Customer Reviews for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner

We know that you love hard floors as much as carpet, so we made a tool that lets you kick the bucket, put away the broom and say goodbye to hands-and-knees scrubbing. The new Hoover® FloorMate™ Hard Floor Cleaner with SpinScrub® technology is the ultimate 3-in-1 cleaner that vacuums, washes and dries hard floors with one simple tool unlike any steam mop or mopping systems on the market. The FloorMate™ Cleaner’s two-tank system keeps clean and dirty water separate so you never put dirty water back on the floor, and the exclusive Hoover® patented SpinScrub® technology with counter-rotating brushes gently scrub from all angles to get sealed hardwood, tile and vinyl floors truly clean. Quick-drying power gets the water up quickly so you can get back to living on them in minutes. You can count on Hoover® to build floor care products for the way you live and clean – fast, efficient and thorough for a variety of surfaces in your home, so you can quickly move on to the next important thing in your day. Added Value:   Full Home Cleaning Kit:    16 oz bottle of Tile & Grout Detergent   16 oz bottle of Tile & Grout Spray   16 oz bottle of Multi-Floor Detergent   16 oz bottle of Wood Oil Soap   Wipeout Eraser Sponge Features:   New Multi-Purpose SpinScrub Technology: Exclusive Hoover patented counter-rotating brushes gently wash and scrub hard floors from all angles   SpinScrub Brushes: Designed to deliver the best clean for gently cleaning sealed wood and vinyl, grout and tile   Dual Tank Technology: Keeps clean and dirty water separate so you never put dirty water back on the floor   Quick Drying Power: Squeegee dries floors quickly so you can get right back to living on them   13" Wide Cleaning Path: Wide cleaning path covers more surface area and shortens cleaning time   Removable Nozzles and Brushes: For easy cleaning and maintenance   Deluxe Handle with Fingertip Trigger Control: Comfortable, ergonomic grip with trigger right at your fingertips lets you easily distribute detergent when and where it's needed   Simple Mode Selection: Turn the dial for stage 1 vacuuming, stage 2 washing, and stage 3 drying   27' Power Cord with Quick Release: Vacuum a large room without re-plugging, release entire cord with a quick flip of a lever   Folding Handle: Makes storage a snap, perfect for small spaces   Rubber Wheels: Glide gently over surfaces and won't scratch hard flooring   Beltless Design: No belts to replace   UL Listed   Dimensions: 13" W x 12" L x 45" H   Weight: 15 lbs   1-year limited warranty   Made in China For product related questions please call Hoover / TTI Floorcare at 1-800-944-9200.
Average Customer Rating:
4.141 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
(out of 64 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
6
51 of 64(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Review 1 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Disney World, FL
Date:December 1, 2011

Holy Hoover! This Scrubber Works Great!

Pros: great machine for the money!, costco offered best price.
Cons: none
Model Number: FH 40010
"I am a retired military man who only understood that floors are cleaned by brush, soap & water with elbow grease. That is how I maintained tile floors in my home for the past 10 years.
I read the specs for this Hoover SpinScrub Cleaner, I thought, what the hey, my knees and arms could use a rest, so I purchased one at Costco. It is mostly made of plastic and the scrub brushes did not look stiff enough to do the job. Boy was I was surprised, this machine works great! It takes a little longer to complete the job, it dries real fast and is easy to load detergent and unload the dirty water. I thought my floors were clean, until I finished using this Hoover. They now "sparkle".
The electrical cord could be in a better place, close to handle, but, this is a great buy, Hoover makes good products. I still think the brushes could be stiffer, might make the work go faster, are you listening Hoover. This is a "Keeper".
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:September 22, 2011

Hoover FloorMate

Pros: easy to use, keeps dirty water and clean water seperate, wish it had a bigger water tank
Model Number: ?
"I love this machine. It's easy to use and gets my flooring very clean. We have 2,236 ft. of expensive vinyl flooring that looks just like travertine marble, hence, it has a lot of texture and many places for dirt to get trapped in.We have never worn shoes in our home, so I tried using a Shark steam mop, but unless you are using it on a very small surface then you are just pushing a dirty steam mop head around, and with that much flooring I would have to own a couple of dozen steam mop heads to get through all that flooring, The Hoover FloorMate does a wonderful job of actually scrubbing the flooring, getting into ALL the crevices and then sucking the dirty water up. I do go over my flooring first with Swiffer Sweeper dry floor dust mop to pick up any hair and fine particles of grit, then I used the Hoover Floormate. I have found that the FloorMate keeps the floors so clean that I never have to worry about my little grandson playing on the flooring with his toys. Great Job Hoover FloorMate"
Review 3 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:August 15, 2011

