Customer Reviews for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo

All-weather Woven Wicker, Sunbrella® Fabric
Average Customer Rating:
4.171 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
32 of 41(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Review 1 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westchester,New York
Date:April 17, 2012

Barcelona Gazebo- Gorgeous

Model Number: Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
"Beautiful!
Rattan matches our outdoor couch & chairs
Withstands harsh winds; we live on a hill
Definitely reccomend!!
"
Review 2 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central NJ
Date:April 12, 2012

Awesome Gazebo

Pros: quality, appearance, cost
"This gazebo is great quality. We put it up last year and it looks fabulous. We did take down the canopy during a hurricane and for the winter and each time it was fairly easy for my husband and me to remove and reinstall it. We filled the legs with stone instead of sand due to it being near our pool and it has not moved at all. We get lots of compliments. The canopy is a terra cotta color. Great purchase!"
Review 3 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2012
Pros: great produce, not 12' x 12' more like 10' x 10'
Model Number: Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
"Looks great in our yard and went together in less then 2 hrs with 3 of us working on it. We did not use the sand bags but drilled the paver bricks and put in 12" nails (4 in each post) right into the ground. We have already had 45 mph winds and the wind goes right through the pillers and through the large opening in the top and out so no problems! I would not feel to comfortable with using only the sand bags this unit comes with."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:March 6, 2012

Good product with flaw, non-existing service

Pros: great if product doesn't have threading flaw
Cons: non-existing customer service from urban outdoors
Model Number: 562954
"Good construction, good quality product. However there was a flaw in threaded bolt hole on one of the cross-panels, I could not attach u-bracket on to properly mount the canope. So I contacted Urban Outdoors service, both phone and email, to ask for a replacement cross panel. I have received zero response! Returning the mostly-installed gazebo back to Costo will be a pain."
Review 5 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:March 6, 2012

Very nice

Pros: beautiful.
Model Number: BAR-PER11
"This gazebo is very nice. We received last week. Assembly wan't too bad. When we went to put on canopy, there was a small hole. Working with customer service to resolve. My question to others that have purchased this, has anyone tried to purchase a replacement canopy? If so, where were you able to get it from? Concerned that when this one goes, will not be able to replace."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:February 27, 2012

Poor Quality

Pros: top is nice
Cons: overall poor quality materials
"Arrived with many of the column's wicker bands ripped. One column didn't have any bolt holes to attach cross members. Top is well made. This gazebo should be in the $500 price range IF it didn't have any flaws. COSTCO CS was great! I returned the gazebo for a refund."
Review 7 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:January 18, 2012

Exceeds Expectations

Pros: fast shipping & 2 men delivered, sunbrella can be treated for water repellency
Cons: i will change the turn buckles to more sturdy ones, i will change the velcro to the heavier type
"After researching and reading reviews for months, I decided this would be the best value for my needs. My son (34) and I (female 60) put this together in 2.5 hours and had to trim some trees in the process. The directions were clear, the size exactly what the specifications state, so we did not encounter issues at all mentioned in other reviews. Being a Custom Marine Canvas Manufacturer, we know Sunbrella (Tresco Ginger is the name of the color) is high quality. It is beautiful and the tracking is there so we will make side enclosures ourselves. I would suggest that you read all of the directions and helpful hints to avoid problems. I believe we got more than we paid for."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:September 28, 2011

Best Addition to my yard

Pros: beautiful, easy assembly, great size
Cons: instructions are terrible
"Great Value, beautiful design. Wonderful addition to a sunny backyard. No problem for 2 people to put together."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Aloha, Oregon
Date:September 11, 2011

Stable! Each column holds about 200# sand!

