Customer Reviews for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella

10' x 10' Sunbrella® Canopy Swivel Base
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 19(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Review 1 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Evergreen, CO
Date:May 2, 2011

Great, but not perfect

Pros: easy to assemble, provides great sun coverage, customer service
Cons: tough to move, no easy way to remove sand/water from base
Model Number: OP-MKT10-SB
"This umbrella was easy to assemble, and raise and lower. It provides great sun coverage and is easy to tilt. The cover does not match the umbrella and stand - it is blue gray, the umbrella is brown/taupe. However, I had no trouble calling the vendor and they immediately said they would send a replacement cover - no questions asked."
Review 2 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:April 30, 2011

Will be toppled by 5mph winds

Pros: beautiful
Cons: will die with little wind
"This is a gorgeous umbrella, we really loved the look it gives our entire Portofino setup. Unfortunately the first time we used it this year (we got it last fall), a wind I didn't even feel toppled it and broke it. We were all in the backyard when it happened, and luckily no one was hurt, but the base was filled with sand and water as directed. It must need a bigger base or some other weight distribution or a warning to use it only in a place with zero wind."
Review 3 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Madison, AL
Date:April 14, 2011

Gorgeous, huge umbrella!

"This umbrella arrived very quickly. It is huge, heavy duty and gorgeous! Exactly what we were looking for. One piece of advice. It is EXTREMELY heavy once you have added all the sand and water to the base. Make sure that whenever you need to move it, wind the wheels all the way down, or it will not roll easily. We learned this the hard way ;o(. Other than that piece of advice my husband had no problem. So far we love it!!!"
Review 4 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naples, FL
Date:April 13, 2011

Incredible Umbrella

"Very easy setup. Incredible quality. Easy adjustment. Very heavy duty, much better than you would expect for home and yard use...more resort calibre."
Review 5 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, Texas
Date:April 13, 2011

No customer support.

Pros: so far so good
Cons: no customer support
Model Number: OP-MKT10-SB
"I bought the umbrella and it seems OK. But I tried to contact the manufacturer to see how much a replacement canvas would be.
I called and had to leave a message; no one there to answer the phone. I also emailed, No response to both attempts. It's been about two weeks....maybe I should just return it in case there are any problems in the future.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:April 13, 2011

Finally, afternoon shade!

Pros: quality appearance size.
Cons: wobbly awning in wind.
"Easy to set up with the brute strength of my gardener! Another quality product from Costco which looks great on the patio. Although it is very heavy, I am able to maneuver umbrella on my own. I cannot figure out how to keep the awning steady in the wind though so only gave it four stars."
Review 7 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Murrieta, CA
Date:April 10, 2011

Quality Product - Easy to Assemble

"The umbrella arrived in two boxes (1 box - base & 1 box - umbrella & cover); both boxes delivered at the same time in less than 1 week of ordering. The packaging was secure and assembly was extremely easy - less than 20 minutes. Excellent quality, stylish resort look, easy to operate (up, down, swivel), & the cover fits perfectly. We have intense afternoon winds and the umbrella seems to hold up well. We have a small patio (12x12) and it provides ideal coverage."
Review 8 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:maryland, USA
Date:April 2, 2011

Industrial strength umbrella

Pros: nice cover, casters for easy mobility, intelligent design
Cons: poor factory quality control
"This is a solid umbrella. I expect it to last. The cover is well designed, and the retractable casters allowing it to be rolled conveniently around are useful. My only complaint is that the umbrella base was clearly damaged at the factory (the bottom plate of the base - 1/4 inch steel - was bent about 1/2 inch out of flat). It did NOT occur during shipment, as the part was embedded in styrofoam, and that foam was undamaged. It should have failed a quick visual check before shipment. I pounded it roughly flat with a sledge before mounting it, because I didn't want to wait on a new part before setting the thing up (it's two big boxes, and I just wanted it put together and out of the way). It's a snap to assemble (assuming you don't need to reshape parts) and works well."
Review 9 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Philly area
Date:March 25, 2011