I've tried them all. This is the one to get

Pros: cleans grout while cleaning the floors, works the best of any product ive tried, easy to clean out tank and brushes, removes stuck on dried up food, doesnt leave residue, squeegees the floor, long-enough cord (much unlike the shark), easy to assemble, easy to store, its' floor cleaner smells good
Cons: as loud as a regular vacuum, sometimes needs adjusting to regain suction, heavy, for how good it cleans i can deal with all these
"I have about 900 sq feet of tile in our downstairs and i have three small children (plus a husband). So the floors get dirty even though we are a no-shoes-inside household.
I had the Bissell Flip It. It broke. I have the Shark Steam Mop which is OK in a quick pinch or when the kids are sleeping, but it just simply does not get the floor clean and especially does not clean the grout.
I also tried the H20 Steam Mop. It was horrible.
I have also tried the hard floor cleaning option on my Carpet Steam Cleaner - totally horrible.
This machine truly gets your floor clean. The cleaner that it comes with works great and you only need about a capful per tankful, or less.
The ONLY problem i have had with this machine is that sometimes it gets at the wrong level and loses suction. In fact I returned one to costco for this very problem. I have since learned that what you need to do is either a) take the dirty bin out and put it back in, making sure the seal is made OR b) pop the spin scrub brushes off and put it back on. All while in the upright locked position. Otherwise the machine won't squeegee very well and the floor will be quite wet. I have found this occurs the most if i flip in between dry vacuum and clean modes. Again, this machine cleans the floors so well that i am willing to deal with this odd quirk. I have to especially note that the grout actually gets cleaned with this product. With the other machines ive tried, the grout gets dirty over time and i had to sit there and scrub every grout line with a brush and spray on grout cleaner. Total pain in the you-know-what. Since getting this model (and its been a year now) the grout has stayed clean. I clean the floor about 5-6 x per week. Maybe excessive, but we like to be barefoot and not step on grime.
i do usually vacuum with the regular vacuum first. Makes it a lot easier."
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:December 19, 2011

Kind of

Pros: smooth tile feel
Cons: does not clean pitted tile, does not clean grout with raised tile
Model Number: Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub
"Based on the other great reviews, I thought I would get this. I was hoping to save a lot of time with this rather than a quick sweep. However, you have to go so slowly over the area, it doesnt always pick everything up.
Also, if you have pitted tile or grout that is lower than your raised tile, this will not clean the grout. I used it 3 times, tried the special tile and grout cleaner first, and still did not clean the grout. I dont think the brissles are hard enough to really scub since it is supposed to be a cross floor tool, meaning for hard wood too.
The silver lining is that the tile felt smoother after cleaning. So the 2 hours spent helped a little. I also used it once after my son spilled some chocolate milk. Normally I would be thinking how hard it would be to clean and get all the stickiness out. Not with this.
All in all, I purchased it to clean my pitted tile with grooves and grout. It did neither of these, so I am returning it back to Costco."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Petersburg, FL
Date:June 19, 2011

My new best friend!

Pros: really gets your floors super clean!, saves your back!, easy to use and clean out., can use cleaner of your choice.
Cons: hard time picking up large debris., a little on the loud side.
"I have 4 children and the Floormate is a lifesaver! I have been using it for 6 months now. The only con to this machine is that it does have a hard time picking up larger debris off the floor. For example: cheerios, playdoh pieces, leaves. Besides that it is easy to use and to clean. The Floormate scrubs everything off our floors including dried up yogurt and who knows what else. I would recommend this to everyone! It totally blows a mop and bucket out of the water! *Also, take note that you can use any floor cleaner you like and the Floormate will do a great job. I didn't care for the scent of the products that came with it; so I used my usual purple Fabuloso in it and the results were just as great and it smelled wonderful!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northridge, CA
Date:February 1, 2011

Most satisfying home product I have

Pros: does the job
Cons: n/a
Model Number: FH40010
"I delight in using the Floormate. It effectively replaces a bucket, mop and elbow grease (quel mess). Now I have no hesitation in cleaning my hard floors when necessary, because it preforms as advertised.It is easy to use, easy to clean, easy to store and easy to love."
17 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs, CA
Date:September 23, 2011

Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub? AWESOME!

