Customer Reviews for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System

Includes 1 - Pre-Installed Lamp Cartridge and 2 - Replacement Cartridges
Average Customer Rating:
3.783 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
(out of 92 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
17
68 of 92(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Review 1 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:November 25, 2011

It's working after only three uses

Pros: great quality item at a great price, it works, can be used at a painfree setting, you can purchase additional lights
Cons: do not accidentaly press and allow light to damage, pay attention to placement of light to get full co, need to stick to a regular schedule to get results
Model Number: AS101500A
"I was unsure if this type of item would work, but trusting Costco and knowing I could return it.
It consists of a base with control panel and a handheld light pulse connected to the base by a cord. The design is fine - BUT I keep getting confused by the "International symbol" button labels and have to shuffle back and forth between the two booklets to understand it each time I use it. The button labels are on one page and instructions are spread out over others. I wish they had just used word on the buttons.
This is NOT a gimmicky item. The unit feels well made and is powerful. In fact you have to be very careful when you turn it on not to accidental press the button and flash the light into your eyes!
I marked the calender so I could stay on the schedule they recommend. It has to do with hair dormancy and growth timing - and the need to hit those follicles at the right time.
Well I am very pleased that after three uses, I am seeing definite results. No it's not complete yet, but I would say a good 33% of my hair is gone. And what is left is much softer and less dense.
The instructions say the more pale you are the better, and that darker shaded people should not use it Apparently it needs to be able to pass thru light skin and find the dark hairs to "kill" the roots. Well. I am as pale as they get. I also have dark hair which is the perfect combination for success.
I was not sure if this would work on the course hair of the bikini area, becuase it mentioned using it on the arms, under arms and legs. I have been using it on my underarms and bikini area only. My underarm hair has started growing much slower and I have less to shave now. The bikini area had whole patches that are now smooth as a baby's bottom. I think I will have to pay closer attention and press harder like they say so that it will leave a square boundary showing where you just used it so that you won"t miss any strips as you position it for the next zap.
As far as comfort, there are 5 light levels. I started off right away on level 3. There is a safety feature where it will not let you go over level 2 without putting in a bypass code. I used it right away and felt almost nothing in some areas and a "snap" in others. This last time I tried level 4 - but it did start to go into the uncomfortable range for me - but it was very quick and the feeling went away right away. Since I have had such good results - I am very excited to keep using it. I was hoping this would be an alternative to going in for laser hair removal. I do not know what that procedure feels like - maybe this is a weaker system, but you have to keep going in for them and they are not permanent results - so I think anyone considering putting that much money down should definitely try this first. It may take me longer to get full results "down there" but with what I have seen - I believe others with pale skin could also eventually see good results - and I am expecting to use this longer there than recommended for arms and legs. There is a char in the book showing that course hair takes longer - they just don;t mention the bikini are perhaps becuase it does not work for as many people?
"
36 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2011

Works great but you need to be very careful!

Pros: works well, good price
Cons: need to keep out of sun for awhile
"I LOVE this product! I've always wanted to try laser hair removal but the price tag was too high for something that I wasn't sure would work for me. The BellaLite gave me a risk-free way to try it at an affordable price. So far I've had it for 6 weeks and it seems to be working on the hair on my stomach. It has definitely reduced the amount that's there to almost nothing, just a few stragglers that should be taken care of soon. Yay!
WARNING for those of you who are impatient: Don't be!!! I thought I could speed things up by jumping up from level 1 straight to level 3 after just a few weeks. The pulses at level 3 felt WAYYY more sore than level 1 and I should have stopped at this point, but I kept going for a few more pulses. Two days later I ended up with some ugly rectangle-shaped burns. Luckily, the burns have healed about 95%, but if they didn't, I would have ended up with something wayyy more noticeable and ugly than the hair I was trying to get rid of. Please understand that I do not blame the product and take full responsibility for what happened. I just wanted to let everyone know that you should not take the warnings that come with this product lightly and that you should listen to your body. If something is really painful you should stop! Err on the side of caution to avoid harming yourself.
One other thing to note is that you are not supposed to treat an area if it has been exposed to sun or will be exposed to sun for about 4 weeks. So essentially 8 weeks at minimum (4 before, 4 after), but possibly a lot more if you do more than 1 treatment. That's a long time, esp if you are outdoors a lot!"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:March 15, 2011

This works!

