Customer Reviews for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter

With the PEAK 450A jump starter you will never be stuck somewhere with a dead car battery again. The PEAK jump starter has more than enough power to jump start most vehicles and give you a portable power source where ever you go. Keep the jumper in your trunk and wherever you are you will have the confidence that the jumper itself will be ready because of the built-in, patent pending, Low Charge Alert (LCA) system. This system notifies you if the jumper battery is low and needs to be recharged. With the additional built-in 260PSI inflator, you also have what you need to inflate car tires or vacation float devices anywhere at anytime. The PEAK jump starter also is a great DC power source with its DC outlet and has a built-in 5 LED worklight so you are never in the dark. With 18ah of power, 260PSI inflator, Low Charge Alert, and portable DC power the PEAK jump starter is a great safety and travel device.   Provides 450 instant starting amps (900 peak amps)   260 PSI air compressor / inflator   12 volt DC power outlet   USB power outlet   Worklight   Exclusive low charge alert technology   Dimensions: 13.56"L x 10.38"W x 14.63"H; Weight: 18.19 lbs
Average Customer Rating:
3.077 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
8 of 13(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
Review 1 for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:April 1, 2011

Not the Best

"The great thing about this jump Box is the size. The Bad thing about it does not have enough juice to Juump a complete dead battary. I had to call call AAA when my car didn't start and they hooked there jump box and it fired up right away. I liked there old one they had for long time."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange county, CA
Date:May 21, 2011

Nice handy product

"Used it few times to jump start, worked just fine. instructions are confusing because it did not work plugin just the (+) and the (-) to the car chassis. had to connect it the same you would from another vehicle (+) to (+) and (-) to (-). It may be the reason it didn’t jump start to other reviewer.
Use it to fill air to bikes and balls. I keep it handy in my car and it never failed to do its job.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Renton, Wa
Date:May 22, 2011

works for me

Model Number: 450
"I've used the air compressor one time and have used it to start my boat. It started my boat several times without a problem and sure glad I had it. The battery clamps are plastic so I will just be careful with them."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nor Cal
Date:September 11, 2011

Horrible Product

"Since this product was shipped direct from the manufacturer I can't blame Costco. The item came to me used and didn't work. The compressor would not turn on at all. I returned the item back to Costco right away."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 14, 2011

Best value out there

Pros: led work light, usb port, low charge alert function, light weight, compact
Cons: weak air nozzle clamp
Model Number: 450
"Nice compact charger/compressor that has been thoughtfully designed. Reasonably well built and very portable."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Corona, CA
Date:May 31, 2011

PORTABLE, CONVENIENT - TIME SAVER!

Pros: lightweight, portable/intelligent design, easy to use, compressor included
Cons: takes 36 hours to fully charge
Model Number: Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
"MY BATTERY IS AT IT'S END-OF-LIFE AFTER 4.5 YEARS OF USE AND MERCEDES WANTS $365 FOR A NEW ONE WHEN I WILL BE TURNING IN MY CAR SOON...SAW THIS...WAS SKEPTICAL AT FIRST...BUT...IT HAS ALREADY SAVED ME 3 CALL'S TO AAA FOR ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE! WORKS LIKE A CHARM...STARTS THE CAR QUICKLY/EASILY WITH NO HASSLES...GREAT BACKUP TO HAVE!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:nyc
Date:May 21, 2011

doesnt work to jump dead battery

Pros: will return it
Cons: doesnt function-- as the other reviewers noted
"have two sports cars- both with dead batteries from the winter- bought this because of its great listed features-- yet it failed twice- negative results with both cars-- called aaa- they jumped both batteries within a second-- this thing has many features but fails to do the desired job which for me was getting the car battery going--- waste of time and money"
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Napa, CA
Date:September 14, 2012

Always works great!....IF...

Pros: convenient
Cons: not for jumping a car that hasn't run for months
Model Number: older model from Costco
"Bought one that Costco carried years ago. It still works great, even after sitting idle for 2 years. After charging it up again, of course. The one I have actually has a longer flatter clip, so it will attach to side post type batteries as well. The air compressor works well and for a long time. Keep in mind, this is best applied, for instance, when the car has had it's lights left on overnight and needs a good boost to start in the morning, etc. It WILL NOT start a car that has been sitting idle for months or years. Can't push 12 "good volts" through a cold or shorted older battery. It works like magic when needed, but will not perform miracles. Please don't expect it to. Cheers."
Review 9 for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Merrick NY
Date:October 11, 2011

Another great purchase from Costco

Pros: very protable, air compress works well
Model Number: Peak 450
"Worth the price, and it's light and portable.
So far I've used it to add air to my small fleet of cars.
The manufacture recommend a fully 36 hr.
So, what.
If your thinking of a portable unit it's worth the price.
And, with Winter coming in the N.E.
Order it now.
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:boca raton fl
Date:October 25, 2011

worst product I've bought from costco

Cons: garbage
"this is the worst product I've ever bought from costco. doesn't work
went to charge my battery twice and it didn't charge it. The unit was fully charged but didn't have the energy to charge my battery not my neighbor's battery
Just want to return it
please tell me how I can do that sooner rather than later
"
2 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:san diego
Date:April 5, 2011

Peak 450 jump starter

Cons: will not jump
"One of the worst propduct " cost co " ever sold.
this jumper need two people to jump the car, becuse the grab will not hold, very week power too. please do not wast your mony.
"
2 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mount Joy, PA
Date:June 3, 2012

Will not work with side terminal battery

Model Number: 559145
"This is a good product for a good price, but I have old cars that are garaged and not driven very often with side mounted terminals. The clamps only have teeth on the end, so if you have a side mounted terminal with not a lot of room to spare, the clamps will not attach. The clamps should have teeth on the side for this reason. Too bad, as the jump box is a nice one."
Review 13 for Peak® 450 Amp Jump Starter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SAN FRANCISCO-SAN JOSE, CA
Date:September 8, 2012

Not enouch chanking amps

Pros: great price and features
Cons: not as powerful as it should be
Model Number: PSX2
"I'm with the half that is not very satisfied with the starting power. I too tried 3 different times to jump my car and truck after they has sat a few weeks. I did as instructed, but I will try once more by connecting jumper to battery and not grounding on the frame. If that don't work, I too, will take it back to Costco."