Cons: "clean water" tank a tad small
"I've been looking for THE best way to clean my 1250 sq. ft. of tile floor other than hands and knees and scrub brushes which is a day's job at least and I'm just not as young as I used to be. Having reviewed every steam floor cleaner known to man and reading less than stellar reviews (unless you want to sell your first born for one of those ridiculously overpriced models) I thought I'd give this a try, hoping beyond hope that it could do what I would do. Yippee, it's great. The difference in my floors is amazing! While there is a bit of a technique to using it, once mastered it really does clean house. I gave it the 5 stars I think it deserves but I would say the only flaw it has is that the clean water tank could be larger. 1250 sq. ft. of tile is a lot of tile! But that's a minor inconvenience more than anything compared to the time I've spent hand scrubbing. My knees are so grateful and no more hands in dirty water either! Thank you, Hoover!"
Review 8 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Quinta, (Palm Springs area) CA
Date:February 3, 2011

Delivers as promised -- OUTSTANDING

Pros: you will never use a mop again!
Cons: the clean water solution tank could be larger, dirty water collection tank could be larger
Model Number: FH40010
"We have a large home with about 2500 sq ft of tile floors and using a mop and bucket is back wrenching work. This tool is great because, unlike a mop and broom, all the water going on the floor is CLEAN and the water being sucked up is DIRTY -- the two are NEVER mixed! AND IT REALLY CLEANS FANTASTICALLY! Just read and follow the instructions. And you can also use other cleaning solutions like Murphy Wood Oil Soap, as the Hoover solution may be hard to find."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:September 24, 2012

Great product

Pros: easy to use, gets floors very clean, faster than traditional moping, works on all types of hard floor
Cons: little bit loud, make sure the handle is properly attached
"First, if you don't have the handle property connected, the cleaning solution will not properly dispense. The handle can be a little bit deceiving, you might think it's connected properly when it's not. My guess is a few people that thought they had "duds" had that part wrong. Second, this machine is a tiny bit loud.
Those 2 things being said, this product is awesome! I have white tile floors that I mop weekly, and appeared to be clean-then I used my spin scrub, the water was black.
It works great on tile, hardwood, and travertine.
The vacuum function on this machine is decent, I have two long haired dogs, and a seven year old boy, so for me, I need to sweep first, and its true that it doesn't pick up anything too big (a q-tip is too big). It's great on dust, hair, etc. really, where this shines is the mopping aspect.
I will never, ever, ever, go back to a regular mop again. This is easy to use, keeps dirty water from being put back on the floor, has a built in squeegee dryer thing. I only wish I had discovered this years before.
If you think about it, a bucket & mop is a really outdated, difficult, and inefficient way to clean. This makes the job easier, faster, and does a better job.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Westchester, NY
Date:September 15, 2011

Really, Costco?

"I love this machine. I owned one for many years before I gave it away when I moved houses. When I saw the great deal from Costco, I bought it immediately. Costco sent this in the original box with no additional packaging. This box was not designed for a delivery truck. It is retail packaging! The box was crushed and the edge of the unit had dirt marks from sliding around in the delivery truck. I assembled it anyway and sure enough there is one tiny broken part that is integral to the machine and renders the whole thing useless. I do really love this machine so I'm ordering another one. Hopefully the next one will make it. I am really irritated though because it is a complete waste of my time because now I have to schlep this thing to my local store and wait in the return line for who knows how long. And it all could have been avoided if they had only bothered to PACKAGE IT!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pompano Beach, Florida
Date:February 23, 2011

Best Purchase Ever.

Pros: ease of use, price was right, not heavy, floors dry fast
"I can't believe I have lived without it. It is very easy to use and it is just a life saver. I have tiles throughout the house and with multiple dogs and a young grandbaby I was concerned about the dirt on the floor and my grandbaby crawling on it. I have tried about everything so this was my last resort and I am very happy with it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2011

Excellent Machine

Pros: good value for the price
Cons: frequent emptying of waste water
"This is an excellent machine! Easy to assemble. I have a lot of ceramic tile and this does a fantastic job of cleaning all the crevices and grout lines. I agree with other reviews that the frequent emptying of the waste tank is annoying, but if it was larger, weight would become an issue. My floors have never been this clean. A great buy at a reasonable price!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:February 13, 2011

Worth the money!

Pros: seperate dirty and clean tanks, rolls easily
Cons: uses chemicals to clean, takes 3 tanks of water to clean about 2000 sq ft
"I have owned 2 different steam cleaners and both died within a year. I just purchased this and it cleans so much better! I no longer have to get on my hands and knees to scrub stuck on spots on my laminate floors. Great buy!"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So. Calif.
Date:October 7, 2011

Love this!!!