Pros: works great
Cons: time consuming
"I have had laser hair removal professionally, and this truly works just as well. It takes a lot longer than the professional treatment since the light probe is much smaller. But it's so much more convenient to be able to do at home and so much less expensive. The hair on my arms and legs is almost completely gone after 5 treatments. I have always used the highest setting and it is not too painful, but I do notice the light probe gets hot quickly, so if you are able to let it cool down for 5-10 minutes after about 10 minutes of use it does not hurt as much. It can also be more painful to do on pigmented skin, so it is best to do the treatments when your skin is not tanned. The Sensepil has a protective shut off mechanism that will not allow you to treat areas of skin that are too dark, although in reading some of the other reviews, it sounds like some people have been burned. My advice is to start on a lower setting if you have any pigment in your skin. I am light skinned with some freckles, and I have not been burned. However, the first time I used it on my legs they were tanned, and it was much more painful. The cartridges lasted me about 2 treatments of both upper and lower legs (I am 5'7", 125 pounds). I am so thankful to have found this fabulous product and to be almost hair free!"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:US
Date:October 4, 2010

It works!!!

Pros: works and is affordable, can use at home
Model Number: Silk’n SensEpil
"Bought the SensEpil model about 2 months ago. I had professional laser hair removal a few years ago and use this to touch up areas previously treated and treat new areas. I have done 4 treatments on my underarms (new area) and the hair loss is significant. MUCH less painful than the laser. Plus the professional cost was too expensive for touch ups to my legs so this gets the job done at a price I can afford. The unit can get hot if you do a large area. I just turn it off for 1-2 min, let it cool and then continue."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:November 30, 2010

Best Purchase Ever!

"I would buy this again and again! Wish I could have bought it years ago! I have noticed a difference after only 1 try . Once in a while you will get a zap feeling when using it, but for the most part no pain at all."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:June 13, 2011

Overall Satisfied with Purchase

Pros: easy to use, i no longer have to shave my legs!!!!!!
Cons: the skin sensor is a bit tempermental
"I am mixed race with light olive skin and brown to dark brown hair. 2 weeks after treatment 5 I no longer have to shave my legs. I did a touch up on a few hairs that I apparently missed during treatment five, 3 or 4 zaps per leg only. I have noticed no difference in my arm pit area, however, my hair there is not as dark and I just may not get the same results as my legs, but I will try for a few more treatments. I have not had as much success with the bikini line, which kinda baffles me, as the hair is dark brown and thicker than the hair on my legs. I am hoping to get better results in the bikini line after a few more treatments at level 5. I am beginning to have trouble with the sensor. It worked fine the first 4 treaments, but the last two treatments the skin sensor has been locking the machine up for no apparent reason. If this continues to be a problem I will exchange for another unit but it hasn't gotten quite annoying enough yet to do anything about it. With a little bit of patience I have been able to complete the last two treatments. I have been treating my lower legs, bikini line, arm pits, and lower face and 1 lamp lasts for 2.5 treatments. I rated 4 stars because the skin sensor is starting to act up. Results wise I rate 5 for lower legs and 4 for bikini line."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phila 'burbs, PA
Date:April 17, 2011

3 hairless & happy sisters!

Pros: share to lower cost, costco great return policy not needed, works
Model Number: Silk'n
"We bought the Silk'n from Costco last year to share and it worked for all three of us. We each have our own bulb, the 750 pulses are counted in the bulb, not the machine. We quickly went to level 5 power, no pain at all, none. First hair to disappear for me was the bikini area, the underarms results were next, the chin last. One bulb did those 3 areas for me. I had a tan so did not do my chin until that faded & then started my lip, lower legs to follow before I tan again. One sister did legs plus bikini, chin & underarms & another one of us started chin right away along with underarms. All three of us have medium to medium-light skin with dark to light brown hair. Worked great for all three!! Split the cost of machine, each get your own bulbs makes it even more affordable. I can't remember the last time I shaved or waxed.... how great is that!!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saratoga, Ca
Date:October 6, 2010

It Works!!!

