Customer Reviews for Solar Powered Attic Fan

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Solar Powered Attic Fan

The Solar Powered Attic Fan #1010TRS is designed for shingle roofs only. For tile roofs, slate roofs, flat roofs, gable/static vents, and crawlspace ventilation, please visit the All Purpose Ventilator #1015APV, which is also available at Costco.com. Award winning, professional grade solar powered attic fan can continue to run after dark. The Solar Powered Attic Fan 1010TR is designed to reduce heat build-up in your attic in the summer and remove harmful moisture in the winter. Its commercial grade, heavy duty construction provides up to 25% more power than other fans, providing better circulation and improving airflow in your attic space. One fan can ventilate up to 1350 square feet and lower the attic temperature so your air conditioning won’t have to run as long to cool your home. The Solar Powered Attic Fan qualifies for 30% Federal Tax Credit with many other local utility and municipality rebates available. Reduce attic heat build-up – 43% of air conditioning design load is based on high attic temperatures. Lowering attic temperature lowers air conditioning use. Reduce damaging moisture in your attic – 28 gallons of moisture is typically added to your attic space throughout the winter. Attic moisture causes mold and mildew growth and can cause attic insulation to lose its effectiveness. The Solar Controller with Dual Mode technology allows you to monitor your attic fan’s operating status, attic temperature and attic humidity. The addition of the Solar Controller enables your Solar Powered Attic Fan to run intermittently after sunset, or when there is no light available from the sun. This will allow your attic temperature to continuously drop after sunset and help remove the hot, stagnant air that can build up on those warm summer evenings. The annual operating cost of the using the Solar Controller connected to house power is about $2 a year.  As an upgraded electronic thermostat and humidistat, the Solar Controller also allows you to take control of your Solar Attic Fan’s thermal switch remotely with the hand-held remote control. The Solar Powered Attic Fan qualifies for a 30% Federal Tax Credit with many local utility and municipality rebates also available. The Solar Powered Attic fan is easy to install – less than 2 hours for the typical DIY’er. No electrician, permits or inspections required. National network of U.S. Sunlight preferred certified installers available, call 1-866-446-0966. Benefits: Reduces attic heat buildup in the summer – reducing air conditioning usage Reduces attic moisture in the winter – reducing mold and mildew growth Reduces ice damming Helps create a balanced, more energy efficient home Extremely quiet – no harmonic hum typical of electric powered fans No electrician, permits or inspections required Extends the life of common asphalt shingles – extends roof life up to 10% Quick return on investment – 30% Federal Tax Credit, local utility rebates and extended roof life Features: Solar Controller displays fan status, attic temperature and humidity on the hand-held remote. Severe weather tested to withstand winds over 150 mph – received Florida Product Approval and approval from the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI). Monitors attic conditions and utilizes solar power or house electricity to optimize the run-time of the fan in order to remove the excessive heat or moisture Commercial grade, hail resistant 10-watt solar panel can be rotated and tilted to capture the maximum energy available from the sun Ventilates up to 1350 sq. ft. Oversized heavy gauge flashing designed for leak-proof installation Impact & ultraviolet light resistant engineered ABS shroud resists fading, denting and rusting Galvanized & powder coated metal components resist rust Attractive black powder coating blends in with any roof color High output 38 volt motor Limited 1-year warranty on Solar Controller Limited 5-year warranty on motor Limited 20-year warranty on solar panel & housing Model: 1010TRS
Average Customer Rating:
3.731 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
(out of 67 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
13
47 of 67(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Review 1 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Desert Ca
Date:November 13, 2012

incredible product

Pros: solar and hard wired hybrid system.
Cons: none
Model Number: 1010tr
"900 sq ft house originally had gable vents (which are almost useless) blocked vents,added 253 sq" of under eave intake ventilation plus the 14" diameter attic fan to give me 407sq" total intake and exhaust attic venitaltion using 300 sq" per 1000 sq' as a rule. During a 125 degree summer day attic would get over 200 degrees comp shingles curled, thermostat inside house set at 78 constantly ran and would not get below 82. Now during same 125 degree day attic max temp 142, thermostat cycles off in the house now plus feels much more comfortable no need for fans anymore, electric bill down $170.00 a month from same month previous year, very comparable temps. If vented properly this is the only way to effectively exchange attic air and have a properly ventilated attic. Most significant gain came from hard wiring it after 2 weeks of just solar, allowing it to run after sun goes down allows for latent heat removal which made all the difference in the world."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Olmsted, Ohio
Date:August 26, 2011

