Customer Reviews for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder

GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder

Added Value: 12-pack GoECOlife™ Lubricant Sheets*. High Security: Your best option for peace of mind. The micro-cut blades destroy your most sensitive documents into tiny 0.12” x 0.35” (3x9mm) unreadable particles. That’s the equivalent of a letter sized sheet of paper separated into over 2000 unreadable particles. The smaller cut size reduces waste volume so you empty the bin less often.    Powerful: The heavy-duty, commercial-grade motor offers a massive 20-sheets per pass shred capacity, while still allowing for up to a 20-minute continuous run time to handle your heaviest shred jobs. Also shreds credit cards, CD/DVDs. Space-saving: Compact and uniquely designed to fit under any standard height (27”) desk while featuring an ample 7.85 gallon, removable waste bin. Ergonomic: The only shredder of its kind features horizontal front-feeding for efficient shredding right from your seat. GoECO™ Energy-saving Technology: Virtually eliminates vampire energy waste. This machine will automatically power down if not used for 30 minutes – not just “asleep” but completely powered OFF. Carbon Neutral: Built with sustainability in mind, this shredder is a carbon neutral product certified as CarbonFree®* by Carbonfund.org. Ultra-quiet: Low noise level won’t disturb those around you. *This product is carbon neutral. It meets Carbonfund.org’s CarbonFree® Product Certification protocol which requires third-party life cycle assessment of the product’s carbon footprint, and carbon reductions in support of third-party validated renewable energy and reforestation projects. To learn more, visit www.carbonfund.org/products. Specifications:   Cut Type: Micro-Cut   Sheet Capacity: 20   Shred Size: 0.12” x 0.35” (3x9mm)   Speed (feet per min): 7.5   Continuous Run Time (min): 20   Auto Start/Stop: Yes   Auto Power Off: Yes, GoECO™ Energy-Saving Technology   Manual Reverse/Forward: Yes   Basket Capacity (gallons): 7.85   Throat Entry Width: 9" (230mm)   Shreds: Credit cards, CDs/DVDs   Auto Reverse: Yes   Overload Indicator: Yes   Overheat Indicator: Yes   Bin Full Indicator: Yes   Dimensions: 13.9"W x 17.5"D x 25.9"H; Weight: 44.5 lbs Warranty (product): 2 years   Warranty (cutter): 7 years Model: CM2000  
Average Customer Rating:
4.313 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 115
(out of 115 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (115 reviews)
5 stars
80
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
12
95 of 114(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Review 41 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Laguna Beach, CA
Date:January 16, 2012

Shredder

Pros: quiet, small shreds compact nicely
"My life was meaningless until I got this shredder!
Seriously, it's a great product and has exceeded my expectations. I've only had it for a few weeks -- my hope is that is that it continues to work without problems. So far, so good..."
Review 42 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pensacola,Fl
Date:January 18, 2012

Best shredder you will find

"I will keep my review short as others have gone to great detail.I have had numerous shredders of different sizes and cost some well over a $1000. and this is by far the best of all of them. If you want a quality product that will last for a long long time save your time looking and just buy it,"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa,AZ
Date:January 19, 2012

So far so good

"We have had so much trouble with shredders and I decided to finally get a good one. So far we couldn't be more impressed. Our first time shredding it took a fraction of the time and didn't make any mess at all. It is so nice to have the front load slot. The whole machine is nice looking and seems sturdy. If this lasts I will be extremely happy!"
Review 44 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gloucester, VA
Date:January 19, 2012

Works Great!

Pros: relatively quiet, very strong, storage compartment on top
Cons: expensive
Model Number: GMC205Pi
"This is the first "commercial" grade shredder we have owned and it works great. I can run junk mail through it without opening it (after removing any coins or metal). It chews up the paper into tiny pieces that I feel are much more secure than the shreds of our previous copier. It's a bit expensive but the quality shows."
Review 45 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2012

Slower than expected

Pros: tiny indecipherable pieces
"Nicely demolishes sheets into tiny pieces, not just strips. So far no issues with jamming. Thought the paper might "zip" through but it takes about 2 seconds."
Review 46 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2012

Great Shredder

"Nice design, easy to use, fairly quiet, and less dust than any other shredder I've owned. In addition to what appears to be excellent quality, this is a real plus! Great that it comes with cleaning/lubricating sheets too.
It says it can shred CDs and credit cards, but I think that's what caused my last shedder to die a quicker death. I'll probably not use it for that."
Review 47 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Delaware
Date:January 19, 2012

Excellent Shredder!!

