Customer Reviews for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System

Shelf Reliance® is known for providing unsurpassed quality in all of its products, and their line of food storage is no different. THRIVE™ Food Storage is a premium name you can trust. Every THRIVE™ product has been carefully selected based on taste and quality. We are confident that you will look forward to using THRIVE™ in your everyday meal planning and emergency food storage. The Shelf Reliance® Complete 3 Month, 2-person Food Supply with Water Storage System was designed to provide you with a package complete with a supply of both food and water. This package provides two people with over 2000 calories per person/day for up to 3 months. Contents for this package were based off of the USDA Food Pyramid to provide a well-balanced diet. With the wide selection this pack presents, you'll get a taste of the best foods THRIVE™ has to offer. Each can contains usage suggestions, recipes, and helpful information about re-hydration. This package also includes other useful tools to help you to become better prepared. To help you make the most of each food in your supply, we’ve included our exclusive THRIVE cookbook featuring dozens of recipes that will empower you to create gourmet meals your family will love! The Complete 3 Month, 2-person Food Supply with Water Storage System comes complete with 96 #10 (gallon size) cans of grains, fruits, veggies, protein & beans, dairy and baking essentials and also includes a 55-gallon barrel water storage system. With over 4000 servings and many foods with a shelf life of up to 25 years, this package will give you variety, nutrition, and peace of mind.   For questions or additional information please email costcosupport@shelfreliance.com . Please include the item number and description that corresponds with your question.    4,251 total servings   Shipment arrives on a pallet   Simple re-hydration instructions and recipes included on each can   Foods are contained in 96 #10 (gallon size) cans   Over 2000 calories per person/day for up to three months Grains/Starch    6 Hard White Winter Wheat (44 servings per can/170 calories per serving)   4 Potato Chunks (42 servings per can/80 calories per serving)   6 Elbow Macaroni (25 servings per can/210 calories per serving)   6 Six Grain Pancake Mix (46 servings per can/140 calories per serving)   3 Cornmeal (48 servings per can/150 calories per serving)   3 Quick Oats (24 servings per can/170 calories per serving)   6 Instant White Rice (48 servings per can/80 calories per serving) Fruits/Veggies    6 Sweet Corn – Freeze Dried (46 servings per can/35 calories per serving)   6 Green Peas – Freeze Dried (41 servings per can/50 calories per serving)   3 Broccoli – Freeze Dried (52 servings per can/10 calories per serving)   3 Raspberries – Freeze Dried (48 servings per can/20 calories per serving)   2 Strawberries – Freeze Dried (45 servings per can/20 calories per serving)   6 Apple Chips (47 servings per can/35 calories per serving)   3 Carrot Dices (49 servings per can/90 calories per serving)   3 Mixed Bell Pepper (42 servings per can/50 calories per serving)   3 Potato Beads (44 servings per can/20 calories per serving) Dairy/Cheese    6 Non-Fat Powdered Milk (43 servings per can/110 calories per serving)   4 Chocolate Drink Mix (48 servings per can/190 calories per serving)   2 Cheddar Blend (52 servings per can/140 calories per serving) Meats/Beans    2 Bacon TVP (47 servings per can/80 calories per serving)   2 Beef TVP (45 servings per can/100 calories per serving)   2 Chicken TVP (45 servings per can/80 calories per serving)   2 Taco TVP (42 servings per can/130 calories per serving)   2 Pinto Beans (58 servings per can/60 calories per serving)   2 Black Beans (65 servings per can/70 calories per serving)   Kidney Beans (44 servings per can/90 calories per serving)   Whole Eggs (236 servings per can/35 calories per serving) Discretionary Calories THRIVE™ Orange Drink (88 servings per can/110 calories per serving) Other Tools Included: Deluxe Wheat Grinder    Sturdy and compact   Cone shaped burrs are self-aligning Smooth, even milling   Creates 1/2 cup of fine flour per minute   Create grains at a fraction of the cost of store-bought   Stores easily in drawers, cupboards, and other small spaces   Adjustable texture settings   Stainless steel construction The Shelf Reliance® Water Storage System includes the following:    Water Pump - (45" long, 3" wide) Hose (47" long, 1"wide)   Sturdy Bung Wrench - doubles as a gas shutoff tool and provides access to storage barrels of all sizes.   Water Treatment Solution - easy to follow instructions that allows water storage for up to 5 years.   Detailed instructions of how to prepare your water storage. 55 Gallon Water Container    Barrel is made from high-density polyethylene (food grade/ BPA Free).   Barrel comes in blue color to restrict light, which helps to control the growth of bacteria and algae.   Barrel weight when full is approximately 480 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Review 1 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fly Over Country
Date:September 8, 2012

