Customer Reviews for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner

Added Value: 4 Filters & 6 Replacement Brush Blades and 1 Replacement Squeegee Blade
Average Customer Rating:
4.326 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
(out of 49 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
43 of 49(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Review 1 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 10, 2013

Great while works but works for 1 year on average

Pros: easier to clean, smart vaccum
Cons: easily broken, very limited warranty, somewhat higher than irobot
"I have purchased this robotic vacuum cleaner in the year of 2011 from costco website, maybe of an earlier version but certainly look the same as this one and it cost over $400 at the time.Prior to that I owned a iRobot vacuum cleaner for about 2 years.
It worked great, vacuum pretty well and the effort to clean it and dump the dust bin is minimal.
I loved it very much, for about a year.
Then it broke. I suddenly got an error message telling me the brush is stuck but nothing is on the way of the brush.I tried changing the brush, dissembled it and cleaned everywhere and put it back together. Nothing worked. So I called the customer service, that was in the year of 2012, merely one year after I purchased this vacuum cleaner. At the time the customer service was still located in California. They heard the symptom and immediately sent a refurbished one and asked me to send back the broken one. So I did.
And the replaced one worked pretty well, I was very happy with them, FOR ABOUT ANOTHER YEAR!
Then it stopped working AGAIN, with the exact same error message. I tried replace the brush, clean, set the battery, yet nothing worked.
So I called the customer service again. This time it wasn't that smooth. I had to wait very long (at most I waited 30 mins) to talk to someone, and for three times I talked to three different people. They each gave different advice and one of them even sent a replacement part, but nothing fixed it. At last the lady told me there's nothing they can do because the warranty is one year and I already passed that. So I spent $400 on it and got two machines that worked for one year, on average, that's it!
If $400 is not a big amount for you and you think it's certainly worth it for 2 year's vacuum (on average of 2 times per week), it's a good buy for you. Otherwise I would suggest iRobot, which has a much stable quality in my experience.
The other cons I had, this vacuum cleaner is a bit higher than the iRobot one, so if you have furniture just between these heights (that's my situation), Neato has a higher chance of being trapped on the edge of the furniture.I constantly have to rescue the Neato from under the bed, or on the edge of the dressers, etc.
"
Review 2 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:April 26, 2012

Neato

Pros: makes vacuuming a breeze., set it and the work is done., great customer service
Cons: have gotten rps errors so had to exchange it.
Model Number: XV11
"I have had to return 2 but have gotten great customer service. I bought an extra one for my lower level as Neato has freed me up so much. I set her to vacuum each day when I am at work and when I get home the house looks great. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. It is fabulous!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:April 22, 2012

Awesome device

Pros: easy to use just press the start button, easy to clean the dirt container
Cons: not great with long pet hair
Model Number: XV-11
"I purchased the Neato after reading many reviews comparing it with the Roomba. I have not used a Roomba, so I cannot compare the two, but I am very pleased with the purchase.
It is so simple to use, just press the button and it goes. It is able to do the whole of our upstairs in a single charge and when it has finished it heads back to the charging station and connects back up. How does it know where to go? It is interesting watching it go from room to room and start cleaning. It has only got stuck a couple of times, mostly because of a rug that curls up at the edge and close to furniture, so that the bot was unable to back up to get free. It really does work as claimed.
It is not a replacement for a regular vacuum cleaner as it is not great with long pet hair that our German Shepard leaves lying around and does not get right up to the edge. I am hoping that Neato will make available an upgrade kit to upgrade to the spec of the new model coming out, which I hope will do a better job. However, it does undeniably clean, as the dirt container is full after every clean. It is real easy to clean the container and because of the ease of use, it means you can use the machine more often than than you would a regular vacuum cleaner, resulting in a cleaner house."
Review 4 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:April 17, 2012

Very good, so far

Pros: picks up dirt pretty well.
Cons: loud
Model Number: 945
"Does the job better than a Roomba that I tried before. The biggest drawback is that it is very loud but then again I am partially deaf so deafness has advantages at times."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:port townsend , wa
Date:April 11, 2012

neato plus robot vac.

