Customer Reviews for Solar Powered Attic Fan

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Solar Powered Attic Fan

The Solar Powered Attic Fan #1010TRS is designed for shingle roofs only. For tile roofs, slate roofs, flat roofs, gable/static vents, and crawlspace ventilation, please visit the All Purpose Ventilator #1015APV, which is also available at Costco.com. Award winning, professional grade solar powered attic fan can continue to run after dark. The Solar Powered Attic Fan 1010TR is designed to reduce heat build-up in your attic in the summer and remove harmful moisture in the winter. Its commercial grade, heavy duty construction provides up to 25% more power than other fans, providing better circulation and improving airflow in your attic space. One fan can ventilate up to 1350 square feet and lower the attic temperature so your air conditioning won’t have to run as long to cool your home. The Solar Powered Attic Fan qualifies for 30% Federal Tax Credit with many other local utility and municipality rebates available. Reduce attic heat build-up – 43% of air conditioning design load is based on high attic temperatures. Lowering attic temperature lowers air conditioning use. Reduce damaging moisture in your attic – 28 gallons of moisture is typically added to your attic space throughout the winter. Attic moisture causes mold and mildew growth and can cause attic insulation to lose its effectiveness. The Solar Controller with Dual Mode technology allows you to monitor your attic fan’s operating status, attic temperature and attic humidity. The addition of the Solar Controller enables your Solar Powered Attic Fan to run intermittently after sunset, or when there is no light available from the sun. This will allow your attic temperature to continuously drop after sunset and help remove the hot, stagnant air that can build up on those warm summer evenings. The annual operating cost of the using the Solar Controller connected to house power is about $2 a year.  As an upgraded electronic thermostat and humidistat, the Solar Controller also allows you to take control of your Solar Attic Fan’s thermal switch remotely with the hand-held remote control. The Solar Powered Attic Fan qualifies for a 30% Federal Tax Credit with many local utility and municipality rebates also available. The Solar Powered Attic fan is easy to install – less than 2 hours for the typical DIY’er. No electrician, permits or inspections required. National network of U.S. Sunlight preferred certified installers available, call 1-866-446-0966. Benefits: Reduces attic heat buildup in the summer – reducing air conditioning usage Reduces attic moisture in the winter – reducing mold and mildew growth Reduces ice damming Helps create a balanced, more energy efficient home Extremely quiet – no harmonic hum typical of electric powered fans No electrician, permits or inspections required Extends the life of common asphalt shingles – extends roof life up to 10% Quick return on investment – 30% Federal Tax Credit, local utility rebates and extended roof life Features: Solar Controller displays fan status, attic temperature and humidity on the hand-held remote. Severe weather tested to withstand winds over 150 mph – received Florida Product Approval and approval from the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI). Monitors attic conditions and utilizes solar power or house electricity to optimize the run-time of the fan in order to remove the excessive heat or moisture Commercial grade, hail resistant 10-watt solar panel can be rotated and tilted to capture the maximum energy available from the sun Ventilates up to 1350 sq. ft. Oversized heavy gauge flashing designed for leak-proof installation Impact & ultraviolet light resistant engineered ABS shroud resists fading, denting and rusting Galvanized & powder coated metal components resist rust Attractive black powder coating blends in with any roof color High output 38 volt motor Limited 1-year warranty on Solar Controller Limited 5-year warranty on motor Limited 20-year warranty on solar panel & housing Model: 1010TRS
Average Customer Rating:
3.731 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
(out of 67 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
13
47 of 67(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Review 1 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Desert Ca
Date:November 13, 2012

incredible product

Pros: solar and hard wired hybrid system.
Cons: none
Model Number: 1010tr
"900 sq ft house originally had gable vents (which are almost useless) blocked vents,added 253 sq" of under eave intake ventilation plus the 14" diameter attic fan to give me 407sq" total intake and exhaust attic venitaltion using 300 sq" per 1000 sq' as a rule. During a 125 degree summer day attic would get over 200 degrees comp shingles curled, thermostat inside house set at 78 constantly ran and would not get below 82. Now during same 125 degree day attic max temp 142, thermostat cycles off in the house now plus feels much more comfortable no need for fans anymore, electric bill down $170.00 a month from same month previous year, very comparable temps. If vented properly this is the only way to effectively exchange attic air and have a properly ventilated attic. Most significant gain came from hard wiring it after 2 weeks of just solar, allowing it to run after sun goes down allows for latent heat removal which made all the difference in the world."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:October 20, 2012

1010TRS Attic Fan is a Great Product & Workhorse

Pros: easy install and not obtrusive looking on roof.
Cons: so far no cons.
Model Number: 1010TRS
"Installed one fan facing south, without electrical back-up in smaller 800 sq.ft. attic. Began spinning immediately. Opened attic door several times, with various weather conditions, and it is continually spinning & doing its job. Shocked in decline of humidity & elimination of damp odor. Very pleased with product."
Review 3 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boring, OR
Date:September 27, 2012

Horrible customer service

"Its a nice idea but the solar part just doesn't work. After we had it professionally installed it and called customer service 4 times we still could not get it to run on solar power (in full sun 90 degree day). They kept telling us to reconnect the wiring in a certain order. I called them the 4th time from the attic (130 degrees) and then she finally decided it might be the control box because the solar would power the box but not the fan. But we would need return the whole thing to get a replacement. Hiring roofers to remove it and leave a big hole in my roof for weeks wasn't really an option so we just hired an electrician to install an outlet in the attic. Now I notice they have a new "professional" series model which may have a better control box"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boulder, CO
Date:July 13, 2012

All I can say is don't bother...

