Customer Reviews for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can

iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can

Average Customer Rating:
3.804 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(138 Reviews) 138
(out of 138 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (138 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
14
1 star
21
101 of 138(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Review 1 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:manhattan beach, CA
Date:April 16, 2015

nicely redesigned trash can

Pros: 1. the sensor eye is moved to the top of the lid., this is 2" taller than the last one so we do not, the foot print is a little smaller so it takes le, price is great $70 delivered to the door. also co, the battery compartment is redesigned to hold 4 ba, opening is a little larger than the old one even t
Cons: i think the deodorizing filter is a gimmick.
" We bought one Itouchless trash can about 5 years ago, and it finally stopped working few weeks ago. (lid does not operate). So we checked on line and ordered this unit. The design is improved over the last one and so far we are very happy.
Pros:
1. the sensor eye is moved to the top of the lid. the old unit had it somewhat to the front and every time some one walks by, it used to open. also it was next to our clothes dryer, and when we opened the dryer lid to load and unload, this unit opened the lid. Now it won't open unless it senses something right on top. Great change. Also I am sure the batteries will last much longer.
2. this is 2" taller than the last one, so we do not have to bend so far down to deposit trash.
3. the foot print is a little smaller, so it takes less floor space (our kitchen area is kind of tight and every little thing helps)
4. Price is great, $70 delivered to the door. Also Costco warranty. If it does not last at least 3 years, it goes back to the store.
5. The battery compartment is redesigned to hold 4 batteries in one long slot.
6. Opening is a little larger than the old one even though the width and length are smaller than the old one.
Cons:
Nothing I can really think of. Some reviewers said the material is too flimsy, but fine for us. Makes it lighter to move it around. And we do not have any small children to tip it on the floor.
this unit came with a deodorizer tray, but I am not sure how effective it is. After a few months, I am going to dispose of the filter it came with and probably won't bother get any new filters.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bluefield, VA
Date:April 11, 2011

Like a helping robot in your kitchen

Model Number: ITOUCHLESS
" This is like having R2D2 swallow your garbage! This can is very stylish and matches my other stainless appliances perfectly. It is narrower than it is deep, which allows for a small kitchen footprint. The automation is wonderful. I did not realize how convenient it would be to not have to touch the lid. With a slight wave of your hand, the lid opens. Toss in your trash and get back to work, which if that happens to be prepping food, you don't have to necessarily stop to wash your hands... you did not touch the can! The the sensor is well designed. It has never opened by accident and in my case, the can sits right next to a high traffic area in my kitchen. For those who prefer a hands-on approach, there is a manual open and close button as well. Replacing the bags can be kind of tricky at first, but just remember not to push the retaining ring too hard. It just needs to rest on the ledges on the inside of the can. You'll see what I mean. I looked at lots of stainless steel trash cans before making this purchase, most of which were more expensive without the automation. I have to say that from both the visual and performance standpoint, this is a great buy. Of course, when all is said and done... it is, after all... only a trash can. "
Review 3 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 22, 2012
" Bought two of these, one for trash and one for recycle. I love the size and big opening. It's not very wide and sort of slim. It actually look quite good in our little kitchen. We were actually looking to buy 1 dual bin; but somehow buying two of these works better. Quality is not as sturdy, looks like stainless steel, but more like aluminum weight. Wish it will come with the inner bin so if something leak from the trash bag, there will be at least another container to catch it. Instead of putting trash bag into the inner bin, it has this small retaining ring that we pull our trash bag through. It's plastic, each time we take the trash out, we have to becareful not to let the ring takes all the trash weight. It seems like it can break anytime. Would be nice if the ring is made of metal. We only have these for 2 weeks, so far so good. Oh, just one thing I didn't really like. When I cleaned the cover with the disinfecting wipes; the black color of the lid came out (smeared) and the lid doesn't look as shiny and nice as before. I guess I can only wipe it with nonalcohol stuff. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:March 28, 2011

iTouchless Sensor Trash Can

Pros: bigger opening, ac power option
Model Number: ITOUCHLESS
" I returned the Nine Star brand 2 combo cans - a large size and a mini size. The large one only lasted 9 months and the mini size lasted a year. I love the touchless function and can't live without it so I search Costco and find the iTouchless brand. Based on the positive reviews, I gave it a tried and ordered it online.
After a month of use, I have no complaints about this iTouchless sensor trash can. I can feel that it is stronger than the other brand. The opening is also a lot bigger on this one. I wanted this specifically to avoid getting trash and residue on the outside of the can as you put trash in, which happened almost every time with my old "swinging door" plastic can. I'm anxious to see how long the batteries last me, but one month into using, I'm a huge fan. I can order the AC adapter with this brand but not the Nine Star brand. "
Review 5 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sarver, PA
Date:November 2, 2011

Love it and keeping my fingers crossed!

