Customer Reviews for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz

1GB ATI Radeon HD 5450 Graphics Lifetime 24/7 Toll-Free Support
Average Customer Rating:
4.387 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 of 31(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Review 1 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. George, UT
Date:March 7, 2011

Great computer

Pros: very speedy, quick setup, quiet
"I bought this specifically for editing and rendering HD video. My old computer was taking forever rendering the videos, and was unable to show the video correctly. This ZT is amazing. It now takes about 6 hours to do what took 36 hours before, and it is pretty quiet. It also allows me to to do multiple things that take up a lot of processing (rendering and still editing), which usually slows down a computer. I haven't connected it to the internet or done anything an average user would do, but as a super fast processing computer, it is great."
Review 2 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ellicott City, MD
Date:March 5, 2011

ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz

Pros: review says it all.
Cons: louder than most.
Model Number: ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
"My first ZT... likely not my last. Top of the line HP's since 1998, so I took a leap for a newer, but up and coming maker. Got tired of getting a pre-loaded pc's with little I wanted or needed. This one is fast, lots of space and capability... no junk software. Very pleased over all... best of all, plenty of bang for the buck by comparison to some of the larger companies."
Review 3 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Rural Oregon
Date:March 5, 2011

OK, But Not Great

Pros: stable high-capacity
Cons: slow hdd, spendy for components included
Model Number: M7542
"This ZT box is a lot better than what I was using, but... Somewhat stale components, overcome to a degree with huge RAM and HDD. Once it gets going it is stable. Despite the huge 2.0Tb HDD, what the specs do NOT tell the buyer is that this is a stale technonology 5400RPM drive and is obviously slow to R/W new data. Once loaded, it seems to work just fine. Replaced two older DELLs. I bought it primarily because service from DELL is so God Awful. I probably would not buy another ZT, but certainly would before I'd give DELL another dime. Costco.com would do well to drop DELL and support HP to a greater degree."
Review 4 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Macomb, Mi
Date:March 4, 2011

Excellent PC

Pros: speed, windows 7 easy to work with, great warranty, 24/7 customer service
Cons: none that i can find yet
Model Number: 5742MI
"My old PC was almost gone and I was able to backup my important files to transfer.
I am amazed at the speed of this new computer. As far as the noise complaints go I don't find that to be a problem at all.
Over all I find this an excellent computer for the price.
"
Review 5 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Harrisonburg VA
Date:March 3, 2011

Great value and performance

Pros: fast and reliable, handles standard definition video easily
Cons: the mouse is cheap, no firewire pci card installed.
"Bought this on spur of the moment due to failure of my 7 yr. old computer. Figured if I didn't like it, I could easily return to Costco. Delivery was great and setup was easy. Love Windows 7. Had to add IEEE-1394 card to capture from old camcorder and works great. Using Sony Vegas HD 10 for video capture and editing (standard definition up to this point) and this system handles this easily. Rendering of 60 minutes of std. def. is ~15 minutes. Noise is not as bad as expected based on other reviews (quieter than my old system - everything's relative isn't it...)"
Review 6 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:February 22, 2011

Great Deal

Pros: value, processing speed/power, no bloatware
"I read all of the reviews available when I bought this system so I was prepared for a few hiccups - I have had NONE. This system has been GREAT! I am upgrading from a Dell XPS 420 and have been favorably impressed with this system. The RAM and HD are more than adequate. There is more than ample room to expand. In fact, I opened the case prior to turning it on for the first time and installed a second hard drive without any problem. The system recognized it immediately. Sure, the front USB ports are upside down but that is a minor consideration. I actually found the build quality to be quite impressive for the money."
Review 7 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2011