"Its been a hot summer in Colorado (and elsewhere), and we have small attic in a very well-built house. The attic is maybe 1,000 square feet. We put in this unit and then upgraded to the larger unit which is "supposed" to cover 1,900 square feet. We also hard wired it so that it would run constantly. Well, its 5pm this evening, its only 95 degress outside and a whopping 120 degrees in the attic. I have a huge HOLE in my roof now and am not sure what I am going to do - either way, don't bother with this unit - its not nearly powerful enough to make any difference."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2012

Poor Support

"The unit failed after several weeks of usage. Tried to call customer support multiple times and it was transferred to the voicemail all the time. Never been able to reach anybody. Be aware of the customer service if your unit has a problem. very disappointed.."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area california
Date:June 9, 2012

Great Idea but Poor Results

Pros: vents the attic intermittently
Cons: faulty wiring, expensive to fix, the fan control, unit is less than a year old, you can't simply replace broken parts
Model Number: YSH-SC10R
"So we thought this was a great idea and installed one in our house. It was not easy or cheap to install as we have a very steep pitched roof and no access to the attic crawl space. Anyway the fan/control wiring is subject to failure and does, We have had a pro fix it four times in less than a year and it stopped working again. Each time the wiring had to be removed and re-inserted. This time the Fan will not work at all!
It would be better if the control unit had advance options other than "failure."
The 3 channel option serves next to no purpose.
The unit has worked less than a 1/4 of the time in service and has cost us three times more to repair, than the units initial cost, you do the math...
If you already have one, push the status button once a month to see if it has failed.
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:June 3, 2012

Great addition to the house

Model Number: 1010TRS
"I installed the 1010TRS Solar Powered Attic Fan with the additional house power option. So far so good. Before installation, my attic averages 125 on a 75-80 day. In house thermostat would be around 85. After installation, my attic now stays around 105-110 during the day. In house thermostat would be around 73-79. I know 10-15 doesn't sound much but it definitely makes a difference. Note: My house is not well ventilated.
The biggest difference I noticed is evenings. Before installing the fan, the internal temperature would only equal outdoor temperature around 11pm. Now, the house power kicks in and cools the attic fast. The indoor and outdoor temperature is the same around 8pm. Great way to start off the night.
Would have loved if the 8 minute cycle every 30 minutes for 6 hours switched over to just constant flow for 6 hours at a lower speed. Feels like they did this to conserve power and lengthen the life of the fan.
I called the company and they have fixed the failure problems per previous reviewers. Haven't had a failure till now.
Looking forward to see this operate at 90+ outdoor temps. I hope to use less AC. If I had the option, I would have bought the 9915TR for more airflow. These solar fans are great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Frisco Texas
Date:June 1, 2012

Like it

"Installed two in Dallas texas about a month ago...the maximum the attic temp has been in april and may is 110 degrees...( weve had some 95 degree days already).
**FAN FAILURE** have had this several times.....have to reboot them at night when no solar is on them...( simply unplug from electric and wait 30 sec...before plugging back in ) Annoying....but i can do it from attic sairs.."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:May 24, 2012

green power.

Model Number: 1010 TR.
"I am very happy from a purchase, it was easy ,no problem to install, I did my self, fan runs very quiet and officiant and my attic is cool. So, go more with green!"
Review 10 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:hawaii
Date:May 19, 2012

Ok at best

"The product does work. But not as well as advertised. I placed it in an area of only 800sqft. Products states it can do up to 1300sqft. This is untrue. My attic is still 90-100 degrees everyday.
No functional issues.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, TN
Date:May 1, 2012

Performs below expectations

Pros: great concept
Cons: underpowered, overpriced v. benefit
Model Number: Solar powered attic fan
"I bought into the concept but, the fan just isn't strong enough to pull enough air to make a difference. It has an odd swiching sequence AC to Solar that only allows 8 mins. on AC power. Even on AC its weak. I wouldn't install another one."
Review 12 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:san jose ca
Date:April 19, 2012

good, but not perfect

Pros: works great when it works
Cons: failure mode hard to clear
"i put two of these fans in last summer. the upstairs rooms went from 10-15 degrees hotter than outside to dead even if not a couple of degrees less than outside temps. installation was a breeze as i had whirly-bird vents already. the fan failure code from the controller box has plagued me as well. the only way to clear it is to shut off house power when solar power is not present. my answer was to install a timer that shuts off house power during the middle of the night. a nightly reboot if you will. hopefully, this issue has been corrected by us sunlight by now! all in all i am very pleased with this fan"
Review 13 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:April 15, 2012

Great Investment

"I didn't install the fan; my husband did, but he said it went it went smoothly per the instructions in the video. My comment is about how much cooler this fan has kept my house during the summer [10 degrees cooler without air conditioning] but the unexpected benefit was how it kept the humidity down in the winter. We've had a problem with humidity and mold in the past and this fan has been huge in eliminating the problem so, yeah, it was a great investment economically and for our health as well."
Review 14 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:March 22, 2012

Love it!!!