Pros: cost less than professionals, no appointment required, in comfort of own home
Cons: small window takes a while to cover larger areas, takes longer than prefessionals
"I was skeptical that this would work. I do have fair skin and I did you the product more frequently than the instructions. I was able to do my bikini area 1x each week and had great results. Hardly any hair after 4 treatments. Under my arms is proving more difficult to remove. I had to go to the 1x per week treatment and it has helped. You do have to be consistent while the hair is still growing a fair amount."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:April 4, 2012

WOW!!! Amazing results!

Pros: great value, privacy
Cons: cartridge face gets hot on high setting, cartidge cost
Model Number: BellaLite
"I started getting laser hair treatments about a year ago at a place that charged me $100 a session for a very small area. I decided to buy this product and saved up for a few months to buy it. When I finally got it I was appalled-the place I was going to was using this EXACT machine, and charging me that much for it?!
I have had this nasty rash on my upper arms since I can remember. I went to a dermatologist and he told me that I have a skin condition where when the hair grows out, the hair follicle becomes irritated and the hair can't come out through the skin. He told me to exfoliate and use a special lotion, and that helped a little bit but it still looked pretty gross to me. After I got my machine, I started using it on that area. I am so happy, after almost a decade of being embarrassed by this skin condition I have seen dramatic improvements! I had to do it once a week for about six months, but I finally found something that helped. I also have ingrown hairs on my legs that are visible bumps and those are completely gone now too. I love love love this thing! I have done my entire body except for my face and head! Definitely worth the cost because if I were going to a place to do it I probably would be at like $5,000 with the amount that I have been able to do at home!
The only complaints I have are the skin sensor sometimes thinks my skin is too dark, but I realized its because there wasn't enough light in the room. If I turn another light on in the room it fixes the problem. The face of the cartridge gets very hot when I do larger areas, I think that's because I have it on the highest setting. Other than that it's great, and I am so glad that I bought it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
Date:June 24, 2011

Worth Every Penny!

Pros: use in comfort of own home, dramatic results on dark hair, very easy to use
Cons: doesn't work on light hair or white hair, have to order replacement lamps
Model Number: Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
"I hesitated for a minute because of the price. But it is worth every penny! I am using the product as directed and after 4 treatments I see dramatic results! I am fair-medium skin tone with dark brown hair. I have used every hair removal product on the market. I've paid a lot of money for electrolysis, laser and waxing. Although I did have some success, it doesn't compare with the success of the Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System! My underarms only have a few straggler hairs; my bikini line is almost hair free; the few dark facial hairs are gone; with only a few touch-up spots for hair that is much less coarse. My leg hair is almost gone, but needs touch up, and did take longer, but with legs there is much more area to cover! Being 58 years old, I now have some white hair coming in and unfortunately this device does not work on white hair. I do not have to shave every day though! Once a week, only until all the hair is gone. I'm saving money on razors, razor refills, shaving cream and time! I hope to not have to shave on my vacation in Maui coming up! If you are hesitating, hesitate no more. It is worth the price. I'm now using my last lamp. My results are as expected. After treatment, the hairs may take up to 10 days to fall out, but they will. A little tug (as a test) on the hairs and they fall out, but there's no need to tug or pluck the hairs out, they will disappear on their own. It may take more time to see hair free results. Be patient! It works!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2011

Surprising Success

Pros: convenient, easy to adjust light level
Cons: a little difficult to tell where you just treated
"I paid for professional hair removal six years ago and knew even before the sessions were finished that it wasn't going to work. Perhaps technology has come a long way because my experience with this product has been the opposite -- and I can use it in the comfort of my home. I just finished round four of treatment and now can wait a week in between shaving my legs (and arms... yes, I do) and waxing my face (though I cannot wax with the product and must shave). My armpits are taking longer to respond the same way, but the hair growth is far slower than it used to be.
I would advise you to not go crazy like I did and try to do all of your hair at once -- it is not a quick process that way. You could alternate weeks with different areas or wait until you've got one area managed and move to another."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:May 3, 2011

