Customer Reviews for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System

Includes 1 - Pre-Installed Lamp Cartridge and 2 - Replacement Cartridges
Average Customer Rating:
3.783 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
(out of 92 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
17
68 of 92(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Review 21 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bay City, MI
Date:January 9, 2012

Slowly working!

Pros: works, slow process
Cons: expensive, skin detector is iffy
"I decided to purchase the BellaLite in early December 2011. I have gone through one complete cartridge and just started my second. So far I have done my arms, back of the tops of my legs, bikini line, armpits, and chin/upper lip. I try to do it pretty regularly (sometimes I forget) but it seems to be working.
My arm hair is significantly reduced, some parts are not growing back at all, when it does it is slower. My face and upper lip are also about 50% gone. Nothing with the armpits or bikini line yet, but I suspect that the thicker hair is going to require many more treatments than the finer, non-shaven hairs.
I didn't want to shave my face or arms before the treatment so i used one of those "smooth away" pads to get rid of the hair before i used the bellalite. This seemed to work really well!!
I'm going to keep with it and hopefully by summertime I can be (mostly) hair free!!
Sometimes, yes the skin color detector does act up and I have to try using it on a different location or turn the device off and restart it. I have light/medium skin & medium/dark brown hair all over my body. I don't know why it does this, but it is very annoying. I think it honestly has something to do with the light in the room you are doing the treatment in. I have tried darker rooms and it seems to work better than my super light bathroom!! I also think it has to do with how well the window is sealed and pressed against your skin.
For example, on areas where I can get good coverage of the window, and put a good amount of pressure on, I don't seem to have the skin detector problems. It happens more when i try to do an area where it can't be pressed down completely.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chapin, SC
Date:December 31, 2011

Longevity?????

Pros: removes hair
Cons: quality of machine ???
Model Number: Bella Lite
"Got this for the wife, she loves it, but it broke after first use. Costco is great at exchanges, they are sending me return shipping lables, and replacing it with a new one. So the longevity of machine is questionable, the concept seems great if it work?? In the longterm we will know."
Review 23 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bonney Lake, WA
Date:December 21, 2011

Does not work

"Followed directions to a "T". Hair came back every time. A waste of money."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:December 20, 2011

Great Product & A Cost Saver!!!

"Bought this product in the summer of 2011 and paid a lot more (one hundred dollars more!) than it is currently priced so grab it while you can.
It is very easy & quick to use, just keep to a regular schedule - it recommends every 2 weeks at first. I have dark hair and use it on my face even though it doesn't specifically state an indication for use on the face. Be sure to read the precautions to know which hair & skin pigments it works on because it could lighten darker complexions leaving splotches!
Love not having to pay someone else to treat one area at a time and love that replacement lamp cartridges can be purchased. To me, it was worth the money!
"
Review 25 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, Idaho
Date:November 30, 2011

Silk"n Bella Lite Hair Removal System

Cons: replacement lights are a bit spendy but oh well
"I love this product! I love being able to do it myself and it works!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011

Works temporarily

Pros: worked at first
Cons: stings the skin at high setting
"It seemed to work at first. I did treatments on the schedule spelled out in the instructions, and after a couple months the hair was noticeably less. But when I stopped treatments, all the hair came back. All of it. Very disappointing. For the time it took to do each treatment, I think I'd rather just shave.
You need to have light skin and black hair for this product to work. If your skin is too pigmented, the machine won't operate. If your hair is too light, the machine operates but there is no hair removal going on. That's something to think about before considering this item."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:November 25, 2011