An Engineer's Opinion for the Layman

Pros: excellent construction and finish, very easy to install, very easy to adjust the solar panel, power management worked as advertised, solar panel generated enough power to run the fan, fan is silent, the handheld remote indicator has 70 ft range, easy to reach live customer support, reasonably priced (in my opinion), excellent instructions
Cons: cooling capacity maybe up to 1000 sq ft only
Model Number: 1010TRS
"Not quite as advertised but very good product none-the-less. An ideal one-man do-it-yourself project that could be completed within a 30 minutes for those replacing an existing powered attic / roof vent. Lifting the attic fan to the roof would be easier with help from another person. I did ALL the work by myself. I am a retired professional engineer, almost 70, less than 5'-4" and 140 #. I replaced the 18 year old powered attic vent, hence, did not have to locate and cut the hole on the roof.
However, contrary to claim written on the box, I doubt it is sufficient to cool 1,350 sq. ft of attic space. The dimensions of my attic is 29 x29 ft or 840 sq. ft. The unit was not able to keep the attic temperature below 125 degree F. during the day when the ambient temperature was 98 degrees. On the plus side, The attic temperature drop to the ambient within 90 minutes after sunset.
Suggestion: Make sure the wire is properly connected: "Red-to-Red" and "Black-to-Black" or solar panel will not work. Secure the spade connector with electrical tape AND loop the wire and use extra tie-band to secure the connection. Secure the extra cables to prevent the weight of the cable from pulling the connections apart."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:July 3, 2011

Good solid purchase

Pros: quiet dual power
Model Number: 1010 tr with solar controller
"Old electric fans went bad so I decided to look into solar option. These are far cheaper, only because of Costco, than other viewed (most $150-200 more per fan). Also others don t have dual mode so once sun goes down or on cloudy humid days they will not work. The only thing I wish is that it did not only work for just 8 minutes every 30 on electric power. Don t understand that but it seems from other reviews that solar controller is "upgradable" therefore maybe company will change this. One other recommendation is to find a contractor before you purchase these. I have a very high pitch on my roof and was not getting up there myself but could not find an AC company that would get up there either! So I tried roofers however since they will not make anything on selling me the fan, and the job to install is only around $125-200, most were not interested. I thought we were in a recession and people needed business. I guess I was wrong! Anyway I finally got installed and fans are working perfectly keeping temp within 15-20 degrees of outside temp (knock on wood)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:June 25, 2011

Company not being truthful about problems

Pros: great idea to vent without ac power
Cons: technology not tested enough
"I have two of these units and was one of the first to bring to their attention that the unit was sending unwarranted " failure" codes and shutting the system down. Unless you are someone who checks the remote status several times a day or goes in your attic most people would have no idea that the fans were not operational. Worst of all it has taken me two months and numerous phone calls to get a resolution to this issue. US Sunlight released this product way to early without proper quaiity control testing. They say now that they have updated the software to correct the issue yet knowing that this is a known issue they have not issued any kind of recall or reached out through perhaps Costco to let people know how to get their controllers swapped out instead they want you to call them and even then you are on your own to get it swapped out. I have Contacted Costco customer service about this issue as I do not believe customers who have already purchased these units are being properly treated. There should be a recall on these units. It is the companies fault for not having enough proper testing in the field in all regions of the country I have two fans and on a 100 degree day my attic still reaches 125-130 degrees."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 20, 2011

Work great in first month...