Pros: great vac
Cons: could use non marking white rubber for wheels
Model Number: xv 11
"We previously owned the Roomba . What a disappointment. You need to clean the brushes every few days. Loud. Random bumping bot.
Neato is great. It is quieter, sucks up much more dirt, carefully navigates around everythig. You can upgrade the software to your computer and then dump the update into neato. Very Neat!"
Review 6 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:April 10, 2012

I like it

Pros: great vacuuming power, decent navigation, easy to use out of the box, communicates well, cleans thoroughly
Cons: only goes out on two missions per sked cleaning, only cleans on calendered ske, needs a setting to clean just one room on demand, needs a button to push to clean on demand, dust bin too small
"I wish this was on a scale of 1-10, because I'd give it a 9 rather than a four out of five.
We have a golden retriever who sheds a ton. We never realized how much until we put hardwood in half the house.
We were sweeping every day just to keep up with the hair and the dust.
Now we run the Neato Mon, Wed, and Fri while we are at work and the house looks great.
We have a large house, 4600 square feet, and it has gotten lost a couple of times. The Neato goes for a little more than an hour before it gets tired, then comes back to recharge before going out again. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to go out a third time."
Review 7 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Ca
Date:March 23, 2012

I'm in love

Pros: the cleaning pattern
Cons: no handle
"I can't believe how easy it is to use. I love coming home and seeing the carpet nice and clean. No more dog hair all over my hardwood floors. A little expensive. I bought the Neato because it was the only one offered by Costco now, but it's worth every dollar. I would like to have two, upstairs and downstairs."
Review 8 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, PA
Date:March 17, 2012
Pros: low maintenance easy to operate does a great job, will handle a large house without my attention.
Cons: does not dust furniture wash windows or get cobw, can get trapped in corners and under furniture
Model Number: XV-11
"We have now had Neato for almost two weeks and used it ten or more times. We should say that we have owned a string of Roombas in the five years previous to buying Neato . Neato is better in ALMOST every way. Still there is a lot of room for improvement, thus only 4 stars.
The vacuum picks up a LOT of dirt, which is both amazing and depressing. The house had been vacuumed only two days before we started using Neato and there was a LOT of dirt in the bin. Let me back up and say, we are empty nesters, sort of. I mean the kids come home often with the darling 2 year old in tow. We also have small and large groups. Plus there is the cat. I am surprised he is not bald based on how much hair he spreads around.
The Neato now vacuums about 1600 square feet: Two halls, two baths, two bedrooms, living room, laundry room, foyer, and kitchen dining room. There are two more bedrooms that need to be prepped for Neato. One room is used for sewing and has some pins on the floor. I will get to them soon. It really does stroll from room to room, returning home for a nap (battery charge) before finishing its work. It has been years since our rooms were this clean.
It is very easy to maintain. Just empty the bin. Unlike the Roomba, the beater bar or silicone “brush” does NOT get hair around it constantly. I had to spend time after every use cleaning the Roomba brushes. The barrier to keep Neato away from areas is just a magnetic strip, no batteries or turning things on and off required.
We have mixed surface floors, stone, vinyl, carpets, and wood. The Neato easily moves from area to area. It is an older home and sometimes the height difference from the vinyl to the carpet was hard for Roomba and it never would go from the carpet to the Oriental Rug in the Living Room. Neato does this well.
OK, now for the downside. Our house is not modern, empty, rectangular. Neato gets trapped easily and seems unable to back out. For example it would go under a coffee table and then, for some reason the conning tower would get caught and it could not get out. There were quite a few adjustments we needed to make so that the Neato could navigate. In one case, it was just in a corner asking me to clear its path. I turned it around to face the opening and it turned itself back into the corner and after five minutes or so figured out how to get out. That type of thing happened too often, but we were able to reposition some furniture to help. Still I don’t like rearranging my furniture to suit the servants. Its performance on cleaning edges and corners is a lot like my kids used to be when they were asked to clean. Roomba did better there.
The true test will be after a year. Neato does offer an extended warrantee and I am considering getting it. The Roombas were out of commission often, replaced under warrantee and then dying altogether and replaced at full cost. It was a very expensive process. If we manage to get through two years without service calls etc. We will be thrilled. The other GREAT thing about Neato is they do software upgrades, so I look forward to improvements in the function of this machine. There was a mistake in the package; less magnetic wall was sent than promised. A quick phone call and the missing part arrived in less than a week. Customer service was great.
In summary, we are not tossing the central vacuum cleaner yet. There will still be times to vacuum, corners, edges, ceilings and cob webs. Those are monthly jobs. But I believe that Neato will take care of the regular maintenance of our home.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:March 16, 2012