So far, so good

Pros: easy to assemble
"It's only been up a week and the weather has been less than ideal so it's too early to give a proper review. It is very easy to assemble. I put 200 pounds of sand and some water in the base and it appears to be fine. I like the swivel base as we have two different seating areas on our patio."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Havasu City, AZ.
Date:March 21, 2011

Excellent Quality

Pros: low price for high end product
Model Number: Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
"I am so impressed with this purchase. I saw this umbrella in the warehouse and then ordered it online. The whole process was easy and delivered in less time than quoted. The packaging was amazing, so well protected. It was easy to assemble and the quality of material is first rate. It is made well and sturdy. I have shopped this product and this price is very reasonable for top quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:March 10, 2011

This Umbrella is Awesome!

Pros: great design, articulating base, adjustable canopy
Cons: only availabe in beige
Model Number: OP-MKT10
"We have purchased two of these Resort umbrellas for our backyard and they are awesome. The fully articulating designs allows us to follow the sun throughout the day without moving the umbrella base. We have one over our dining table and sectional. We also roll it over to the pool when the kids are swimming.
Also - the instructions told us up to 200lbs of sand, but we used 50 lbs of medium sized gravel rocks and it worked great, with less mess.
Highly recommended item."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 3, 2010

good umbrella,

Pros: looks good
Cons: bit price
"I think this umbrella is good product, but bit too expensive. I only had it for 2 weeks, will see how it looks after winter."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Clemente, CA
Date:August 15, 2010

Measure, measure, measure

"Very excited to take delivery of our new umbrella. I ran to the store to buy the 220lbs of gravel while my husband unpacked it. We quickly filled the base up with all that gravel, then filled it with water as instructed. We then installed the umbrella and opened it...NOT! The umbrella was to big and hit the eve overhang of our upper deck! Since the perimeter of our deck is glass railing, we could not move it out any further. Fortunately, Costco has a great return policy but hint...put the umbrella up before filling it with gravel. It took us two hours to scoop it all out one handful at a time. Oh and one other thing, the instructions said to turn counter clock wise to raise the wheels and it is in fact clockwise. The set us back a bit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:August 12, 2010
"While we have very much enjoyed the crisp look and elegance of this massive backyard umbrella, we are a bit concerned by the fact that the umbrella is now depositing random bolts and screws on our patio. However, we were able to reinstall the bolts and all seems to be well."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 9, 2010

Great Design and Functionality

"Well designed, heavy duty and great looking. It covers our two sofas and two club chairs easily. Very maneuverable and can be moved around even after filling with 200+ pounds of sand. Highly recommend."
Review 16 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rancho Murieta, CA
Date:July 31, 2010

Outstanding Engineering

Pros: well engineered, sturdy and stable in mild wind
Cons: requires a lot of sand or gravel for weight
"This umbrella is extremely well engineered. It will obviously last many seasons. Had a minor problem with a missing part and some stitching that was coming out and the response from Costco and the company was OUTSTANDING! The umbrella has allowed us to get much more use out of our sunny patio."
Review 17 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hume, VA
Date:June 18, 2010

Great umbrella!

"Easy to use, excellent quality hardware, heavy duty umbrella. The stand was very easy to set up. Love the cover as well.
Last but not least, Costco.com customer service was very helpful.
"
Review 18 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2010

very impressive

Pros: ease of use, coverage area
Cons: price
"This umbrella is heavy duty and does remind me of something you would see at a high end resort. You may want to have someone help you set it up as the main pole is fairly heavy. There are many different positions available using the swivel and the adjustable umbrella angle. I can tell that this umbrella will last a long time. Keep in mind that you will need a bunch of bricks and gravel to put in the base."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Portofino Cantilever Resort Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:May 4, 2010

fine product

"This umbrella is very well constructed and sturdy. Minimal easy assembly. Operates easily. We use it for our poolside table and chairs and it's like having an outdoor room."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.