Customer Reviews for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder

GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder

Added Value: 12-pack GoECOlife™ Lubricant Sheets*. High Security: Your best option for peace of mind. The micro-cut blades destroy your most sensitive documents into tiny 0.12” x 0.35” (3x9mm) unreadable particles. That’s the equivalent of a letter sized sheet of paper separated into over 2000 unreadable particles. The smaller cut size reduces waste volume so you empty the bin less often.    Powerful: The heavy-duty, commercial-grade motor offers a massive 20-sheets per pass shred capacity, while still allowing for up to a 20-minute continuous run time to handle your heaviest shred jobs. Also shreds credit cards, CD/DVDs. Space-saving: Compact and uniquely designed to fit under any standard height (27”) desk while featuring an ample 7.85 gallon, removable waste bin. Ergonomic: The only shredder of its kind features horizontal front-feeding for efficient shredding right from your seat. GoECO™ Energy-saving Technology: Virtually eliminates vampire energy waste. This machine will automatically power down if not used for 30 minutes – not just “asleep” but completely powered OFF. Carbon Neutral: Built with sustainability in mind, this shredder is a carbon neutral product certified as CarbonFree®* by Carbonfund.org. Ultra-quiet: Low noise level won’t disturb those around you. *This product is carbon neutral. It meets Carbonfund.org’s CarbonFree® Product Certification protocol which requires third-party life cycle assessment of the product’s carbon footprint, and carbon reductions in support of third-party validated renewable energy and reforestation projects. To learn more, visit www.carbonfund.org/products. Specifications:   Cut Type: Micro-Cut   Sheet Capacity: 20   Shred Size: 0.12” x 0.35” (3x9mm)   Speed (feet per min): 7.5   Continuous Run Time (min): 20   Auto Start/Stop: Yes   Auto Power Off: Yes, GoECO™ Energy-Saving Technology   Manual Reverse/Forward: Yes   Basket Capacity (gallons): 7.85   Throat Entry Width: 9" (230mm)   Shreds: Credit cards, CDs/DVDs   Auto Reverse: Yes   Overload Indicator: Yes   Overheat Indicator: Yes   Bin Full Indicator: Yes   Dimensions: 13.9"W x 17.5"D x 25.9"H; Weight: 44.5 lbs Warranty (product): 2 years   Warranty (cutter): 7 years Model: CM2000  
Average Customer Rating:
4.331 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 118
(out of 118 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
12
98 of 117(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Review 61 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:February 7, 2012

Good Shredder

Pros: i like the end result of the shredding
Cons: does not fit under my desk
Model Number: GMC205Pi
"I bought this shredder to replace a very old Royal ORCA 12 sheet shredder. The GoECO does seem to shred the paper slower, but the result is a much finer end product. The one disappointment I have is that it does not fit under my desk. I measured the distance from floor to underside of desk before buying and thought it would fit. I guess the dimensions do not take into account the wheels. I have not used it enough to know if it will last as long as my Royal, but I sure hope it does."
Review 62 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:February 7, 2012

Deep Throat

Model Number: GMC205P
"I call this shredder "Deep Throat" because that is exactly what it has. You must push a sheet of paper quite far into it before the machine triggers and starts shredding. Other than that, no complaints. It is powerful, relatively quiet and the pieces it produces are truly small. The bin is of a decent size and doesn't need to be emptied very often."
Review 63 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Concord, CA
Date:February 8, 2012

Best Shredder I've had. I've had several others.