Pros: the columns can be weighted and/or bolted down.
Cons: need 2-3 people to intall or remove fabric canopy.
Model Number: Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
"In Oregon and we don't normally have high winds, but we do have stormy rainy weather for months on end, so I need a gazebo that is stable. What a terrific idea, this gazebo is made to add sand or gravel in the 6 inch wide columns! We were able to add almost 200 pounds in each column (leg).
Note: Each column comes with a nylon (I think its nylon) bag that is about 6" wide and almost 8' long (pull-tie closure) to put the sand and/or gravel into.
Hint: We took an old plastic watering can and cut both the spout and the mouth of the can openings wider to accommodate sand. After putting a small amount of sand in the bottom of each nylon bag, we slid the bags into the column, climbed up on a ladder and used the altered watering can to pour the sand into the bags. It only took a few minutes to fill each column.
FYI: When the columns were full, we had used approximately 775 pounds of sand. Each column took a little more than three 60# bags of sand. We used a total of almost 13 - 60# bags of sand.
The frame of the gazebo can be put together by one person, however, even though the fabric canopy isn't heavy, it's approx. 12' wide and we found that we needed 3 to 4 people to place it on top of the frame. It may be possible for 2 or 3 tall people to do it, but I'm under 5'4" now and I used my cane to help push it up and lift it into place! :-)
Since we installed this gazebo it hasn't rained yet. I hope that the fabric holds up well. I'm not sure how much wind this will withstand, but I'm quite sure it is much more than most of the other portable gazebos."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Little Egg Harbor, NJ
Date:August 22, 2011

Super Purchase

Pros: ease of installation, great wind resistance
Cons: aforementioned rusting issue
Model Number: Barcelona 10'X12' Gazebo
"We purchased this gazebo in June, for a waterfront property in New Jersey. We have had 4 previous gazebos all of which were destroyed by wind. We wanted to have a permanent structure erected but found out it is against the building code we discovered this and thought we would try it as a last chance measure. We put in up in June with a little help from our neighbors (I am not particularly handy) in about 2 1/2 hours. We filled the posts with gravel and anchored it to our wooden deck, what a pleasure!!! So far it withstood all the storms without budging. We had tornado warnings last week so we removed the top for the first time...and it really was fairly easy as well as putting it back on. The only problem was that in taking it down we noticed that some of the toggle fastners for the top were rusting and had broken. I contacted customer service and they resolved the problem in less than a week. LOVE THIS GAZEBO!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:July 30, 2011

Good Looking Unit

Model Number: Barcelona 12 X 12 Gazebo
"I just completed setting up the gazebo. For the most part the instructions were easy to follow. I did most of the work by myself and had my grandson help me put on the top. My only complaint was the soft aluminum frame where the bolts were screwed into. Before trying to attach parts together I hand screwed each bolt into place. I ended up buying a 6mm tap from Home Depot to fix three of the bolt holes. Looking at their instruction sheet they refer to stripping the threads in a number of places. Be careful when putting the gazebo together. The finished product does look good and my wife is very happy.
Ron"
Review 12 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2011

Liked it, but...

Pros: color, style
Cons: not as durable as i expected from reviews
"I was so excited to get this gazebo. I read all the reviews, was shopping for a few weeks (in stores and on-line) and I fell in love with this one even though it was a little more expensive than most. My only concern was how it would hold up in the weather, and a friend of mine assured me I wouldn't have any problems since she has one. I live in Chicago so weather can change very quickly and I didn't want to have to take the top down every time we got a little wind or storm. Well, I had it up for a total of 9 days, and we had an unexpected storm come through early one morning and my husband and I were frantically trying to get the canopy down and the wind just grabbed it and ripped the hooks off and in doing so it snapped one of the metal arms. Needless to say, it's junk now, and I'm really upset. I didn't expect it to withstand a tornado but a little storm I thought it would be fine. It is beautiful though so if you have protection from wind (ours is in an open yard), then you might be fine and you'll definitely be happy with the way it looks. I think the metal arms that hold the umbrella up should be made of more sturdy material, I was surprised how easily the arm snapped. I wish I could get another one but we'll probably just build one that we don't have to babysit. Good luck!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:lynbrook new york
Date:June 27, 2011

gazebo barcelona

Pros: looks great and seems to be sturdy
Cons: not larger enough
Model Number: barcelona 12 x 12
"i just installed it on 6/26/11 you must have 2 people to do it. i drilled my into my paito and i still filled the bags with gravel you must do them both it really makes it stronger. the only thing i did not like is that i have and 86" paito table & you can not use the optional neeting to keep the bugs out because it just is not larger enough. but overall i dolike it, it looks great,."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:June 26, 2011

Looks AWESOME!