Wonderful addition

Pros: great time saver, does a very good job of picking up dust and dirt
Model Number: Neato XV-11
"It is very enlightening to run the Neao in a room that you think is clean and see what it picks up.
This vacuum works as described, is easy to use and does an excellent job. We were amazed at the amount of dust/dirt that it picked up. A little preparation was needed; such as moving some wires out of the way and picking up toys from the floor.
The navigation system works very well. It did get lost once (could not find it’s charging station), but after blocking one of two doorways in our dining room it was able to traverse the first floor very well. The laser guided system does a good job of mapping out the room and when it missed something the bumper system or the stair discovery mechanism worked well to guide the robot appropriately.
The unit performed well on hardwood floors and on carpet.
The dust bin is easy to remove and replace.
As other reviews state, if you are only going to have one vacuum, this one will not meet all of your needs since this vacuum cannot access some places.
However, as a second vacuum it is wonderful. It allows for more frequent cleaning with much less effort. Then only periodic cleaning is needed in places that the Neato cannot reach.
This unit is somewhat costly. However, if it keeps cleaning as well as it has for the first week we have had it, then it is well worth the cost for us. With the Neato we are spending much less time vacuuming and the house is much cleaner.
We also had fun observing the Neato the first couple of time it maneuvered around the house. The local Costco did not have this in stock, it was purchased from Costco.com and delivered in a few days. Based on a web search Costco had the best price (about $50 less than other merchant’s price).
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silicon Valley, CA
Date:March 15, 2012

Excellent Product

Pros: cleans great, lots of spare filters, charges fast, easy to clean and remove canister
Cons: needs about five more feet of magnetic strip
"I had been a Roomba user for many years. My last Model 550 died the circle dance death--too pricey to fix.
The 700 series from Roomba seemed like an improvement over the 500 series, but a fair jump in price was a consideration.
Searched the internet to see what was out there nowadays related to electronic floor cleaners. Read the Costco reviews about the Neato.
I have had Neato for about two (2) weeks. It rocks. I have a yellow lab and it does a very good job of grabbing the hair. It does suck in more dirt/hair than the Roomba.
If an area seems difficult to clean or needs more attention, I just cycle it again in the same room. Plenty of battery life for my needs.
Cool item!"
Review 11 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Kentucky
Date:March 15, 2012

Works okay, but is fussy

Pros: good pick up
Cons: too fussy
"The pick-up is quite good for the size. noise is no more than any other vacuum I have. However if you don't clear the floor of baskets, footstools, plants, etc, it only goes in circles. Does not clean the whole room. If it has a clear pathway it does better.
I would recommend with reservations
"
Review 12 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 13, 2012

Love it! Go Buy One Yourself!

Pros: easy to use; good suction; not very noisy at all
Cons: can't think of one
Model Number: Neato Plus XV-11
"LOVE LOVE LOVE this vacuum. I think that it picks up very well. Of course it can't get right up to the wall but neither can an upright. I have only had it for a week but highly recommend it.
I use it on carpet. My house has two cats. Even running it every other day that little guy continues to pick up a full bin of hair, dirt and dust. OMG the amount of dust it picks up.
I have not used the scheduler yet but everything was so easy to setup and get started I do not anticipate problems.
And my only advice, once started don't confuse the poor vacuum by closing doors."
Review 13 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2012

Bye bye irobot

"This unit replaced a Roomba irobot that as usual had a bad week battery. The Neato is more efficient in its cleaning ability. Stronger vacuum. Generally smarter and more computerized like ability to update software on usb."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Date:March 7, 2012

Set it and forget it!

