Customer Reviews for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount

Supports up to 60 lbs. Tilts 0° to 10°
Average Customer Rating:
3.138 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
(out of 29 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
10
17 of 29(59%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Review 1 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:February 25, 2011

Very Pleased

Model Number: Simplicity Universal 26" -47" Full Motion Mount
"The Tilt full motion Mount for the TV was fairly easy to install and seems very solid on the wall. I am pleased with the way it sits on the living room wall where it is placed. It makes it very easy to watch the TV from every area of the room. I am also quite happy with the tilt feature."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:January 17, 2012

poorly designed? poorly manufactured? Both?

Pros: appears well built; decent instructions
Cons: unable to maintain level in multiple positions, unsuitable when tv is repositioned.
Model Number: SMF2
"I read the reviews and studied the display model; I thought through my installation; I considered the size and weight of myTV. I was impressed with the display model and thought I'd considered most everything before I bought this mount. At 38 pounds, my TV is a bit less than 2/3's of the 60 lb rated weight capacity of the mount and thought that an adequate margin, but at the 47" maximum size.
It seems well built and sturdy and was easy to mount... However... The SMF2 is described as a "full motion mount", and it has a good range of motion, but it's designed to maintain a level TV in only ONE POSITION in that range.
Therefore, I can't recommend this mount and am returning it.
After getting it mounted I discovered that the axis of the pivot arms are visibly not parallel. I called the manufacturer's support line and the gentleman I talked with told me that the SMF2 was designed that way, and that 38 lbs is a "big TV", and that I'd need to find a "compromise" for level if I want to change the position of the TV.
What all this really means is that I can level the TV in any one position (which is easily done), but as soon as the TV is repositioned it's no longer level. So if I choose to store it against the wall (and I want it level with the mantel) it will tilt (near 1 1/2 inches difference) when I move it away from the wall to a viewing position. Conversely, if I level it in the viewing position, it's off by that same1 1/2 inches stored against the wall above the mantel. If it's leveled against the wall on one side of the center bracket but later stored against the wall on the opposite side of the center bracket the difference is near 3" from one edge to the other - I wouldn't do that but it demonstrates the flaw. Compromise?? Unsatisfactory!
If the axis' were parallel, one could level the TV and it would remain level throughout the full range of motion of the mount. It's not that hard to design and manufacture a mount with reasonably parallel axis'... and I want one."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2011

Perfect for my 32" Visio

"What a great mount this is for my 32" Visio. The instructions are simple and the construction is VERY sturdy. I am going to order another one for my 42" Visio. My 32" Visio is now off my desk and I have so much more room to work."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2011

fine for smaller tv's

"Installed fine, instructions mildly vague but no worse than others. The problem is that the articulating arm cannot support the TV sizes it states. Tried to mount a 46 inch samsung weighing 48 pounds. Problem is that it cannot maintain the tv's level, or it's position (e.g. pull it out and angle it to watch tv in a different spot and it cannot hold the tv still). There are tension bolts to tighten, however I spent a week tightening them each day only to have them loosen. It would be an acceptable mount for the low end of it's spec's, but no where near the middle to upper end of weight/height."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denville, NJ
Date:July 18, 2011

Good Luck Keeping It Level

"Once installed and leveled it will stay that way as long as you dont move it. For our application we need to draw it in and out occasionally but more often turn it left or right. No matter how I try to find the best middle ground it is always crooked.
Very disappointed. I have purchased another brand from Costco in the past and it was just fine.
So I expected the same. Now I have to un-install and be left with holes in the wall and beams.
Yes the next one will go in the same spot. Lucky me."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Simi Valley
Date:March 9, 2011

Frustrated with purchase

Model Number: SMF2
"The mount itself is well made and would probably work just fine - on the right TV. I had to return it because it couldn't be used with the Vizio 26" I purchased at Costco. When I returned this unit I was able to find one single box of the model I did need that had been obviously returned to the store by another confused customer. It was all by itself on top of a big stack of the mounts that didn't fit. It would be helpful if Costco would indicate which mount works with the TV they sell."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:May 29, 2011

Crooked depending on angle

Pros: easy to install
Cons: yields a crooked tv
"Trying to mount my 40" TV I was surprised that once I put it at the desired location it was crooked. Apparently if the long arm is not perpendicular to the TV it will not maintain its level profile. I'm surprised that the weight of the TV would cause this considering it is made for up to 47" TVs."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2012

Avoid this product

"I purchased this product on Dec 20 at my local store to mount a 37" panasonic LCD TV, which is well under the specified weight limits for the unit.
The unit is very flimsy, and despite hours of adjusting, the TV is not level.
AVOID this mount! Look for another option."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:May 5, 2011

