Customer Reviews for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System

Includes 1 - Pre-Installed Lamp Cartridge and 2 - Replacement Cartridges
Average Customer Rating:
3.783 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
(out of 92 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
17
68 of 92(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Review 21 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southwest, USA
Date:April 19, 2011

WOW- it *DOES* work!

Pros: can use in privacy of your home, reasonably quick to treat
Cons: hard to see where you've treated
"Ok, I had (very effective) laser treatments on my full legs many years ago- upper thighs/ bikini still have some stragglers which is why I decided to buy this. After trying the different settings (1-5), I still wasn't sure if the light was strong enough. Have now done 2 treatments, and I am seeing results! Hair takes 8-12 days to fall out- if you tug on them sooner the hairs may not budge and you will think it doesn't work. BE PATIENT! Also, anyone who doesn't expect a little discomfort is simply unrealistic- the laser treatments on my legs years ago really HURT! Here there is simply some mild stinging here and there. Will update once I've used this for a few months. If you are on the fence, TRY IT! You will be glad you did! I only wish I knew about this sooner...."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2011

After One Year – NO Results!

"I am EXTREMELY disappointed that this did not work for me! I was so hopeful! I have been doing the treatments for 1 full year and they did not work for me. I have dark brown to black (course) hair and fair skin. I followed the instructions and was up to Level 5 on the 5th treatment. I did the treatments every other week for a couple of months, then tried doing them only once a month, but there was just way too much hair, so I went back to every other week. Each treatment took me about 90-120 minutes because I was doing my face, underarms, entire legs and a few other areas. My face actually got worse and grew more hair. I saw absolutely no change with my underarms. 10 months into the project, I thought my legs were getting better until I was sick for a while and was unable to shave. I had so much hair that it looked like I never even started the laser treatments! I did a few more treatments until I had to force myself to face the truth that this just does not work for me. I finally returned the product (I just wish I could’ve retuned the cartridges too but they are long gone!). I spent so much time on this (90-120 minutes every other week) and so much money (usually took 1 ½ - 2 cartridges per treatment), and I was so desperate for this to work for me, but it did not. I’m SO disappointed! I hope companies come up with a better product! If it works for you, you are very fortunate!!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011

Works temporarily

Pros: worked at first
Cons: stings the skin at high setting
"It seemed to work at first. I did treatments on the schedule spelled out in the instructions, and after a couple months the hair was noticeably less. But when I stopped treatments, all the hair came back. All of it. Very disappointing. For the time it took to do each treatment, I think I'd rather just shave.
You need to have light skin and black hair for this product to work. If your skin is too pigmented, the machine won't operate. If your hair is too light, the machine operates but there is no hair removal going on. That's something to think about before considering this item."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 31, 2011