Great Product

"I used this product weekly instead of every two weeks. My first two weeks were at level 1, the third week at level 2, and weeks four and five at level 3. The hair under my arms and in my bikini area are almost completely gone. I am sure with a few more weeks, probably at level 3, I wont have any hair. Anyone who says this product does not work did not give it a chance to do what it needed to do. They are impatient. I have never had hair removal treatments at a salon so I dont have a comparison to that. But for my own experience, if you give it time and are patient you will see dramatic results within two months. Once I get these two areas under control I will start on my legs and work with those. This is a great product, well worth the money. No more shaving!! woo hoo!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:napa, ca
Date:February 1, 2011

great alternative to laser

Pros: effective, relatively pain free, good value
Cons: takes more time to do legs than claimed, difficult to track where you are/have finished, small light area
"It takes a little patience and getting used to the 'zap' but once you've done it a few times, it's reasonably quick. I'm a medium size female (5'6" 145 lbs) and use a little more than one cartridge on underarms, bikini and full legs. I didn't notice a great difference until about the 3rd month of consistent treatments. Six months later, 50% decrease in hair - enough so that if I didn't shave, it was barely noticeable to the touch, and was quite soft. 9 months later, i'm still using it monthly and have seen a 75% reduction in hair. hopefully it'll last and be even less, soon."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:May 22, 2012

Love it, it really works!

Pros: ease of use, at home treatment, very affordable given the value it brings
Cons: none
Model Number: Silk'n Bella LIte
"Bought this device about 6 months ago, and I just love it. I use it for my chin only which is the only body area that was causing me self-confidence issues. I am fair skin but black hair, so it shows right away when it grows. I've had chin hair for almost 2 decades and was plucking every day, to only get worse with age (44 yrs old here). What a pain!
I decided to buy the device and started using it as directed (make sure you do that). It worked wonders. Within a few weeks only, I saw a big difference: much much less growth, scattered and spaced in time.
The device is so easy to use, in the comfort of your own house. This is a GREAT solution to my problem. I love it and highly recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nampa, ID
Date:February 1, 2012

Patience=Results!

Pros: easy to use, effective, intensity level adjustment
Cons: a little slow to recharge
"I have course dark brown hair on the legs, bikini and underarm area that grows so fast I get a female version of a 5 o'clock shadow. I had started getting laser removal treatments at a med spa for my underarms to see how it would work before I saw this product. I am getting the same results! It does NOT happen instantly (nor did it with the spa service). Just when you think there is no difference, you shave one day and it grows back with all these bald spots. I don't know why it takes 2+ weeks for a treatment to show its handywork, but it is sooo worth the wait. I finished my 4th treatment about a week ago and I already have about 40-60% less hair growth from when I started 2 months ago. I know when my next growing cycle kicks in I will have a bunch of new hair to zap (the ones that have been dormant), but that is disclosed in the instructions. It happens with professional laser hair removal too and that is why it takes a MINIMUM of six treatments and usually closer to a dozen to see maximum permanent results. The only real down side is that there is a little wait time in between zaps while the light recharges and once in a while the skin color detector/protector will prevent a zap even though my skin tone is on the lighter side. I just move to a different spot and come back and it works fine again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carson City, NV
Date:January 30, 2012

Great Product and it works!!

Pros: painless way to get rid of hair.
Model Number: AS101500A SensEpil Bella Lite
"I bought this product in April 2011 and I love it. It started out slow but it does say it can take between 18 months to two years. After about 6 months of using it I saw an improvement of lighter hair where I used it and less hair. I had patches on my underarms, legs, bikini area and chin. But now I have a little hair on my underarms and even bigger patches of less hair on my legs. It takes about a week for the hair to grow back and I only shave once a week. I am positive that this product will work by the end of 2 years and am loving how little I shave. I had very thick hair everywhere and now it lighter to the touch and not prickly. This is a great product you just have to have patience and give it time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bay City, MI
Date:January 9, 2012

Slowly working!

