Customer Reviews for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater

Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater

The Presto® HeatDish® Plus parabolic electric heater uses a computer-designed parabolic reflector to focus heat, like a satellite dish concentrates TV signals, so it feels three times warmer than 1,500 watt heaters, yet uses a third less energy. Because it warms you directly, you feel the heat almost instantly without first heating the entire room. Features: Focuses heat where it's needed most...on you!   Keeps you toasty warm so there is no need to heat the entire room   Costs a third less to operate than 1500 watt heaters   Because it uses just 1000 watts, it can help save enough on electric bills to pay for itself in as little as one year   Handy top-mounted thermostatic control maintains the desired temperature automatically   Infinite Switch technology: provides a virtually infinite choice of heat settings, allowing you to select with precision the level of warmth desired   Red indicator light at base of heater tells you at a glance if the heater is plugged in   Warning buzzer sounds if the heater is jarred or tipped while the heating element is energized   Ideal for use in offices and workshops; keeps you warm even in chilly surroundings   Recessed handle allows you to easily carry the heater from room to room   120 volts AC, 1000 watts   UL listed   Dimensions: 18.5" H x 12" W x 16" L   Weight: 5.9 lbs.   1-year limited warranty. For product related questions please call Presto at 1-800-877-0441 Model: 07917
Average Customer Rating:
3.815 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
(out of 54 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
7
41 of 54(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Review 1 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2014

Great Heater!!!

Pros: inexpensive to maintain, heats really good, alarm system so you know if it's toppled over, lasts a long time, cats like to sit in front of it, heats up the whole house if put in basement
Cons: buzzer scares me really bad when goes of (lol), hard to clean, emits a light that can bother some if sleeping
"This was great! I found that people didn't like the alarm sound that it made when it was tilted or moved, it's just a safety thing. My cat got excited and knocked it over and when I ran downstairs I saw that it was knocked over, if there wasn't that alarm our house would have caught on fire (by the way, this is made to heat the house by a heated thing that practically a match, so it is very flammable)!
I also liked the fact that it ran on a low bill so I stuck it downstairs, pointing it toward upstairs, and it warms our house a lot if set on high. I really like it and it's comfy and quiet. It take some space, but it is actually worth it! We have had ours for 4-5 years or so and still going strong. I haven't even cleaned it yet (speaking of cleaning, we probably should clean it) It is hard to sleep with in the same room, because it emits a light, but other then that I see no flaws!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 22, 2013

Keeps you toasty warm

Pros: great heat output., feel heat from it even if across the room, has given exceptional service over multiple years, allows me to keep my heating bill lower
Cons: needs to be kept dust free to work properly., night light quit working., can't move the heater while its on without buzzing
Model Number: Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
"I have purchased two of these. The first quit working after a year or two (the buzzer kept going off); so I purchased a second one. After about two years I had the same problem with the second one, the warning buzzer sounding. This time I did a little research and read that this could happen if the parabolic dish was dusty. I checked mine and sure enough it was very dusty. It is kind of hard to clean but once clean it worked perfectly once more. I purchased these to defray heating costs of my house. (It was costing me a fortune to heat the entire house) The cost of the heater has more than paid for itself in lower heating costs. I use this while watching TV and find it keeps that room (12x14) comfy as long as the dish is pointed at me..(if the door is closed the entire room will eventually be warmed)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2014

Love it!

Pros: my electric bill dropped about 25%., 2 heated my 2200 sq ft home great!
"I love this heater. I have bought several because the ones I have bought only last a few years. The nice part about buying this product at Costco is that they will refund or exchange it no matter when I bought it."
Review 4 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:January 4, 2014

Good heat, but lasted 2 days

Pros: good heat
Cons: warning buzzer too sensitive, not durable, dish cleaning tool not included
"I got this to provide some heat in my insulated garage. This unit provides good heat, but after the first day of use the warning buzzer stays on constantly on even the lowest setting. I have cleaned the parabolic dish to the point where it would likely pass a white glove test, and the buzzer still goes off."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cedar Grove, WI
Date:December 18, 2013

So Quiet!