It doesn't work as advertised

Pros: none--at least it doesn't hurt
Cons: it doesn't work at all!
"I specifically bought the BellaLite Hair Removal System to remove the hairs on my chin that I've been plucking. In the past, I've used electrolysis, but it is time-consuming to go back every two weeks, and I thought this way I could save time and do it at home via a laser which should be even better, right? Boy, was I WRONG!
I have very light colored skin (I buy "ivory" foundation) and medium brown hair, although my chin hairs are almost black. I followed the procedure as directed with seven treatments, two weeks apart (give or take a day or two), beginning at level 1 and increasing the level such that the last 3 treatments were at level 3. I washed the skin as directed, tried different positions and power levels, tried stretching the skin, etc. I didn't really feel anything with the lower power treatments, but with the higher power, I felt a little tingling and heat (and a transitory redness), so I know the "laser" was doing something--just not doing what it was supposed to do!
Initially, I was reluctant to shave the area, in case it didn't work (I was worried about making the surrounding finer hairs coarser), but I let the hairs grow in and shaved them before each treatment (and daily, because I didn't want to be seen with a "beard!").
It was a relatively small number of hairs, almost exactly 100 (which is a lot less than, say, a leg but seemed like a lot when they kept growing back). So I actually counted the hairs before each treatment to follow how many hair follicles had been destroyed in each treatment.
That's how I know that the BELLALITE DIDN"T WORK AT ALL! I did not see any decrease at all in the number or coarseness of the hairs on my chin. And I can assure you that the laser didn't kill some hair follicles and maybe stimulate new ones to grow, because they hairs kept growing back in the exact same locations (I know, as I became quite familiar with them over the 14+ weeks of treatment).
Since I didn't try the BellaLite anywhere else on my body, I can't speak to whether it works elsewhere. I had dreams of finishing my chin (my test case, the area that most bothered me) and moving on to my upper lip, but thank goodness I didn't shave that and try it there, too! ut it clearly doesn't work on chin hairs, no matter what power level you use or how you stretch the skin. Since during the coarse of the treatment, I was diagnosed with basal cell carcinoma (skin cancer) in another area, I figured that it wasn't worth trying any additional treatments anywhere else on my body, especially since I hadn't seen any effect on the area I treated seven times (which was my primary target).
I'm going to try to return this piece of junk to Costco and hope that they will take it back. The only reason I considered buying it was because I knew that Costco stands behind the products they sell and would theoretically take it back if it didn't work. Now I'm shaving daily and waiting until I have the time to go to the electrologist to permanently remove the hairs. I strongly suggest you save your money and try something other than the BellaLite.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:October 6, 2011

Inital Good Results Did Not Last

Pros: easy to use, not painful
Cons: initial positive results did not last, requires frequent replacement of expensive bulbs
"I bought this unit when it first appeared in the warehouse early this year. I followed the directions, worked quickly up to the highest setting without any problems and tried it on various body areas. I was initially thrilled with the results. Hair regrowth became thinner and slower and appeared to stop almost completely in some areas. However, after several months, the hair returned almost to its original growth pattern. If this unit didn't require the use of expensive replacement bulbs, I would maybe continue to try it as it is easy to use and not painful at all. It just takes some time. With the turn around of my results, however, I was not willing to invest in more bulbs. I returned the unit last week without any problems."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:santa cruz ca
Date:May 10, 2011

All I had hoped for

Pros: works great on most hair
Cons: takes a lot of time for mens face hair.
Model Number: Silk'n SensEpil
"I have been flashing off my face hair, some chest and underarm hair. BIG advantage to get rid of the underarm hair, as I use HALF or less of the antiperspirant I used to put on. I also switched brands to a solid glide on type, as it seems to work best without the hair to get in the way. No regrowth after just three treatments. The face hair is another matter. It is getting to be less and less, but it is taking a LONG time. Perhaps in months and months of use, the face hair will be under control. The flashes are only painful in a few spots, and most of the time I barely sense the flash, even on the highest setting. In the most sensitive areas I just turn the power down one notch. I hate pain and this is mostly non painful."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:November 3, 2010

Works Just as well as Professional Hair Removal!

Pros: private, easy to use, effective for reduction of dark hair, cheaper than professional sessions
Cons: will not work on blond or grey hair
Model Number: PK101354D
"A few years ago, I spent thousands in professional treatments to get rid of unwanted hair on my bikini line and underams, but couldn't afford to do my legs. It has been extremely effective for bikini and underarm touchups. I also began use on arms and legs. I get way faster results than the doctors office, because I can use more often without having to pay $200 per visit! The new rules say it IS safe to use on face below the cheekbone line also. After 3 treatments I practically have no arm hair. My legs have about 50% reduction in hair so far .I recommend if you have fair skin and dark hair like I do! Would never pay the $$ at a doctor's office again...The 4 or 5 light works for best me--which is the highest setting."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, Idaho
Date:November 30, 2011

Silk"n Bella Lite Hair Removal System

Cons: replacement lights are a bit spendy but oh well
"I love this product! I love being able to do it myself and it works!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:April 4, 2012

WOW!!! Amazing results!

