Customer Reviews for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube

Streamlined low profile roof dome brings in natural sunlight while enhancing your roofline and home's curb appeal. The Skylight Tube from U.S. Sunlight adds clean natural light to any room in your house while also enhancing the appearance of your roofline. With our revolutionary new square dome design, you are no longer restricted to "hiding" traditional round bubble tube lights in the backside of your house—show off your upgraded roof appearance with our attractive and functional Skylight Tube.  With the included 8 feet flexible tube, tunnel light into hard-to-reach areas of your home.    More Information Benefits: Captures light above your roof and tunnels it to just about any location in your house Double-paned leakproof design provides clean, bright sunlight with the peace of mind that your roof, attic and ceiling will remain protected Natural light enhances mood, mental and physical well-being, concentration, and overall energy Natural light is easy on the eyes and enhances the appeal and decor of any room in your house No reframing or major structural alterations are necessary to install the Skylight Tube. An installation professional should be able to install the product in about two hours and a do-it-yourselfer in an afternoon Qualifies for 10% Federal Tax Credit Features: Stylish square low profile roof lens is an industry first and redefines style in the tubular skylight market One-piece, sleek, roof lens flashing blends with any roof type and is a visually stunning improvement over traditional dome-shaped tube lights High impact-resistant, double-pane polycarbonate roof lens is 250 times stronger than acrylic Double layer roof lens creates a dual pane effect minimizing solar heat gain and maximizing energy savings Integrated roof flashing with flexible tube allows for easy installation by professionals and DIY'ers Extended 8 ft. flexible tube allows the Skylight Tube to be installed just about anywhere Model: 2014ST
Average Customer Rating:
3.913 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
4
16 of 23(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Review 1 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:June 3, 2012

My new favorite skylights

Model Number: 2014ST
"A month ago, I decided to add 3 more skylights to my home. I was a little hesitant to install flex tube lights (vs rigid) but decided to go ahead anyway. I have 2 existing bright dome velux 14" rigid tubes skylights so I can give you a good comparison.
Brightness:
Note that domes have the advantage of being higher and capturing more light. To my surprise, the low profile 2014ST actually captures lots of light as well. All in all, I'd say the dome lights are brighter but not by much. The best comparison I can give is dome lights (because of Diffuser?) are more like bright white florescent lights and the 2014ST gives out a nice warm light. Although not as bright, I definitely prefer the quality of light from the 2014ST.
Flex vs Rigid:
Per my comment above, was originally a concern but the difference is not much. The rigid tubes are more expensive and is harder to install.
Aesthetic Appeal:
The dome sticks out of my roof and it is not very appealing. The 2014ST on the other hand is low profile and not intrusive. I prefer the 2014ST.
Misc:
I also purchase the additional light kit for the 2014ST. It is great to have 2 light sources from one fixture in the ceiling.
The contracted installer for the Sunnyvale area was super great! I would recommend his team to anyone who is looking to install the 2014ST.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 10, 2012

Excellent Product!!

Pros: low profile design
"We installed this for our walk-in closet, I still forget I don't have to turn OFF the light when I leave! Love it so much we are adding them to our bathroom and hallway. No sense in turning on lights in the daytime. And we can install them anywhere because they look good from the outside too!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:April 15, 2012

Great product

"This is a great product! It lets in just the right amount of light for its size. It's gives off a soft glow and brought light to what used to be a dark hallway [that was not accessible by conventional skylights]. I was concerned that a skylight would allow excess heat in during the summer and let heat out during the winter but that hasn't been a problem at all [maybe due to the opaque dome?] And I love the way it looks...on the inside and on the roof. I'm getting two more!"
Review 4 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:April 5, 2012

Substandard Product

Pros: low profile
Cons: very weak light
"This is my second Sun Tunnel product and I selected this over the Velux because of the low profile roof dome. I have this in a small bathroom with no window. Provides enough light to go in during a sunny day without electric lighting. Just does not provide the light the Velux did. I think the corrugated tube and frosted diffuser are the difference. The Velux tube is solid tubing with a mirrored type of lining that helped to reflect the sunlight. These are expensive products to have to deal with a substandard product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:February 9, 2012

not much light at all

Pros: looks nice on my roof
Cons: not bright, useless, design defect, leaking light in attic
"we have the US sunlight corp recommended contractor installed for us in San Jose, CA area. You would think that would bring in lots of sunlight into my kitchen, but it is not! Like the previous review, it is barely bright at all. I still need to turn on electronic light even in a sunny day. And the product picture is also very misleading.
Compare to another sun tunnel we had, it is just a joke, although my comparison is not very fair. The previous sun tunnel was a different model and was installed on the southern slope of the roof. This model my contractor installed on the northern slope of the roof. It probably partly explained its poor performance. I also went up the attic and compared these two models. The tube of this model actually is very bright in attic (which we don't want to see) and I can't see any lights coming out in another model. That's probably a design defect because it is leaking all the lights out in the attic.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2011

Promises a lot but delivers little!

Pros: good instructions and install videos
Cons: not enough light.
"The online videos and brochures make it sound like this light will brighten up your dark room.
In reality, it is more like a night light even at noon in bright sunlight. That is with a vertical run of the flex tube from the roof to ceiling.
Would not buy this again.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Benicia, CA
Date:November 2, 2011

Excellent product!

