Customer Reviews for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
15 of 19(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Review 1 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:fontana, ca
Date:February 8, 2014

good scooter

Pros: it travels well, breaks down into managable pieces, liberal return policy
Cons: spring in front control box prone to disconnect
"The surprised is a good tool for someone who has mobility challenges and needs to conserve energy and their quality of life."
Review 2 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mpls. MN
Date:August 28, 2012

great scooter

Pros: great handling, easy to transport
Cons: seat not very comfortable
"This is a nice little scooter for someone who needs to be able to transport it easily. It comes apart into several pieces and is easy to put into a vehicle. It handles very nicely and turns "on a dime". The seat is not padded very much and is not very comfortable after a time. Everything else about the scooter seems great."
Review 3 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Westport, CT
Date:December 12, 2011

Speed Demon

Pros: gets me out and about, easily maneuvered, stops quickly, great turning angle, doesn't use gas
Cons: poor company service
"Use the scooter to walk my dog...Goes slower in colder weather but so far it's been terrific...Haven't traveled with it yet... I took 2 stars away because the company has no local support...Yo we ride it because we can't walk or probably not drive so how can we get it serviced?...Hopefully it will survive okay and if Costco wasn't the seller I'd have given it no stars"
Review 4 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Haleiwa, Hawaii
Date:July 26, 2011

Worked great the first time

Pros: able to take apart for travel., lightest of other scooters i've seen., cost less than some other scooters., costco's return policy.
Cons: no authorized repair shop on oahu.
Model Number: Shoprider Cooper Mobility Scooter
"I purchased this for my mother 5 months ago. She weighs under 140#s.She used it once and shortly after that we began noticing that the scooter would not go forward. We had to turn the key off and on again in order for it to start going again. After a while the scooter would only work intermittently in spite of the battery being fully charged. I returned it to Costco. Maybe this particular scooter was just defective. I plan on reordering another and hopefully the second one will work the way it's supposed to."
Review 5 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pittsburg, CA
Date:February 9, 2012

Seat offers no support

Pros: easy to take apart, can be used in small areas
Cons: flimsy uncomfortable seat, off-board charging only
"Overall, I like the scooter, but I will have to return due to the lack of support of the seat. I have had at least seven spine surgeries, and the seat on this scooter is flimsy and seems cheaply made, so it does not offer the support I need. This is my second scooter. I still have my other sturdy scooter, but I bought a Prius, so I need a scooter that does not require my power lift to get it into the car. The Shoprider Cooper is easy to take apart, but I prefer a scooter with a supportive seat . I also prefer a scooter than offers the option to be charged on-board. To be candid, I do not understand why a scooter is designed that can only be charged when the battery pack is removed from the scooter. Many who need a scooter may have difficulty lifting the battery pack on and off, especially just for charging."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:November 18, 2013

Shoprider scooter

Pros: does well on carpet as well as wood and tile.
Cons: none
Model Number: Shoprider
"It is helpful for me in the house after I take my prosthetic off. It turns sharply and is a good piece of machinery."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 5, 2013

Needed new battery after 6 months

Pros: very light and easy to transport
Cons: quit working after a year; battery only 6 months
"Using only once a week, battery had to be replaced after 6 months. After a year cart would only work intermittently, and then after a month it completely quit working. My cart mechanic said that he didn't like the cart, because it has a history of such short battery life."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:colorado springs co
Date:January 28, 2013

poor Quality controll

Cons: over all poor quality
Model Number: 562363
"first one i had lasted 3 mo before the battery clip broke hard time getting the company to send me a replacement, got costco involved that helped, now 6 mo later the bolt that holds the steering column striped out so ordered a replacement shoprider that one came missing some parts"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:November 9, 2012

Just what I needed !

Pros: price is right., good balance for a 3 wheeler. 2 foot wide.
Cons: it did not work when i got it and plugged it in., low ground clearance
"When I broke a bone in my foot and had to have it put back together with 4 screws I suspected that I would need help getting around so I searched online for some sort of cart. I was concerned when I found Shoprider Cooper that it would be too small and my 240 pound body would wear it out. I was delightfully mistaken. It is well built and pretty rugged for its size and weight. The battery lasts me all day and it is light enough for my buddys to pick it up and put it in and out of the car. It did not work when I got it but I took the battery pack apart and simply moved a misplaced wire and it worked perfectly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:georgia
Date:June 27, 2012

Great Quality and Value !