Cheap/outdated components, but OK

Pros: price, good ram
Cons: cheap/outdated components, audio quality not great, only one dvi port; other is analog
Model Number: ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
"I had mixed feelings when considering this PC because I wasn't sure what would be included. I built my last computer and thought I would try a build by ZT this time. I'm actually dissapointed. The on-board audio is not as good as on the older motherboard I had. This motherboard (MSI H55M-E33) is OK, but it's already about a year old. The OS was also installed in September, so that gives you an idea of how "new" the components are.
The video card is OK, but only has one DVI and one analog port, whereas my 3.5 year-old card (same manufacturer) had two DVI ports. Most monitors today use DVI ports. I'm also not thrilled with the PC case, since it isn't as easy to install another DVD drive as on other units, and the drive button is flimsy plastic.
As for the CPU, it doesn't seem to be that fast. I have a 2 year-old Q9800 CPU on a laptop that seems to be just as fast.
Otherwise, it seems to run fine right now. We'll see how it is in a year or two. One concern I have is that there might be a recall on the chip. I guess we're paying for the 24/7 tech support, RAM and CPU.
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, VA
Date:February 11, 2011

Very Pleased

Model Number: ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
"Computer is very fast and works perfectly for all I use it for. Great for photos. Shipping, packaging and customer service all were great. This is why I shop Costco!"
Review 9 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011

Great Upgrade

"Not a techy,but hated waiting for slower laptop that was being used as main work computer. This machine is as fast as I need at this point, but only running general office applications not gaming or tv, etc. Multi monitor feature (which the laptop had) is great and why I got this sytem instead of the 12Gb/1Tb system. Delivery was within range given and appreciated."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Manchester, CT
Date:February 8, 2011

Good Value

Pros: speed/performance, relatively small footprint, costco extended warranty, lifetime 24/7 user support
Cons: fan noise a little loud, could use some additional pci slots
Model Number: ZT Affinity Core I7-870
"I purchased this desktop PC on the basis of performance and price, and I was not disappointed. The documentation that came with the machine was sparse but manageable. For a newbie, they will likely be disappointed. I needed to add a wireless network card in one of the PCI slots, and I was surprised to see that there was only one open PCI slot ; the PCI express 16 is used by the graphic card, and there two PCI Express X1 slots. So far all of my programs installed with no problem."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Snowbird in Yuma, AZ
Date:February 7, 2011

Great Computer

Pros: setup - cost
Cons: none
Model Number: ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
"Setup was so easy. Unit is quiet and fast.
Had to remove an antivirus program, that was pre-installed!
Unit comes with more information about
the computer than any other computer I have owned.
Items included with computer:
1. Windows 7 Recovery DVD
2. Drivers & Utilities DVD
3. Graphic Card CD
4. VGA Drivers CD
5. A large visual "Installation Guide
6. HDDBackup User Guide
7. Graphic Card SpeedSetup Guide
8. Motherboard User Guide
9. Winki User Guide?
10. ZT User's Manual
This is besides the necessary cable.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2011

ZT Affinity Core i7-processor 2.93GHz

Pros: large hard drive and memory. 2 pcie, good bang for the small buck!
Cons: quality of workmanship is sub-par inside computer
"Ease of set up. overall quality of motherboard---average including the graphics card,.... quiet... wouldn't recognize all of memory.... 8 was usable.Called ZT an and they solved the issue by having me re-install the 4 memory cards Had to open the computer.. it now shows 16g .My netgear wireless adapter is intermittent not recognizing my SSID unless i connect to the SSID manually.. Otherwise my internet and burning speed is lightening fast. Wouldn"t shut down properly and stayed on despite a hard boot....scary.The 870 processor is about 18 months old but reliable.Be sure to download all of your Window update to make your software program work properly. Didn't recognize PCIE 3.0 USB....ESATA PCIE intalled is average for burning. Will try to fix the above internet connection otherwise it will go back and i will try for a another one...the ZT-2600 series has already been recalled this week because of chip issues....ughhhh"
Review 13 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:February 4, 2011

Good system for my testing machine.

