Customer Reviews for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner

Very user friendly; no computer is required. Product Features: The ImageBox Standalone is a very easy-to-use product providing 3-in-1 scanning feature.   User can scan photos, negative films and slides with just one lick without connecting with his/her computer or with very simple connection with his/her computer via regular USB cable.   It scans photos from passport size all the way to size 4” x 6” with superior image quality.   Ability to select a particular slide and save the image.    The 2.7” LCD screen and SD memory card slot allow the user to preview the scanned image and store the digital files right away.   The very unique TV out feature also allows users to share their beautiful memories with friends and families on the big screen.   Magic Touch Technology improves the image quality: The ImageBox Standalone with Magic Touch technology improves the image quality by removing dust and scratches. It’s the Built-in hardware solution without software touch-up. Imagine the image quality improvement by eliminating the scratches and dust from the scanned images of slides and photo films that have been stored in the closet for years. Product Highlights: Easy to Use: As simple as taking a digital picture   Super Fast: Turn your stacks of 35 mm film, slides & 4x6 prints into digital format in no time   Great Image Quality: Proprietary color technology ensure no over-saturation or under exposure   Auto-switching Mode: Auto switching between film, slide and photo scanning   Image Resolution: 2400 dpi for 35 mm film and slides; 560 dpi for 4x6 photo prints   MagicTouch Technology: Dust and Scratch removal    Specifications: Scanning Media: 35 mm film strip and mounted slides (Positive or negative, color or monochrome Photo prints up to 4 x 6 )   Image Sensor: 9 mega pixels CMOS sensor equals to 2,400 dpi for 35mm film / slides; 560 dpi for 4 x 6 photo prints   Output File Size: 12 MB in TIFF format; 24-bit color channel; File size in JPEG format is subject to compression setting   Interface: USB 2.0 only (USB 1.1 not supported)   Light Source: LED Back Light   Power: 5 V   Dimensions: 7.02" H x 8.93" W x 9.55" L; Weight: 3.97 lbs.   Package Contents: ImageBox Stand Alone Scanner Unit Printed Quick Installation Guide   USB 2.0 cable   Media Holders 1 for film strip, 1- for mounted slides, 1 for photo prints   Minimum System Requirements ( If you choose to use the product with computer ) Windows: OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win 7, 32-bit or 64-bit, USB 2.0 port    CPU: Pentium 4 2.0 GHz, Intel Mobile 1.5 GHz, AMD 2.0 GHz or higher processor   RAM: 1 GB   Hard Disk free space: 5 GB or greater   Color monitor with 16-bit, Mac millions of colors   Color video card 1,024 x 768 monitor resolution   Microsoft DirectX 9 compatible display driver   MAC: Mac OS X (10.4 and up), INTEL based Processor, PowerPC NOT SUPPORTED, USB 2.0 port    CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo, Speed 1.8 GHz   Memory/RAM -1 GB, 667 MHz, DDR2 SDRAM   Display 1024 x 768 min. monitor resolution, Millions of Colors   CD ROM Drive   Question about the product? Please visit us at www.scanace.com Model: Imagebox 9MPST
Average Customer Rating:
3.068 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 118
(out of 118 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
37
72 of 118(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Review 1 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Eugene, Oregon
Date:November 14, 2013

Two Strikes, not going for three

Pros: very fast if you turn off the 45-second photo fix, decent resolution, doesn't have lines through scans like others, easy to use once you figure out how, flatbed offers better quality that feed-through
Cons: poor instructions, over-saturated scans, poor quality control at manufacturing site, non-intuitive
"I had high hopes for this, but was disappointed when I opened the box and saw the inside glass smeared and foggy, and no way to clean it. All photos I scanned came out spotty and over-saturated. I ordered another one, thinking that if I got one without smeared glass, I could fix the saturation in Photoshop, but the second one wouldn't work. All photos came out black. I would have thought I was doing something wrong, except I had the other one by its side, working properly (if poorly). What a waste of time!"
Review 2 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2013

Poor slide scanner

"Pictures scanned were pretty good, but the slide scanner was not good at all. Poor quality of the scanned slide."
Review 3 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:August 5, 2013

Good buy

Pros: fast and easy
Cons: manual stinks. doesn't adjust light/dark well
"I have tried other scanners and this one is easy and fast to operate. Are the slide scans poster print quality no, but they are good enough to have record of them since my projector is dying. The manual is useless. For the price a good buy,but don't expect professional quality!"
Review 4 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2013

Does not work for me

"I ordered one of these and it would not power on. I conferred with the Costco technical Support Service and the technical support service for the manufacturer and they agreed, and I returned the unit. The second one would power up but would not display the menu."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Central Virginia
Date:January 5, 2013

Half works

Pros: aren't any, it's returnable
Cons: cheap imported plastic box, does not perform as advertised
Model Number: Imagebox9MPST
"Out of the box, poor manual notwithstanding, I was able to scan prints. That's all. Slide/negative portion does not work. The "Film" menu does not come up when switched, nor do the slides show. (White, detachable film cover has been removed.) This is not even a good paperweight. It will be returned tomorrow.
Wished there was a rating of "0" stars.
"
Review 6 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:December 1, 2012

POC as a slide scanner

Pros: sets up easy
Cons: it does not do a good job.
Model Number: Imagebox plus
"If you are planning on scanning slides or negatives do not buy this. I did not try it on prints. The slide holder is difficult to slide. Also the image quantity is poor. I am going to try some other film scanners as I have 1000's of slides to scan and I do not want to waste my time on something that does not do a good job. I am returning this film scanner."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:November 28, 2012

Consider if the weak points are important!