Cons: reset system so often
Model Number: The Solar Powered Attic Fan #1010TRS
"I installed 2 solar powered attic fans about 1 month ago. They run good for 3 weeks, then the first fan failed. It says "failure" on the remote. House power connected but fan does not run. I called U.S. Sunlight customer service, the technician told me that there were several people have called in with the same problem of contol failure. He told me to go up the attic to disconnect all the wires, wait a few minutes before reconnect the wires again(as did the first time) to reset the system.
It is too much trouble just to go back up the attic to reset the system every time it failed. The attic is not easy to get up to. You know the attic has all insulation with lots of dust that need people to wear masks, flash light to see around in the attic, not fun to go up to the attic! That is a lot of inconvenience to go up there! That is for homes with handy man that could go up the attic to reset. How about homes that need professional installation? Each time the system fail, who would go up the attic to disconnect all the wires and reconnect them back to reset the system? Also, there are homes that have attics that is very hard to get to.
So, this problem is very inconvenience! Not acceptable!
How about when people go on vacation with nobody home to reset the system? besides, who would check the remote all the time to see if everything goes right or wrong.
Please, U.S. Sunlight fix this problem for good. We need reliable, trouble-free attic fan which doen't need system reset."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, AL
Date:March 23, 2011

Awesome Product and Cust Svc

Model Number: 1010TR
"I purchased this last year and installed it on my roof as a new install (no previous wind turbine) in less than an hour. It was simple and easy to install. The greatest part is that it has saved me money already on power bills and keeps the house noticeably cooler. Today it was 82 outside and I didn't even have to turn on the A/C. I will state that this is probably due to good insulation as well, but this product definitely kept the heat in the attic from causing the rest of the house to overheat."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:July 23, 2011

It Broke The First Month!!

Cons: extremely poor customer service, a unit that failed in less than a month
"We bought this fan and had it installed on 6/27/11 by a company recommended by the manufacturer (US Sunlight). Within less than a month, it failed to work. A call to the manufacturer yielded little to no assistance. He told us to go up in the attic and basically rewire the controller ... in 103 degree weather... even after I told him we are senior citizens!!! Finally, he agreed to send us a replacement controller via snail mail, arriving in a bought a week! I asked him to send it overnight and he said he'd ask "the higher ups" and would get back to us. We are still waiting to hear anything from the company -- either an e-mail or a phone call. Since this is not an item you can easily return to Costco, I would strongly recommend not buying this fan. I don't even know if the manufacturer has issued a work order yet to the installer! Don't buy this fan."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:The Florida Keys
Date:April 28, 2011

Good deal

Pros: quick start no waiting for a battery charge, sturdy low profile unobtrusive roof fan, quick shipping and price is right
Cons: can't control the force of the fan its what it is, strongly recommend roofer to install (cost)
"Florida sun started both fans out of the box! We have a frame attic and it gets extremely hot there, to the point that we cannot use it for storage even though we have the space. Our central ac ducts are in this hot attic as well. We hired roofing pro to install 2 fans just 2 days ago (roofing not our strong suit and we wanted to be waterproof). Roofer and his worker took 3 hours to cut holes, install and waterproof the 2 fans in the shingled hip roof.
Cannot positively say that we have reduced the cooling bill yet, but we can tell the temp difference of at least 10-15 degrees lower there in the hottest time of day. Do not have to wire anything for the fans to work, so for now the controls are off and fans are running anyway (at sunlight only of course). We can now wait for overcast, cooler day to do the wiring in the attic and that appears to be simple enough from the instructions. In our opinion, unless you already have power source in your attic (the fans do not run at night, moonlight not sufficient), we think it's a waste of energy to hardwire for night venting. Temps in the attic at night drop down to 70 and less degrees anyway, so it seems unnessecary to cool it down and pay for it, no real gain there.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:June 22, 2011

