Customer Reviews for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p VIZIO Internet Apps™ 802.11N Dual Band Wireless Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
11 of 16(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Review 1 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:June 15, 2011
Pros: easy to connect great quality for the price
Cons: turn off the ambient light senso
""it just works!"
I saw this TV in a Costco email so I went to the store to see it. Well it was not there, so I ordered it online with Costco. Easy and it arrived on time at my home.
Set up of the TV was simple, plug it in, connect a HDMI cable from my Comcast cable box and put my WiFi address and code word in. That was it.
This TV after I turned off the "Ambient Light Sensor" was great. The picture quality is fantastic. 3D movies and programs look as though they are coming at you with very good 3D definition.
I would and do recommend this TV and getting through Costco. I had no reservations as I could just return to my local store if there were any problems.
Also the new remote actually works with major cable companies! So no more remotes all over! Easy to to learn."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:January 30, 2011

Great TV, has everything I need or want

Model Number: XVT3D424SV
"I returned a Vizio M420VT to Costco prior to purchasing the XVT3D424SV, because of some issues with LED backlight uniformity (i.e. flashlighting near the edges) and with certain advertised features that don't actually work well (e.g. ambient light sensor and dynamic contrast ratio). After a few days of use, I must say that I am very pleased with the decision to upgrade to this model. First of all, the flashlighting that I had experienced previously is now barely noticeable, and with local dimming turned on, is almost absent. The advertised features seem to work better, and more options are available within the TV menus. I still ended up turning off the ambient light sensor in order to have more consistent image quality, though. Connecting the TV to the WiFi network was easy, and the Vizio Internet Applications are a welcome addition. Not only can I watch Netflix, but I can order Netflix movies over the TV, which I could not do with my Sony Blu-Ray Player. The number of widgets (applications) available is very impressive. The TV comes with a bluetooth remote, including a qwerty keyboard for easier typing. The back of the TV has more useful connections than the M420VT, such as separate composite / component inputs, analog audio out, and five total HDMI inputs. The TV sound quality is much better than the M420VT, although I still use an external amp and speakers for watching movies, etc. The only thing that I gave up was the ability to watch photos and movies over the USB port, although I suspect that Vizio may add that functionality at a later date using a firmware upgrade (see hint on the Vizio website under model specs). I have downloaded and watched several 3D videos from Directv, using the Vizio 3D glasses (purchased separately at Costco), and they are enjoyable. There is occasionally some ghosting on object edges (due to imperfect sync with the 3D glasses?), however this might be caused by the source material or with Directv. Overall, I am thoroughly impressed with this model and I plan to keep it for many years."
40 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:May 26, 2011

Internet Apps are Slow and Outdated

Pros: great picture quality, bluetooth remote is cool, variety of video settings, jagwheel is convenient, light and thin, virtually no reflection
Cons: audio is weak, no bass & treble settings, no way to initiate firmware update, internet apps are very slow
Model Number: XVT3D424SV
"I purchased this TV about 3 months ago. I immediately noticed how slow the internet apps were so i proceeded to clear the TV to the factory settings and when that didn't help, I called tech support. As many other Vizio TV owners have attested, their customer support is pretty bad. What a shame. And the thing that bothers me even more is that they are a local company but their tech support is poor. I got transferred three times having to explain the problem three times finally to receive a lame answer in which the tech support guy wants to convince me that my network is the problem and their TV's are perfect. NOT HELPFUL. I asked if their is a firmware update coming and I was told it would come in a couple of weeks. That was 2 and half months ago and still no update. Netflix takes a minute or two to load and Pandora never worked once. Oh, I forgot to mention that I exchanged it for the exact same TV and had the exact same issue. My download speed is upwards of 25mps so that's pretty darn fast. I wish I could give this TV more stars but the lack of customer service and no updates coupled with very slow internet apps means only 3 stars."
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:July 19, 2011

Ownership since Feb 2011

Pros: weight, picture clarity, setup, plethora of connection options, easy wifi support, excellent for sports viewing, vibrant colors, seamless bluray integration
Cons: variable volume in movie viewing, ambient lighting is useless for most, regular power up/power down issue, long power up cycle, delay between channel changes
Model Number: XVT3D424SV
"Crystal bright picture after turning off ambient lighting; sound seems to fluctuate in movies only - dont know if it is TV or movie; setup was easy enough, particularly WiFi - just follow the onscreen steps; relatively lightweight - easy to move between two people; the included Apps are moot for me as Sony Bluray already does them and more; the 3D feature will probably never be used; there seems to an occasional issue where the TV shuts off just after powering on - needing it to be unplugged and plugged in to clear/reboot the system - then all is fine for weeks; the 5 HDMI sources are really nice, though we only need one permanent connection (Bluray) and another for laptop hookup on occasion; direct PC cable hookup is there too as is audio jack; lots of connection possibilities in back; delay during channel changes - though this is for any digital TV I've seen to date - maybe it's Comcast being Comcast but I expect digital to equate to fast; overall happy with the purchase - coming from a flatscreen tube Sony 27" so big difference."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Tahoe, CA
Date:February 22, 2011

