Customer Reviews for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner

Added Value: 4 Filters & 6 Replacement Brush Blades and 1 Replacement Squeegee Blade
Average Customer Rating:
4.326 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
(out of 49 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
43 of 49(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Review 1 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2011

A wonderful aid

Model Number: xv-11
"After fighting a never-ending battle against dog hair on our wood floors I finally decided to take a chance on a robot. I know several people that had owned Roombas before and based on their experiences had never purchased one. The XV-11 sounded like a better approach to a robot, and our baby was continually mopping up the dog hair, so I held my nose and bought one with low expectations...
and it works!
It isn't perfect, but it does a remarkably good job. We run it on a daily basis to keep our floors clean of dust, dirt and dog hair. 90% of the time it completes its task and returns to its charging base as designed. It also has no problems getting under our couches and beds.
It isn't a perfect solution. It doesn't do a great job in corners or along the edges of rooms, but it has been a huge huge help to us and it picks up tons of crud.
If a positive review isn't enough, I actually bought another of these as gift for my mother, and she loves hers as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:January 3, 2011

A Must Buy For Pet Owners. Forget Roomba.

Pros: easy to clean, faster than roomba, gentle on furniture and toes, better for pet hair, large dirt bin
Cons: slightly taller than roomba, no dirt detection, no spot cleaning mode
Model Number: XV-11
"The Neato XV-11 is a huge improvement over the Roomba. The Roomba was great for it's time, but it had very weak suction and a bristle brush that accumulated all of my pets long hair. It became a major chore to clean my Roomba after each time I used it. Not only was cleaning the Roomba a major annoyance (Roomba comes with combs to clean it's brush), but due to a design flaw that pet hair accumulation would eventually result in your Roomba damaging itself as the hair found it's way into the gears.
Well the Neato has a much more powerful vacuum and no bristle brush for you to clean. Pet hair goes into the dirt bin instead of all around the brush. The Neato's brush is larger and sturdier than the Roomba's. The Neato's dirt bin is also larger than the Roomba's and doesn't have any electronics built in meaning you can just run the plastic bin under water to clean it out. The only special maintenance required for the Neato is to occasionally blow some air into the laser guidance on top; if you don't do this the robot could get dust blocking it's sensors and will give you an error related to RPS (Room Positioning System).
The difference between Roomba and Neato is the difference of having a robot vac that bounces around blindly and one that can see and knows where it's going. The Roomba was not gentle and would scratch furntiture with it's bumpers, run over pets, and toes. The Neato sees where everything is in a room and never bumps into you, your pets, or your furniture. I've seen the Roomba noisily bounce around the house for up to 15 minutes just trying to figure out where it's docking station is.
The Neato XV-11 is louder than the Roomba since the vacuum is stronger, but cleaning times are significantly shorter. Cleaning 4 rooms in my house took the Roomba over an hour and the Neato less than 30 minutes. When the Neato is done cleaning it shuts off it's vac and quietly returns to it's charging base. The Neato goes directly back to the base because it knows exactly where it is. The other advantage of Neato being able to see it's surroundings is that it is able to get into tight spaces and tightly ride corners. It's amazing honestly, a major technological breakthrough.
Both the Neato and the Roomba have ways to block them off from other rooms. The Neato uses magnetic strips, the Roomba uses battery powered light houses. I find that both systems work great, but the Roomba's method limits you to blocking only two locations out of the box and requires you to use batteries.
The bottom line is that the Neato XV-11 is a major advancement over the already impressive Roomba. The ability to see where it's going and know where it is in a room makes the Neato much faster and more efficient than Roomba. The design of the Neato has also made it extremely simple to clean."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, OR
Date:July 27, 2011

My new second best friend!