"This Gazebo looks fantastic and it was super easy to put together. We just had a crazy storm with high winds and it didn't budge (this was one of my concerns). I fit a loveseat, two chairs with ottomans and a coffee table. It definitely would have been better if the columns were spaced further apart ~ but I love it anyway."
Review 15 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Simi Valley, California
Date:June 20, 2011

Stylish and functional cover

Pros: lightweight aluminum for easy setup, parts all fit together easily, excellent styling, ballast bags included for patio installation
"The product looks exactly like the photo on the COSTCO site. The base is only 9' X 9' which was disappointing to me. However, the canopy is 12' X 12'. It was remarkably simple to set up using the supplied allen wrenches and stamped wrench. I set it up entirely by myself with the exception of putting the canopy up on the built frame structure. The canopy is very light and just two of us put it on top.
I live in a very high wind area making this canopy perfect. I went to the local hardware store and bought twelve 35 pound bags of sand. The canopy comes with weight bags. By placing the bags in the legs and slowly filling them from the sand bags, I was able to add 100 pounds of ballast to each leg. You have to do this using a ladder but it was no problem.
I also squared and leveled the legs and frame as best I could using a tape measure and a level. Once this was done, the canopy top opened as easily as an umbrella, and fit into all the brackets on the frame perfectly. I would rate the assembly very easy!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:new york
Date:June 9, 2011

Love it

Pros: very easy to put together
"I purchased this gazebo knowing from the other reviews that the footprint was not 12x12. The 12x12 refers to the size of the canopy. The size is perfect for our outdoor table which is a standard size rectangular table with 6 chairs. This canopy is made to last, I had several gazebo's with a canopy in the past, this is built to last a long time. I will take my Gazebo/canopy in at the end of the season, so it can last even longer,and still look brand new. Love it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2011

a well designed product

"the Gazebo assembles easily and looks great. It appears to be a very strong product already with standing 25 mph winds with no movement
Follow the instruction on the sand bags as trying to put sand in before inserting them into the columns will not work.
The centre piece of the canopy is removable
and in my case looks and works better with a fire bit with it removed.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:El Dorado Hills, CA
Date:May 26, 2011

Beautiful Gazebo!!!

Pros: durable, stylish, beautiful, a great addition to any backyard!
Cons: none!!!
"We purchased this gazebo knowing from the other reviews that the footprint was not 12x12. The 12x12 refers to the size of the canopy. The size is perfect for our outdoor table which is a standard size rectangular granite top with 6 chairs. We ordered it and received it 4 days later.
So, the assemply was super easy. We used small smooth pebble to fill the columns after reading the issue with sand. This thing isn't going anywhere. The cross beems were very easy to install and the canopy was easy as well. My husband was able to do the entire set up himself in about 2 hours and just needed help lifting the canopy (ackward size for 2 people, not heavy) and placing it on top of the structure. It is really easy to fasten and is a beautiful burnt orange color.
If you want to run any type of power to it for lights or a fan, think to do it before you fill the columns with sand or rock, otherwise you will have difficulties.
We had one issue with a small tear in the canopy and the customer service dept. for Urban Outdoors was very pleasant to work with and very helpful and sent out a replacement right away.
We are extrememly happy with our purchase, a bit more that we had planned to spend, but really happy that we did. We have had 2 parties so far and everyone falls in love with it instantly and wants to know where we got it.
So, if you read the reviews and know that the size between the columns isn't 12x12 and go into realizing that, you won't be disappointed with the quality, style and durability of the product.
Enjoy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South San Francisco, CA
Date:May 24, 2011

So Far So Good

"I live in the very gusty side of South San Francisco and it has held up really well so far. It's only been a few weeks though so I'll try to keep this review up to date. The product came well packaged in a huge box. I screwed the metal base down to my wooden deck, so my only complaint was having to supply my own large bore screw bolts and washers."
Review 20 for Barcelona 12' x 12' Gazebo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:May 24, 2011

good looking, size misleading

Pros: attractive, easy install
Cons: size is misleading, thicker bolts might be better
"Overall, a good quality and good looking product. When purchasing please remember that it is not meant to be a permanent structure. I found it very easy to put together. My wife and I finished it in about 2 hrs. Longest part of the process was filling the sleeves with pea gravel (rather than sand). It is a very simple installation, just takes some time. I wish that the bolts that secure the top to the gazebo were longer and thicker, I would feel more comfortable if they were. I might replace them next year.
I also took out the bolt hook that was in the center of the roof structure and secured an outside fan. At top speed there is no swaying.
It is very easy to un-hook the canopy from the rest of the structure during heavy winds.
The size is misleading, I thought I was purchasing a 12x12 structure, however the posts are 9 feet apart. The roof on the other hand is 12x12.
The canopy collapses like an umbrella, so it should be easy to store in our shed during the winter months.
"
1 2 3 next>>