Pros: great value, privacy
Cons: cartridge face gets hot on high setting, cartidge cost
Model Number: BellaLite
"I started getting laser hair treatments about a year ago at a place that charged me $100 a session for a very small area. I decided to buy this product and saved up for a few months to buy it. When I finally got it I was appalled-the place I was going to was using this EXACT machine, and charging me that much for it?!
I have had this nasty rash on my upper arms since I can remember. I went to a dermatologist and he told me that I have a skin condition where when the hair grows out, the hair follicle becomes irritated and the hair can't come out through the skin. He told me to exfoliate and use a special lotion, and that helped a little bit but it still looked pretty gross to me. After I got my machine, I started using it on that area. I am so happy, after almost a decade of being embarrassed by this skin condition I have seen dramatic improvements! I had to do it once a week for about six months, but I finally found something that helped. I also have ingrown hairs on my legs that are visible bumps and those are completely gone now too. I love love love this thing! I have done my entire body except for my face and head! Definitely worth the cost because if I were going to a place to do it I probably would be at like $5,000 with the amount that I have been able to do at home!
The only complaints I have are the skin sensor sometimes thinks my skin is too dark, but I realized its because there wasn't enough light in the room. If I turn another light on in the room it fixes the problem. The face of the cartridge gets very hot when I do larger areas, I think that's because I have it on the highest setting. Other than that it's great, and I am so glad that I bought it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frederick, MD
Date:May 12, 2011

AWESOME!!! LOVE IT!!! MUST BUY!!!!

"I have spent THOUSANDS! on professional laser hair removal (which was not working). So, I figured "What the heck, I don't have anything to lose in buying this I can always return it if it does not work" Wow! I am sooooooooo happy I bought this Bella Lite system, it has been the most effective then the professional. I am currently on my second lamp cartridge and I and others can notice a difference. Though the hair is not completely gone in ALL spots it is gone in a lot of the areas and it has thinned out. I already don't have to shave as much. I do want to say that you must have DARK HAIR for this to work. If your hair is light then this won't work. but I am middle eastern and have black hair and I love it!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carson City, NV
Date:January 30, 2012

Great Product and it works!!

Pros: painless way to get rid of hair.
Model Number: AS101500A SensEpil Bella Lite
"I bought this product in April 2011 and I love it. It started out slow but it does say it can take between 18 months to two years. After about 6 months of using it I saw an improvement of lighter hair where I used it and less hair. I had patches on my underarms, legs, bikini area and chin. But now I have a little hair on my underarms and even bigger patches of less hair on my legs. It takes about a week for the hair to grow back and I only shave once a week. I am positive that this product will work by the end of 2 years and am loving how little I shave. I had very thick hair everywhere and now it lighter to the touch and not prickly. This is a great product you just have to have patience and give it time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:May 22, 2012

Love it, it really works!

Pros: ease of use, at home treatment, very affordable given the value it brings
Cons: none
Model Number: Silk'n Bella LIte
"Bought this device about 6 months ago, and I just love it. I use it for my chin only which is the only body area that was causing me self-confidence issues. I am fair skin but black hair, so it shows right away when it grows. I've had chin hair for almost 2 decades and was plucking every day, to only get worse with age (44 yrs old here). What a pain!
I decided to buy the device and started using it as directed (make sure you do that). It worked wonders. Within a few weeks only, I saw a big difference: much much less growth, scattered and spaced in time.
The device is so easy to use, in the comfort of your own house. This is a GREAT solution to my problem. I love it and highly recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:February 7, 2011

This thing really works!

"After 6 treatments (the last 2 are on the highest level) I see almost no hair on my armpits and about 50% less on the under- bikini area. Didn't try the legs since I have very little hair there. You really have to be patient and do not expect results right away. I saw first results after the 3d treatment. Even though I am using it on the highest level and it actually hurts a bit, I have no burns. I am so glad I bought this, and hopefully by the summer will be hair-free!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:January 16, 2011

A lot less hair so far

Pros: simple to use, really removed hair
Cons: insanely bright flash, may cause dark spots
"I waited to do my review because at first my hair seemed to still be growing. After reading the booklet and waiting I can see it was just growing out to fall out. So far after the fallout there is drastic hair reduction and I am light skinned with thick dark hair on legs. My partner has also used it on a few hairs on chin area with very good results. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was I had a few dark spots after treating from the machine- like a dark suntan but in a line of blocks. Kind of weird but I was also using on highest level. I may have to use lower level next time so this won't happen. Didn't happen on tester area on highest level so that wasn't any help in the matter."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2011

Love it!

