Customer Reviews for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner

We know that you love hard floors as much as carpet, so we made a tool that lets you kick the bucket, put away the broom and say goodbye to hands-and-knees scrubbing. The new Hoover® FloorMate™ Hard Floor Cleaner with SpinScrub® technology is the ultimate 3-in-1 cleaner that vacuums, washes and dries hard floors with one simple tool unlike any steam mop or mopping systems on the market. The FloorMate™ Cleaner’s two-tank system keeps clean and dirty water separate so you never put dirty water back on the floor, and the exclusive Hoover® patented SpinScrub® technology with counter-rotating brushes gently scrub from all angles to get sealed hardwood, tile and vinyl floors truly clean. Quick-drying power gets the water up quickly so you can get back to living on them in minutes. You can count on Hoover® to build floor care products for the way you live and clean – fast, efficient and thorough for a variety of surfaces in your home, so you can quickly move on to the next important thing in your day. Added Value:   Full Home Cleaning Kit:    16 oz bottle of Tile & Grout Detergent   16 oz bottle of Tile & Grout Spray   16 oz bottle of Multi-Floor Detergent   16 oz bottle of Wood Oil Soap   Wipeout Eraser Sponge Features:   New Multi-Purpose SpinScrub Technology: Exclusive Hoover patented counter-rotating brushes gently wash and scrub hard floors from all angles   SpinScrub Brushes: Designed to deliver the best clean for gently cleaning sealed wood and vinyl, grout and tile   Dual Tank Technology: Keeps clean and dirty water separate so you never put dirty water back on the floor   Quick Drying Power: Squeegee dries floors quickly so you can get right back to living on them   13" Wide Cleaning Path: Wide cleaning path covers more surface area and shortens cleaning time   Removable Nozzles and Brushes: For easy cleaning and maintenance   Deluxe Handle with Fingertip Trigger Control: Comfortable, ergonomic grip with trigger right at your fingertips lets you easily distribute detergent when and where it's needed   Simple Mode Selection: Turn the dial for stage 1 vacuuming, stage 2 washing, and stage 3 drying   27' Power Cord with Quick Release: Vacuum a large room without re-plugging, release entire cord with a quick flip of a lever   Folding Handle: Makes storage a snap, perfect for small spaces   Rubber Wheels: Glide gently over surfaces and won't scratch hard flooring   Beltless Design: No belts to replace   UL Listed   Dimensions: 13" W x 12" L x 45" H   Weight: 15 lbs   1-year limited warranty   Made in China For product related questions please call Hoover / TTI Floorcare at 1-800-944-9200.
Average Customer Rating:
4.141 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
(out of 64 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
6
51 of 64(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Review 1 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Apple Valley, CA
Date:February 4, 2013

GREAT FLOOR SCRUBBER

Pros: great suction and long cord.
Cons: can't think of any.
Model Number: Hoover Floor Mate
"This is the second FloorMate I have purchase in 11 years.The first one I gave away because I didn't need at my new home with laminate flooring. Got rid of the laminate and now have tile. I noticed the newer FloorMates have softer brushes and I like that better. These machines work great on tile floors I am amazed how much dirt they pickup. Never any problem."
Review 2 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:September 24, 2012

Great product

Pros: easy to use, gets floors very clean, faster than traditional moping, works on all types of hard floor
Cons: little bit loud, make sure the handle is properly attached
"First, if you don't have the handle property connected, the cleaning solution will not properly dispense. The handle can be a little bit deceiving, you might think it's connected properly when it's not. My guess is a few people that thought they had "duds" had that part wrong. Second, this machine is a tiny bit loud.
Those 2 things being said, this product is awesome! I have white tile floors that I mop weekly, and appeared to be clean-then I used my spin scrub, the water was black.
It works great on tile, hardwood, and travertine.
The vacuum function on this machine is decent, I have two long haired dogs, and a seven year old boy, so for me, I need to sweep first, and its true that it doesn't pick up anything too big (a q-tip is too big). It's great on dust, hair, etc. really, where this shines is the mopping aspect.
I will never, ever, ever, go back to a regular mop again. This is easy to use, keeps dirty water from being put back on the floor, has a built in squeegee dryer thing. I only wish I had discovered this years before.
If you think about it, a bucket & mop is a really outdated, difficult, and inefficient way to clean. This makes the job easier, faster, and does a better job.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:August 15, 2012