Pros: very quiet operation, set it and forget it, nice to monitor attic temperature and humidity
Model Number: 1010TR
"Had a roofer friend help me install and replace a passive vent. As per the youtube video instructions, installation went smooth and in about 30 min. we were done. The only thing I would amend on the video instructions is that the installer shows the fan's round body pushed all the way to the shingles. Instead, cut the shingles around about 1/2" so the water can drain freely and there is no ice buildup in the winter.
Wire installation is fool-proof, but you HAVE to follow the wire connection instructions closely, otherwise you might have issue with the controller.
Had it on for for a week now and it is so quiet you can barely hear it running, even in close proximity.
Not to mention the added bonus of using the remote to check its functioning, attic temperature and humidity.
Great product, I would buy again without hesitation.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Florida, USA
Date:February 13, 2012

Good Buy

Pros: easy installation., convenient way to monitor temp, keep attic cool to save energy
Cons: stand out on top of roof
Model Number: 1010TR with Controller SC10
"Have had a hot attic on the second floor for years and that has cut into our energy savings. This fan seems to work as advertised. It comes on automatically when the sun is out and with the solar controller, it's easy to monitor the attic temp. The A/C doesn't seem to come on as often as it used to be. We're in winter now and there were some hot days; the fan so far has kept the attic from over heating. It will be the real test when summer gets here or when the outside temp goes to over 90F. The house power feature is nice as the fan is able to work in the evening. Installation was fairly easy and instruction is clear. The hardest part of the installation was to cut the roof and to remove the shingles. Price at Costco is the best, and shipping was quick"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:November 15, 2011

Great Product and Outstanding Customer Support

Pros: versitility, outstanding customer service, great product and workmanship
Cons: non yet
Model Number: 1010TRS
"Being a process and design engineer, I was looking for something with all the bells and whistles. After much research, this was it. I installed 2 of them and also hooked up the optional house power. This was part of my new roof install. I became irritated when I kept getting "failure" errors on controllers. Costco went above and beyond by sending out a step by step process to reset the controllers. After resetting them a dozen times, I called the manufacturer. They informed me that the controller was falsely detecting an open circuit. They corrected the problem and are now sending out the newer ones to anyone experiencing the failure. The customer service lady that I spoke with was professional, extremely nice, and very knowledgeable. She even registered my fans, because I had not gotten around to it yet.
I do have two recommendations. First, I would like to see the option for running the house power longer than 8 minutes every half hour (maybe a selector switch for 8, 16, or full time until temp dips below 77 degrees). Second, I have installed 2 fans in an attic about 2400 sq-ft, with a 4/12 pitch, all hip roof (no gables), and black shingles. In my location (KY), this was not enough. My high temperature reading before fan installation was close 140 and after the installation it was in the mid to upper 120's (measurements taken on comparable days). I plan on adding one more fan (just remember to space your fans at least 15' apart). Also keep in mind that you need plenty of soffit ventilation (intake air) for this or any ventilation plan to work properly.
I do and would highly recommend this fan to anyone needing to cool down their attic and to anyone putting on a new roof. The static vents are cheap, but you need 3-6 times as many. My 2 fans paid for themselves just by eliminating the replacement of the static vents.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2011

Good idea poor quality

"We bought one and installed it. Worked fine for a little while and then we get an error that says fan "failure" We replaced the unit under warrenty and the second unit is repeating the problem."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chantilly, VA
Date:October 1, 2011

Worst attic fan

"i bought 2 attic fans and both fans do not work you will start getting "failure" error message on the remote control. To fix this requires disconnecting the power port on the master control and disconnecting the 2 wired connection for 30 seconds.
in the span of 1 month, i had to reset the master control 3 times. this is totally unacceptable as I have to climb up to the attic.
i would return the product in a heart-beat however i have already paid a contractor to install both fans SO i am stuck with these fans which displays the "failure" message. similar to MS Windows "blue screen of death""
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central MD
Date:September 25, 2011

Easy to install, doesn't leak

Pros: ok for capable diyer, works sun or clouds
Model Number: 1010TR
"For a first time "roofer" this was a good project to start with. Directions were well written and easy to understand and follow. The AC connection was critical to keep this working after sunset and on cloudy days. Didn't leak in Hurricane Irene or TS Lee."
Review 20 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Clara, CA
Date:September 6, 2011

Working Better than my expectations

Pros: efficient, quiet
"I always get attracted to products using solar energy. So far I am not impressed by solar path lights or solar bug zapper I purchased. I purchased this product from Local Costco and installed it on the roof. I am yet to connect the sensor and A/C adapter. But I must say, so far I am impressed. The fan runs from Sunrise to Sunset. It seems to be quiet. The product comes with 20 year warranty. So I hope it lasts long. Highly recommended."
1 2 3 4 next>>