Pros: works, slow process
Cons: expensive, skin detector is iffy
"I decided to purchase the BellaLite in early December 2011. I have gone through one complete cartridge and just started my second. So far I have done my arms, back of the tops of my legs, bikini line, armpits, and chin/upper lip. I try to do it pretty regularly (sometimes I forget) but it seems to be working.
My arm hair is significantly reduced, some parts are not growing back at all, when it does it is slower. My face and upper lip are also about 50% gone. Nothing with the armpits or bikini line yet, but I suspect that the thicker hair is going to require many more treatments than the finer, non-shaven hairs.
I didn't want to shave my face or arms before the treatment so i used one of those "smooth away" pads to get rid of the hair before i used the bellalite. This seemed to work really well!!
I'm going to keep with it and hopefully by summertime I can be (mostly) hair free!!
Sometimes, yes the skin color detector does act up and I have to try using it on a different location or turn the device off and restart it. I have light/medium skin & medium/dark brown hair all over my body. I don't know why it does this, but it is very annoying. I think it honestly has something to do with the light in the room you are doing the treatment in. I have tried darker rooms and it seems to work better than my super light bathroom!! I also think it has to do with how well the window is sealed and pressed against your skin.
For example, on areas where I can get good coverage of the window, and put a good amount of pressure on, I don't seem to have the skin detector problems. It happens more when i try to do an area where it can't be pressed down completely.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 17, 2011

Works slowly

Pros: works well, fairly painless
Cons: difficult to do evenly, hair looks patchy
Model Number: 7921
"I have been using this product consistently for almost 5 months now. I have done 8 treatments exactly according to the instructions, starting at level one the working my way up to 5 with no problems.
I have used this product under my arms, full bikini area and, toes. The hair under my arms has reduced by about 50 percent fairly evenly, around the bikini area the hair is almost completely gone with little patches remaining. On my toes the hair was light before, now appears to be completely gone.
I have not yet had to replace the light cartridge due so it is very cost efficient."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marysville WA
Date:October 25, 2011

It's early yet, but so far so good

Pros: easy to use, compact, less expensive than professional services., privately done in your own home
Cons: requires multiple uses, replacement bulbs are pricey
"It's probably too early to tell, but I will give you my initital use feedback. I have used the device once, only on my underarms and bikini line. I have very sensitive skin, and I overrode the setting to #3 on the very first use with no problems at all. I have had laser treatments done on my roscaea on my face professionally, and it was way more painful... I will probably move this up to level 5 on my next use.
After just one treatment, I had less hair on my bikini line area! I am quite fair with very dark hair. My underarms didn't have the dramatic response, but it has been only one use.
I will leave another review after I have been using it for awhile."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Silk'n BellaLite™ Hair Removal System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:October 24, 2011

Not perfect, but working for me

Pros: reduces need to shave - hallelujah!, works for some people
Cons: may not work for everyone, kinda costly compared to just shaving
"I have fair skin and dark hair, and this (technically, the SensEpil earlier model) is working for me pretty well. It's not perfect, but I'm also not using it very regularly (going months without a treatment, then finally getting around to it), so maybe my results would be better had I stuck to a routine.
Anyway, my leg hair below the knee is nearly gone. Some faint hairs grow back, but I can generally go in public without shaving them and feel confident.
It says not to use it on one's face as it could make the hair grow *more* (as happened to at least one reviewer, I noticed) but I tried once or twice to no affect at all - no more, no less hair.
My underarms were doing pretty well, half the hair s *gone* but the other half (lower half, on both left and right side, for some reason) still grows a lot of hair. Still working on it, though.
I have not gotten into bikini area or above the knee - I have a feeling it won't work well on my thighs since the thigh hair is so much lighter/finer.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>