Customer Reviews for VIZIO 65" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 65" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p VIZIO Internet Apps™ Built-in 802.11N Dual Band Wi-Fi
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
(out of 10 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 10(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 65" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Review 1 for VIZIO 65" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:July 27, 2011

65" Mirror

Model Number: VIZIO 65
"The picture is fine, as long as you do not mind seeing yourself on the screen.... The gloss screen reflects everything, having to turn lights off is not an option--- will be returning."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO 65" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2011

I love this television but???

Model Number: VIZIO 65" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
"I love this television from the first day I had gotten it. I did have a glitch that was finally resolved through Costco's fantastic customer service.
The problem was fluctuating volume issues through the television. There was a lot of posts on the internet about this but no answers.
The answer is very simple!
Make sure your your remote for your cable box is controlling the cable box volume and not the television volume. Make sure the volume is turned all the way up on the cable box. Be aware even though I saw the guide and menu from the vizio remote when I changed the volume it was only changing the television volume, as it should.
Once this is verified throw away the cable box remote and only use the Vizio remote.
Its perfect now. I love it!!!!!!!"
Review 3 for VIZIO 65" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Simi Valley, CA
Date:July 15, 2011

Can't beat the price and the value of this set

Pros: large bright picture, ease of setup and use, included wi-fi and internet applications, value, buying from costco extends the included warranty
Cons: glossy screen, no internet browser, no dlna client
Model Number: XVT3D650SV
"We've had this TV for 2 1/2 months. We have it connected to an HD DirecTV receiver (including 3-d channels), a PS3, a regular DVD player, a VHS player and an Apple TV. Plus it's connected to the internet via a wired ethernet connection.
We use this mostly for regular HD TV viewing with occasional forays into 3-D land.
Since it's edge lit, it's very thin and not very heavy considering it's a 65 inch set.
And of course it has lots and lots of inputs.
The USB ports currently don't do anything, but since its software is upgradable, Vizio can add functionality. I know that there were more internet features available than what it says on the box. e.g. crunchyroll is available for anime fans and it looks great.
Other people have mentioned the glossy screen and they're right. If you have a very bright room, you can get glare off the screen. In our environment this hasn't been a problem.
2-D viewing:
As good as I've seen. A lot depends on the quality of the source, but watching 1080i/p TV and 1080p games is great. Watching sports looks fine - even compared to our Samsung plasma. It might be better if it was a 240Hz or 480Hz, but I can't say I've noticed any ghosting even when watching hockey or auto racing.
3-D viewing:
We get the DirecTV 3-d channels which includes ESPN 3D. We recently watched Friday night fights, the Baseball All-Star Home Run Derby and the Man U/Chelsea soccer (football) game.
Here is where the source material really seems to make a huge difference and some issues presented themselves.
Friday night fights had a bunch of glitches that originated with ESPN - the sound was about 1/2 second behind the picture and the picture would go to black for no reason. The Home Run Derby had both problems nearly fixed. The drop outs were gone, but there was still a noticeable delay between the picture and the sound.
The soccer game had different problems. The sounds was fine but there were noticeable video artifact shadows when players or the ball was moving quickly across the screen.
Let me say though, that watching sports in 3D when done well is amazing. Definitely worth it.
I wont say that it's as big as step as going from regular video to HD was, but pretty close.
The regular 3d fare on DirecTV doesn't have any of the problems the live sports broadcasts had and it looks pretty cool too. Some of these "shows" are obviously 3-d demo type material so you would hope it would be pretty good quality wise.
Playing 3-d games on the PS3 is very good and doesn't have any problems either.
OH and I can't say enough about the 3d glasses that come with this set. They're just like the ones you get at a 3-d movie theater and in fact, you can use the same glasses if you bring them home.
Internet Apps:
Very easy to set up (originally had it on wi-fi, but decided to plug it in since that's always more reliable and faster).
Lot of choices here. My only gripe is that there is no included web browser or DLNA client (like our Samsung has).
If they added a browser and the DLNA client I would have rated this TV a 5+
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 65" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Campbell, CA
Date:July 1, 2011

Fantastic TV

Pros: great value
Cons: glare
Model Number: Vizio 65"
"Very good picture. I don't notice any bluring at all, even in 3D. TV is bigger than it looks in the store. Built-in sound is pretty good. I have it in a bright room without curtains and get a lot of glare during day. We have to turn off the kitchen ceiling lights at night also."
Review 5 for VIZIO 65" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2011

Clarification on Refresh

Model Number: XVT3D650SV
"RE: Refresh rate:
The refresh rate of "Active" 3D TV's are cut in half because the shutter glasses alternate images between your eyes. An Active TV that is 240 HZ will only transmit at 120HZ to each eye...
But this TV uses polarized or "passive" 3D (no batteries needed)...so each eye gets the full 120 HZ refresh rate. The drawback to Passive 3D is a reduction in horizontal screen resolution, but this has nothing to do with the refresh rate."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 65" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fenton, MI
Date:May 4, 2011

Great TV

Pros: great price for a big tv, picture quality is awsome, passive 3d, replacement glasses are cheap
Cons: slow refresh rate
Model Number: Vizio 65" Theatre 3D
"I have had this TV for a month now and I love it. This TV is a lot bigger than it looks in the store and for the pure size and price you cant beat it. The picture quality of the 2D and 3D are great and not having to wear bulky rechargeable glasses is a huge plus. If you have kids or you ever plan on having people over this is the 3D TV for you. You can buy extra 3D glasses for about $10 a piece instead of a $100+ for active 3D glasses (you can even save your glassed from the theater when you watch a 3D movie there). The only negative is the refresh rate of 120hz. If your watching really close you can see a bit of ghosting but for the average consumer and TV watcher you wont notice a thing."
Review 7 for VIZIO 65" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:nashville tn
Date:April 23, 2011

would be a good purchase if it was 240HZ

Pros: good colors, good quality picture
Cons: refresh rate to slow, wireless apps cannot run through surround sound, pandora netflix apps run through tv speakers
"Bought this TV a little over a weak ago...for the most part the TV and picture quality are amazing..however the refresh rate is waaaay to slow for a 65" tv and especially for a 3d tv...a lot of HD, blu ray, and 3d will have blur from slow refresh or lines or ghosting in 3d...when viewing 3d the refresh rate is actually cut in half and shared between the two lenses on the glasses making 3d viewing actually in 60hz instead of 120hz...so a refresh rate of 240hz is the minimum for a 3d tv..especially a 65"!"
4 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 65" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:miami,fl
Date:March 23, 2011

Great 3d tv

Pros: great size
Cons: a little glare on the tv
Model Number: vizio 65
"Just got the Tv and i dont have any complaints...Love the fact that you get four glasses with the tv .... No batteries required like all the other 3dtvs....."
Review 9 for VIZIO 65" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alaska
Date:March 20, 2011

Outstanding In Every Way!

Pros: 3d image is amazing
Cons: haven't found any yet.
"This TV is amazing. The 2D picture is fantastic! After figuring out that I had to turn off the ambient light sensor to get a bright vibrant picture, I couldn't be happier. I was worried it would be too big, but it is perfect for my room as I sit back about 13 ft. I have purchased a number of 3D movies and the quality of the image is as good if not better than the theater. I love the fact that I can just bring home my 3d glasses from the movie theater and use them at home. I love not worrying about recharging them or dropping them. If you can afford it, buy it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 65" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland,OR
Date:March 12, 2011

Image issues

Pros: size
Cons: image problems
"We enjoyed the size of the screen. The TV had a lot of image issues. We returned the TV within 3 weeks of purchase due to the lines, black outs and image issues."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.