Seems underpowered; AC limiter puzzling

Pros: quiet, minimal electricity use
Cons: underpowered, only turns on infrequently when using electricty
"Had professional installation of two of these ($600 combined) a few days ago in my +/- 1,600 sf., medium-rise attic. Fans are extremely quiet, but seemingly at the expense of fan speed. Attic temps still hitting 105 degrees on high-80 degree outside days. My best guess is that the two fans combined lower the attic temperature by a few degrees -- maybe 5 or 6.
After one day of use on solar power only, I plugged them into ac outlets. It seems that having the ac hookup helps the units to kick on (still showing solar power on controller though) when its cloudy, as the units were turning off frequently when cloudy before I plugged them in.
Most perplexing, though, is the controller's limitation of electricity use. The company markets that the fan only uses $5/year in electricity when plugged in, but that's quite misleading. The way the fan accomplishes this is by only turning on for 8 minutes per half hour when ac powered, and shutting off completely after 12-hours of non-solar use. Consequently, on very overcast days or near/after sunset, the fan is only on for 16-minutes per hour, dramatically slowing the speed at which the attic cools back down to night-time temperatures. There doesn't seem to be anyway to adjust this setting, which is incredibly frustrating.
Since the fans are already installed, I'll leave them in, but had I known this limitation, I almost certainly would have just gone with electric-powered attics fans in the first place."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:June 30, 2011

Seems good, but lacking

Pros: some measure of cooling, can monitor operation and effictiveness
Cons: not enough cooling, fan doesn't run long enough on house power.
"I remember when this was first installed, I could almost feel like a breeze in the attic. Several months later, the fan doesn't seem to spin as fast and the airflow seems to have decreased dramatically.
Just recently I was excited to see the controller that would enable the fan to run on house power. I had decided early on that this was a serious limitation to having just the fan alone. I purchased it and installed it since I am a handyman. The installation was quite easy and it worked as it should. However, I was very disappointed to see the software limitation of running the fan only twice an hour for max 6 hours and for only 8 minutes when it runs on house power. So keep in mind that this is a controller with a fixed program. One that seems highly inadequate. And it is proving to be just that since I've been monitoring the temp change at night when the controller's software is running. The outside temp can be 82 degrees and the attic stays well over 90, mostly in the mid 90s. Of course by the end of the 6 hour period, the outside temp has dropped even further and the attic temp never catches up. The greatest change occurs overnight after the fan is no longer running (past 6 hours) and the outside temp drops into the low 70s. I wrote to the manufacturer, but did not receive a response. Disappointing x2 to say the least.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:March 22, 2012

Love it!!!

Pros: very quiet operation, set it and forget it, nice to monitor attic temperature and humidity
Model Number: 1010TR
"Had a roofer friend help me install and replace a passive vent. As per the youtube video instructions, installation went smooth and in about 30 min. we were done. The only thing I would amend on the video instructions is that the installer shows the fan's round body pushed all the way to the shingles. Instead, cut the shingles around about 1/2" so the water can drain freely and there is no ice buildup in the winter.
Wire installation is fool-proof, but you HAVE to follow the wire connection instructions closely, otherwise you might have issue with the controller.
Had it on for for a week now and it is so quiet you can barely hear it running, even in close proximity.
Not to mention the added bonus of using the remote to check its functioning, attic temperature and humidity.
Great product, I would buy again without hesitation.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chantilly, VA
Date:October 1, 2011

Worst attic fan

"i bought 2 attic fans and both fans do not work you will start getting "failure" error message on the remote control. To fix this requires disconnecting the power port on the master control and disconnecting the 2 wired connection for 30 seconds.
in the span of 1 month, i had to reset the master control 3 times. this is totally unacceptable as I have to climb up to the attic.
i would return the product in a heart-beat however i have already paid a contractor to install both fans SO i am stuck with these fans which displays the "failure" message. similar to MS Windows "blue screen of death""
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:July 2, 2011

Good Concept - Poor Design

Model Number: 1010TR
"Purchased 2 fans last year. This year I purchased solar controllers in order to vent after sun goes down. Controller is good concept but poor design. Constantly get "Failure" codes. No easy way to reset. Some reviewers indicate they have updated program in controllers. If so why have they not recalled them for replacement?
And even when working, product does not keep atic temps close to outside temperature."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2011

1st major disappointment for a costco product

Cons: fan failure
Model Number: 1010TR
"We are having fan failures. This is not a product you want to find out about its unreliability after it is installed. This is a major inconvenience since resetting is not something that can be done on the remote.
I am posting a review to make sure people are aware of an unfortunate defect with this product. If this is not something that can be resolved permanently, it will have to go back."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2011