Vizio 3D 42" TV

Pros: picture quality, 4sv
Cons: speakers
Model Number: XVT3D424SV
"Easy set up. Resolution clarity is perfect. Also purchased an XVT473SV TV which has excellent resolution. Both TV's have poor internal sound quality, but a Vizio sound bar or home surround sound system cures that. Both TV's connected to the internet wirelessly. Replaced this with an earlier Vizio 42."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:January 27, 2012

Review on Vizio's in General

Pros: great quality, excellent stunning picture, lots of extra features included, low price, 2 year warranty with option to extend to 5 years
Cons: none
Model Number: Vizio 55" LCD and 37" LCD HDTV
"The review I just read stated his Vizio brok in 8 months and it cost more to repair than buying an LG, that doesn't even make sense since if it had broke as this reviewer claims, it is in full warranty for 2 full years, so after 8 months it would have cost them NOTHING! to repair the set.
I personally have 2 Vizio's I purchased from Costco about 7 years ago and are still working perfect like the day I bought them.
So don't believe the negative comments on here about Vizio being a risk, nonsense!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:November 15, 2011

Solid well built and reliable TVs

Pros: can hold their own against any brand, low prices make for easy upgrades more often
Cons: lemme think...
"Between work and home we have 5 Vizio sets. Three 32 in LCD's, one 42 in LCD and one 37 in LED. The smaller 32 jobbies were purchased for small rooms and the garage and function well for their purpose. In order to get better volume, I've hooked one (garage) up to simple compact stereos as the TVs factory speakers are not good at high volume, but the others work just fine. The 42 I have at work and I've had it since 2006. It's a great set with great color and clarity. My only complaint is after a year or so, when turning it on, I wouldn't get a picture, only sound. I have to turn it on and off quickly to get the picture, but after that it's fine. I bought it when Costco still had their lifetime warranty (or they liked to call it 100% satisfaction guarantee) and could return it, but there's really isn't a good reason yet. The led is my favorite of them all. It's as vivid as our Samsung 8 series and 600htz 1080p LG plasma. The colors can be tuned to provide the most realistic images of the most sharp and vivid picture one might prefer. My only complaint with the 37 is that it's not a 60. All the sets were way under their competitors equivalent and have served us well for years."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Durham. NC
Date:July 7, 2011

Another great Vizio

Model Number: XVT3D424SV
"We had a 37" Vizio that was damaged by lightning and replaced it with this. When I first installed it we were very disapointed the picture was very dark. When I turned off the ambient light sensor wow what a great picture. I don't think we will ever use the 3d feature, and the internet apps are very limited. But the picture makes up for any short comings."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2011

Vizio XVT3D424SV

Model Number: XVT3D424SV
"Purchased this TV due to a recent CNET recommendation regarding best LED TVs (I could not go with a plasma screen due to excessive sunlight) and this TV performs brilliantly in strong sunlight and in the dark. I don't care about the 3D and internet connectivity. Also saved on extended warranty at Costco vs. most other retailers, although I hope I won't need it. Also considered Samsung but I could only fit a 42 inch and Samsung had 40 and 46 inches."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sterling Heights, Michigan
Date:May 17, 2011

Excellent TV Choice

Model Number: Costco number 599420
"Great picture and value but hard to set up for a non techie type person. I'm sure I could have saved time and hair loss if I would have called Costco Customer Service but I was subborn. Once I took all the necessary and correct guesses everything worked out. Have not tried the HD nor 3D as of yet, I'm amazed at how clear the regular picture is"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2012

Awesome TV

Pros: very clear picture, thin
Cons: non yet
"This is my second Visio and I've never had any issues. The picture quality is amazing, of course this is a big upgrade fro my old TV, but you will not be disappointed."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:January 1, 2012
"DO NOT BUY. We were among the statistic that report our Vizio died within eight months of purchase. The reviews of these TVs are a landscape of disappointment. While some sets apparently provide the expected performance, longevity and customer support leave MUCH to be desired. Our HDTV functioned well until the electrons failed. It cost more to repair than to purchase a new LG. Pay your money and take your chances."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:June 10, 2011

Very Pleased

"This TV arrived very quickly from Costco. It was installed using a wall rack (also from Costco, and the install was a snap.
Although we've not tried the 3D feature yet, we very much like the size and the picture of this 42" Vizio.
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2011

Don't Waste your Money

"Vizio died with the "Pop of Death" within one+ years... Don't take my word for it, just Google "Vizio pop of death"
It's a piece a junk and you are better off spending a few dollars more to get a TV that will last."
2 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:December 2, 2011

Avoid Vizio products

Pros: none
Cons: unrealiable quality
Model Number: VO42L
"I bought Vizio tv in the last 2 years. The 32" LCD had problems within days; red color is all I can see. Then the 42" LCD went blank in less than a year. Good thing Costco had a 2-year warranty otherwise I'm out of luck."
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 480Hz SPS LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:May 31, 2011

Volume fluctuates

Model Number: XVT3D424SV
"I'm wondering why the volume seems to fluctuates. Pretty sure it is not constant. Seems to fade in and out."
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.