Pros: easy to set up, finds his way back to recharge
Cons: quite loud, wish battery lasted longer
"I bought a Roomba about 9 yrs ago, but because of area rugs over carpet, it just didn't work. When I saw this reviewed at another site, I thought that this might be a great Mother's Day present for myself.
Was I ever right!!! This is a dream come true. I set it to vac every day at 8:15, and off it goes! I can't believe the dirt it picks up. We now have hardwood floors with area rugs, and each day, there is a lot of dirt. We don't have any children at home, no pets, & our home is shoeless, but I guess the area rugs and small amount of carpet we have had some deep dirt!
My only disappointment is the battery only lasts an hr, and then the little guy trundles off to recharge himself. After he charges, off he goes to finish the job!
Another thing, he is quite loud. Don't try to do any phone work when he is running!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hillsborough, NJ
Date:January 1, 2011

Incredible

Pros: it works as advertised
Cons: could do a better job in corners
Model Number: XV-11
"I'm not one to write reviews for things that I purchase, but for this one I feel so compelled to do so because this unit works so well. Granted this is not a replacement for a standard vacuum but I have to say it is still a very good product. I have had mine for about 3 months now and I am still amazed at how well it vacuums and navigates around obstacles. Occasionally it will get stuck but not very often at all. There is room for improvement and I have to think there will be a firmware update in future as the unit does have a USB port to allow for firmware upgrades."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Date:February 23, 2012

Very well designed product

Pros: no battery-powered navigation devices, does complete floorplan each time, vacuums in neat rows instead of random tracks, little to no brush maintenance, usb updateable firmware
Cons: a little louder than the competition
Model Number: XV-11
"I have owned 4 different cleaning robots from Neato's larger competitor and was pretty happy with their performance. But there was always the nagging problems with those other products, especially with hair getting wound up in the brushes and particularly the fact that I could never get them to clean my entire floorplan on a single "mission". Neither of those are an issue with my new Neato, and I no longer have C battery gobbling navigational devices cluttering my doorways anymore. I additionally like that I can place the charging dock in a more hidden location with the Neato than I could before since it's better navigation will always find it's way home. And probably the best feature is that it will recharge itself mid-mission and then resume where it left off, works perfect every time and it never misses a room. Buy this beast with confidence!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:February 7, 2012

$$$ but way better than roomba

Pros: easy maintenance good for those with pets, fast
"This was definitely a splurge. I had a roomba that was such a pain to clean after it randomly wandered around the house aimlessly. With two long hair cats, it wasn't long before the hair wrapped itself around the brush and broke it.
For about $100 more, the neato does an excellent job of daily maintenance cleaning. It is amazing what it vacuums up. It uses a laser mapping of the room to go over every inch. This makes it much faster than a random pattern. There is not a brush assembly but a soft flexible silicone 'brush' that almost shines my wood floors. It's a breeze to clean and it charges itself after it's done. Costco package is a good value.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Monmouth, OR
Date:September 16, 2011

More more than its worth?

Pros: it picks up pretty fine dust
Cons: programming needs help, gets stuck under furniture, erratic behaviour
"We had the product less than a week. It doesn't work well:
1) It gets stuck easily in places it shouldn't go, such as under our table with a platform above the floor. It sits there spinning, not shutting down asking for help.
2)It is not operating in a systematic pattern but is going at diagonal fits around the floor.
3)On the first operation in a simple room it cleaned only that room and then shut off not doing the rest of the house. This happened a second time.
4)I've been told to download a Firmware Update by customer service, but I don't have the right cable to do that. If out of the box it needs an update, I'd suggest that a cable be provided.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Short-grass prairie, Colorado
Date:January 14, 2012

How did we live without it?

Model Number: XV-II
"I am amazed at how good this little bot cleans. Its better then my expensive regular vacuum as it gets to places it couldn't, rarely gets stuck, is gentle on the furniture, and designed with great thought!
Since we live in a semi-desert area where high winds are frequent, we have a problem with a heavy clay dust that settles over everything. Who has the time to vacuum everyday ? This bot does it as much as you like while you can go about your other duties. It gets that heavy clay dirt up without a problem, along with the hair from my 2 dogs & anything else. It transitions from our hardwood floors to up on the thick oriental area rugs- although it does seem to have more difficulty with the round rug. It does it, it just has to struggle more and find the correct angle at times to make the transition from hardwood to rug.
Suction seems great and the noise it makes is less obnoxious then a regular vacuum. The dust bin is very easy to get to and empty. Its never had a problem getting back to its base when it has to. All in all, I don't have a bad word to say about this hard-working machine.
Its been great having a very clean floor EVERYDAY and I would count this as being one of the very best purchases we have ever made! What a difference its made around here!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2011