Pros: low price to scan useable image files
Cons: inprecise and cumbersome to scannegatives.
Model Number: Imagebox Plus
"It worked out of the box. You would most likely not need any instructions to operate this. (Have not read them to opine.)
The film holder and the process crops the full image on the negative, that can be a problem if important parts of the image are close to a border. there is little leeway to adjust.
I was scanning old negatives and the color corrections are useless, just use your customary editing program.
The film holder holds 6 negatives, if you have uncut rolls of negatives, you will need to cut them into maximum 12 exposure strips and scan 6 upside down, since you are not able to lead with the overhanging images.
The loading process of strip film is less than ideal and the alignment is inprecise,
Do not have the idea that the scanned images will be of commercial value, they will preserve mementos in a digital format to casually observe and share, printing from them will not give you crisp photos, even with high quality negatives.
Higher resolution and larger files would be nice, but for the money ...
The maximum 3 7/8 x 5 3/4 print scanner is also a limiting obstacle if you don't have the negatives.
This is NOT a precision machine the parts are plastic of reasonable quality.
If you have thousands of negatives to scan you get quicker set-up with another filmholder that can be ordered.
For the time effort and quality you can take the negs to Costco's photo department, they do a better job at a fair price.
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indiana
Date:August 21, 2012

Great Scanner

"I like that pictures can be scanned on to a SD card and no computer is needed.
The scanner can be used anywhere.
Now I have to decide what to do with all of these old pictures!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:S.E. Michigan
Date:August 19, 2012

Figure it out and your and throw away manual

Pros: easy once you figure everything out
Cons: lousy manual but typical of translated manuals
Model Number: LCD 9
"great product. Instruction manual leaves a lot to be desired....slide/film strips require some effort to insert and move... nervous first time...afraid to force it. Manual no help.
Once you figure it all out(on your own)the operation is simple with great results. Easy to transfer to SD card and then import to computer
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 6, 2012

works great

Pros: low price easy and fast
Model Number: Image Box 9PM
"I thought I might have to return this to get one that worked from other reviewers, but the one I got works great. Much easier and faster then using my printer to scan photos and slides. It's handy that it doesn't need to be connected to a computer and stores on a photo card. I can take it relatives' houses and scan any photos I want, quick and easy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:August 6, 2012

Disappointment

"Trouble with device out of the box. Not worth the effort to work out. Disappointing quality, returned it."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, Ca
Date:August 6, 2012

Very useful

Pros: easy to use, easy to store, worked on old slides
Cons: haven't had time to find any cons
Model Number: 226AF01A00713
"I have collected so many old family pictures, slides, & some negatives that scanning into my computer is so time consuming that this product caught my eye immediately. I have used it only to get the feel down but found it was very useful and easy. Now I will follow some hints in others' reviews to get me started and organized. (I.e. sorting scans by families and events to make it easier to make files or DVDs)"
Review 13 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:August 1, 2012

Just what I expected

Pros: very easy to use, can scan pictures slides and negatives
Cons: can't view without card, directions aren't very useful
"I am having so much fun going down memory lane with the use of the scanner. Pictures of my childhood were all on slides and I had no way to really look at them. I have now scanned about 100 slides in the past 2 days and have them on my computer. The scanner is a bit confusing in the beginning but it didn't really take long to figure out how to do it. One frustration would be that you cannot view the pictures without the card."
Review 14 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:July 30, 2012

Good scanner for small photo's

Pros: great scan's
Cons: must copy to the sd card vice pc
Model Number: ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
"Scanner works great on Windows 7. Only disappointment I have is that you have to have a SD card installed in order for it to work, and then you can only scan to the card. Though it has a usb connection, you can only copy the picture files from the card to the computer. You cannot copy directly to the computer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 28, 2012

Such as bad product

Pros: you can always return to costco!
Cons: very poor quality
Model Number: ImageBox Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
"Very easy to use but the quality is very bad. Don't waste time with this product."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Maria, Ca
Date:July 26, 2012

Not a wise choice

Pros: you can always return to costco!
Cons: didn't work
Model Number: Image Box Stand-alone MP film scanner
"I ordered this from costco even after reading the good and bad reviews. I figured I would give it a try, unfortunately, I was able to make it work properly or it just didn't work. I think it was that it didn't work, the photos were blurry and only partially coming through.... Next time I will pick something that has a better review. This did not."
Review 17 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 24, 2012

OK but with limitations

Pros: inexpensive for numerous transfers
Cons: some loss of quality
"It works.......however, some of the digiital photos produced are over exposed with light. The brightness control minimaly works. Also, some loss of picture quality is lost in the process."
Review 18 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:July 23, 2012
"misleading instructions and expectations of values and functions."
Review 19 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 21, 2012

Maybe a winner

Pros: good slide image
Cons: manual is almost worthless, may take several tries to get firmware to work.
Model Number: Model Imagebox 9MPST
"This scanner may or may not work upon initial setup it took me several tries to get the units firmware to realize that I wanted it to be in the slide scan mode. Once I got scanners firmware to recognize slides and got used to the manual feeder the product scans a slide well enough to watch it on a 47" television. If the unit continues to be intermittent I will return it otherwise it is the best slide scanner I have found for the money thus far. You will need to purchase an SD card to use the unit. I found the manual to be confusing and almost worthless."
Review 20 for ImageBox ™ Stand-alone 9 Megapixel Film Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Date:July 20, 2012

Good Quality and Easy to Use

Model Number: Image Box 9MP Stand Alone Scanner
"This product was easy to use and has very good quality. I like that it does not require a computer to use and is portable. I wish it was a bit smaller and scanned larger than 4X6 but I really like the product."
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>