Customer Reviews for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer

AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer

The AutoChron wireless wall switch timer is a patented, easy to install timer that mounts over any standard toggle wall switch.  It will automatically turn on & off the toggle without requiring any hard wiring. The timer's easy-to-program keypad offers a manual override allowing you to use your switch without affecting programming. Set the AutoChron to flip the switch on up to nine (9) times a day, remaining on for anywhere from one minute to 24 hours. It's as easy as setting an alarm clock. Controls indoor lamps, lighting, ceiling fans, porch lights, landscape lighting, holiday lights - any device that is controlled by a wall switch. Easily mounts directly on top of the wall switch plate with included mounting screw. Works on single plates, can be mounted on one toggle switch for double plates and can be mounted on the two end toggles with a 3-switch plate. The AutoChron has a simple key-tap programming with an easy to read large LCD display. Multi-function display also has a low battery indicator, room temperture and glow in the dark buttons. Requires two (2) AA batteries (not included). AutoChron saves you energy and money and provides peace of mind. Avoid the predictable "timer-controlled look" when your home is lit up. Perfect for families with forgetful kids who leave their lights on in their room! The AutoChron makes your light switch a genius.® Features: US & Canadian patents Turns on/off any electronic device connected to a wall switch, e.g., overhead lights, ceiling fans, air conditioners. You can't operate these items with a conventional plug-in timer.   Easily fits over current flip wall switch - no wiring required Installs in 1 minute using just one screw (included)   Fully automatic and has up to 10 different settings available. You can program different on/off times for different days - even different on/off times for the same day!.   Not affected by power failures the way conventional "plug-in" timers are   No fussing with cords and dials that are impossible to read and calibrate Requires two (2) AA batteries (not included) Works anywhere in the home, boat or RV   Provides added security in the home - Special Random Feature (See Directions For Details) Model: 8100-3
Average Customer Rating:
4.279 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(136 Reviews) 136
(out of 136 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (136 reviews)
5 stars
87
4 stars
26
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
11
119 of 136(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Review 1 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, WA
Date:April 17, 2014

Great product

Pros: great idea and works as expected., sound is minimal & as expected.
"As described & has many features. I like the random setting for when we are away. One does need to read the instructions."
Review 2 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:April 8, 2014

initial lack of product data

Model Number: 8100-3
"Initial product data did not specify only traditional switch compatibility and not designer switch compatibility and its width precludes use in adjacent multiple-gang switch applications."
Review 3 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Silicon Valley
Date:March 15, 2014

Simple basic toggle timer

Pros: installs easily, programming flexibility, the kids love to have a motor flip a switch!, instructions clear
Cons: no random timing "jitter", no override "stay 'on'" or "stay 'off'", somewhat loud
Model Number: AutoChron
"This device worked exactly as advertised. However, some things were not very obvious until the item was in-hand and the ad re-read. There is no "random" function except the 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. pre-programmed setting. None of the other 9 times you can set will be in anyway "randomized." The unit is somewhat loud, but not an issue. It installs easily. I've only programed it when off the wall, otherwise, seem like too much bending to read it. It has no override: it would be good to go into the room with it on and press the "on" button to have it stay on. But, that isn't a feature, and the time could turn it off soon after you enter the room. So, it needs to be disabled if you are home."
Review 4 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brentwood, CA
Date:March 6, 2014

Very nice. Extremely simple to work

"Shipped in three separate, concealed packaging. This way, if you only need to use one or two, you don't have to open the others. It works great! Not sure how that switch turns on my light without any wiring - awesomeness!!!! Great deal and looks nice too. It's kool that it also has the current time displayed on the face. Great buy!! Thank you‼️"
Review 5 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:March 5, 2014

Impressive device

Pros: very adaptable to different program times., i was surprised that it displays, the room temperature.
Cons: screen display is a bit dark and hard to read.
Model Number: P38-200A
"I bought the 3-pack and I was quite satisfied with this wall switch timer.
It works as advertised.
"
Review 6 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:March 4, 2014

Just What I Needed

Pros: easy to install and program
Cons: don't know how long the batteries will last
Model Number: model 8100-3
"No more forgetting to turn the outside lights on or off. No more worrying about the house when away on vacation. Easy to install and program. Wife is happy so am I."
Review 7 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greensboro, NC
Date:March 4, 2014

Easy to install

Pros: easy istall and easy to manage the timer.
Cons: made of plastic
"I wasn't sure how well this would work when I ordered it. I had a digital timer that completely replaced the switch in my last home and didn't want that again. (Too expensive and required an electrician to install) This one fits over the toggle switch and screws in. A small motor flips the toggle switch on and off. Easy to set the digital timer and adjust when daylight savings comes. I've had it 3 weeks now and It works well to turn our carriage lights on at night and off in the morning. I plan on using the others when we travel, turning room lights on and off to simulate people being at home. The only down side is that the box is bulky over the switch and sticks out."
Review 8 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Erie, CO
Date:March 3, 2014

Great security product!