Great product

"The Neato vacuum is a very effective robot. I would rate this above the Roomba 550 that it replaced. Some complain that the vacuum is noisy. But really you want the more powerful vacuum level that the Neato provides. It is easy to clean. Simple to program. And it doesn't damage furniture legs and baseboards like the Roomba tends to do."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glencoe, MN
Date:October 7, 2011

Great Labor Saving Device

Pros: solid construction, upgradable firmware, easy to clean and maintain, picks up fine dust and pet hair, clever algorithms: efficent gets itself unstuck
Cons: dosen't clean the litter box., looks like a bathroom scale hope someone doesnt.., a bit pricey
Model Number: Neato XV-11
"We are not the most organized people in the world, but the Neato seemed to perform well in spite of this, navigating around our clutter with remarkable ease. Bob (yes we anthromorphised it) did manage to get himself stuck a few times, but this improved with the firmware upgrade from 2.0 to 2.1 and reorganizing his working area to eliminate things that bamboozled him. You still need to make sure there is nothing that can be caught up into the rollers such as backpack straps or cat toys, etc. He did seem to do well with power cords though. If you are expecting it to do all of your vacuuming, you will be disappointed, since it is not able to get behind or under all furniture/obstacles, and it dosen't clean flush with walls and corners. But it is well worth the expenditure to decrease the overall dust/allergens in your home with minimal effort. What is left is very easy to deal with and we have noticed overall dust levels decrease dramatically since starting to use it. With 2 cats, and one a long haired shedding beasty, the Neato-Bob seems to do really well picking up all the hair. I love the ability to program a schedule. Until you have run it successfully without it getting stuck for a few runs, don't let it run unattended, although when this happens, it just stops, beeps and displays an error message. This is a very well designed and supported device. Think about it, even after they have your money, they supply firmware upgrades. Way to go Neato!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:January 12, 2011

good choice

Pros: vacuums my house as often as i program it to
Cons: noisy though not more than an upright
Model Number: XV-11
"The basic operation of the robot is to map the edges of a room, then clean in straight lines (going around furniture legs) until the room is covered. Then it moves to the next room. When it needs a charge (after about 45 minutes) it returns to its docking station to charge. When charged, it resumes cleaning where it left off.
I read lots of reviews online before i decided on the Neato rather than the Roomba. The primary advantages appeared to be the ease of cleaning the dust bin and the higher vacuum power. I have dogs, so the fact that the hair doesn't cause problems is also an advantage.
I have back issues, and vacuuming is one of the activities that really makes my back tie up, so this is a real back saver. I still have to do the baseboards, but it does a better job than my husband did (and way more often!) I had to slightly modify some of my furniture placement, and the fringe on one of my oriental carpet was too long (I actually bound the edges -- I don't like the fringe anyway). The other one had ~1 1/2 inch fringe, short enough that there is no problem. My house is over 3200 square feet, so it takes at least 4 charges to do the whole house. I run it early in the morning, but I typically close off the bedrooms so they can be done at a different time. I have only had it for less than a week, so i don't know yet whether it can do the whole house without getting lost. I do know that it will get lost if I move something that it has used in its navigation algorithm. Setting up the docking station is critical, and it is designed to be against a wall that has no baseboards. Hence, I had to shim the top so it doesn't tilt when the vacuum tries to dock. I used pieces of adhesive "moleskin" (in the foot care/orthotic section of the drug store). I live in a dusty area, so keeping the dust at bay is a real boon! It takes a little time to get the house into a configuration that the robot can do the whole thing without intervention. I still empty the dust bin and vacuum the filter each time the robot charges itself. It is important not to "help" or "rescue" the robot when it is having trouble getting out of a tight spot. It has an amazing ability to get itself out. If it is truly stuck, it will ask for help. Then it's ok to move it or an obstacle.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Az.
Date:January 27, 2012

So far so good

Pros: not too noisy
Cons: histories of frequent breakdowns
Model Number: XV-11
"I am still reading posts regarding hardware and software issues, so the only reason I have not given this 5 stars is due to my concern for the longevity of the product. With that said, my vacuum arrived today, and was packaged very well. After a full charge and a review of the current version of software I set it to work.
1) it really is NOT that noisy. The Roomba that this unit replaced, was noisier
2) this product does seem to vacuum well, and has a better, more powerful vacuum than other robot vacs.
3) was super simple to setup and to operate
4)The manual that comes with it is fairly complete
Although this item is very new to me, at this point I would recommend it to a friend. If it breaks down on me I will recommend it to a non friend.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hanover, MD
Date:September 28, 2011