It's working after only three uses

Pros: great quality item at a great price, it works, can be used at a painfree setting, you can purchase additional lights
Cons: do not accidentaly press and allow light to damage, pay attention to placement of light to get full co, need to stick to a regular schedule to get results
Model Number: AS101500A
"I was unsure if this type of item would work, but trusting Costco and knowing I could return it.
It consists of a base with control panel and a handheld light pulse connected to the base by a cord. The design is fine - BUT I keep getting confused by the "International symbol" button labels and have to shuffle back and forth between the two booklets to understand it each time I use it. The button labels are on one page and instructions are spread out over others. I wish they had just used word on the buttons.
This is NOT a gimmicky item. The unit feels well made and is powerful. In fact you have to be very careful when you turn it on not to accidental press the button and flash the light into your eyes!
I marked the calender so I could stay on the schedule they recommend. It has to do with hair dormancy and growth timing - and the need to hit those follicles at the right time.
Well I am very pleased that after three uses, I am seeing definite results. No it's not complete yet, but I would say a good 33% of my hair is gone. And what is left is much softer and less dense.
The instructions say the more pale you are the better, and that darker shaded people should not use it Apparently it needs to be able to pass thru light skin and find the dark hairs to "kill" the roots. Well. I am as pale as they get. I also have dark hair which is the perfect combination for success.
I was not sure if this would work on the course hair of the bikini area, becuase it mentioned using it on the arms, under arms and legs. I have been using it on my underarms and bikini area only. My underarm hair has started growing much slower and I have less to shave now. The bikini area had whole patches that are now smooth as a baby's bottom. I think I will have to pay closer attention and press harder like they say so that it will leave a square boundary showing where you just used it so that you won"t miss any strips as you position it for the next zap.
As far as comfort, there are 5 light levels. I started off right away on level 3. There is a safety feature where it will not let you go over level 2 without putting in a bypass code. I used it right away and felt almost nothing in some areas and a "snap" in others. This last time I tried level 4 - but it did start to go into the uncomfortable range for me - but it was very quick and the feeling went away right away. Since I have had such good results - I am very excited to keep using it. I was hoping this would be an alternative to going in for laser hair removal. I do not know what that procedure feels like - maybe this is a weaker system, but you have to keep going in for them and they are not permanent results - so I think anyone considering putting that much money down should definitely try this first. It may take me longer to get full results "down there" but with what I have seen - I believe others with pale skin could also eventually see good results - and I am expecting to use this longer there than recommended for arms and legs. There is a char in the book showing that course hair takes longer - they just don;t mention the bikini are perhaps becuase it does not work for as many people?
"
36 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2011

Doesn't do a thing

"I've been using the BellalLite every other week since I bought it last April. There has been exactly no change - I have just as much hair, just as dark, as when I started.
I use it just on my chin and upper lip. I have fair skin and light hair, except for where I've been tweezing and waxing, etc. for years; that hair is dark.
Against the advice of the instructions, I go over and over the same area now, hoping that might make a difference. So far, no.
The BellaLite randomly decides my skin is too dark, so it quits ... I have to shut it off and turn it on again to resume.
The cartridge hasn't been replaced yet, since I'm doing such a small area. I'd gladly buy new cartridges if it worked!
I keep thinking about returning it, but irrationally keep hoping that it will suddenly produce positive results."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 17, 2011

Works slowly

Pros: works well, fairly painless
Cons: difficult to do evenly, hair looks patchy
Model Number: 7921
"I have been using this product consistently for almost 5 months now. I have done 8 treatments exactly according to the instructions, starting at level one the working my way up to 5 with no problems.
I have used this product under my arms, full bikini area and, toes. The hair under my arms has reduced by about 50 percent fairly evenly, around the bikini area the hair is almost completely gone with little patches remaining. On my toes the hair was light before, now appears to be completely gone.
I have not yet had to replace the light cartridge due so it is very cost efficient."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marysville WA
Date:October 25, 2011

It's early yet, but so far so good

Pros: easy to use, compact, less expensive than professional services., privately done in your own home
Cons: requires multiple uses, replacement bulbs are pricey
"It's probably too early to tell, but I will give you my initital use feedback. I have used the device once, only on my underarms and bikini line. I have very sensitive skin, and I overrode the setting to #3 on the very first use with no problems at all. I have had laser treatments done on my roscaea on my face professionally, and it was way more painful... I will probably move this up to level 5 on my next use.
After just one treatment, I had less hair on my bikini line area! I am quite fair with very dark hair. My underarms didn't have the dramatic response, but it has been only one use.
I will leave another review after I have been using it for awhile."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:October 24, 2011

Not perfect, but working for me

Pros: reduces need to shave - hallelujah!, works for some people
Cons: may not work for everyone, kinda costly compared to just shaving
"I have fair skin and dark hair, and this (technically, the SensEpil earlier model) is working for me pretty well. It's not perfect, but I'm also not using it very regularly (going months without a treatment, then finally getting around to it), so maybe my results would be better had I stuck to a routine.
Anyway, my leg hair below the knee is nearly gone. Some faint hairs grow back, but I can generally go in public without shaving them and feel confident.
It says not to use it on one's face as it could make the hair grow *more* (as happened to at least one reviewer, I noticed) but I tried once or twice to no affect at all - no more, no less hair.
My underarms were doing pretty well, half the hair s *gone* but the other half (lower half, on both left and right side, for some reason) still grows a lot of hair. Still working on it, though.
I have not gotten into bikini area or above the knee - I have a feeling it won't work well on my thighs since the thigh hair is so much lighter/finer.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2011

After One Year – NO Results!

