Customer Reviews for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner

Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner

Model: APN12HJ
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 of 15(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Review 1 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Detroit
Date:June 27, 2012

Noisy

"Cooled well and quickly. Too noisy to hear the television."
Review 2 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:June 29, 2012

Loud and Cool

Pros: stainless look, heat/cool/dehumid, remote
Cons: noisy
"Shipped box in a box with adequate packaging. No nicks or dents.
Loud when on full power, but very cool."
Review 3 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:fremont, CA
Date:May 24, 2012

Very good!

"Pros:
easy installation
provides heating, cooling, humdifier and fan settings
great looks with stainless steel finish.
quick cooling even for a large room.
Cons:
very heavy
very noisy
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:June 9, 2012

A good product

Pros: easy to install
Cons: somewhat noisy
Model Number: APN12HJ
"The air conditioner is simple to install as indicated by the ad. The product also work well to cool down the room. The only thing I am not satisfied is the noise. It is not loud, but you do not want to hear it when you are trying to go to sleep."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Antelope, CA
Date:August 16, 2011

Good air

Pros: cools well, quiet
Cons: not energy star certified
"I'm using this portable air conditioner in my one car garage shop. It keeps my uninsulated shop cool even on 100 degree days with a moderate amount of noise. If this were to be used in a small bedroom I'm sure it would fit the bill. In a large room I believe it might have a hard time keeping up."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2011

So Cool!

Pros: super cool
Cons: noisy
"We had it set up in a couple of minutes. Easy!
It does its job and really pumps out the cool air. It is noisier than other models, but it cools better than quieter ones we have purchased. If you need cooling and can turn up the volume on whatever else you have going on in the room, you will love this.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN.
Date:June 27, 2012

Highly Recommended

Pros: buy it
Model Number: Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
"Arrived in 2 days, very fast. Had it installed in 1/2 hour, Works fantastic. I am very pleased and have plan on getting another one later. AC is cold as expected, better than window AC I had previously, no water mess or leaks to deal with. I have not tried the heater yet but i am sure will be just fine."
Review 8 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New Bern, NC
Date:August 11, 2011

Amana 12,000 BTU Portable

Pros: multiple uses, heater and cooler
Cons: does not coll efficiently
Model Number: 558910
"The unit is easy to install. We are using it in our 24x15 garage. It is supposed to cool 450 sq. ft., the garage is 360 sq. ft. After two hours the temperature goes down from 80 degrees to 79. We have it set for 73. We are hoping that it will serve us better in winter months since it has a heat feature."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chico, CA
Date:June 1, 2012

Not as expected

Pros: very nice appearance
Cons: might be to loud for a bedroom
"This is a quality product, but did not fit my needs. My intent was to cool a bedroom above the garage. It did cool the room, but tripped the circut breaker when another appliance was turned on. We tried leaving it on one night and it proved to be to loud for my gentle 13 year old sleeper.
With Costco's return policy you cannot go wrong.
"
Review 10 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Midlothian, VA
Date:July 29, 2011

It will cool, but...

Pros: it will cool a room.
Cons: you wont be able to sleep in the cool room.
Model Number: Model APN12HJ Amana 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner
"I purchased this unit because it is the only unit I have seen with a combination AC/ heater.
The window will have to be sealed after the installation.
The unit was bought to re-enforce the existing central air. If you don't mind the noise you will be happy with this unit. My wife and I tried to watch TV while the unit was running but the volume had to be at so high a level we could not enjoy the show.
"
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:August 10, 2011

Not Worth the Cost

Cons: noisy, poor remote control, inefficient
"As others have noted, it is noisy, like having a jet engine in the room even when fan is at lowest speed. Found it difficult to sleep. Remote control is unresponsive, had to click buttons up to five times before selected function performed. The exhaust line gets hot, and not having insulation around the tube some radiant heat is transferred into the room. Defeats the purpose of the machine, since you have to cool the heat radiating from the exhaust line."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:August 4, 2011

This is the best portable A/C unit available

Pros: cools fast and efficiently
Cons: nothing so far
Model Number: Amana 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner and Heater
"This is the second Amana portable A/C unit I have purchased. I have one upstairs; this one I bought for our addition. I have tried other portable A/C units from other companies; they put out heat instead of cool air (I returned those!). Although it does make noise, I consider it acceptable knowing that no A/C unit can be "noiseless." It cooled the addition in about 5 minutes on a hot day. It is so efficient I can turn it off at night. If you are looking for a good portable A/C unit, look no further"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Texas
Date:August 17, 2011

Life saver

Pros: portability and efficiency
Cons: bit of a hassle to drain in humid weather
Model Number: APN12HJ
"I read a review on this unit and almost decided not to purchase based on the review. Glad I changed my mind! They said it was noisy.......... not any more so than a fan. We discovered that the room I needed to use had not been insulated in the attic as an access had not been cut in that roof line during construction. With triple digit heat for a month I needed to cool that spare bedroom down for company coming in. The unit did the job. My visitors were cool and happy. When the insulation problem is solved, the unit will go in my workshop."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:May 19, 2012

Good for certain spaces

Model Number: Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
"This unit really puts out some air. Volume of air is outstanding and it's ice cold. However, it does it with a workhorse of a compressor that is too loud for bedroom use. If you want a quiet running machine you can sleep next to get the the Sharp portable air conditioner with the "Library Quiet" design available in the Warehouse only (apparently). That one is very quiet. I've used this Amana as a heater as well, does a very good job. Ran it as a dehumidifier and the storage tank filled too quickly so that feature seems limited. Bottom line: the unit is loud, not overly so - we have a TV in the same room and watch with added volume - but the unit cools so fast you can shut it down rather quickly. So, for the right application a very good performer,"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Amana 12,000 BTU Heat & Cool Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:May 8, 2012

Disappointed

Pros: costco customer service
Cons: junk
"First I was amazed how fast Costco shipped the unit. I ordered it on Sat. and recieved it by Tue morning. The install was very easy, however out of the box the unit never blow out cold and even after about 20 min. started blowing out warm air. I double check everything no cold air. I called Costco and they sent out another unit and said once I get the new unit just pack up the bad unit and UPS will pick it up. 2 days later I recieved the new unit, once again hooked it up and it seemed like it was going to be fine. BUT again after about 30 min. I checked on the unit and it was blowing warm air. Again I checked everything to make sure I did not set it up wrong; thinking to myself no way could this be happening again. NO luck, I returned the unit to the warehouse for a full refund and I have ordered a different model. I am waiting for it to get to me, I can only hope I will not have any issues with it. But as inconvenience and frustrating as it is to to go through this process I am very happy for the customer service of Costco and there return policy."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.