Cleaner than by hand

"I love the floormate product. I am always amazed at the diverse opinions. I dont think any product that has liquid dispensing along with suction made for multiple surfaces grades is going to require absolutely no more effort. What perfect world do we live where nothing is required of you. I found that technique depending on the surface goes along way. maybe a little more practice and effort of the user. I have mopped by hand most of my life. I used the floormate and can tell you without a doubt, it cleans better than I can by hand. As for tile grout, proper stripping and sealing might be the issue, the floormate will manage from there."
Review 4 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano TX
Date:June 30, 2012

Great machine

Model Number: Older white unit
"Ihave all the floor cleanning gadgets.
This is MOPPING MACHINE.
Some people said it does not clean the grout and they returned the machine. First and foremost this is a mop. It has grout cleanning brush but that thing does nto really work. I used it mainly as a mop that you dont have to reuse the water.
it will lease a streak here and there as a mop would.
I owned this machine for 5 yrs and it does not suck up water as well. Buying another one form Costco
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Coral Springs, FL
Date:June 29, 2012

3rd Hoover floor mate!

Pros: quick, efficient
Cons: have to use their cleaning solution
Model Number: Hoover floormate
"LOVE It and they keep getting better!! I have had my Hoovers for over 10 years and Highly recommend to anyone with tile and hardwood floors. I dont bother with vacumm first nonsense, just use the wash setting and it does a great job of sucking up the grime and cleaning it at the same time! This is my third one since I use it quiet often it takes a lot of abuse in our household and will keep on buying it when it burns out. But I hope this 3rd one last for a good 4- 5 years!"
Review 6 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2012

Very Good Product - Initial Review

Pros: simple setup and easy to use.
"The product does what it is advertised to do. I have used it twice now a a lenolium floor that is very uneven to look like a stone tile and it did a great job getting the dirt up and off the floor. We will see how it holds up over time, but initially a great job."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2012

Simply Amazing

Pros: lightweight, easy-to-use
Cons: doesn't get into edges or corners
Model Number: 555650
"My house is not very big but it gets dirty quickly. I have hardwood floors where I cook, garden, refinish furniture & create art. Plus I have a cat & live w/ a man so I'm constantly playing keep up to no avail. I've tried many things on the market but there's always a major downside; too much waste, more trouble than it's worth. This is the machine I've been waiting my whole life for. It's lightweight, simple to use and it does the job w/ very little effort. I like that I control how much water is put down and that everything cleans up w/ a spray from my faucet. The dial that switches from vacuum to wash to dry feels cheap and unsure but it does what the dial says so I guess it's OK. One thing I'd like to see added is a retractable scrubber brush for corner/edges."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2012

Great cleaning machine

"Love this floor cleaner. Have used one for many years. Gave the used one to my daughter."
Review 9 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:May 23, 2012

Actually works

"To my surprise..it is actually quite good. On hardwood floors it does not over-saturate with the water, dispensing a little at a time.
Suctions dirty water up quickly.
No complaints
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:April 16, 2012

better than mop or steamer

Pros: easy to use, really cleans
Cons: didn't tounch the grout
Model Number: FH40010
"i have quite a bit of large stone tile (irregular surface) this worked great. after years or mopping and steaming, i think my tile floor is actually clean. the water that came up was pretty black (last steam 2 weeks ago) and even my husband noticed that the floor actually felt different. we don't wear shoes in the house or have pets but there was still some much dirt! very noisy, on the level of my carpet cleaner (bissell pro-heat). easy to use, did take longer than mopping or steaming but well worth the effort. did NOT touch the grout, oh well, can't have everything. would still highly recommend."
Review 11 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winchester, VA
Date:February 29, 2012

Hoover Floormate

"Delivery was fast. This is my second Floormate. My other Floormate lasted nearly 8 years. We have a lot of tile in our home and It does a wonderful job on it. It has two tanks. One holds the clean water, the other holds the dirty water that is vacuumed off the floor, once you've completed the cleaning. This allows your floor to dry almost instantly. It's easy to use and works really well. Also, its a bargin when purchased from Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:February 26, 2012

BEST INVENTION EVER!!!

