Customer Reviews for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety

3.5” LCD Color Monitor, 120° CMD Camera with Night Vision, Waterproof IP67 Rating, Easy Installation
Average Customer Rating:
3.409 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
(out of 22 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
16 of 22(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Review 1 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alameda, CA
Date:August 22, 2011

Back Up!

Pros: looks like it should work well.
Cons: can't tell if it works because it doesn't yet.
"The last two words say Easy Installation. Not true! The instructions on this product are useless. If you haven't installed things on your car, don't buy this product.
They don't tell you where they recommend you install the camera on the back of the car. They don't say which was is up on the camera - they think you'll be able to figure it out. It's only because I've installed things on my other cars that I was able to figure these things out. Even so, if I were to do it again, I would probably pay someone to do it and then the price seems high for the product.
By the way, it doesn't work and I'm not sure what is wrong. I've traced the power to the monitor and the camera and they both should work, but when I turn on the car and put it in reverse, nothing happens.
I don't really want to return it to Costco and get my money back - I'd rather have a unit that works. I'll be contacting the company to ask for help."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:August 16, 2011

Works Amazingly Well

Pros: the price is outstanding., functionality is very good.
Cons: i wish it were wireless., i wish it had a calibrated distance marker.
Model Number: RVS-770617N
"I have a 2005 Buick LeSabre and the mounting of the camera is pretty much hidden from general sight.The camera is mounted on the under frame of the car, tucked in below the bumper. A simple "L" bracket, inverted, supports the camera.
It works as advertised. The image is clear and has adequate wide coverage."
Review 3 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver, Coloroado
Date:August 15, 2011

Excellent Product for Clear View

Pros: excellent product, clarity and safety
Cons: better instructions
"We purchased the Backup Car 3.5", Camera with Night Vision and were amazed at the clarity of this camera. For added safety we felt that we needed to add this camera to our vehicle and are completely satisfied. Our son saw and installed the camera and he was absolutely amazed at the product and wanted one and we purchased one for him."
Review 4 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WILLIAMSBURG, VA
Date:August 15, 2011

POOR PRODUCT

Model Number: BACKUP CAMERA # 564464
"THE INSTRUCTIONS ARE ABSOLUTELY WORTHLESS. I BOUGHT TWO SYSTEMS AND NEITHER WOULD WORK. ASSISTANCE FROM TECH SUPPORT VARIED FROM POOR TO SATISFACTORY DEPENDING ON WHOM YOU TALKED TO."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wharton. NJ
Date:August 15, 2011

Good product for the money

Pros: price
Cons: instructions
"Just installed this product on my wife's Pathfinder. I wasn't THAT difficult, but definitely not easy. The hardest part on a SUV will be getting the wire from the back to the dashboard if you want it well hidden. The instructions were very basic, but it's not a complicated setup."
Review 6 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:August 12, 2011

Not for RAV-4

"The idea of a backup car camera system is good. Unfortunately, this model cannot be used with a Toyota RAV-4. The camera needs to be mounted on the bottom of the bumper--not acceptable. The monitor needs to be attached to the dashboard--if done, my vehicle would not pass inspection. I was disappointed to have to return the system, but it was just not compatible with my vehicle. Since I did not use it, I cannot recommend it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 1, 2011

Excellent Product Installed in RV

"I purchased this and installed in into my RV with no problems and am completely satisfied and happy with my purchase. First off the price cannot be beat. The camera is great with the 120 viewing angle in daylight and really impressive at night. The monitor is perfect, very bright and clear. There are two buttons; on/off and brightness. Nothing complicated. It just does what it is suppose to do perfectly. You do have to figure out how to mount it and run the wires, but if you are buying this, you should have an idea of what you would like. The wiring is simple. Red is positive, black is negative and the video cable plugs into the video cable."
Review 8 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2011