Pros: speed and memory
Cons: noises
Model Number: [Model 7542Mi]
"I used this machine for my job related training to host some virtual machines. I like the CPU speed and memory. But I don't like the noise."
Review 14 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:February 2, 2011

Tons of Power!

Model Number: ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
"Good Tech Support...though can't use HDMI cable with my new Samsung monitor, but the DVI and VGA cables work fine..."
Review 15 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mc Donald, Pa.
Date:February 2, 2011

ZT Affinity Computer

Pros: large hard drive., plenty of ram, room for growth
Cons: no included programs except windows 7, would be nice to include a monitor.
Model Number: 7542MI
"Grea computer. Worked right out of the box with no problems. Can't be beat for the power and storage compacity for the price. Set up so it won't be obsolete in 6 months like other computers."
Review 16 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Powell, WY
Date:January 31, 2011

i7 870 ZT systems computer

Pros: doesn't come with garbage programs to uninstall.
Cons: none that i can find.
Model Number: i7-870 ZT Systems
"The previous computer I purchased was a DELL that was dead on arrival. It totally died after 3 years. I was tired of DELL phone assistance that has been outsourced. I shopped extensively for a new computer.
After checking out this ZT systems computer I was sold. Among all of the features they offer 24/7 telephone assistance for the life of the computer at no extra charge. No company would offer that unless they had a lot of confidence in their product and good quality control. I even called ZT to question them about that service. That is correct 24/7 telephone assistance for the life of the product.
Since I had read a couple of nit picky complaints I read all of the directions first before connecting everything. Winthin 20 minutes I was up and running with absoulutely no problems. This computer is far superior to any Dell that I have ever owned and it isn't loaded down with all of the garbage sample programs that come with most computers. It has Norton security that has a 60 day trial and the Micro Office that can be upgraded. With this ZT system you won't spend half a day uninstalling garbage programs that you will probably never use. Many of the computer manufactures hide those garbage programs including their own name or logo so it is difficult when uninstalling what you don't need. If you are looking for a great computer at a reasonable cost I would recommend the i7 870."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2011

Defective

Pros: costco concierge service
Cons: quality control
"I was excited to get this when I saw the specs. It arrived 8 days after ordering & looked great but wouldn't connect to the Internet. Costco concierge support was very helpful in guiding me through tests that showed it had a bad ethernet card. They conferenced ZT Systems support in who confirmed the bad card & said it would have to be returned. It took 2 days for them to e-mail a return label & I have no idea when it will be returned - maybe they should have just sent another computer. It's very disappointing to be 2 1/2 weeks after ordering & not having been able to use it."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chino, CA
Date:January 28, 2011

Great Computer

"Very fast machine. My fastest ever. I got it about 2 weeks ago and haven't turned it off yet. Not a single problem or anything even slightly goofy.
It was delivered on time without incident.
I was apprehensive about ordering the machine without seeing it first, but Costco's return policy sealed the deal."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 27, 2011

Great value

"So far impressed. Quality, speed and hardware is fantastic. I couldn't match the price anywhere for a similar product. 24 hour lifetime telephone help is a real plus. I've learned that if Costco sells a product, it's a great value and an all around good product."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Saint George, Utah
Date:January 27, 2011

ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz

Pros: fast and no install issues, good buy for the money
Cons: fan is louder than other machines
Model Number: ZT Affinity Core i7-870 Processor 2.93GHz
"Fast easy set-up of any former computer that I have owned to date. No issues installing my programs which included Nero 8, Quickbooks Pro 2009, PC Study Bible, Logos and others. Did need to get 64 bit drivers for Brother MFC (only) all other devices worked well. I did not use the supplied mouse. Case could use a bit more detail. Fan does seem a bit louder than others. Great video card. Fast machine. Windows 7 was friendlier to other programs than my past windows OS experience. Perhaps "A kind and gentle side of Microsoft " seems to play well with others. (re: Windows 7)"
1 2 next>>