"I am EXTREMELY disappointed that this did not work for me! I was so hopeful! I have been doing the treatments for 1 full year and they did not work for me. I have dark brown to black (course) hair and fair skin. I followed the instructions and was up to Level 5 on the 5th treatment. I did the treatments every other week for a couple of months, then tried doing them only once a month, but there was just way too much hair, so I went back to every other week. Each treatment took me about 90-120 minutes because I was doing my face, underarms, entire legs and a few other areas. My face actually got worse and grew more hair. I saw absolutely no change with my underarms. 10 months into the project, I thought my legs were getting better until I was sick for a while and was unable to shave. I had so much hair that it looked like I never even started the laser treatments! I did a few more treatments until I had to force myself to face the truth that this just does not work for me. I finally returned the product (I just wish I could’ve retuned the cartridges too but they are long gone!). I spent so much time on this (90-120 minutes every other week) and so much money (usually took 1 ½ - 2 cartridges per treatment), and I was so desperate for this to work for me, but it did not. I’m SO disappointed! I hope companies come up with a better product! If it works for you, you are very fortunate!!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:October 6, 2011

Inital Good Results Did Not Last

Pros: easy to use, not painful
Cons: initial positive results did not last, requires frequent replacement of expensive bulbs
"I bought this unit when it first appeared in the warehouse early this year. I followed the directions, worked quickly up to the highest setting without any problems and tried it on various body areas. I was initially thrilled with the results. Hair regrowth became thinner and slower and appeared to stop almost completely in some areas. However, after several months, the hair returned almost to its original growth pattern. If this unit didn't require the use of expensive replacement bulbs, I would maybe continue to try it as it is easy to use and not painful at all. It just takes some time. With the turn around of my results, however, I was not willing to invest in more bulbs. I returned the unit last week without any problems."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2011

LOVE IT !!

"Love my BellaLite! After 2 uses (first at level 2, second at level 3), I am already seeing a huge reduction of hair on my chin, underarms, and upper lip. Very pleased!"
Review 35 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:September 6, 2011

I bought it...then I returned it.

"I was really excited to find a hair removal product that I could use in the privacy of my own home. My husband and I both utilized the BellaLite according to the directions. We both have fair skin and dark hair. Also, we always had it set on the highest possible setting (with only a few "zingers" that momentarily stung). I would estimate we used it regularly for 4 months. Sadly, we noticed no significant hair growth difference whatsoever...at least not enough to justify the purchase of the BellaLite. Returned this product and extra bulbs (yikes! those are expensive!!) to the warehouse with no hassle..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2011

Working slowly...

Pros: convenient, effective
Cons: cartridges are expensive
"I have had this since April, and have followed the recommended schedule (every 2 weeks at first, then once a month). I am now using it at the highest setting. I have fair skin and medium-brown hair. I bought it primarily for my mustache area, and have seen a huge reduction in hair growth. I used to wax, but my skin was getting discolored. BellaLite has reduced my upper-lip hair to the point where it's not noticeable, even a month after treatment.
I have also been using it on my underarms and legs. In these areas, there are now square hairless patches surrounded by my normal hair. So it's definitely working, but I'm still treating to try to get even hair removal. My upper legs/ bikini area has much less hair overall, without the bald patches.
In general, I'm pleased. I am hoping, though, that the rest of my leg hair will respond as well!"
Review 37 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:August 13, 2011

Bellalite

Pros: price
Cons: does not work as expected
"Nice to have the conveince of doing it at home. The product slows hair growth but does not stop it. I have light skin, and followed the directions as well as watched the video. It was a decent price to try it, with hopes that it will work compared to getting laser. However, I will return it and out the money towards laser."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:August 13, 2011

I love my BellaLite!

"I love my Bella Lite...best thing ever. I too paid for in office laser appts. They are very expensive...and not easy to get out when you're a mom of 3 young kids. I always wanted to do my bikini area but couldn't afford it. I bought this in the heart of summer right after returning from the beach....so I was super tan. But I wanted to try it so bad so I could only use it on a part of my bikini area that wasn't tan. I used it 3 times in about 3 weeks. More than 1/2 the hair is reduced! Awesome product. My new BFF!!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston Willowbrook
Date:August 11, 2011

After 7 months-no results

"I received the BellaLite for Christmas and have been using it for over 7 months. I can see no changes in hair growth. Not only is this an expensive purchase, but the lights don't last very long and are very expensive to replace. I definitely don't recommend this system."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2011

Does not work

"This machine does not work. Not only is it ineffective in removing hair, but it breaks very easily. In addition, the skin sensor often prevents it from working even when you have the ideal skin type described in the manual."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>