Customer Reviews for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle

Includes: System Cloning Software USB Enclosure & Cable
Average Customer Rating:
3.724 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
(out of 29 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
22 of 29(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Review 1 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Danville, CA
Date:November 29, 2010

So so performance

Pros: solid hardware
Cons: so so performance via usb
Model Number: Kingston 128GB SSD Drive
"Having purchased my fist SSD drive, I thought it would be as speedy as the MacBook Air, not! This unit is hampered by the s l o w USB port. Having an eSATA or Firewire 800 would have been way better."
0 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By BuyerCostco ElectronicsDecember 10, 2010
Thank you for your recent purchase of the Kingston SSD Drive. This drive is designed as a direct replacement of your internal laptop hard drive. The enclosure and USB cable are included to house the internal hard drive that was replaced with the SSD drive. If you have any questions on setup, please feel free to contact Kingston's tech support at 1-800-435-0640 or 1-714-435-2639 and watch the videos included on the webpages above.
Review 2 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:houston
Date:December 10, 2010

Works Great

Pros: easy and fast
"Easy to clone old drive, super fast. Speeds up everything. We use these at my office also, no problems."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:97420
Date:December 16, 2010

ssd hd 128 kingston

Pros: works as should
Cons: none at this time.
"ssd works great in win 7 64 bit.
Shot my aero rating to over 7.
Can be used internal with sata, and also
external with the supplied adaptor for usb
use. The product has a manafacture rebate, be sure to read carefully and follow instrs.
Comes with cloneing software.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:January 12, 2011

Great internal drive

"This drive significantly improves the speed of a computer. Starting it up will amaze you. If you use this as an external drive then you are not taking advantage of it's ability. The USB speed won't unleash it's amazing speed potential. Use as an internal disk which the OS boots off of only. You will not regret this purchase. I've purchased ten so far."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:January 25, 2011

Cut start up time in about half.

Model Number: V100
"I hate to wait. Waiting for my netbook to start up,drives me nuts! Well worth the cost. Why pay almost as much as a new netbook for a SSD? SPEED! as a bonus it coverts your old har drive to a backup drive!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newport Beach, CA
Date:January 25, 2011

Wow!

Pros: easy to install., lighting fast boot up!, disc cloning took less than 1/2 hour to complete.
Cons: none!
Model Number: SDD Now 100V 128GB
"I purchased my Sony VPCEC25FX from Costco.com six months ago. The initial boot up time (with this new SSD) is a fraction of what it once was with the traditional HDD... the SSD's read/write times are utterly impressive. Do yourself a favor and upgrade to SSD today - you will not regret this decision. Can't beat the price and let's not forget about Costco's unparalleled customer service and warranty-- best in the retail business!! Don't be scared off by the argument of "it's only 128GB." This is ample space for most end-users. My new SSD is the primary disc drive and I now have 500GB HDD as my (internal) secondary back up drive. I also upgraded my RAM to 8GB from 4GB and this notebook now screams!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:February 17, 2011

DO NOT BUY!!!!!

"3 bad V100 drives in the last 3 months. Kingston admits that the V100, not the V100+, have an inherent flaw. Call Kingston to verify for yourself prior to making the purchase."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2011

High Failure Rate

Cons: very high failure rate
"This model has a high failure rate, often failing in less than 6 months.
When this SSD fails, all data is lost.
Only plus is Kingston customer service (once you reach them) is friendly and helpful (but this doesn't bring back your data or avoid the hassle of having to swap in the replacement, which will also fail within 6 months)."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 4, 2011

Good so far...

Pros: fast, new technology
Cons: a little expensive, no independent program to manage drive like intel
Model Number: Kingston SSD V+ series
"Only had this for 2 weeks, so far so good and it work well with my Vista machine. I gave it a five star due to the fact that it is in deed a well product, made everything faster from boot up to opening a program to shutting down. Try searching the net for some tweaks on how to customize your OS with SSD drives to extend its life. Will see in 6 or more months from now then I will update this review."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:san jose,ca
Date:March 5, 2011

Kingston in Raid 0-boot drive

Pros: fast, easy to install
"This is their newer v100 ssd drive. i am getting 200%+ gains over a 10000 rpm veliciraptor.
I have this in raid 0 as a boot drive with 256gb space for the OS.
So far it is lightning fast and no issues."
Review 11 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:March 9, 2011

Blue screen of death; time wasted

Cons: didn't work as advertised.
Model Number: SNVP325-S2/128GB
"Installed per directions (downloaded PDF instructions & watched videos) first attempt to clone original drive returned multiple "cannot read sector xxxxx" messages; chose "Ignore All" option since retry didn't work. When software said finished, cold boot yielded "No boot sector on SSD." Shut down & ran included software again; it finished OK this time. When I shut down and powered up for my first time with the SSD Windows barely started when it crashed to the Blue Screen. Tried cold boot again...same. A real waste of time."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern NJ
Date:March 10, 2011