Pros: good price, quality shredder
Cons: none
Model Number: GoECOlife 20-Sheet Under-Desk
"First unit Info Center showed Shred Basket not in place. Called GoECOlife & they had a new unit shipped that day. New unit is perfect. No worry that shred can be read because it can't be."
Review 64 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calabasas, CA
Date:February 14, 2012

Way better than our old shredder

Pros: excellent shredder, very quiet
"Our old 7-sheet shredder died after it was fed a too-fat diet of folded paper. This new one is many times more powerful and very quiet. You can actually talk on the phone while it's running. It takes bulky, thick jobs effortlessly and seemingly endlessly. The end product shredded paper takes the form if mini-confetti. Much more fits in the bin before it needs to be emptied."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 65 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2012

Good little machine

Pros: small size, does the job quickly
"Bought this for a small accounting office. Went through 1,000 pages in no time. Machine started smoking a little but it didn't overheat and shut down (a plus in my book). It takes up little space and cuts everything down to very small pieces. Overall I expect to get lots of use out it."
Review 66 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:February 15, 2012

Very nice shredder

Pros: shreds into tiny balls of paper, reasonably quiet, takes stacks of paper with ease, bin uses standard kitchen garbage bags
"We had a large fellowes 20 sheet shredder before this that was designed stupidly. The whole thing was heavy duty *except* the teeth inside that cleaned the paper off the shredding blades. They were plastic, and once they broke, Fellowes wouldn't sell you replacements. We had to throw away an otherwise perfectly fine $400 shredder. Stupid.
This shredder is already a noticible step up from our Fellowes. The lubrication is not messy oil bottles, but sheets you feed in when it tells you (at least that's what the book says, the shredder hasn't asked yet). The shredding itself is much more thorough with this one. It spits out what look like tiny spitballs of paper. Much smaller than our old shredder.
It seems to handle stacks of paper fine, but it really slows down on 10 sheets and up so we try to feed it less. It says it will run for 20 minutes continuously, but when we first got it we were backed up with paper to shred and it ran for well over 30 minutes without complaining as it ate up our backlog.
The bin is nicely made to handle a standard tall kitchen garbage bag easily, unlike the fellowes, which wanted custom bags.
Nice shredder. Only had it about three weeks so far, but impressed."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 67 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2012

does its job, louder than anticipated

Pros: shreds into confetti
Cons: louder than described
"There was a delay in getting the shredder due to a backlog we were not informed of beforehand. To make up for it, we received a credit. The machine worked great for the first half of the day, then got really loud and started to smell. We were sent a replacement, which works well but is not nearly as quiet as we had hoped."
Review 68 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 21, 2012

LOVE IT!!!

Pros: shreds quickly and thoroughly, front load is convenient from sitting at desk, storage area on top of machine, fast shreds entire files in minutes, power saver mode, easy to reach buttons for no hassle operation, fits under desk, easy to empty basket
Cons: depth but means basket is bigger
"The front feed design is very convenient. Having it beside my desk I'm able to shred documents immediately instead of letting them pile up to do later. When there is a pile of documents to shred this machine does it quickly, conveniently and thoroughly. I like the lubricant sheets so much better than having to add oil.
There was a very minor problem with my online order, but I got IMMEDIATE response from Costco.com and then this manufacture contacted me personally and went over and beyond my expectations correcting the order, I was very impressed with the personalized response and follow up!!!! I will not hesitate to do business with GoECOlife again, they have made me a loyal customer with their product and with their service :D"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 69 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2012

Good Personal Shredder

"Relatively quiet. Small enough to hide out of the way. Too slow for business office use. Fine for personal use."
Review 70 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Midlothian, VA
Date:March 12, 2012

You Get What You Pay For

"This is a heavy duty shredder. Be prepared, it is quite heavy and unwieldy to get out of the boxes. But once upright on its wheels it is easy to roll around. At first it appears to be a bit slower than my previous shredder, but it easily chews through more pages at a time so overall shredding time is less. Surprisingly quiet. Shredded paper would be nearly impossible to read or reassemble.
Very pleased with this purchase."
Review 71 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Spring, TX
Date:March 29, 2012