Pros: very light machine, quiet
Cons: cant relocate without alarm going off when on
"I love how quiet this heater is. You can set it close to your family room and it doesn't interfere with the TV or any conversation"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:February 17, 2014

Fantastic Heater!

"I don't write a lot of reviews, but this heater is so great I just had to do this one. I bought this because I'm 60 and my hands and feet just don't seem to be able to get warm this winter. I place this about 3 feet from my chair and I am in HEAVEN! It completely warms me in 3-5 minutes. It's just wonderful. I've had other space heaters and an oil heater and there's no comparison. This is worth every penny and then some. I'd pay double for how well this works. Highly recommended."
Review 7 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Langley, WA
Date:February 13, 2014

Good little heater... expensive electric bill

Pros: keeps you nice and warm
Cons: 1000 watts is to much on your energy bill
"I really do love this heater, it does it job and keeps the room nice and warm. Our cats also love it too and huddle around it. But it is very expensive to use. On an average we used this in our bedroom while we were sleeping. On an average use of 7 hrs per day 7 days a week my electric bill jumped up almost $30. With the cost of electric always changing I think we would benefit by adding another blanket to the bed rather than use this heater. I hate to see it go but it's just an energy hog."
Review 8 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Date:December 9, 2013

Poorly made / Buzzer Drives me NUTS!

Pros: if it would work properly the heat is good.
Cons: over heats on medium setting & sounds lout buzzer, can't use higher heat setting due to buzzer, expensive for something poorly made!
Model Number: Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
"I bought this at our local store a couple years ago and I wish I would have returned it, but never got around to it. Because of poor insulation or something, they darn thing thinks it's over heating on the medium setting and the buzzer goes off. They say to clean the dish of any dust which I have done and that does not fix the problem. I did a Google search about the buzzer problem and I am not the only one. Too much to spend on something that did not work properly the day I took it out of the box. If Costco would take it back I would return it tomorrow!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento
Date:February 18, 2014

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: warms instantly, heats you rather that the air
Model Number: 0791708
"We bought this heater for our bathroom. It heats the area so quick and we can use the low setting and it still warms the whole area. We like this better than the radiant heater that we have."
Review 10 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2014

A good product

Pros: controlled and targeted heat, reduces the cost to stay warm
"The Presto Heat Dish is very good at concentrating heat to a specific spot. It allows a person to stay warm without heating the entire room/house."
Review 11 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2012

Works great, but dies too soon!

Pros: produces a very toasty enjoyable heat!
Cons: inferior parts that fail after a year or two!
"I've owned two similar models of this product, both bought at Costco. The switch burned out on the first one after about a year and a half. The second one just died on me--the light works, but nothing else. I've had it about two years.
Neither unit was used improperly or handled roughly.
I love the way these heaters work. I'll probably buy another one, but I really wish Presto would use better parts so they would last longer. I'd pay more for an improved product."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:January 7, 2014

Pretty good little heater

Pros: it works
Cons: can't think of any
"My home office is pretty drafty, so with this year's nasty Chicago winter, I needed to get a small heater. I'd bought a couple others, and wound up returning them when they stopped working after a couple days.
This one's pretty decent. No, it won't heat a huge room; my office is about 100 sq ft, so that's not a problem. Initially, you do have to be directly in line with it to feel the heat; after a while, though, I can tell the room is a good bit warmer than when I turned the heater on. Yes, there's a buzz, but it's not loud, and I don't find it annoying. And, yes, I do have to keep it dusted, but I've developed a workable technique with a Swiffer duster, so I'm happy.
It does the job I expected it to do."
Review 13 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Quincy,CA
Date:December 8, 2011