6 grain pancake mix

"Folks, I have purchased several assortments of this company's food. I found on inspection after 6 to 12 months that the 6-grain pancake mix cans had expanded. After calling the company, I was told that the 6-grain pancake mix had been discontinued. It was rated as a 10 year shelf life. The sent me 10-grain pancake mix to replace the bad 6-grain pancake mix. The 10-grain pancake mix is rated for a 3 year shelf life. The should send 3.33 cans of the 10-grain to replace one can of 6-grain. The story continues. All of the other cans had no problems with expanding lids. Inspect your cans when you receive them to make sure that the rims have not been dented which can cause air to leak into the can. They will replace the dented cans. I have suggested many times that they double box the boxes which would greatly increase the chances that one would receive cans in good condition. Also, I suggest buying only food that at a minimum has 10 years of shelf life. When you receive an order, you will probably find food with different shelf life in the same box. I went through my cans and repacked the cans so that all cans in a given box had the same shelf life. I wrote on each box what was in the box, type of treatment used to perserve and manufactured date. Regards"
Review 2 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2012

Very pleased

Pros: great variety water storage was a nice addition
Cons: if each box was labeled it would be nice., had to open most boxes to inventory the contents
"Product arrived very fast and in perfect condition, no dings, dents or any damage at all. Water storage was a nice addition to this package as you will need to consider water prep and storage along with food. What makes this a nice package is the variety, some items in this package are not available in the larger packages. This makes it a great package to get started off on and then add to it down the road with a meat package, fruit package, etc."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central PA
Date:February 17, 2012

Peace of Mind

Pros: terrific customer support by shelf reliance
"After trying to store canned goods for emergencies, and finding that I tend to let them expire before using them, this was a bargain and gives a much longer shelf life for our emergency food supplies. I know some reviewers think it's terrible that we're not eating these products now so we know how they taste, but we won't be using these until we reach a point where we're in dire straits. By that time, we won't be as critical of taste, texture, etc., as we are on a daily basis. Also bought the 12-pack of water filter bottles to keep for emergencies as well.
Had two dented cans which Shelf Reliance replaced in a heartbeat, and they provided the return labels for the dented cans. They were great to work with and I have since bought some other items from them which Costco doesn't carry."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2011

Shelf Reliance 2 person 3 mo food supply

Cons: a couple of damaged cans.
"Quick Delivery. A good starter kit.
Great value. Every item was there as stated.
"
Review 5 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Layton, Utah
Date:August 19, 2011

Great food storage

Pros: great taste shelf life
Cons: water tank is expensive
"Product arrived two days after ordering it. They left it on the front door step with no signature. Products showed up as promised. Everything was there. This is our second Thrive food storage purchase as the food is very good for having such a long storage life. Water tank arrived as expected with pump. We tried grinder to make bread. Fairly course flower but we mixed it with normal flower so it wasn't an issue. Gives us a little more peace of mind having more food storage. It doesn't take much to cause big impacts in the world today."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:June 4, 2011

Prepaired

"great value! Havent tried the food but great delivery, customer service and quality products."
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:May 13, 2011

Very Good Deal - Excellent Customer Service

Pros: great variety, great service, long term storage
Cons: cook book/storage guide would be nice
"I purchased this to get a quick start on food storage after I saw the empty store shelves in Tokyo many miles from the Tsunami. I had been considering food storage, but seeing this got me to finally act.
I shopped around and I think this is the best deal to start with for long term storage since it has lots of variety (fruits, vegetables, powdered milk, etc.). Some of the other packages offer food for 6 months or longer, with more rice etc, but I figured I can add more rice, grain etc. to food storage pails on my own for cheaper and make this last longer, but I can't freeze dry the fruits & veggies. I purchased these air-tight resealable pails (Costco Item # 576690) and will be purchasing Mylar bags to line them with & oxygen absorbers for 20 - 30 years of safe storage.
I also considered ready made freeze dried meals, but they are already spiced and salted which is good for a few quick meals, but I don't know if I would want to eat them everyday. Having the separate ingredients allows more variety and customization, besides, ready made meals are more $$. I did purchase some to take-a-long in case I need to evacuate.
I did have one or two cans that were dented pretty badly and a number more had minor dents near the rim. I was concerned about the integrity of the seal for long term storage. I spoke with Costco and they worked with Shelf Reliance/Thrive to replace them. One phone call to Costco and the replacements were on their way... no hassle at all!
The water barrel and grinder are a nice extra touch and seem to be quality."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:May 3, 2011