Excellent Produt

Pros: cleans all areas including carpets and wood floor, schedule to clean 24/7, strong motor and thoroughly clean, easy to dump dirts
Cons: noise when cleaning over wood floors or tiles.
Model Number: Neato XV-11
"The Neato Plus Robotic is the best vacuum cleaner ever I have experienced. Both myself and my wife love this product. The Neato starts itself (schedule for 24/7 duration) and cleans our entire four rooms on the same floor. The Neato cleans very thoroughly over carpets and even wood floors. Love this product. Very strong vacuum and it cleans itself over entire area."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, PA
Date:March 17, 2012
Pros: low maintenance easy to operate does a great job, will handle a large house without my attention.
Cons: does not dust furniture wash windows or get cobw, can get trapped in corners and under furniture
Model Number: XV-11
"We have now had Neato for almost two weeks and used it ten or more times. We should say that we have owned a string of Roombas in the five years previous to buying Neato . Neato is better in ALMOST every way. Still there is a lot of room for improvement, thus only 4 stars.
The vacuum picks up a LOT of dirt, which is both amazing and depressing. The house had been vacuumed only two days before we started using Neato and there was a LOT of dirt in the bin. Let me back up and say, we are empty nesters, sort of. I mean the kids come home often with the darling 2 year old in tow. We also have small and large groups. Plus there is the cat. I am surprised he is not bald based on how much hair he spreads around.
The Neato now vacuums about 1600 square feet: Two halls, two baths, two bedrooms, living room, laundry room, foyer, and kitchen dining room. There are two more bedrooms that need to be prepped for Neato. One room is used for sewing and has some pins on the floor. I will get to them soon. It really does stroll from room to room, returning home for a nap (battery charge) before finishing its work. It has been years since our rooms were this clean.
It is very easy to maintain. Just empty the bin. Unlike the Roomba, the beater bar or silicone “brush” does NOT get hair around it constantly. I had to spend time after every use cleaning the Roomba brushes. The barrier to keep Neato away from areas is just a magnetic strip, no batteries or turning things on and off required.
We have mixed surface floors, stone, vinyl, carpets, and wood. The Neato easily moves from area to area. It is an older home and sometimes the height difference from the vinyl to the carpet was hard for Roomba and it never would go from the carpet to the Oriental Rug in the Living Room. Neato does this well.
OK, now for the downside. Our house is not modern, empty, rectangular. Neato gets trapped easily and seems unable to back out. For example it would go under a coffee table and then, for some reason the conning tower would get caught and it could not get out. There were quite a few adjustments we needed to make so that the Neato could navigate. In one case, it was just in a corner asking me to clear its path. I turned it around to face the opening and it turned itself back into the corner and after five minutes or so figured out how to get out. That type of thing happened too often, but we were able to reposition some furniture to help. Still I don’t like rearranging my furniture to suit the servants. Its performance on cleaning edges and corners is a lot like my kids used to be when they were asked to clean. Roomba did better there.
The true test will be after a year. Neato does offer an extended warrantee and I am considering getting it. The Roombas were out of commission often, replaced under warrantee and then dying altogether and replaced at full cost. It was a very expensive process. If we manage to get through two years without service calls etc. We will be thrilled. The other GREAT thing about Neato is they do software upgrades, so I look forward to improvements in the function of this machine. There was a mistake in the package; less magnetic wall was sent than promised. A quick phone call and the missing part arrived in less than a week. Customer service was great.
In summary, we are not tossing the central vacuum cleaner yet. There will still be times to vacuum, corners, edges, ceilings and cob webs. Those are monthly jobs. But I believe that Neato will take care of the regular maintenance of our home.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:January 27, 2012