Pros: makes life easier
Cons: none for now
Model Number: IT13MX
" I bought 4 of these trash cans and am giving 3 of them as Christmas gifts. One for my husband and I and one for each of my daughters homes and one for my mom. I haven't opened them all up yet, but ours was in good shape and works like a charm. The only problem I have is remembering not to throw garbage into the pull out container under the sink, where our old garbage can used to be. It is now our recycle bin. I love my new trash can and so far, no problems to report. We've been using it for about 3 weeks. We're going to open and inspect the other cans soon and try them out before we give them as gifts...and we're going to fill them with wrapped gifts and put the can back in it's box and wrap the box. I can't wait to give them to the girls and my mom because I just love using mine. I just hope they last...nothing seems to!! "
Review 6 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Central California
Date:August 6, 2013

Phantom 'ghost' opens and closes it randomly

Pros: large capacity looks good, when it works it's great to have!, finger-print resistant outside remains clean, large 13 gallon capacity is great, has 'on' and 'off' button, has manual buttons on front
Cons: phantom 'ghost' opens it randomly, doesn't open when i want it to, worked great for first 60 days, remains open when phantom 'ghost' is at work., need to walk over and turn it off to stop phantom, batteries not included, adapter not included perhaps not available?
Model Number: iT13MX
" This model iT13MX worked great when brand new. We loved it, guests loved it also. However, it lasted for two months then the Phantom 'ghost' can took it over. Right now as I'm writing this review the can is automatically opening and closing all by itself, no one or thing is around it. I placed it off by itself in a corner away from any items that can or may affect it. Then...when I want it to open, it doesn't unless I use the button feature on it (thank goodness it has that feature). The size is great, large capacity. It does not come with batteries, so be prepared and purchase some. I changed them to see if, perhaps, that was the issue…no it wasn’t. It is easy to clean and scratch resistant. I just wished that it would work properly! I’m returning it for another one and hoping that the second time is the charm. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Downey, CA
Date:June 9, 2011
Pros: durable, convenient, clean
Cons: happy with itouchless
Model Number: Extra Large Opening
" Yes, this is the 2nd one of these we've ordered, because after about 5 years of use, the first broke (it was the battery-operated lid that stopped working). I was actually surprised that it lasted that long, too. We were just going to replace the lid, but now that Costco.com is selling this item for $$ with larger opening and new features, it didn't make sense to replace just the lid. This trash can is great for when you've been handling meat and don't want to have to open a cabinet to throw something away. And the new one is much quieter than the old one was. On our first one, the 4-D batteries lasted forever... I think it was over a year. So I would highly recommend this product. It looks great with stainless steel appliances and is a conversation piece, too. "
Review 8 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Slidell, LA
Date:October 11, 2011

Great i-touchless trash can

Model Number: i-Touchless
" I love my new i-Touchless trash can! I wish I had bought it sooner! Several months ago, I bought a foot-pedal operated round stainless steel trash can at a local store on sale. I thought it was just what I wanted - but I was wrong! It was a like a wrestling match trying to get the full trash bag out of the can; and it usually took 2 people - one to hold the trash can and one to pull out the bag!! When I found the i-touchless trash can online at such a good price, I knew it was time to try it. It has a rectangular shape that makes it easier to pull out the full trash bag. I was already familiar with the touch-free lid since my friend owns one just like it. It is a perfect size for my kitchen; looks nice and clean. I will recommend it to all my friends! "
Review 9 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Meadow, NY
Date:March 28, 2011

Works like a charm!

" We previously owned a sensor can made by Nine Star but the mechanism that actuates the lid stopped functioning after six or seven months. My wife really wanted another sensor non-touch trash can so we ordered a different brand. we've had the iTouchless version for about a month now. Unlike the previous brand, this one operates on four D-sized batteries or electric power. This is a huge improvement in saving money of buying batteries. Another nice feature of this model is adding small air holes at the bottom of the can to release the suction during trash bag removal for easy changing the trash bags. The rectangular shape also makes it much easier to deposit larger items, scraps scraped off plates, etc. We are very happy with this new sensor trash can. "
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bend, OR
Date:February 9, 2015

Nice looking and functional trashcan.

Pros: easy to operate and looks great.
Cons: would rather have the sensor aiming more upwards.
" The can is stainless steel with a black lid and looks terrific in my kitchen with all my other stainless steel appliances.
With the motion activated lid, you never need to touch the can except for removing the trash and then it has a convenient "open" button which will leave the lid in the open position.
Inside, there is a form-fitting liner frame that your trash bag goes around that helps seal it smoothly under the lid so you cannot see the trash bag overlapping the can.
Sometimes the sensor isn't as sensitive as I would like but if you know where to wave your hand or if you move in front of the can, the lid will open every time automatically. It also has an odor filter under the lid to help keep everything smelling fresh and clean. "
Review 11 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia,PA
Date:April 11, 2011

automatic trash can is great

" I had been looking for a kitchen trash can nicer than cheap plastic, but didn't want to spend $200 as in some our local stores. This is my first purchase from Costco, and I was concerned about the trash can arriving without dents. I promptly received the trash can, and it was packed really well. Now that we have the trash can, it's awesome and fun to watch as new friends and family discover it. I had looked at other stainless steel cans in the $100 price range, but didn't like the plastic bag hanging outside of the can. The plastic bag retainer holds the bag secure and changing the bag is easy. Now with the waive of a hand, the lid opens and closes - it's just way too cool.. "
Review 12 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 12, 2011

Great Purchase, if not damaged.

