Customer Reviews for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels

The ideal accessory for your car, truck, SUV, recreational vehicle, or snowmobile. Essential gear for any outdoor enthusiast! Adjusts from 25 inches to 32 inches in length and only weighs 1.3 lbs. The wide shovel head will help you move a lot of snow, mud, or whatever you got yourself stuck in.   Color: Gold/Black   Ideal for the outdoor enthusiast   Adjustable length from 25" to 32"   3-piece aluminum construction   Weighs approximately 1.3 pounds Model: 4002
Average Customer Rating:
4.19 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
(out of 21 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
18 of 21(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Review 1 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Missoula, Montana
Date:July 2, 2011

Great, cheap, light mountaineering shovels

Pros: good finish, has many uses, high visibility colors, full aluminum construction, handle has good grip, lashing holes on the scoop, not flimsy
Cons: slight slop in handle
"For those of you who do some snow travel or are mountaineers, I would recommend this shovel highly. For this price, it's hard to go wrong. If you plan on using your avalanche shovel A LOT and you have the money to spend, I'd rather recommend the Black Diamond Shovel because it is rugged and collapses more compactly.
But most of us won't use them constantly so I think this is a great tool to have in the mountains. I haven't put it to use yet, but they seem to be sturdy enough with a full aluminum construction except for the handle of course. The handle is made of a decent quality plastic with a good grip made by many honeycomb-like holes in it. As for strength, as I said, I haven't been able to use it quite yet, but the tolerances are slightly sloppy between the shaft and the shovel scoop, but Lifeline did as good as anyone could really expect from the push button release of each section. Any more would make it difficult to assemble/disassemble.
Also, everyone else failed to mention that there is a lashing hole on each corner of the scoop. This could be very useful for lashing the shovel scoop to the outside of a pack, but especially useful for a dead anchor.
Someone asked why would anyone buy a gold shovel? Well I bought a gold shovel and I'm glad it's gold. It's high visibility for snow storms and other times of low visibility, such as night. For mountaineering, this is essential, and it's growing on me a little. Not everything is about fashion. I prefer living with the thought in my mind that someone in my group might judge me about my funny gold shovel than dying pretty. But that's a bit extreme. I digress.
Overall, if the customer is debating whether to spend the money on an avalanche shovel in the first place, he should find a buddy to split the cost and get a very inexpensive tool that could save a life in three ways: avalanche, dead anchor, and using it to build a snow cave in an emergency situation when a day hike on a snowy mountain turns for the worst. Get the shovel."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 25, 2011

Excellent shovels at a great price!

"I purchased 4 of these about a month ago, two for me and a couple for gifts. They are great, I keep them in my truck for offraoding. We got to use them today for the first time because we got stuck in some deep snow. They are every bit as nice as the one I bought at a fancy outdoor store for far more money. I am very happy with the purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:November 8, 2011

Excellent but small

"These are very durable and very light. They are small, utility shovels. I keep one in each car for the winter in case of emergency. The expandable handle makes them compact."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2011

Great Deal

Pros: very simple and packable
"Simple, straightforward
It's not for everyday digging of ditches in hard dirt but amazing lightweight camp/backpacking shovel for snow, ice and even loose dirt. Blade is heavy gauged aluminum but no sharp edge.
Easily twice the price for one but one for the pack and one for the car...yeah!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Deer Park, WA
Date:November 1, 2011

Misleading

"This is a VERY small shovel. Nowhere in the product description does it give the dimensions on the shovel - only the handle. Even searched the web for this product trying to find any site that gave the width of the shovel. No luck. Took a chance and ordered anyway. That was a mistake! This is a toy not a tool."
0 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NYC
Date:March 1, 2011

Terrific, but

Pros: well designed
Cons: too small for my use
"These shovels are a great idea and well designed. I like that they "click" into place; my snow brush extends also but it twists in place and always loosens upon pressure. I've returned the shovels, however, because I want large snow shovels, the kind used on streets."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2013

not bad

"saw them at costco and picked them up specifically for kids to use at the beach, since the plastic and wood ones break too quickly. Just returned, they worked fine, all the other kids (and some adults) wanted to use our shovels....."
Review 8 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Monroe, WA
Date:February 16, 2013

Looks great until you have to use it

Pros: weight size foldability
Cons: 100% of our broke.
"These shovels look great but they have an inherent fault at the top where the shovel attaches to the handle. After very little shoveling of non-compacted snow they break from metal fatigue. We got two shovels, the first broke and the second had chipped coatings from the stress point. Will be returning to Coscto hoping that they can get these back to the mfgr to fix the problem. The size is right, the weight is right just they need a little re-engineering."
Review 9 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bothell, WA
Date:February 7, 2013