Pros: perfect
Cons: 3 year life span
"I have a lot of tile and I will tell you, this product when used with the Hoover Floormate cleaning solution cleans the floors better than anything else out there. You don't have to sweep before using the cleaner! It picks up dirt, dog hair, tiny rocks, everything! I am serious, I would be a spokes person for this product. I got my mom to buy it too and my grandparents along with a lot of friends and everyone loves it much more than a mop or any other product out on the market today. It's so worth the money and the solution is too when ordered directly through Hoover.com. LOVE THIS MACHINE!"
Review 13 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:February 24, 2012

Not Impressed

Cons: wet floor
"left streaks, didn't clean very well, left floor wet, I ended up taking it back"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:February 7, 2012

Perfect tool for the job

Pros: simple but a great design, ease of operation
Cons: after using it i have none left
Model Number: FH40010B
"We recently changed our 2600 sq. ft carpeted down stairs to Crema Marfil 12x24 tiles. After few days of this transformation, once the floors started getting dirty, I cleaned them with a mop, towel and everything else. The job was almost impossible to finish and was left with a lot to wish for at the end. For a moment we were thinking that we made a mistake by having a tiles compared to wood floors. I was thinking of getting some tools like orbitter/polisher etc which cost more than a thousand dollars and would do a part of job. Then one day I read the reviews on Costco for floormate hard surface cleaner. Ordered right away and got it delivered a day after the Christmas by “HomeDirect” with a big cut in the middle of the box. The product was damaged and had to return it without testing to Costco store. Ordered it again after the holiday rush was over. The box came intact, assembly took 2 minutes and I test run the product same night. First vacuumed the floors with my sharp navigator. Took me little time getting used to how it worked. After I was done in a 10x10 area, it left the floor shinning like mirror. Since I made multiple passes, it left the floor almost dry. Never even switched to “Dry” or “Vacuum” option, it was on “Wash” setting all the time. Next day, I had to clean kitchen with a lot of dirt. I thought of making first pass with just water. After spreading some hot water on the floor, I used the floormate. The floor came out shining like brand new. Finished the remaining job with hot water without using any solution. I understand that it does NOT work well if there is a level difference between the tiles. Our floor has very tight grout lines and tiles have straight edges. So the floor is almost seamless and this tool works great. Hoover can modify by having the brushes under spring tension, so it can extend when there is level difference, that will complicate the design how the spin scrub brushes work now. But for now, this is one of the wonders by Hoover."
Review 15 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:January 26, 2012

NIce Cleaner

"This unit works well. No need to overthink it. Better than all other floor cleaning units purchased before."
Review 16 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:anaheim, Ca
Date:January 18, 2012

not so great

"I have a lot of tile floors. It left streaks and didn't clean very well. I ended up taking it back."
Review 17 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:December 19, 2011

Kind of

Pros: smooth tile feel
Cons: does not clean pitted tile, does not clean grout with raised tile
Model Number: Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub
"Based on the other great reviews, I thought I would get this. I was hoping to save a lot of time with this rather than a quick sweep. However, you have to go so slowly over the area, it doesnt always pick everything up.
Also, if you have pitted tile or grout that is lower than your raised tile, this will not clean the grout. I used it 3 times, tried the special tile and grout cleaner first, and still did not clean the grout. I dont think the brissles are hard enough to really scub since it is supposed to be a cross floor tool, meaning for hard wood too.
The silver lining is that the tile felt smoother after cleaning. So the 2 hours spent helped a little. I also used it once after my son spilled some chocolate milk. Normally I would be thinking how hard it would be to clean and get all the stickiness out. Not with this.
All in all, I purchased it to clean my pitted tile with grooves and grout. It did neither of these, so I am returning it back to Costco."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2011

A BIT DISAPPOINTED

"This looked like it would be the best tool to cover the large amount to tyle that we have. However, after wahing and scrubing, dirt was still evident."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Disney World, FL
Date:December 1, 2011

Holy Hoover! This Scrubber Works Great!

Pros: great machine for the money!, costco offered best price.
Cons: none
Model Number: FH 40010
"I am a retired military man who only understood that floors are cleaned by brush, soap & water with elbow grease. That is how I maintained tile floors in my home for the past 10 years.
I read the specs for this Hoover SpinScrub Cleaner, I thought, what the hey, my knees and arms could use a rest, so I purchased one at Costco. It is mostly made of plastic and the scrub brushes did not look stiff enough to do the job. Boy was I was surprised, this machine works great! It takes a little longer to complete the job, it dries real fast and is easy to load detergent and unload the dirty water. I thought my floors were clean, until I finished using this Hoover. They now "sparkle".
The electrical cord could be in a better place, close to handle, but, this is a great buy, Hoover makes good products. I still think the brushes could be stiffer, might make the work go faster, are you listening Hoover. This is a "Keeper".
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:November 29, 2011

Great Floor Cleaner

Model Number: MFH40010TVC
"When you first start using this it can be frustrating but be patient. Once you understand how it works and use it a few times you will understand what a great cleaning tool this is. It picks up so much dirt and it keeps it off of the floor by putting the dirty water in the second holding tank. My tile floors have never been so clean and the whole room smells fresh when you are done. It takes longer that mopping but the end result is soooo much better. Love it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>