" Unlike other motion sensor trash cans I've had, this one does not open sporadically when someone walks across the room but is sensitive enough to respond quickly when you're next to it. I like the larger opening and the bag is securely held in place.
Being able to plug the trash can into an outlet is an added plus, but the AC adapter is not included. It needs to be ordered separately through the manufacturer.
I've ordered this trash can three times now. The first two shipments arrived damaged with dents on the can itself. The fact that I've ordered this trash can for a third time, hoping that it will arrive undamaged, is testament to how much I like its effectiveness. "
Review 13 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:June 21, 2011

Finally a trash can that can last

Model Number: itouchless
" Our family has been using step on open trash cans for more than 20 years. Everytime a trash can broke, it was because it refused to open. Sometime we fixed it with duct tape, glue, or little home made replacement parts, but it never last long. We usually have to change trash can every year or 2. The last one lasted almost 2 years and it was a very high quality one. I ordered the iTouchless last month and I don't see how we could break this one! There is no touching, and actually make throwing away trash kind of fun even after 2 weeks. I don't know how long the unit will last, but from what I have seen, I doubt that it will break that easily under normal usage. "
Review 14 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rogers, AR
Date:March 31, 2011

iTouchless Touchless Sensor Trash Can

" My friend has this trash can and loved it. I was always impressed that I didn't have to touch it, especially when you are cooking and getting rid of waste. The trash can lids stays clean and I don't have to wash my hands constantly as I prep cook and eliminate food waste. So I decided to find me a touchless stainless steel trash can. Of course I went to costco.com and what a wonderful surprise ...they had the exact same model available that my friend owned. Of course I bought it with no reservations. It works beautifully, no problems with the mechanism at all. It looks great with my stainless steel appliances. I highly recommend it. "
Review 15 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Indy
Date:September 30, 2011

Quality concerns

" I purchased the round version of this about 18 months ago and the lid became non-functional. The return to Costco was painless and I heard a comment from the clerk that several had been returned recently. I order this item as a replacement but before it could be delivered Costco pulled all the products from iTouch Sensor Trash Cans. The unit arrived with a puncture in the box that luckily didn't affect the contents. Thanks UPS. So far the unit has been working, but for how long? Also it does not come with a power cord like the last one did, so its battery powered. Supposed to last a year, we shall see. "
Review 16 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2011

So far so good

Pros: high quaility
Cons: sometimes it doesn't work as advertised minor nit
" For the limited time I owned this trash can, it has worked extremely well. The sensor doesn't work as advertised, all the time. The trash can is supposed to stay open if you keep hand is in front of the sensor, however sometimes it closes even if you keep your hand is in front of the sensor. This is a minor nit.
This was a replacement for the the "Nine Star 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can". The Nine Star worked well at okay at first, but didn't last.
In comparison to the Nine Star, this trash can appears to be of higher quality and works better (comparing within the same time interval). "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:August 5, 2011

Great Can

" I had a can that needed me to press a lever on the bottom and a hinge would lift the top up. Usually when I did this, I would hear a "clank" when the lid hit the wall. I put up with this for years. It was when I had a bad day and decided that this clanking can needs to see what heaven looks like. So out went the clanker, and in came iTouchless. This can rules! Never moves around since I am not putting my feet on a stupid lever, and I can still hear my tunes in the kitchen without a big "clank" when I am tossing out a finished peanut buster parfait. I'm in heaven. "
Review 18 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:April 18, 2011

problem solver

Pros: no odor, no cleaning needed
Model Number: itouchless
" The iTouchless Touchless Trash Can is superb. Ours was put in the kitchen and is used endlessly. We have several pets that need to be fed and this prevents us from having to touch the trash can with our hands, which often have food products or medication on them. It also prevents someone from forgetting to drop the lid as it automatically closes. We have had no insects near our trash can since this one has arrived. My daughter and her husband have 5 dogs and have since purchased one for their home. Our lives have become much less hectic since this purchase! "
Review 19 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San DIego, CA
Date:April 12, 2011

Very nice!

" The iTouchless Automatic Trash Can is superb. Ours was put in the kitchen and is used endlessly. We have several pets that need to be fed and this prevents us from having to touch the trash can with our hands, which often have food products or medication on them. It also prevents someone from forgetting to drop the lid as it automatically closes. We have had no insects near our trash can since this one has arrived. My daughter and her husband have 5 dogs and have since purchased one for their home. Our lives have become much less hectic since this purchase! "
Review 20 for iTouchless 13-gallon Stainless Steel Touchless Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central California
Date:July 18, 2011

Very handy touchless kitchen trash can

Pros: touchless
Cons: overly sensitive, no batteries or adaptor
" Based on the reviews of other members I decided to give this touchless kitchen trash can a try. So far, so good. I like that you can throw out trash without having to touch the lid and wash your hands several more times than necessary while cooking. We had to turn our can sideways because it opens when you walk past it otherwise. It also has open and close buttons you can press which is helpful at times. We just happened to have four D batteries since the can does not come with them or an adaptor as other customers noted. Overall, a good buy so far. "
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>