"Being full latina with very light skin and super dark/thick hair, I've tried many different products over the years. I had professional laser hair removal about 5 years ago, and it worked great, but cost a lot and hair is returning to some of the areas (which is normal). I am SUPER happy with this machine so far, and am seeing the results after just a few weeks on my underarms, bikini line and face. I have yet to venture onto my legs since it is time consuming, but that is next! I've had a little bit of a problem with the sensor telling me I'm too dark a couple of times (which there is no way I am), so I'll exchange it if necessary, but will definitely keep going with this system."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nampa, ID
Date:February 1, 2012

Patience=Results!

Pros: easy to use, effective, intensity level adjustment
Cons: a little slow to recharge
"I have course dark brown hair on the legs, bikini and underarm area that grows so fast I get a female version of a 5 o'clock shadow. I had started getting laser removal treatments at a med spa for my underarms to see how it would work before I saw this product. I am getting the same results! It does NOT happen instantly (nor did it with the spa service). Just when you think there is no difference, you shave one day and it grows back with all these bald spots. I don't know why it takes 2+ weeks for a treatment to show its handywork, but it is sooo worth the wait. I finished my 4th treatment about a week ago and I already have about 40-60% less hair growth from when I started 2 months ago. I know when my next growing cycle kicks in I will have a bunch of new hair to zap (the ones that have been dormant), but that is disclosed in the instructions. It happens with professional laser hair removal too and that is why it takes a MINIMUM of six treatments and usually closer to a dozen to see maximum permanent results. The only real down side is that there is a little wait time in between zaps while the light recharges and once in a while the skin color detector/protector will prevent a zap even though my skin tone is on the lighter side. I just move to a different spot and come back and it works fine again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marysville WA
Date:October 25, 2011

It's early yet, but so far so good

Pros: easy to use, compact, less expensive than professional services., privately done in your own home
Cons: requires multiple uses, replacement bulbs are pricey
"It's probably too early to tell, but I will give you my initital use feedback. I have used the device once, only on my underarms and bikini line. I have very sensitive skin, and I overrode the setting to #3 on the very first use with no problems at all. I have had laser treatments done on my roscaea on my face professionally, and it was way more painful... I will probably move this up to level 5 on my next use.
After just one treatment, I had less hair on my bikini line area! I am quite fair with very dark hair. My underarms didn't have the dramatic response, but it has been only one use.
I will leave another review after I have been using it for awhile."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2010

Did not work for me

Cons: uncomfortable to use, no difference in hair growth
"I am the prime candidate for this product, dark hair and very fair skin. I tried this product over a period of a few months and did not notice a bit less hair. I was very disappointed in the lack of results this product gave me. It looked like I had very tiny burns on my skin, yet the hair still grew back!"
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston Willowbrook
Date:August 11, 2011

After 7 months-no results

"I received the BellaLite for Christmas and have been using it for over 7 months. I can see no changes in hair growth. Not only is this an expensive purchase, but the lights don't last very long and are very expensive to replace. I definitely don't recommend this system."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:June 3, 2011

Works Very Well!

"Purchased the BellaIite in January and have used it off and on. It works fantastic!!! If you follow the simple directions it works like nothing else I've ever tried. My underarms are almost hair free. I have light skin and black hair and have been embarrased by the amount of hair on body all my life. Now I'm in my 40's and can get rid of it forever!!! I read the negative reviews and can only imagine that they didn't use the product correctly because if you do, your hair doesn't grow back. I bought a pair of indoor tanning goggles at the drugstore to protect my eyes and it would be nice if they included a pair in the box."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>