Customer Reviews for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill

Includes Peppercorns, Sea Salt, 6-AAA Batteries and 6-reusable Funnels
Average Customer Rating:
3.359 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
(out of 53 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
11
33 of 53(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Review 1 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:April 22, 2012

Wanted to love it; did not last

Pros: convenient to have salt & pepper in one unit
Cons: does not last, hard to fill, tricky assembly
Model Number: Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
"This is great while it works. We only use freshly ground salt and pepper; it is amazing how much better the seasonings taste when fresh.
Things we liked:
Adjustable grind settings (fine to coarse), a light to help see what you're doing, convenience of having one unit for both salt & pepper.
Things we did not like:
It is somewhat difficult to fill, and you must be EXTREMELY careful when replacing the unit cover. If you do not have the cover on properly, the unit will separate and you could drop the entire thing.
We purchased one as a gift and another for ourselves. The gift died within 4 months (embarrassing); ours lasted less than a year.
Fortunately, Costco's excellent customer service and return policy came through as always.
We are done with electric salt and pepper mills. Going back to the manual grinders we've had for many years."
Review 2 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2012

A working novilty

"This is the second one I have purchased. The first one after 6 mo. Stopped working all together. I liked it so much and with Costco return policy I had no qualms about ordering the second one"
Review 3 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas Gulf Coast
Date:March 24, 2012

Terrific so far

"Many reviewers have commented on filling the mill. I just received mine and found it very easy to fill. I just wrapped my hand around the device and poured the salt and pepper into the containers using the space between my thumb and fore finger as a "funnel". I also was expecting it to hold a very small amount as was mentioned by several people. It held quite a bit in my opinion; probably a month's supply or more.
I haven't had it long enough to test the other problems which people have mentioned. Those issues are serious and hopefully won't happen to me. I like the mill and plan to keep it by my stove for use in cooking."
Review 4 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:March 19, 2012

Electric Salt & Pepper Shaker

Pros: its a wonderful fun gadget and it's a great gift
Cons: it's impossible to get parts for this product
"It's a wonderful gadget. Unfortunately I had to return it because the plastic piece that goes around it broke. I tried emailing the company that makes it but they did not respond to my email. Thank goodness for Costco, they let me return. I do plan on getting another one soon."
Review 5 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2012

domestic innovations electric salt & pepper mill

"Purchased this mill and with in 3 uses the pepper side stopped working and the salt side is working fine? I went to the trouble of emptying all the pepper corns to try and clear any clog but nothing helped. I will return this item to Costco and wait for a different style ."
Review 6 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fox River Grove, IL
Date:January 3, 2012

Loved it but it died

Pros: convenient, looks cool
Cons: stopped working
"I loved this product, but it just stopped working after 8 months. I tried replacing with 2 sets of batteries just in case it was the batteries. I will return, but do want to try it again. Hopefully, it will have the $10 Off promotion again."
Review 7 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Foster City, CA
Date:November 28, 2011

Worked well for 5mo, then motor failed

"My wife and I have been delighted with this grinder up until the motor came to a halt earlier today. I replaced the batteries, disassembled the grinder assembly, cleaned the mills with a brush and compressed air and reassembled. The motor turned for about 2 seconds and pooped out. Returning to Costco."
Review 8 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:September 17, 2011

Working great for a year so far

Pros: one unit -saves space and is convenient, looks good
"Have had other electric salt and pepper grinders that did not perform. This single unit salt/pepper grinder has been wonderful. Has not jammed, works well with all size peppercorns. I have no difficulty refilling once a month or so. Haven't even changed the batteries yet. The light did seem to be a gimmick, but it is really useful to evaluate the spread rate of the salt and pepper. I am buying another for backup and/or gift.
Have not used with larger salt crystals. I see no benefit to them anyway.
"
Review 9 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:September 1, 2011