Works ok

Pros: cheap insurance against backup accident
"Instructions are confusing and need to be rewritten. Mine works OK but it took quite a while to install. The monitor is kinda flimsy. My main issue was the length of the vidio cable as I have a crew cab F250 and the cable isn't long enough to reach the camera from my dash, one more foot of cable would have made a big difference! To avoid constant on situation, power sources dependent on reverse gear must be found."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2011

defective display

Pros: hard wired system won't have radio interference
Cons: defective display
"After completely installing it I found out that the display wouldn't turn on. The power cable to the display connection had power. Tested power and ground wires, both were good. Camera fed signal on its wire to the display, the display just wouldn't power on. Now I have to return it and try again. At least I have everything set for a faster re-install."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:El Centro, CA.
Date:April 21, 2011

Best safety product ever!

Pros: will make hooking up to a trailer a snap.
Model Number: RVS-770617N
"Ordered several of RVS-770617N rear view camera systems with 3.5 LCD color monitor, 120 CMD camera all weather proof. Kit even includes the perfect size drill bit for the camera hole. Excellent high quality product that is easy to install. The monitor image in daylight is extremely sharp but the after dark view will blow you away - makes the dark turn into almost a day time view. Rear view mirror at night only shows lights this kit will show the area right behind the car that will not show in a mirror. Two contrast buttons on the side give brightness control. What a team - Costco and Rear View Safety Inc."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:April 15, 2011

Corrections on installation

Pros: very clear image.
Cons: small monitor and poor installation instructions., flimsy surface mount bracket
"Some revisions to gwindenver's (my previous) remarks. The information from Rearview Safety was incorrect. I do not know what the white pigtail is for, but the buttons on the side of the monitor are not volume controls. One (the one closest to the corner) is for turning the monitor on and off and the other is for screen brightness. The red sensor on the camera should either be at the top or bottom when installed. You can then orient the monitor to match. I connected into my left rear backup light wiring to power the camera and ran a pair of 18 guage wires from the right backup light wiring (along with the cable from the camera) to the monitor. That way both the camera and the monitor only come on when the transmission is placed in reverse. If your system does not come on once you have it installed, try turning the monitor on with the button closest to the corner of the monitor. Sorry for the previous bad information passed along from Rearview safety."
Review 12 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:April 14, 2011

Skimpy Installation Instruction

"It says easy installation but that is a total lie. It seemed pretty much impossible to install unless you are an expert at car wiring. There is only a very short little installation guide, but it doesn't help you identify which wires to attach it to, and it doesn't tell you how to attach it. I returned it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:April 14, 2011

Good camera, no instructions

Pros: camera quality good.
Cons: instructions useless monitor cheap., installer must have basic electrical knowledge.
Model Number: Rearview Safety
"The instruction manual served no purpose except to add weight to the box. With that said I installed the system over two nights, it could have been done in one but I got tired of being bit by mosquitoes. Night 1, the power cable for the monitor was too short to reach the fuse panel so I hooked it up to the accessory power cables and taped it neatly to the existing cable bundle going across the dash. I also ran the video cable to the back of the truck, tip insert the video cable inside flex conduit first. Night 2, spliced the power from the 7 pin trailer harness and hooked up the camera the hole saw with the perfect size, connected everything and tested it. The image from the camera is great, monitor is very cheap quality. I may try and hook this up to a rearview mirror monitor later. Don't do this yourself if you don't understand vehicle electrical and can't work neatly otherwise you can short out your electrical system and damage your vehicle."
Review 14 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2011

ok system for the price

Pros: low cost, it does work
Cons: 120 degrees is not wide angle enough, very poor quality stand for the monitor
"The instructions were very lacking, but the system does work. It is worth the $60'ish that Costco sold it for. 120 degrees really is not enough for a backup camera. The monitor itself is clear enough, but the stand is very flimsy."
Review 15 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:IL
Date:April 13, 2011

good product

"The product works very well. The instructions are pathetic!! Both the camera and the monitor have power and ground wires connected and the instructions refer only to the monitor power wires. Connect the red one to the Reverse gear fuse. MY mechanic wired the camera red wire to the the backup light and the monitor wire to a hot wire through a momentary switch. When I shift into reverse verything works as I hold down the switch."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:April 7, 2011