Returned this product 2 times

Model Number: SMF2
"I have the SMF1 product from Simplicty, but Costco stopped selling this product and this was the next mount up. Needless to say I could not get the carriages to lock down the cross bars on the mount. I called customer support (at Simplicity) and they said I probably got a bad batch. They had no answer as to why the carriages would not lock the cross bar. Giving the benefit of the doubt, I returned the SMF2 and picked up another one; only to find out that the carriages would not lock on the 2nd mount either. Poor design. Poor engineering."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2011

DO NOT BUY

Pros: no pros to this item
Cons: all cons for this item
"The mount is worthless if you want to use the full motion. When rotated the TV is not level. Two of us worked for hours to try & adjust it & it can't be done. Save your time, money & holes in the wall & buy a Kanto from the start. Also, the instructions provided caution against using too long of a screw into the TV, but the smallest screw was too long. Unbelievable waste of time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:March 8, 2011

poor service

"Product included incorrect hardware. Called to have it replaced.... 7-10 days my TV will be out of order as they will not rush ship the correct pieces.
Since I can't put it up I can't comment on how
it functions.
Customer service is everything and this company just doesn't have it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 19, 2012

Not Stable

Pros: good viewing angles.
Cons: tv doesn't stay level.
Model Number: SMF2-B1
"This bracket isn't made well and there is too much play in the mounting bracket and pivot points. If you move your TV viewing angle or extend the bracket, you have to have a wrench handy to re-level the TV each time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:August 30, 2011

Excellent buy

Pros: simple installation, works and locks nice on the wall
"This product came with very good instructions and I was able to mount it within half an hour. Simplicity really stands for their name. I am very happy with this buy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Garden Grove, Ca
Date:June 16, 2011

Simplicity Mount

"I have installed 4 tvs with wall type mountings. It was the easiest so far. Adds flexability to my 42 inch Vizio for viewing. great price and product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2011

easy to install

Pros: loved the free shipping
Cons: some wasted product- includes 2 different mounts
"good product for the price, very easy to install. Put up a 32" TV in the bedroom. It was much easier than we expected it to be."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westchester County, NY
Date:May 27, 2011

Good Mount

Pros: level tv once it's installed - great feature
Cons: none
Model Number: SM2
"Easy instructions - especially after you watch the installation video on Simplicity's web site. All kinds of positions."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Eagle Mountain, Utah
Date:February 15, 2012

Does not do what is should

Pros: looks nice-
Cons: faked me out, don't buy if you want to adjust the tv
Model Number: Simplicity SMF2
"Like some other reviews, I found that after installing as per the instructions, the TV does not remain level when you move it to a different position. I called the company (Simplicity) and they say they are aware of the problem and just told me I would have to fiddle with the adjustment each time I moved the TV position. I wish Costco would have been aware of this problem and not sold it. I usually depend on them to provide quality products. The weight limit for the product shows as 60 pounds. The TV I mounted weighed 35 pounds. I could take it back to Costco but would have to buy something more expensive and then do another wall installation."
Review 18 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Linden, MI
Date:February 19, 2012

Very Good Product; why the bad rap?

Model Number: SMF2-B1
"This mount is very nice. Very sturdy and their website has a very handy interface to determine where to bolt the mount to the wall based on TV model and how high you want the top or bottom of the TV. I was concerned with many reviewers lamenting the fact that it cant be level when the TV is flush against the wall AND when you swing it out. I must be missing something because as long as you bolt the thing on the wall level and don't torque the adjustment screws too tight, then you just grab the TV and make it level when you either swing it out or return it to the wall. What's the big deal?"
Review 19 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:October 11, 2011

Design flawed

"I was trying to install this for use with a 46in TV came to the conclusion a different product is needed. Most of the unit is built very well of strong steel, however there are 6 points that hold the metal cross bars made of plastic. These need to grip the metal bar but could never be as strong as the steel frame. Not sure why they designed this unit so strong then had plastic in these key spots. Even if the plastic did grip the bar, I agree with many other posts that a 46in would tilt and not stay even."
Review 20 for Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Danbury, CT
Date:February 27, 2012

Good Product

Pros: extremely easy to install.
Cons: nothing obvious for the use i make of it.
Model Number: Simplicity Universal 19" - 47" Tilt Full-motion Mount
"This mount was very easy to install. The instructions are well written and it came with all the parts required to mount my 46" LED Samsung TV (38.5 lbs). Three screws into the stud: you can't get much easier than that.
We mostly use it retracted fully against the wall. I purchased a full-motion mount to make it easier to access the back of the TV where all the connections are (extremely convenient). To that extent I don't care if it is slightly off level when it is pulled away from the wall."
1 2 next>>