Pros: easy to install and program
Cons: won't work with the middle of a 3 switch set
"I was looking for a way to have my outside lights come on with the sunset, but couldn't really find a suitable light sensor that would work in the fixtures I had. The AutoChron was simple to install and program, even for a fairly non-mechanical and minimally tech savvy person like myself. It is wonderful to come home to the lights on outside when it is dark out and I've been gone at work all day!"
Review 9 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Passaic,NJ
Date:February 22, 2014

Love them

Pros: automatic light on and off.
Cons: none that i can think of.
Model Number: NA
"As an orthodox Jewish woman, I was leaving lights on all Shabbos and Yom Tov. Saw these at a friend's and looked for them online. Costco has the best price. These require two AA batteries and no wiring. Can set up to ten different time settings for on and off. Comes with the longer screw required to install."
Review 10 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Marcos, Calif.
Date:February 15, 2014

Had Mine For 6 Years

Pros: about as maintenance free as a product can be!, v-e-r-y co$t effective
Cons: none in 6 years
Model Number: AutoChron® Wireless Wall Switch Timer
"Bought it when they first became available. It just continues to work; just have to change the batteries once a year!"
Review 11 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2014

A good buy

Pros: a good product in its class.
Cons: restricted use only for toggle switches.
Model Number: item#557243-P38-200ATBPT
"Since this is applicable only for toggle wall switch, I did make some improvement to fit our wall switches. After the modification, without altering the unit, I am using it with our rectangular touch type switches."
Review 12 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 24, 2014

Works great and easy to install

"Easy to install and the programming directions were easy to follow. I'm very happy with the purchase and the reliability of a light timer when we are not at home."
Review 13 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Orleans, LA
Date:November 26, 2013

Good buy and easy to hook-up

Pros: easy install no wires to mess with.
Cons: unit is kind of big
"Hooked up in less then 5 min. worked well
great when I'm out of town or coming home late. No one knows if someone is home or not, great thing is no wires to hook up just take out the cover plate screws and install and your ready to go.
"
Review 14 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California's Central Valley
Date:November 3, 2013

Good Product

Pros: turns switches on and off., accommodates up to ten on and off cycles.
Cons: glow-in-the-dark buttons are dim.
Model Number: 8100-3
"This product does what it states. I installed two and gave others to family and friends. I installed one on a switch next to the door from my laundry room to my patio. Before installation, there was an approximate 7-inch gap between the switch and the side of the clothes dryer. After installation, there's an approximate gap of 5 1/2 inches. My washer and dryer are both on pedestals, and this makes them higher than the switch. Using a short screwdriver, I was able to install the timer. However, the size of the gap and the height of the dryer interfered with programming the timer. While I could operate the timer's buttons, I could not see the timer's read out. Fortunately, I was able to program the timer and then reinstall it. There's enough of a gap to replace the batteries when I need to; however, to change the time for day-light savings I will need to remove the timer. The location where I installed the second timer does not have any interference. The timer does make a motorized noise when it turns the switch on and off. I do not currently have household pets; however, if I did I think the motorized noise may startle them. As far as I'm concerned, they would just have to get used to it because the benefits of the timer outweigh how it may startle them. On the other hand, it may be fun to watch:-)."
Review 15 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2013

dumb

Cons: too hard
"I tried this for 4 days on different switches. It never worked. Read the instructions several times. If it is this hard to figure out, I don't want it."
Review 16 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 17, 2013

No longer in the dark

Pros: a set of three, easy installation, quick delivery
"The days are longer and it's really nice to come home to a well-lit house. These are a bargain -- easy to install and all three have worked beautifully thus far. Installation is a no-brainer. I've already recommended them to others so I hope they are back in stock soon. And I'm glad I didn't hesitate to purchase mine!"
Review 17 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:October 17, 2013

BRILLIANT in its simplicity & requires NO wiring!

Pros: absolutely no rewiring needed., great for security (use cfl or led bulbs), easy to adjust settings and time changes, batteries last forever.
Cons: won't work with fancy (eg:decora) switches.
Model Number: 8100-3
"If you have standard toggle switches that you want to control with NO rewiring, this is such an AMAZINGLY SIMPLE solution that you'll wonder why you didn't think of it first. A 4 year old could install it and an 8 year old could program it. I bought 3 of these to turn our outside lights on at dusk and off at dawn. The AutoChron also has a manual on/off switch in case you need to override the setting.
Handy tip: One of our switches for an outside light had the garage door opener positioned too closely to the faceplate to allow normal installation of the AutoChron. So I installed an AutoChron upside down and it fits and works PERFECTLY - as long as I remember to reverse the On/Off times when setting it. Ü"
Review 18 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:October 13, 2013

Execellent

Pros: easy install and setup
Cons: none.
"I saw these and figured they were a must have. Super fast shipping, excellent price easy to install and work perfectly. My only concern is I have is will the autochron work on a light that has multiple switches, another words if one switch is off the other is on, and so forth but I will figure it out."
Review 19 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 15, 2013

Can't Beat them for the price - So Far So Good

Pros: cheap and work well so far. very happy here, can't find anything like it in stores
Cons: one of the 3 was doa replaced immediately when, called costco.com c/s. so i'm happy.
"I have wanted a way to control porch lights for years. Saw this online and ordered a set of 3. One was DOA out of the box. Costco.Com replaced it immediately. They set up in a minute. Work fine. Can be removed in seconds. Used on ceiling fans also. Very Happy!"
Review 20 for AutoChron® 3-pack Wireless Wall Switch Timer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:June 8, 2013

This model dies after 4 months

Cons: died after 4 months use
Model Number: Model: 8100-3
"I previously bought the 1st generation of these (first gen does not have temp on LCD) and they are going strong after 5 years. I figured the 2nd gen models must be better? WRONG! They died after 4 months of use with the dreaded ERR displayed and resetting using the pin hole does not fix them. I will look for the 1st gen models from now on. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THESE."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>