Poor design

Pros: fan itself seems ok
Cons: read above for a list
Model Number: 1010TRS
"10 watt solar panel is underpowered. Voltage out was around 6 vdc, the fan was barely spinning. I also received "Failure" alarms on the remote. No reason could be found. The attic was not cooled to within 10 F of outside temperature, it just is not powerful enough. The remote loses communication to the controller frequently."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area california
Date:June 9, 2012

Great Idea but Poor Results

Pros: vents the attic intermittently
Cons: faulty wiring, expensive to fix, the fan control, unit is less than a year old, you can't simply replace broken parts
Model Number: YSH-SC10R
"So we thought this was a great idea and installed one in our house. It was not easy or cheap to install as we have a very steep pitched roof and no access to the attic crawl space. Anyway the fan/control wiring is subject to failure and does, We have had a pro fix it four times in less than a year and it stopped working again. Each time the wiring had to be removed and re-inserted. This time the Fan will not work at all!
It would be better if the control unit had advance options other than "failure."
The 3 channel option serves next to no purpose.
The unit has worked less than a 1/4 of the time in service and has cost us three times more to repair, than the units initial cost, you do the math...
If you already have one, push the status button once a month to see if it has failed.
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:May 13, 2011

Every house should have one

Pros: silent opperation, handy remote to monitor multiple fans, good quality fan and solar cells, easy installation, moveable solar panel
"After living in the Houston heat for 16 years, I have been looking for a powered fan that can reduce the heat trapped in the attic. The idea of using solar always attracted me but I never found a unit that I felt was cost effective ard well built enough for my standards.
When Costco started carrying these solar fans I knew that I could give it a shot because of their great return policy and their high standards for quality. I also really liked the solar controller that allows you to monitor both humidity and temperature in the attic.
It was shipped to my house and was easy to unbox. I have had some roofing experience so was able to install the unit in less than an hour. It started working immediately and was moving quite a bit of air. Using the remote, I was able to watch the temperature throughout the day. I didn't realize how much I would like this feature. It is also nice to see when the unit is running on solar or house power.
I like the unit so much I purchased a second one and mounted it near the other. Using one remote, I can monitor both units. This helps move more air and has reduced the attic temperature a great deal.
It will be years until I would recoup the cost of the units through lower power bills, however, I hope that keeping the attic (where my water heater and AC system are located) cooler will increase the longevity of these major house systems.
Overall, I'm very pleased with these units and would recommend them to anyone."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tustin, CA
Date:June 24, 2011

BAD customer service

"I purchase this online, and when it arrived, I have question about the product before I install it, so I called customer service, it asked me the left message (during business hour that I called) and never call back. then I emailed to their support, never reply back. So I returned it Costco warehouse without even open it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mission Viejo CA
Date:May 14, 2011
Pros: solar & power, controller
Cons: mounting screws
"Being a hybrid, solar & power makes this a very useful product. The power allows the home to quickly cool down after sunset. I purchased two units from the local Costco store and installed them myself. They have a video showing easy instillation on their web site. Unit included a cardboard cutout template which was nice. The only difficult part was to remove nails that were under the shingles in order to slide the units flashing under the shingles. ALSO, the two screws they provide are poor quality. Have your own screws available. Not too hard and works great."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Solar Powered Attic Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boring, OR
Date:September 27, 2012

Horrible customer service

"Its a nice idea but the solar part just doesn't work. After we had it professionally installed it and called customer service 4 times we still could not get it to run on solar power (in full sun 90 degree day). They kept telling us to reconnect the wiring in a certain order. I called them the 4th time from the attic (130 degrees) and then she finally decided it might be the control box because the solar would power the box but not the fan. But we would need return the whole thing to get a replacement. Hiring roofers to remove it and leave a big hole in my roof for weeks wasn't really an option so we just hired an electrician to install an outlet in the attic. Now I notice they have a new "professional" series model which may have a better control box"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>