Model Number: XV-11
"I hate to vacuum! Now I don't have to. You set the schedule on the Neato and it vacuums the whole house. I have 3 very fluffy cats that lose a lot of fur. The Neato cleans up all of the fur and dander. It is really not very loud either. It is quieter than my regular vacuum and gets under all of the furniture. We actually had to slightly raise some of the furniture so it didn't get stuck. Once that was done it was free to clean everywhere. I have carpet, tile and throw rugs. It cleans them all. The edges of the throw rugs get caught sometimes and it has a little bit of trouble going from one type of flooring to another. But once it "learns" your house it just goes!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cypress, TX
Date:March 6, 2012

How Did I Ever Live Without Neato

Pros: gets up so much dirt, it's like having a little helper around the house, love it!
Cons: none
Model Number: Item# 559138
"This is the best vacuum cleaner that I have ever owned. I read the reviews before I made my purchase, but words just does not do it justice. I have a large house and I'm now thinking about getting another one. One for upstairs and the other for downstairs. I can't believe all the dirt this vacuum picks up. Each time I empty the bid, it full of dirt. I just can't believe it. I love my purchase!!!!!"
Review 16 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Date:March 5, 2012

My wife says I bought her a maid!

Pros: ease of use, house looks clean when we come home.
Cons: could be a little quieter
Model Number: Neato XV-11
"I must say this little gadget impresses me daily. My floor challenges are slab-on-grade with harwood/carpet and 1 inch floor differences. (with graded transitions over 3 inches). My expectations were that it may not be able to negotiate these differences, but would have been happy to have it able to clean the hardwood floors of the dog/cat hair dust bunnies. Amazingly, it effortlessly negotiates every threshold and has only stopped cleaning twice. (Floor lamp with arching lights, has a ring style base, high centered once and caught a loose carpet backing strand around the beater, but it stopped without tearing up the carpet) Every day it manages to do the downstairs and gather a couple of cups of hair/dust/debris. It holds off the need for deep cleaning until the weekend."
Review 17 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 29, 2012

Best robot vacuum

Pros: easy to clean, return to base charge and finish cleaning, dust bin easy to transport and clean, powerful suction, doesn't bump furniture
Cons: loud, tall - doesn't fit well under furniture, doesn't clean corners and edges well
"This is the best robot vacuum available on Costco. I bought the Roomba 550 and it was never able to do the entire down stairs...just died and I had to search for it when I got home. When the Roomba is confined to one room it bounce around it what was a random pattern and took forever to finish the room.
Just the opposite with the Neato. The ability to return to base charge and finish cleaning is fantastic. The trash bin is easy to clean and no hair getting caught in the bristles."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:February 28, 2012

Great purchase

Model Number: Neato XV-11
"This product really lives up to it's name. I had a hard time believing any robotic vac could handle my household with 5 dogs and a bird, but it has made a believer out of me and the other skeptics in my household.
I will never be without one again. This is one of the best purchases I have ever made.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Blaine, Washington
Date:February 26, 2012

Neato is Neat!

Cons: can get caught in tight places.
Model Number: X-11
"Cleanest home has ever been. Beats uprights and canisters. Fun to watch as it thinks its way through the rooms."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Neato Plus Robotic All-floor Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Date:February 23, 2012

Very well designed product

Pros: no battery-powered navigation devices, does complete floorplan each time, vacuums in neat rows instead of random tracks, little to no brush maintenance, usb updateable firmware
Cons: a little louder than the competition
Model Number: XV-11
"I have owned 4 different cleaning robots from Neato's larger competitor and was pretty happy with their performance. But there was always the nagging problems with those other products, especially with hair getting wound up in the brushes and particularly the fact that I could never get them to clean my entire floorplan on a single "mission". Neither of those are an issue with my new Neato, and I no longer have C battery gobbling navigational devices cluttering my doorways anymore. I additionally like that I can place the charging dock in a more hidden location with the Neato than I could before since it's better navigation will always find it's way home. And probably the best feature is that it will recharge itself mid-mission and then resume where it left off, works perfect every time and it never misses a room. Buy this beast with confidence!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>