Need for Speed

"I've installed a number of these Kingston 128V+ GB SSD's. Most recently in a Core I5 Acer. and an Aging Dell 1405 T-7200 laptop. Overall in both cases the drives added a dramatic increase in speed and cut boot times in both machines by half. The only exception was when I installed one of these in a first generation single core Atom Netbook. In this case, no appreciable performance gain was noted. So, I pulled the drive and re-installed it in another machine. Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase."
Review 13 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011

Worked first time without a hitch

"We used the software included to backup the system. We found some instructions online specific to our netbook to open it up. Changed out the mounting bracket and installed the new device. Copied the backup onto the new drive (according to directions), and everything worked great the first time. The netbook was updated from a 16GB flash to this 128GB and, so far, everything works great."
Review 14 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:OC, California
Date:April 11, 2011

Worth the extra cost

Pros: makes an older laptop seem new, installation kit works perfectly
Cons: costs more than mechanical drive
Model Number: SSD 128GB
"Replaced a HP Pavillion laptop original disk drive. Follow Kingston installations and the procedure is quick and easy. The old drive content was perfectly cloned to the SS drive and I can use the old one for back up. The new drive boots win 7 much faster. Applications like office, publisher, video editing "pop" onto the screen - opening them is awesome! Mechanical disk drive vibration, noise and heat are all gone. It's eerily quiet. I knowingly paid more but my laptop seems revitalized so I'm happy with the trade-off."
Review 15 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 16, 2011

Fast boot times are a reality now - yeah!

Pros: fast boot times - finally!, fireware is updated with fix for premature failure, price point for us mortals
Cons: no paper instructions provided in box - .pdf on cd
"Kingston has come out with a firmware upgrade to fix the issue with high failure rate. I had downloaded the firmware but was pleasantly suprised to see my drive already had it from the factory. So hopefully this fixes the issues others have had with early failure as Kingston claims.
As for speed it has decreased boot time by about 5x (which is primarly what I got the drive for - to increase boot times). I am less impressed with the speed seen for application launch after boot. The box says expect 50% performance increase and that sounds about right. Still faster but not as huge a difference as you'll notice for boot up times.
Overall I am happy with my first SSD. BTW - don't forget to turn off defrag once you migrate. It's irrelevant for an SSD drive and can actually decrease the life of it due to excess read/writes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Herndon, VA
Date:May 3, 2011

SSDs are the way to go

Pros: great perfomance, easy install, comes with external enclosure
Cons: cloning software does not work on mac
"This is my second Kingston 128 GB SSD drive and no problems thus far. I have the previous model Kingston V 128 in my Dell laptop and this one I installed in my MacBook Pro. No problems with either. I also like that it comes with an external drive enclosure. I can use that if I need to access my old drive.
For anyone that is still using a regular HD as your primary OS drive, these SSD will make a world a difference.
Note that the cloning software does not work with Mac, but that's ok. You can just load the OS on the new drive and the OS will migrate all your applications, documents, and settings for you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:May 11, 2011

Good SSD

Model Number: Kingston SSD 128GB
"I was a little nervous to install it because I knew the 100 series had a firmware problem and I didn’t know if I have to upgrade it before or after installation. It looks like the factory did the upgrade because everything went with no problems and I was very impress how quick the laptop booted and ran the programs and especially the ¾ drop of the heat coming from bottom ventilation. I used the box supplied to install the 160GB 7200 rpm HD and I could see how much heat it was generated because the box does not have ventilation and you can feel it well. A very cool product with 3years warranty and a good price after discount not yet received but I believe in Costco to do good deals and I didn’t see any issue regarding that with other customers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hayward, CA
Date:July 14, 2011

like having a new computer!

Pros: easy install, longer battery life, fast bootup
Cons: expensive
"easy installation, perfect cloning, significantly spead up startup and shutdown as well as programs, and the battery lasts 50% longer
I don't understand why most laptops still ship with mechanical hard drives
I had a hard time shrinking my files down to fit the new drive but it turned out I had about 40GB of bad sectors and the new drive has plenty of space"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:July 28, 2011

Installation Software Problem

Pros: good price
Cons: bad software
Model Number: Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow
"Just spent the last three hours trying everything to get this drive cloned. Included software would "see" the drive but would not let it be chosen as the "destination" in the cloning process. I even tried downloading a trial version of Acronis, but the clone feature was not available in a trial. Very frustrating. It's going back to Costco"
Review 20 for Kingston SSD 128GB SSDNow Solid State Notebook Hard Drive Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:August 1, 2011

Happy SSD Owner

Pros: easy installation, snappy performance
Cons: no desktop mounting hardware
Model Number: SV100S2N/128GZ
"I had a WD Raptor 150GB drive die on me (click of death) and replaced it with the Kingson 128GB. Threw it in the PC and reloaded Windows 7 with no issues. My PC is noticeably snapper in loading Windows and apps. The only thing I wish was included in the box was some mounting hardware. It's a notebook drive and doesn't fit well into standard desktop hard drive cages."
1 2 next>>