Customer Reviews for Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan

The Piedmont fan is the perfect combination of clean design and efficiency. This fan is a casual piece that will bring comfort to any room.  For your convenience, it includes the compact fluorescent light bulbs and a built-in learning system remote control. Features: Indoor use for large rooms up to 18' x 20'   Brushed Nickel   Blade sweep: 52" Single-light Kit   5 Golden Maple/Cherry blades   Dual mount installation; can be used with or without the downrod   Diameter 4 length downrod (included)   Learning system remote control (2 x AAA batteries included)   Single light kit w/Alabaster glass (2 X 13 watt max non-dimmable T3 GU24 compact fluorescent bulbs included)   3 speeds reversible motor   Permanent sealed bearings   UL listed Model: E-PD52BNK5CD1R
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
9 of 12(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan
Review 1 for Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:July 28, 2011

Horrible, horrible fan

Pros: costco's easy return policy
"I was skeptical about buying a fan made by a company I had never heard of before. However, I read the good reviews and after searching high and low for fans with remotes and no pull strings (with no luck) I decided to buy four of them for my new home. After installing one in the master bedroom, I decided to hold off on the others until we had a chance to try it out.
Aside from the fan being too loud when running, the light kit and electronics are really my major complaint. The first night we had it up I programmed the remote according to instructions and it worked, for about 10 minutes. Then I had to program it again so that I could run the fan but turn the light off. That lasted for another 10 minutes. Finally the third time it worked for a couple of days. The final straw was when the remote stopped working again... until 3am one morning when the light suddenly turned on waking us out of a sound sleep. I took it down the next day and returned all four to the store.
Having had better quality fans in the past I was very disappointed with this particular product and found it was just not worth the money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:July 30, 2011

Good Value

"We bought this fan to replace a much more expensive Hunter fan that malfunctioned and would continually turn on on it's own. No, it wasn't the dip switches. We got this one because it came with a remote and looks pretty nice. One minor flaw in the unit is that it doesn't come with a vanity plate for the portion that mounts directly at the ceiling. So, you do see the screw exposed at the top. I'm gonna see if the manufacturer carries a vanity plate for the unit. A more serious issue is that the remote doesn't work consistently. I'm not sure why. Sometimes I have to click it several time to finally get it to turn on...so I hope I don't end up having to return this unit as defective. I removed the batteries in the remote then put em back in, and that "seemed" to resolve it for now...we'll see. Nevertheless, for the fact that it even comes with a remote, energy efficient bulbs, and dimmers makes it a good value."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Forest Grove, OR
Date:March 14, 2011

Be wary of this product

Pros: the fan mounting bracket is hefty, exterior finishes are well done., having the light and fan remote built in is nice.
Cons: fan didn't work once installed., not impressed with their customer support.
Model Number: E-PD52BNK5CG1R
"Right at the outset I want everyone who reads this to know that the fan isn't working, and I'm not pleased with the response from the company to date.
After installation we powered up the fan and "taught" the remote to work with the fan. This worked as the manual documented.
During testing the fan we found that the remote works fine with respect to the lighting kit. What doesn't work is the fan.
At the low speed setting one can hear a relay click, the motor hums for less that a second, then the relay clicks off. At medium and high speeds, the motor hums continously, but at different pitches, and the fan fails to rotate.
I called customer support, left a message with a call back number (Friday evening). I received a callback the next Monday. I presented the symptoms and was told that the unit had a bad capacitor, and that one would be shipped.
Seven days later I received the capacitors in the mail. Aside from receiving a product that doesn't work, there are at least four things wrong here:
1) The components (capacitors) aren't consumer replaceable, unless they happen to have an electronics manufacturing background like me.
2) The company sent four capacitors, and the unit takes three (of this type), so anybody who fixes the unit would have to interpret what to replace.
3) The shipment of capacitors contained no curcuit diagrams, nor instructions, so again, the person fixing the unit has to figure out how to fix the unit on their own.
4) The replacement capacitors aren't the same physical size as the ones in the unit, they're larger, and may not fit within the confines of the light kit.
What should have occured is that the company should have shipped me a replacement light kit (at least the hardware, the shade is okay). The light kit has two connections, an antenna connection, and a motor connection. If the problem lies in the motor controller, replacing the light kit (where the motor controller is housed) would be a 10-minute fix doable by the average consumer. What they sent me was something a technician could spend about an hour fixing, that is if disassembly of the ligjt kit is uncomplicated."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago burbs
Date:March 31, 2011