Pros: handle folds down for storage
Cons: nothing!
"I am going thru my house replacing existing flooring w/ tile, and decided to try this after reading reviews. It is honestly the most labor saving cleaner I have purchased!! The ultimate test was in cleaning an old vinyl floor that has yet to be replaced- after a month of construction in the house, it was filthy! I first used the vacuum feature, and then emptied the tank per the recommendation, as the floor had a LOT of loose debris on it. I next cleaned it with the water setting and finally used the dry setting. The floormate removed marks that I have not been able to get off with a mop.The floor looked immaculate. After using the dry setting, the floor is dry enough to walk on almost right away. I have since used it on the floor when it was not as dirty as the first time, and have not emptied the tank after vacuuming- it still did a fantastic job. My daughter bought one for her floors after trying mine."
Review 15 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2012

Simply Amazing

Pros: lightweight, easy-to-use
Cons: doesn't get into edges or corners
Model Number: 555650
"My house is not very big but it gets dirty quickly. I have hardwood floors where I cook, garden, refinish furniture & create art. Plus I have a cat & live w/ a man so I'm constantly playing keep up to no avail. I've tried many things on the market but there's always a major downside; too much waste, more trouble than it's worth. This is the machine I've been waiting my whole life for. It's lightweight, simple to use and it does the job w/ very little effort. I like that I control how much water is put down and that everything cleans up w/ a spray from my faucet. The dial that switches from vacuum to wash to dry feels cheap and unsure but it does what the dial says so I guess it's OK. One thing I'd like to see added is a retractable scrubber brush for corner/edges."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:October 26, 2011

I love this machine!!

Pros: easy to use, very effective, excellent results, cleaning solutions were included
"I just used this machine to clean 2400 square feet of hard floors, including oak hardwood, slate, ceramic tile and marble. The floors were very dirty (an unoccupied house that had many open houses but no cleaning in 12 months or more). First I used the vacuume function to remove excess dust. Then I used the various solutions that came with this machine depending upon the floor surface I was cleaning.
The results are stunning and I wish I took before and after pictures. This machine exceeded my expectations. Slate floors are uneven typically but this was no problem for the FloorMate.
What I loved is that you control when you put the solution down, and the while the brushes are spinning and cleaning the surface, the machine is also picking up some of the dirty water. When you switch to the dry mode, you pick up the rest.
It's easy to use! The first time I tried it, I used it for 5 hours to clean these previously filthy floors and can't say enough about how beautiful the results are. I loved the wood floor cleaner and felt it left a gentle cleanliness and wasn't harsh at all. Even the unsealed slate floor looks fantastic."
Review 17 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano TX
Date:June 30, 2012

Great machine

Model Number: Older white unit
"Ihave all the floor cleanning gadgets.
This is MOPPING MACHINE.
Some people said it does not clean the grout and they returned the machine. First and foremost this is a mop. It has grout cleanning brush but that thing does nto really work. I used it mainly as a mop that you dont have to reuse the water.
it will lease a streak here and there as a mop would.
I owned this machine for 5 yrs and it does not suck up water as well. Buying another one form Costco
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:November 29, 2011

Great Floor Cleaner

Model Number: MFH40010TVC
"When you first start using this it can be frustrating but be patient. Once you understand how it works and use it a few times you will understand what a great cleaning tool this is. It picks up so much dirt and it keeps it off of the floor by putting the dirty water in the second holding tank. My tile floors have never been so clean and the whole room smells fresh when you are done. It takes longer that mopping but the end result is soooo much better. Love it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winchester, VA
Date:February 29, 2012

Hoover Floormate

"Delivery was fast. This is my second Floormate. My other Floormate lasted nearly 8 years. We have a lot of tile in our home and It does a wonderful job on it. It has two tanks. One holds the clean water, the other holds the dirty water that is vacuumed off the floor, once you've completed the cleaning. This allows your floor to dry almost instantly. It's easy to use and works really well. Also, its a bargin when purchased from Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Madison, WI
Date:October 4, 2011

The answer to floor cleaning

Pros: easy, efficient
Model Number: FH 40010
"This is a great product for all types of hard floors form tile to wood. Easy to use and it does a wonderful job. I struggled with what way to keep my floors in their best shape until this easy-to-use appliance came along. No more build up of dog hair or spills in the kitchen. Vacuum first then clean and dry. Ready to walk on in less than 10 minutes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>