

I dont know yet, I used only once.

"I just got it few weeks ago and you suppose to use every two weeks. I used the first time 2 weeks ago, nothing has changed, hair still growing (legs, under arms), Im using it again this weekend."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:February 15, 2012

very good product

"in start need to switch lampes often but very good in general"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:February 9, 2012

Great Product for Men

"My wife and I bought this product about 3 months ago. I have been using it every two weeks since the purchase and have been extremely happy this the results. I have been treating primarily my chest and abdomen. I now have about 70% less hair, and what is left is fairly patchy and about 1/4 the thickness of before. Now shaving only once per week, I expect much less than that soon.
My wife has only done her bikini area, but has had dramatic results after two treatments."
Review 15 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:February 9, 2012

Didn't Work

Cons: doesn't work, time consuming
"I used the product as directed for several months. I went through 4 lamp cartridges total. At first, it seemed like it was working. A couple of months after I ended the treatment, I could see no difference from when I had started."
Review 16 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:February 9, 2012

Don't Be Fooled

"I was very excited to find a home laser system because salons are prohibitively expensive. After researching the data on BellaLite and checking out all the reviews I could find on the net, the manufacturer's website, Costco, etc. etc. I took the plunge with much enthusiasm. My approach to significant purchases is very analytical, some might even think I spend too much time on my research. I had read mixed reviews about the efficacy of BellaLite but since I have the ideal hair/skin combination I figured other users didn't pay attention to this detail and didn't get good results for this reason.
After the order arrived, I read the manual cover to cover and watched the included DVD to be certain I didn't miss any nuance of the treatment. My goal was to treat my arms, which have fairly coarse hair. I am light skinned and my hair is dark so, at least according to the manual, I have the IDEAL hair for this type of treatment. Following the instructions I shaved my arms and started the treatment using the prescribed approach starting on low power. As I could tolerate the pain, in my next session, I raised the power level to 2 and then 3. Every two weeks as the instructions said, I first shaved and then 'zapped' my arms. Continued this process for 6 months and I could see alternating patterns of hair growth on my arm where the hair growth was slowed. I was encouraged thinking this will eventually lead to complete removal, or at least even thinning of my arm hair. After 6 months of continuous (9) treatment sessions, and using 6 lamps (I ordered extra lamps from the start), I took a month off just to see the pattern of hair growth. Much to my disappointment, it didn't take more than 4 or 5 weeks before ALL of the hair came back. The pattern of lighter/thinner hair patches mixed in with darker/thinker had completely disappeared. Sadly all the hair had come back coarser and darker than I had started out. I was truly hopeful BellaLite would be the solution that I needed. Disappointed with wasting 7 months with no results, I returned the unit and all the depleted lamps to Costco. Though I had no trouble with getting my money back, I much would have preferred for this system to work. At the end of the day I guess it was just another marketing gimmick that I fell for.
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County California
Date:February 3, 2012

Not good for the face

Model Number: Silk'n BellaLite
"(note I was made to choose to recommend or not, but i only picked NOT for the face, I have no need for it elsewhere) I went to the website and called, and was told I could use this on the face, from the cheek bones down, side burns, above the lip area, chin. BUT>>>> like the rest of the body areas, you have to have removed the hair prior to treatment, and since you cannot use removal creams, etc. that leaves only one option ------ SHAVING YOUR FACE, and the product does not work on the entire area all at one time, it's spotty until about 2-3 months, and then only maybe. So, you have to keep shaving in order to use it every week or two --- yikes."
Review 18 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nampa, ID
Date:February 1, 2012

Patience=Results!

Pros: easy to use, effective, intensity level adjustment
Cons: a little slow to recharge
"I have course dark brown hair on the legs, bikini and underarm area that grows so fast I get a female version of a 5 o'clock shadow. I had started getting laser removal treatments at a med spa for my underarms to see how it would work before I saw this product. I am getting the same results! It does NOT happen instantly (nor did it with the spa service). Just when you think there is no difference, you shave one day and it grows back with all these bald spots. I don't know why it takes 2+ weeks for a treatment to show its handywork, but it is sooo worth the wait. I finished my 4th treatment about a week ago and I already have about 40-60% less hair growth from when I started 2 months ago. I know when my next growing cycle kicks in I will have a bunch of new hair to zap (the ones that have been dormant), but that is disclosed in the instructions. It happens with professional laser hair removal too and that is why it takes a MINIMUM of six treatments and usually closer to a dozen to see maximum permanent results. The only real down side is that there is a little wait time in between zaps while the light recharges and once in a while the skin color detector/protector will prevent a zap even though my skin tone is on the lighter side. I just move to a different spot and come back and it works fine again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carson City, NV
Date:January 30, 2012

Great Product and it works!!

Pros: painless way to get rid of hair.
Model Number: AS101500A SensEpil Bella Lite
"I bought this product in April 2011 and I love it. It started out slow but it does say it can take between 18 months to two years. After about 6 months of using it I saw an improvement of lighter hair where I used it and less hair. I had patches on my underarms, legs, bikini area and chin. But now I have a little hair on my underarms and even bigger patches of less hair on my legs. It takes about a week for the hair to grow back and I only shave once a week. I am positive that this product will work by the end of 2 years and am loving how little I shave. I had very thick hair everywhere and now it lighter to the touch and not prickly. This is a great product you just have to have patience and give it time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:January 15, 2012

Still Working

Pros: it works
Cons: take at least 6 times to work
"Bought 8 months ago have almost no hair on my legs and still working on the fine stragler hair on the legs. The hair on my underarm is still there but very fine. Some biki hair gone just got back to working on it. But very happy"
1 2 3 4 5 next>>