Great fan

Pros: easy install, simple instructions, simple high quality design
"Bought 3 of these and couldn't be happier. With the built-in receiver you simply connect the few pre-wired connections and you're ready to go. I've never had luck with adding a remote to normal ceiling fans so this was a huge sigh of relief. Other than that, this was probably the easiest fan install I've ever encountered. The instructions were so simple and easy to follow that I re-read them to see if I was missing pages. But the hanging bracket (included) makes install about as easy as it can get, without the need for multiple people (ie. someone to hold the fan while others screw it in place). High quality glass alabaster bowl (was afraid it'd be plastic). I'm not a pro, handyman or electrician, so something this easy is welcome. After the first one, I'd estimate it took ~30 minutes from opening the box to flicking the switch."
Review 5 for Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:April 30, 2011

I love this fan!

Model Number: Litex 52" Piedmont Ceiling Fan
"I bought based on reviews on this product 6 weeks ago when it was on sale for $90. I received the product quickly and able to install it without any issues. The fan has very smooth operation and makes no noise whatsoever. The light fixture brings elegance to the living room. I am very satisfied with this fan and like the remote.
Excellent product and recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Surprise, AZ
Date:February 15, 2012

Attractive fan and light

"Very nice looking. Reversible blades so matches other wood in room. Like the remote control in bedroom."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rural Utah
Date:May 7, 2012

Great Fan-whisper quiet

Pros: whisper quiet
Cons: energy star not honored
Model Number: E-PD52BNK5CG1R
"This is a great fan whisper quiet. The remote is really good too. My other fan you have to pull a dangling chain that is always hanging down from the light fixture. We love it in our bedroom, keeps us comfortable all night .With a push of the remote you have three speeds and instant reverse.
Only bad thing. It says it is a energy rated light but Rocky Mountain power turned my energy efficient reward down said it was not listed. So if you are a Rocky Mountain Power customer forget getting the reward for using this ceiling light. Even though it says Energy star on the box they will not accept.
"
Review 8 for Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:April 19, 2011

Bad Electronics

Cons: bad electronics
Model Number: E-PD52
"Like one of the other reviewers said, the electronics don't fully work. Easy installation but fan works, lights don't. Getting power to the electronics, its the electronics that are bad. I am returning to Costco since I called manufacturer customer support and had to leave a message. Don't buy!"
Review 9 for Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:az
Date:September 5, 2012

Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan

Pros: ease of installation, quiet, love the remote
Model Number: E-D52BNKCD1R
"My husband installed 2 of these fans a couple of years ago in our old house. We liked them so well I ordered 3 more for the new house."
Review 10 for Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:August 2, 2012

Best Purchase Ever

"Is great ceiling fan, runs very smooth quiet. is a great prouct. having a remote control for the fan is the best thing to have."
Review 11 for Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:March 24, 2011

I love it!

"I am very pleased with this ceiling fan. It is attractive, an excellent light, and works great. I also found it relatively easy to install."
Review 12 for Litex Piedmont 52" Ceiling Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City
Date:June 8, 2011

Good purchase

Pros: easy install, nice fan blade colors
Cons: hign speed slower than normal
"Easy install by one person which took about 1 1/2 hours. Looks very nice. I high speed is like mediums on most other fans. Very quite."