Pros: excellent packaging for shipping, energy saver, quiet, heavy duty, includes lubricant sheets, includes cover
Cons: none
"When the shredder arrived, it was packaged very well, a box within a box. Solid shipping reinforcement. Within 3 minutes of unpacking, it was ready to use. Very heavy duty motor and very quiet compared to the shredder that it replaced. I love the micro cuttings. It says on the box "Commercial", I totally agree. I would highly recommend this to anyone who needs a quiet, high quality shredder!!!"
Review 48 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 23, 2012

Timely purchase

Pros: it is quiet during shredding use.
Cons: it seemed to get hot the first time i used it.
"The process of buying & receiving this shredder was easy. The hardest part was getting the machine out of the packaging. The shredder is actually quite small, considering what it is capable of doing. Plus it comes with a cover that keeps the dust at bay."
Review 49 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:January 23, 2012

Dissaspointing

Pros: good looking unit, good costco price!
Cons: very tall - check measurements b4 purchase, quality control?
"Based mainly on the multiple good reviews at Costco.com, I ordered the GoECOlife shredder. It was promptly delivered. The packaging was outstanding. Unfortunately, the shredder did not operate at all, due to a faulty safety switch for the waste bin. The company wasn't very cooperative in dealing with the issues, so I returned it to my local Costco. Dealing with returns at Costco is always a simple proceedure and done with the same friendliness as when purchases are made. I will continue to shop at Costco, but have purchased a shredder from a different manufacturer."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Matawan, NJ
Date:January 23, 2012

Does An Excellent Job

"It does an excellent job and is well built. The machine is very heavy and weighs in at over 70 lb. (even though it doesn't look like it weighs that much), but it has casters. The only issue was hauling it up to the second floor!"
Review 51 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:N. Augusta, SC
Date:January 24, 2012

Nicely Designed Durable Shredder

Pros: heavy duty - works well, attractive design
Cons: honestly cannot think of one.
Model Number: GMC 205Pi
"I shopped heavy-duty shredders pretty thoroughly & read many customer reviews of the products. I did not come across this brand anywhere else except for Costco; I am very glad I decided to look on Costco's website. This product (as you will see) did not have any negative feedback unlike all the others I read. I totally understand why because it is one heavy/sturdy machine, but it is actually attractive compared to others. I cannot imagine one can go wrong with this purchase. Plus, the price was in line or better than others within the same class that I researched."
Review 52 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrington, IL
Date:January 24, 2012

Good Value

"Excellent product, very well made and shreds docs into very small pieces. Does CD's also, but not plastic covers or plastic sheets in multiples."
Review 53 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Morro Bay, CA
Date:January 24, 2012

Works but a little noisy and slow

Pros: handles a lot of papers and does a great job
Cons: noise smell and a little slow.
"Saw this one in the on line ad and decided to give it a try. It shipped very fast and was involved to unpack two boxes and finally the shredder out of the inner box. Plugging in and put to work, the shredder slaved on with no issues but a bit smelly after running intermittently for a few mins so that will ned to be watched. It does a very good job and is easy to empty but will drop some of the shredded material through a bag hole on the back so you'll need to be careful you don't make a mess when emptying the container. The only issues are its slow operation and it is slightly noisy though not real bad. For light office work, fine but not sure I'd be confident with continuous operation. So far so good."
Review 54 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, KS
Date:January 25, 2012

impressive shredder

Pros: powerful!, quiet
Cons: expensive
Model Number: OMC205Pl
"I read a lot of reviews of several shredder before settling on this one. It was more expensive than I wanted to put out just to turn documents into confetti, but I also have gone through too many "cheaper" shredders to want to do it again. So far, (I've had it less than a month) it has more than lived up to its reputation. It has ground its way thru an entire bin of old investment statements, each one at least 20 pages thick, w/o so much as a hiccup. If it continues to function as well as it started out, it will have been well worth the (extra) money. And based on other reviewers of this product, it seems likely to do so. If not... well there's always that incredible Costco guarantee... :)"
Review 55 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:January 25, 2012

Not Quite Commercial

Pros: very powerful, energy efficient, nearly dustless
Cons: shreds clean paper only.
Model Number: GMC205Pi
"At first, disappointing.
Original unit received was a different model number than the one in the Costco catalog. Replacement unit was also.
Also, original unit had many shreds as long as 4".
Its own literature warns about staples and munliple paperclips.
Its feed rate is slow, which is made up by handling so many sheets at once. Its motor is very powerful and doesn't lug down when used as directed.
It came with a nice dust cover, but I don't know when I would ever use it..
The company's customer service is top notch. They replaced my original unit quickly, professionally, and paid for return shipment . Replacement unit works the way it was designed to.
Basket has lip on back of it that restricts emptying it. Although not advised, the basket will accomodate kitchen trash bag so emptying it is neat, clean, and complete.
This unit is not as industrial as the one I replaced with it, but it is everything I need.
I hope it lasts for the rest of my life.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:January 25, 2012

The best!