Works great

Pros: work s just as advertised
Cons: needs larger spice reservoirs
"One of the best salt & pepper mills I have owned, the smallish size of the spice reservoirs is the only thing keeping it from getting a five star rating."
Review 10 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CENTREVILLE,VA
Date:June 3, 2011

ELECTRIC PEPPER SHAKER

Cons: no cons
Model Number: UNKNOWN
"EXCELLENT PRODUCT- EASY TO USE
VERY EYE APPEALING. WE HAD SEEN ONE IN HIGH CLASS RESTURANT AND THEN SPOTTED IT ON COSTCO,COM. AT AN EASILY AFFORDABLE PRICE. IT WAS SHIPPED PROMPTLY AS PROMISED. I RATE IT A 5 ON A 1TO 5 SCALE.
THANKS FOR OFFERING THIS QUALITY PRODUCT"
Review 11 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:United States
Date:June 3, 2011
Pros: great price
Cons: contunually jams
"I first tried using regular course salt and the salt grinder jammed. Only the mostly ground salt that came with the unit will work. Now the pepper grinder is jammed to a stop with the whole peppercorns that came with the unit. One of the worst products I have purchased in over 10 years as a Costco member. I'm returning it."
Review 12 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:June 2, 2011

Nice purchase

"I love the light that comes on when you press the button to grind. It is a little hard to fill and did mix it up a little, hopefully practice will make it easier. It is very cool to impress your guests"
Review 13 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2011

Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill

Pros: loved using it the few times it worked.
Cons: difficult to fill
"I thought this was a really neat product. However, after less than a week it stopped working. I called the customer service number in the brochure and they are sending a replacement. Hope it works."
Review 14 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hollis, NH
Date:May 28, 2011

Electric Salt and Pepper Shaker

Cons: difficult to insert salt and pepper
"The unit is easy to assemble and comes complete with batteries, salt and pepper. Once assembled, it works very well. It also has a built-in light that comes on when depressing wither the salt or pepper buttons.
On the downside, the paper cones used to insert the salt and pepper are useless. The holes are too small and get clogged easily."
Review 15 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lincoln, CA
Date:May 27, 2011

Product OK

"Prior critiques mentioned the challenge of charging the shaker with salt and pepper. I agree, it is a bit difficult to fill. The pepper grinder is very slow when you want a finer grind. Not a stellar performer. Would not have bought it, if I knew its performance level in advance."
Review 16 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:i like nice stuff & good stuff that works well
Date:May 27, 2011

works fine but small capacity

Pros: it works well
Cons: requires frequent refilling
"Grinds nicely but batteries and mechanism takes up most of the space so salt and peppercorns are only about 2 TBL each. OK for table use but useless for use when more than a bit of salt or pepper is needed. ALso difficult to refill--use your reading glasses to do so. Should have been twice as tall to allow space for mechanisms and reasonable salt and pepper volumes."
Review 17 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:florida
Date:May 27, 2011

Two thumbs up!

Pros: works and sounds great
"This product is really cool. It works great and my guests love it."
Review 18 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Laguna Beach, Calif
Date:May 27, 2011

Electric Salt and Pepper Shaker

Pros: easy to refill, light over food, both salt and pepper in one, sample size salt and pepper provided, adjustable grinder
Cons: salt and pepper storage holder a little small
"I have had a number of electric pepper shakers in the past that have worked well. I was very interested in trying the salt and pepper shaker for the convenience of just one grinder.
Really like the product. The light though first thought of as just a curiosity is actually extremely helpful in judging the amount of seasoning being ground.
Best application is the one handed ability to put both salt and pepper on an ear of corn."
Review 19 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2011
"A little difficult assembling, but we really enjoy the convience of this product and the little light is helpful"
Review 20 for Domestic Innovations Electric Salt and Pepper Mill
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2011

not bad

"works good and has a light but salt comes out a little quick and everywhere. still new and will try to adjust settings more."
1 2 3 next>>