Some additional Info

Cons: instructions are poor.
"I have not installed the system yet. However I contacted Rear View Safety and found out some things you may need to know. The buttons on the side of the monitor are volume control and the white pigtail connection is for a microphone. Not applicable to this system yet. To orient the camera the reddish bulb should be at dead bottom center. The infrared lights only come on when it is dark. The reddish looking bulb is actually a light sensor. Contrary to the instructions, connecting the monitor to anything other than the back-up light wire (between the transmission and the actual backup lights) will result in the camera being ON whenever the ignition switch is on. You could install a switch in the power cord or plug it into an auxilliary 12V source and manually unplug it when not in use. I am not a pro and this is my opinion only."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West Mifflin, PA
Date:April 2, 2011

Inadequate Information Re: the Product

Pros: price seems reasonable
Cons: installtion could be very difficult
"Bravo to those who were able to install this camera and considered the installation easy! The installation instructions are not at all useful. For example, the monitor has two buttons on the side, but no info on the purpose of these buttons. There are three cables attached to the monitor, but you only use two and the instructions do not tell you which two to use--although it is fairly easily to figure this out. There are no suggestions or examples for connecting to power under the dash and at the rear of the vehicle or for running the video feed from the camera to the dash area. The kit provides a hole saw to cut a hole in the rear bumper (or other rear surface) to mount the camera. However, there are no devices to hold the camera in the hole--so please don't cut a hole and then try to figure out how to hold the camera in the hole. One device is provided to mount the camera under the vehicle. The underside of my Honda hybrid is sealed with various plastic plates, making access to potential wiring runs very difficult unless the car could be placed on a lift. I conclude that installation would be very difficult and returned the camera to Costco. My recommendation: Determine where you will get power to the camera, power to the monitor, mount the camera, and especially where you will run the video feed before buying."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2011

Caution

Pros: price, the clarity of the image is very good.
Cons: the installation instructions are not adequate.
"The video cable is only 15'. It is not long enough for a full size extended cab pickup. I had to buy a longer cable."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:March 27, 2011

Great Backup Camera System

Pros: clear image, fast camera activation
Cons: takes time to install
Model Number: Costco Item# 552587
"Great product and I am happy with it. I replaced an existing wireless reverse camera system that had malfunctioned. The installation took about three hours. An hour was for me to meticulously drill and tap two holes to mount the camera. I put it underneath the bumper of a Nissan Frontier. Another hour was to route the wires from the rear of the truck to the camera on the dash, and the final hour was to hook it all up and clean up.
The picture is far better than my previous camera system. I hooked it up to power from the wires running to the left rear backup light, so the camera only comes on in reverse. Also the picture is immediate with no delay. The objects in the camera appear quite clearly. Overall I am happy with the system.
At this price I bought a second system!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Backup Car Camera System by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, California
Date:February 13, 2011

Great Backup Camera System at a great price!

Pros: very inexpensive, relatively easy to install, 1 year warranty, hole drill bit works great!
Cons: no hardware included, monitor is a little small
Model Number: 552587
"I just purchased this camera system a couple of days ago for my wife's 1996 Isuzu Rodeo. The installation was very easy, although the installation instructions aren't all that great. There are 3 wires you need to run for the installation. The longest one with the yellow ends need to be run from the rear of the vehicle to the front. The backup camera connects to the rear connector. Then you need to connect the monitor to the front connector. You also need to run the 2 power harnesses, one for the rear (camera) and one for the front (monitor). To do this you need to find the backup wire at the tail-light and a ground for the camera, and then you need to find the backup wire and a ground near the fuse box in the front. Before you put all the trim back try it out first to make sure you tapped into the correct wires. The picture quality is fantastic, and the night vision camera works great day and night."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>