"This is the best shredder I have ever owned! I have had strip shredders, chop shredders, and confetti strip shredders. This is by far the finest shredder I have ever owned. It does it all, and is not noisy, doesn't labor with 20 sheets of paper, and shreds credit cards and data cd's! If you are looking for a shredder, look no further. This is the one that you want"
Review 57 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:January 31, 2012

Outstanding Shredder

Pros: extremely high security in shredding documents
Cons: emptying a full bin is a bit tricky
"This is simply an outstanding shredder. After my Fellowes cross-cut shredder gave up the ghost I found the GoECOlifeTM 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder - Item# 565467 at Costco.com. The reviews were uniformly more than positive ... everyone raved about their purchase. It happened to be on sale at the time, and tired of spending $90 or so on shredders of lesser quality, I plunged ahead and bought one. While the price was way more than I'd previously spent on a shredder, this baby was well worth it!
The shipping packaging is outstanding, is easy to open, remove and recycle, and it does a super job of protecting the product while in transit. One of the best Costco unboxing experiences I've had, given that Costco tends to "over package" most things.
With a commercial-grade motor, this shredder easily handles 20 sheets of 20# bond paper, light cardboard, and the like. I'm amazed at how quiet it is .... as compared to the fairly noisy Fellowes unit it replaced. It's only marginally larger, and with the feed slot on the end vice the top, it's way more convenient to use while sitting at your desk.
OK, the proof of the pudding is in the eating, so how does this thing "really" work? Let's put it this way, there ain't no way in Hades anyone's gonna reassemble anything you shred with this thing. This baby turns a solid sheet of paper into veritable "dust." The particles are tiny and this easily qualifies this shredder as a Level 4 security shredder.
Another nice feature of having such small shredding particles is you don't have to empty the bin as often. On the other hand, emptying the bin is a bit of a hassle due to it's size, volume and shape. You won't be able to just dump it into a paper grocery bag for recycling (which is what I typically do). You'll have to be extra careful not to dump the bin's contents on the floor. If you goof and that happens, get your vacuum cleaner out 'cause you're not gonna be picking up these tiny bits by hand.
Since this shredder is turning solid sheets of paper into veritable paper "dust," it runs a bit slower than a typical cross-cut or strip shredder. It's not terriblely slow, but it is slower because it's doing more. The trade-off for this is that it will easily handle up to 20 pages at a time, whereas most cross-cut and strip shredders are limited to 6-10 pages max capacity.
This gets us to run time. Most strip and cross-cut shredders with consumer motors will run for about 10 minutes continuously before overheating and shutting down. This GoECOLife shredder will run for around 20 minutes continuously before it starts to get overly warm. I've yet to experience a problem shredding several hundred pages at a time. The commercial-grade motor makes all the difference, and that equates to a longer useful life.
Overall I rate this shredder as outstanding, I'm very happy with my purchase, and it's highly unlikely I'll be needing to buy another shredder again. If you're on the fence about the relatively "high" price of this shredder, my experience suggests it's worth every penny. Once you've tried it you'll know first-hand why everyone rates it so highly. Plus, you'll feel confident that once you shred something .... it's securely gone for good."
Review 58 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naples, Fl
Date:February 1, 2012

Should have bought this long ago

Pros: really shredded output
Cons: don't know yet
"I have spent a lot over the years on cheap throw-away shredders. This one is so much better. The residue could never be put back together like you see sometimes on cop shows! It's great to be able to shred junk mail without even opening the letters, it handles much thicker amounts.
I've only had it a few weeks but I had a lot to get rid of so it's had a lot of use.
"
Review 59 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, Georgia
Date:February 3, 2012

Kept arriving broken

Model Number: CM2000 / GMC205Pi
"I wanted to like this per many reviews. My unit arrived with the "door open" error that another post references. Called the toll-free number, and they had another one sent to me. I suppose they made it as easy as practically possible, but boxing the big, heavy beast back up and taking it to UPS is not a non-trivial task. Before I even had the replacement out of the box, I noticed the display was cracked. I plugged it in anyway to see if it at least shredded. Nope. Hopefully 3rd time is the charm. If so, I will amend the review."
Review 60 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kennewick, WA
Date:February 4, 2012

Finally!

Pros: number of pages shedded at a time
Model Number: GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
"After burning out 2 shredders that did NOT live up to promises in terms of quality of shredding and number of pages put in at one time we have finally scored BIG! This shredder, the GoECOlife 20-sheet under-desk Micro-Cut Shredder works just as advertised. It did heat up on its first use after about 30 minutes, but leaving it off for a little while it worked fine until the initial batch of paper was done. So glad we got this!"
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>