love costco"s heater

Pros: heats up fast, cost effictive in all areas
"I have 2 of these heater 1 is going on 2yrs now the other almost a year . They put out wonderful heat. infact this winter they are all we are using as of right now for heat. We heat with dieseal and the price is hitting the roof. So 1 is at one end of the home and the other @ the other end. And Our house doesn"t get under 62 @ night.( And that's after were in bed late late night) If you get real cold just stand in front of it for about 5 sec and you will be burnt I promise.(Thats the only thing wrong with it it doesn't give you a suntan -haha) My electric bill doesn't even go up with these heathers, and that's awsome. And yes when it's moved they will make a loud noise, it's there for a reason. it's real easy , turn it off, move it and turn it back on. You'll never know it went off it heats up that fast. I rather it make a loud noise then have my house burn down any day! Thanks Costco for another wonderful product--- The only con to this heater is that you need to keep the dust out of the center coils to make it last longer and ruin properly so I wish the grids where a little wider to fit my vacuum nozzle though. Although the swifter does work pretty good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern Oregon Coast
Date:January 24, 2012

Excellent for the price

Pros: quiet
"I have had this heater for 3-4 years and I think it's wonderful. I hear the complaints about how it doesn't heat the air around you, but the selling point for me was when I was walking down an aisle at Costco and could feel a blast of air coming from somewhere..and lo and behold, it was one of these heaters warming the area. I bought one on sight and have been very happy with it. I love to turn it on before I get in the shower in the winter. You step out into cozy warm air... I also use it when I read in bed at night and don't need the entire house heated. Very cozy and comfortable. I would recomment it highly."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2014

My pets love it!

Pros: best purchase ever
Cons: none
"I bought this 10 years ago at Costco and it works like new. Very economical. We keep it on low for our pets and they ask for it to be turned on every morning in the winter. The grill is cool so no burned paws or fingers."
Review 16 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014

Love it

Pros: warms small areas wonderfully
Cons: impossible to clean as the the cage cannot be rem
"Love this heater and we move it around - warms bathroom in AM when we are showering, to our breakfast area to our office. LOVE it - only downside and why I rated it "one less star" is it is impossible to clean as the the cage cannot be removed for cleaning"
Review 17 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Magalia, ca
Date:December 2, 2011

nice heat, bad circuits

Pros: cheap to run
Cons: burns out the sensor
"nice as a radiant heater, BUT, after 6 months the thermostat quit, and apparently the sensor in the plastic shroud behind the metal parabolic shield melted, so it never turns off. Because of this, you have to pull the plug to get it to turn off. I brought this up to the Chico Costco staff, and they said their demo did the same thing. I use this instead of heating with propane, and it increased my electric bill only $15 a month. Would have cost $100 on my propane central heater."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:October 21, 2013

Great for a Specific Application

Pros: intense focused heat
Cons: unnattractive
Model Number: 07917
"Great point source heater. Does what it claims, which is heats items in the path of the parabolic reflector. That being said, I find I can be quite a distance away, as long as it's pointing at me, and I feel the heat!
The loud noise other reviewers have commented on is a warning sound: if the unit is moved while in operation, or imbalanced, it will emit a loud buzz.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:December 29, 2013

Yes...But

Pros: cheap to operate, keeps my area warm, cat likes it no fan.
Cons: heat control fails, very difficult to clean dish, made in china
Model Number: 0791407
"Currently on my third Presto, unfortunately after about two years the heat control, including on/off fails. Also the dish must be cleaned and it is very difficult. I remove the guard, clean dish and crimp it back on. Now you ask why do I continue buying this product. I am cheap and it is economical to operate and keeps my area toasty."
Review 20 for Presto® HeatDish® Plus Parabolic Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 7, 2011

Not too happy with this heater

Pros: it will keep you warm.
Cons: only heats if it's facing you., even on low setting it gets too hot.
"It will definitely keep you warm if not too hot! What I don't like is that the heat doesn't circulate. It will only heat what it's facing. I want something that will heat a small room by circulating the heat. I will return this heater today."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>