Worked for 5 minutes then died

Model Number: GMC205Pi
"We fed the GMC205Pi about 5 sheets at a time for 5 minutes and then checked the basket. The shredder was quiet, and the paper was well-shredded. But, after reinstalling the basket, the motor is apparently frozen up and it reports "Overload" on all subsequent attempts to insert a single sheet of paper. The cutting blade doesn't move at all when the Forward or Reverse button is pressed. Power cycled, and allowed to cool down for a few hours, but it didn't help.
Costco is picking up this defective unit, no problem. But I can't help but wonder how much it would cost me for return shipment if I had to send it to the manufacturer for in-warranty repair (it was a 74-pound shipment).
I was also hoping this unit would accept standard kitchen garbage bags but it doesn't (the bin's circumference is too large)."
Review 72 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Warren, NJ
Date:April 2, 2012

Worst Shredder ever for the price

"I bight the product on 10/4/2011 and it died on March 31, 2012. I called support and I have been on hold for more than an hour. They first told me that I am third in line and it will take 4 minutes of wait. After 25 minutes, I became 2nd in line and after 15 minutes, I became third again. They do not follow porper queue system. Luckily bought from Costco and I am just going to return this heavy and bulky product."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 73 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2012

Great Shredder

"Machine is reasonably quiet and lives up to all the advertising."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 74 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Belleville, NJ
Date:April 10, 2012

Best Shredder Ever

Pros: awesome
Cons: none
"I had another shredder from a rather popular shredder brand that did the job but kept stopping every time I tried to shred more than 3-4 pages at a time (although it was advertized as being able handle up to 10 pages). I saw all of the reviews for this one but hesitated (mostly because of the price) until I saw that it was on sale. One of the best decisions I ever made. The hardest thing was getting it out of the box. It seams slower than my old one but becasue I can shred 10-12 pages at a time, I can get through a pile of paper in no time."
Review 75 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:April 13, 2012

woks perfectly so far

"easy to unload from shipping container. Read instructions plugged it in and works just great. After reading other rerviews was kind've hestiant to buy but was glad I did."
Review 76 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roseburg, OR
Date:April 18, 2012

Office Coordinator

Model Number: GMC 205Pi
"This has been a very nice shredder to use. We have a quite a lot of confidential papers to shred and the cross-shredding practically turns it into fluff! Keeping the instruction booklet and blade-cleaning sheets with the machine is convenient too in the flip-top compartment built-in."
Review 77 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brookings, OR
Date:April 22, 2012

Very Pleased

Pros: performs as stated
Cons: none
Model Number: CM2000
"Purchased this because we wanted one that really shredded things...not just into strips. Read reviews and product was reported to do what was stated in ad. Have been really pleased and haven't had any problems. Easy to set up and use. The bin removes and goes back easily. It fits under my desk, making access convenient. I no longer have stacks of paper to shred later. Have been using it almost daily for a month with no problems and have found the bid capacity exceeded my expectation. Used in our home office, but would recomend for light business use."
Review 78 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2012

Superior performance & value.

"Well-designed, nicely engineered product. It would be nice if paper feed was a bit quicker...but the high-capacity [I use 24# stock & it handles 20 sheets readily] & ultra-compact output are terrific. Controls are much better than competitive products I've used, & the auto-off is nice. The angled front feed makes it easy to use under a desk. Well-satisfied."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 79 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lodi, Ca
Date:April 24, 2012
Model Number: 20 sheet under desk micro cut shredder
"This is an awesome shredder its real quiet & shreds fairly quick!!!!!"
Review 80 for GoECOlife™ 20-Sheet Under-Desk Micro-Cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Missoula,Montana
Date:April 25, 2012

Love this excellent piece of office equipment

Model Number: GMC205pi
"I bought this shredder to replace two strip shredders. I was really looking forward to getting this machine, after reading all of those outstanding reviews. As it turns out, this machine is better than it's reviews. To some, it is noisy, not so. Mine is so quiet, it just emits a low hum,even when grinding stacks of paper. Loved how the machine was packed. I don't think this machine could possiably get damaged in transit. The outer box was a little beat up, the insides are well protected. Plug and play. This machine is more than worth whatever the cost."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>