Broke in the Snow

Cons: all cons...they broke
Model Number: 4002
"took the snow shovels out snow camping and after about 20 minutes of use, 2 out of the 4 shovels were broken. The third shovel was showing metal fatigue and the 4th shovel was still usable. We had plastic shovels with us as well and they preformed with out incident."
Review 10 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:January 30, 2013

Great and perfect for Alaska

Pros: pros fold up nice for storage
Cons: haven't found any
Model Number: 4002
"The shovels are great and fold up nice. The best part is they come in two. In Alaska, these shovels go for $70.00 each and don't have the same quality. I take mine on the snow machine and the 4 wheeler every ware."
Review 11 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2012

Lifeline Shovels

"They arrived the other day. Quality is just fine, and the price can not be beat.
Where the handle fits in to the shovel, that joint is a little loose... but this is summer and the metal will contract in the winter (which is when I plan to use them) and it might be snub then.
Overall, this is a great buy"
Review 12 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eastern Orygun
Date:June 25, 2012

Great deal

"I think the golden color was simply genius. They pretty much glow in the dark, but in a very unobtrusive way! I immediately threw one shovel in my truck for future use, and the second one went right into my pack mule's packsaddle for a trip into the wilderness. The lightweight peices break down beautifully and were very easily packed and reassembled. We used it in camp several times and it seems very sturdy considering it's collapsible nature. I doubt you can get a better shovel in this class for the money."
Review 13 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PHX, AZ
Date:May 7, 2011

Great Product

"delivered as represented...good job procuring "Costco""
Review 14 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prescott Valley, AZ
Date:March 14, 2011

A Child Using A Lifeline Shovel to Help Elderly.

Pros: it is light weight & well contructed., a tool to encourage a child to learn work skills.
"Our eight year old neighbor boy shoveled our and two neighbors' walks with a toboggan board, when it began to peal back, he finished the walks with a dustpan.
We decided to buy him the light weight Lifeline Utility Shovel. Two days after we gave him one we had another snow storm. He was out early in the morning shoveling walkways. He earned $25 and was happy as could be! We found the shovel was just the right size for him. It is a slightly different way to use the shovel, but it encouraged a young boy to enjoy working in the snow!
"
Review 15 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bay Area CA
Date:March 13, 2011
"Shovel and handle are both very sturdy and appear to be durable long term. The handle is a little short but is necessary to maintain the compactness of the overall package. Well worth the price based on my first usage evaluation."
Review 16 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:March 8, 2011

Impressed

"I have not yet had the opportunity to put these shovels into action, but I received the product within 2 days of order. I am impressed with how quickly I received the shovels and with the quality. I believe they are perfect depending on function. I have thrown one in my truck and one in the car for use as needed. Great quality for the price."
Review 17 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Yosemite, CA
Date:March 4, 2011

Fantastic deal

Pros: value/cost, light and well built
Cons: doesn't dig by itself, could collapse to a smaller size
"Was going snow camping and needed a decent snowshovel. Saw this deal. Not sure why anyone would need two of these but it worked out since I wasn't the only one in our group who needed one so we split the costs. Ordered this on a Tuesday and it arrived that Thursday! (California)
Light and feels sturdy and worked perfectly building our snow cave. You can easily spend fifty bucks for only one of these at specialty store. Well worth the investment especially if you got someone to go halfsies with you. The handle can be a bit slippery once your gloves got snow on it and your hands get numb.
"
Review 18 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2011

Worth the money

"These shovels break-down into three parts. I did that for one of them to put into the tight back car compartment above the spare tire.
I'm keeping in the vehicles to dig out from snow or anything else that might come up while out and about.
The shovels seem to be well built, light, fairly sturdy, and are adjustable to a limited extent, although that is ideal especially if you are trying to dig a car out of snow and getting underneath, etc.
Overall, I'm very pleased with the purchase and the cost for two shovels."
Review 19 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 1, 2011

Shovel

Pros: great construction
Cons: color - who has a gold shovel?
"I purchased this shovel to use as an emergency shovel in my cars. The shovel looks very well constructed and I think it was a reasonable price"
Review 20 for 2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 21, 2011

2-pack Lifeline Utility Shovel

Pros: heavy duty, great quality
"excellent porduct. exactly as advertised at a great price."
1 2 next>>