Pros: ease of assembly
Cons: choice of colors
Model Number: TE-GK8-3
"Finally a scooter we can travel with. We can assemble and disassemble it easily to put in our minivan. We have returned 2 other scooters purchased elsewhere that were too heavy and complicated for us to use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2011

don't know what i'd do without it

"Great little scooter. Easy to load/unload, maneuvers well in tight spaces, long lasting battery charge. One prob is that often when I press an elevator button or an automatic door opener into/out of a building I often get a small shock. Also has happened when someone else touches me when I'm on the scooter."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:December 3, 2011

Love this item

Pros: easy to use, lightweight, can use for travel, comfortable
"This scooter is great! I have had this scooter for over a year and I love it. It allows me to turn and get in and out of tight places when using or shopping. It is very light and my husband has not problems getting out of our trunk or suv. Read the manual! I decided to write this review to let you know that this lightweight product is comfortable, easy to use and you can travel with it since it is lightweight. It will turn off if you are in one place for certain period of time ( can't recall how long) to save you battery power.
Costco has a great price for this item!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 15, 2011

A scooter that gets the job done

"I bought this scooter for my pregnant wife because of her back pain. It was easy to assemble. 2 people can easily lift it up to move into a home or van. The motor is strong and the batteries last long. It has a tight turning circle and is highly maneuverable. I am very pleased with this purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:June 22, 2011

Dasher was nicer more deluxe

Pros: good price works good when it works
Cons: problems with brake
Model Number: Dasher
"We bought a Dasher and the brake locked on it. So we returned it and bought this Cooper model. The first one we got was damaged. Steering was really hard and the lever which allows the back to be separated from the main section was broken off. We returned and got another. This one seems fine but only time will tell.
If you use this full time may want to go with another brand that has a better reliability.
But since this is purchased from Costco they will stand behind it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:July 5, 2012

I own a Shoprider 3

Pros: durable easy to disassemble inexpensive lightwe
Cons: seat a bit hard.
Model Number: Shoprider 3
"I have owned a Shoprider 3 for 5 years and love it! It's very similar to the Cooper but has a basket in the back as well as the front. I had the motor replaced a month after I bought it, the company shipped the part to me and instructed me on how to install it, but have not needed any service since then. I purchased mine when Shoprider was an unknown brand and paid just under $500 for it. I agree that the seat is a bit hard to sit on so I use a thick cushion, also a breeze to travel with especially when flying I ride it up to the door of the aircraft and it's waiting for me at the end of the trip."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2011

Legs on wheels - a great solution

Pros: it is easy to handle., it is easy to travel with., it is just the right price., it travels far on one charge., it turns on a dime.
"I took my scooter on my first trip and everything went perfectly. I am glad that I bought this scooter. It has given me freedom to go where I want when I want, even on flights. When I checked in at the ticket counter the agent told me that this model of scooter did not require special handling. I rode it right to the airplane door. When we landed, it was waiting for me at the door again.
I love it!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:April 28, 2011

Great Product

Pros: easy to assemble and disassemble
Cons: costco should offer additional accessories
Model Number: Shoprider Cooper Scooter #562363
"Based on a relatively short period of use, this is a really good product for any person needing assistance in moving from one location to another. The engineering is first rate, Quality of construction is very good. The ability to assemble and disassemble the scooter for easy transport is very important. I have used the scooter inside buildings and shopping centers, on piers, on ships, and in parks. In all cases it has performed beyond expectations."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, HI
Date:May 27, 2011

Excellent but no valid warrantee!

Pros: seems like an excellent piece of equipment
Model Number: COOPER serial#1GK16C11A0047
"Warrantee requires "proof of quarterly check
by authorized repair shop"--It has gone out of business in Hawaii -
Shoprider Customer Service says Costco
will give full refund (2 years) if not satisfied
but no local place for service or repair!
This is not very satisfactory back-up !!
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shoprider® Cooper Mobility Scooter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:92307
Date:June 13, 2011

Could be better

Pros: so far (after three weeks use) works well
Cons: big question: will it last for the 1 yr warranty
Model Number: COOPER GK83
"First: Costco online continues to be superb.
Second: Shoprider Mobility Products Inc leaves a BIG BIG BIG question mark in my mind. (a) check their website before buying to locate the nearest authorized service technician--mine is 31 miles away. When I called Shoprider, they nonchalantly confirmed this, giving me the impression they don't really care about the difficulty of getting to the monthly service they strongly recommend; (b) the warranty card in one place strongly recommends quarterly inspection and service and seven lines below that strongly recommends monthly inspection; both indicate that warranty is contingent upon such written inspection and service; (c) I cannot recommend this product based on the available service locations and lack of concern."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.