Works better than expected

Pros: quiet effecient
"Push the button and the neato chugs around the perimeter of the room, carefully navigating around all the junk. It sucks up rabbit and cat hair really well, and gets a ton of dust up. The battery lasts about 2.5 rooms worth, then it goes back home to recharge. Recharges pretty quickly. Doesn't fall down the stairs! Sometimes gets stuck in tight spots, but no big deal to save it. I've had to nudge it a few times up to the battery charger. I bought one for my Mom too, she has had issues with it because she thinks it should be perfect. She has too much clutter so it gets stuck more at her house. It cleans much better than I do. I think you still have to do the occasional manual vacuuming, but it will do 90% of it for you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Shelby, NC
Date:November 18, 2011

Best Gift Ever

Pros: dog even likes it., doesn't ask why she has to clean., dust bin fills fast with dust and hair!!, beeps when dust bin is full
Cons: she doesn't clean toilets., dust bin fills fast., doesn't require extra trip to grocery store.
"This was one of many gifts that my husband received for his birthday. Can I say I am so happy. We have a Corgi and were picking up hair on a daily basis. With our Neato, we are no longer scooping up the hair. It has been such a pleasure walking thru the house. We have a 3,000 sqft home and it takes her about 2 charges to completely do everything."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Down the Bayou
Date:July 28, 2011

Died after 4 days

Pros: good on dog hair
Cons: needs attention, broke after 4 days
"It did a pretty good job for the 4 days it worked. It had to be emptied or rescued a bit too often so I couldn't let it run at night and had to babysit it while it was working. But after 4 days it just died. Now I have to pack it up and mail it back."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 10, 2013

Great while works but works for 1 year on average

Pros: easier to clean, smart vaccum
Cons: easily broken, very limited warranty, somewhat higher than irobot
"I have purchased this robotic vacuum cleaner in the year of 2011 from costco website, maybe of an earlier version but certainly look the same as this one and it cost over $400 at the time.Prior to that I owned a iRobot vacuum cleaner for about 2 years.
It worked great, vacuum pretty well and the effort to clean it and dump the dust bin is minimal.
I loved it very much, for about a year.
Then it broke. I suddenly got an error message telling me the brush is stuck but nothing is on the way of the brush.I tried changing the brush, dissembled it and cleaned everywhere and put it back together. Nothing worked. So I called the customer service, that was in the year of 2012, merely one year after I purchased this vacuum cleaner. At the time the customer service was still located in California. They heard the symptom and immediately sent a refurbished one and asked me to send back the broken one. So I did.
And the replaced one worked pretty well, I was very happy with them, FOR ABOUT ANOTHER YEAR!
Then it stopped working AGAIN, with the exact same error message. I tried replace the brush, clean, set the battery, yet nothing worked.
So I called the customer service again. This time it wasn't that smooth. I had to wait very long (at most I waited 30 mins) to talk to someone, and for three times I talked to three different people. They each gave different advice and one of them even sent a replacement part, but nothing fixed it. At last the lady told me there's nothing they can do because the warranty is one year and I already passed that. So I spent $400 on it and got two machines that worked for one year, on average, that's it!
If $400 is not a big amount for you and you think it's certainly worth it for 2 year's vacuum (on average of 2 times per week), it's a good buy for you. Otherwise I would suggest iRobot, which has a much stable quality in my experience.
The other cons I had, this vacuum cleaner is a bit higher than the iRobot one, so if you have furniture just between these heights (that's my situation), Neato has a higher chance of being trapped on the edge of the furniture.I constantly have to rescue the Neato from under the bed, or on the edge of the dressers, etc.
"
Review 19 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2011

It Works!

Cons: must made the room ready for it.
"I have a 5?0 Roomba and a dog. The Neato cleans so much better. It is also much easier to clean because the dog hair is not wrap around the brushes."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Date:March 7, 2012

Set it and forget it!

Model Number: XV-11
"I hate to vacuum! Now I don't have to. You set the schedule on the Neato and it vacuums the whole house. I have 3 very fluffy cats that lose a lot of fur. The Neato cleans up all of the fur and dander. It is really not very loud either. It is quieter than my regular vacuum and gets under all of the furniture. We actually had to slightly raise some of the furniture so it didn't get stuck. Once that was done it was free to clean everywhere. I have carpet, tile and throw rugs. It cleans them all. The edges of the throw rugs get caught sometimes and it has a little bit of trouble going from one type of flooring to another. But once it "learns" your house it just goes!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>