Model Number: 2014ST
"We just had 3 tubular skylights installed. They look great and provide just the right amount of light. The installer was also fantastic!! We highly recommend this product!!"
Review 8 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Des Moines, IA
Date:October 4, 2011

Excellent product

Pros: high quality materials, easy to install
Cons: none
"Bought this over a month ago and finally got the courage to install it this weekend. It was actually very easy. The shingling was a bit tricky on my roof because of dual layers of shingles, but all went great. Total time to install was about 3 hours. Seems to be great quality and really brightens up a dark spot in my kitchen. Love it. Planning on adding the light kit to it as well."
Review 9 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Leandro, CA
Date:September 3, 2011

Best Customer Service-Ever

Pros: fantastic customer service
Model Number: 2014St and Solar Fan
"I bought this solar fan and the Skylight Tube in the Costco Warehouse. The solar fan installation took me about an hour because I already had a smaller cutout for an attic fan. The solar fan pretty much runs all day and I have tape affixed to the outlet so that I can see the exhaust. I must admit that I had an issue with the Skylight Tube after installation and contacted their Customer Service about it. They had another one at my front door in 3 days, along with follow-up calls and an installation offer. Mike and his son Shane were two of the nicest people I have ever met. They installed the unit with accuracy and professionalism, despite my 3-year-old running all over the house. The unit is perfect in our living room (looks like a light is on) and we are very happy now. I can not say enough about U.S. Sunlight Corp. and their customer service. They really made it right for us and we will always looks for their products again as needed. Thank you."
Review 10 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Blackfoot, Idaho
Date:August 25, 2011

See the Light!

Pros: easy to install
Model Number: Skylight Tube
"I bought 2 of these as we were replacing the shingles on the roof & I thought now would be a good time. They really add the light!! I keep thinking the light needs to be turned off, they light up 2 previously dark corners of my living room. I can set the ironing board underneath to do ironing, no more light needed. I REALLY like the fact the instructions were in only ONE language, I didn't need to go through a bunch of pages to find what I needed. Thanks"
Review 11 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Date:August 19, 2011

Poor Light

"We put 2 of these in hoping to gain some additional sunlight, with the required labor involved you would be better off installing a skylight. They do let in 'some' light, but it is marginal at best-"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Concord, CA
Date:July 27, 2011

Great buy, I am getting another one.

"I love this product because it makes the area brighter and lets the moon light in. The install crew was great, very nice and professional."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Aloha Oregon
Date:July 9, 2011

worst solar ..

Pros: not worst it, not worst it.
Model Number: Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
"yes & great price and it's easy to install but i regret .. real regret install additional 4 with this kind of solar tube.
only bring a little light. compare to Tubular skylight brand i used in the past.
I plan to remove them and install with Tubular Skylight.
"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2011

Great product, great installation crew

"We ordered 2 skylight tubes and 2 solar fans, one for the attic and the other for the garage. The installation crew (2 guys) arrived on time and took the amount of time quoted to do the installation. They were professional, friendly and cleaned up after they were done. I would definitely recommend their work, as well as the products that we had installed."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2011

Better than we'd hoped for!

Pros: great price, easy to install, brighter than we expected
Cons: once you buy one - you will want more!
"We purchased this skylight to add light to a bathroom that has no window. This bathroom was the one "black hole" off our hallway - it was awful. This light is MUCH brighter than we expected it to be.
If you see reviews that this light isn't bright enough, I would question if the owner installed this 15" light into a room that would be better served by two separate lights. I live in the Pacific Northwest, and even on very cloudy/rainy days, this skylight pulls a LOT of light into the room."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:maryland
Date:May 31, 2011

mr

Pros: you ned 14in for it to work
Cons: 14 in
Model Number: Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
"it toke a bout 2 1/12 hrs to put it in and it brings in a lot of light it looks like the sun is in the stare well very nice"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Hillsbor, Oregon
Date:May 31, 2011

Not so good coparing to the other solar tubes Cost

Pros: easy to install, nice desgn
Cons: the tubes is flimsy not strong not much light get
"I bought this one before I put in a new roof. I thought it is very easy to install why not add one more. I have added 6 other solar tubes which they work great, it is like you have a 5 lights on at the same time. This one next to the other solar tubes not so good...it is like having a 60 watts light vs 500 watts light."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:May 24, 2011

Super Product

"This Skylight was great for a number of reason. Super price - really easy installation - fast delivery. But best of all is that it provides far more light than I had even hoped for."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:April 29, 2011

Love My Skylight Tubes

Pros: directional lighting
"This lights up the area I want to light. Great for Baths, Halls and Laundry rooms. I put one in my master bedroom hallway and it lights that area up and doesn't light the whole room. Install was clean and quick. I added three attic fans as well. Free Light and Free solar ventilation!"
Review 20 for Skylight 8 ft. Flexible Tube
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:April 15, 2011

Finally someone got rid of the bubble!

Pros: easy to install, adds so much light
"I have a traditional home and was concerned about putting a suntube on my roof because the bubble sticks out like a sore thumb! This flat sun tube is great looking on the roof, was easy to install and makes my walkin closet feel like the light is on all the time! Exactly what I was looking for! The best part is the price was right!"
1 2 next>>