Food Storage

Pros: great value for a starter., great price.
Cons: not a longer enough shelf life as a whole.
"It might be right for some people, but I returned the systems, since I really wanted to have more freeze dried than this system had. This is great for a starter, but I preferred meals that are complete. This system was more of a "piece" meal."
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Temecula, Ca.
Date:April 22, 2011

cool product

"fast delivery of our shipment. This begins the start of our food storage supply, and we are excited to have a variety of fruits, veggies, and grains in our emergency diet. Did not think the chocolate drink was needed, or that it should be listed as dairy. It is basically hot cocoa mix. I would have preferred more dry milk sent instead. I agree that a basic ingrediant cookbook is needed. The recipes on the cans include items that you will not probably have in your long term storage..i.e. chicken, unless you raise those too. definately worth the peace of mind knowing we have something stored away for emergencies. waiting for the wheat grinder, but overall...we recommend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:April 20, 2011

Good Deal

Pros: lots of varieties, weat grinder and water barrel durable material
Cons: few minor dents on cans and water barrel, didn't have any cooking instructions
"Each can has a manufactured date and most of the cans that I had received were dated no longer than two months. The orange juice powder is the first to expire at three years and most others had a life spam of 10-15 years. There were lots of different varieties. Also, each can has a plastic lid you can use once you open the can. After you open them they still have many months shelf life.
I wish the package also included some kind of cooking book and storage instruction booklet.
I hope we don't come to the point where we depend solely on this product but this package does give me a sense of security in our current economy. Best luck to everyone. HOPE FOR THE BEST BUT PLAN FOR THE WORST.
"
Review 11 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Surprise, AZ
Date:April 19, 2011

Quick and accurate delivery

Pros: fast delivery, great price.
Cons: shelf reliance needs small taste tests.
"Although we haven't tasted the product yet, the delivery was fast and as expected."
Review 12 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:April 17, 2011

Great package BUT....

Pros: this is a good price for the food.
Cons: not enough water!!
"you need 2 gallons per day, per person. This package is very SHORT on the water. Water is more important than food. I also suggest you get a water filter, I have a Katadyne, that way if you run short you can purify what you find. NEVER store your water on cement, the lime in the cement will travel through the container and poison your water. I have mine on gravel, then plywood, then the water. I am in quake country. Also, store your food in the coolest place in your house, basement is best. If no basement then under beds and closets, NEVER in the garage. Garage gets to hot, your food investment should stay under 70 degrees, the hotter it gets the shorter the shelf life. TVP will give you gas, lots of gas be prepared to sleep alone. LOL"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:April 13, 2011

3 month food supply

"I think this is a great value. In addition to the food, you get a water storage barrel and mill. I was looking for something that I could put on the shelf for an emergency and this fits the bill. A good variety with great shelf life. It arrived on time and in great condition. Very comforting to have this on the shelf"
Review 14 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SW Montana
Date:April 7, 2011

Nice Basic Assortment at a Really Good Price

Model Number: Item #566053 - 2 person - 3 month
"This is a nice assortment of food for storage. It provides 2000 calories per day per person. In comparing products we found that some other kits offer about 1200 calories/day/person. That difference makes a "1 year" kit actually a 7 month supply.
There is a good variety of TVP, vegetables, starches and fruit. There is 1 can of orange drink. Some kits supply 2000 calories/day with a lot of sugar or corn sweetner, particularly in the chocolate, apple, peach, and orange drinks. Just be aware where the calories are coming from. This supply is nice because the calories and nutrition come from actual food and is a nice assortment of things most people will eat. Some kits are heavy on dry bean and wheat, which is good nutritionally and cheap, but will be a challenge to happily eat everyday.
The Victorio grain grainer is a nice piece of kit. Easy to clean, heavy construction and well made. The water barrel, pump, bung wrench and water purification also look like quality items. The water purification treats up to 60 gallons or 1 barrel of water and has a 4 year shelf life. We made an inventory that also tracks the expiration dates, we we can rotate out dated items and restock with fresh items to keep the kit current.
For us, this was a good basic kit that we supplemented. We thought about what we usually eat and decided to supplement this kit to allow us to continue to eat the kind of things we normally eat. We have added some staples like salt, sugar, shortening and baking soda. Baking soda is necessary to successfully rehydrate dry beans, peas and lentils that have been stored for a long time. Banana chips are also make a nice reasonably priced snacks, especially if you have kids. They are very tasty and resasonably priced compared to the freeze-dried fruits. Getting some Morning Moos would be a good idea if you have kids that drink milk. We also added some sauces, like broth or boullion, tomato powder and gravy. It will add some appeal to the TVP and instant potatoes or used to make tomato or broth based stews and soups. We also liked the dehydrated potato dices for their price per pound and versatility.
"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:April 4, 2011

Great choice!

Pros: everything you need !
"Looked online for weeks for best products for food storage & emergency preparedness and ordered this one! Fast shipment and stores in the boxes under bed on tiled floor. Superb!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4251 Total Servings 2-person 3 Month Emergency Food Supply w/ 55 gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2011

Shelf Reliance Food Storage

"This is the easiest, best tasting non- complicated, complete food and storage system. I have been storing food for 40 years and recently (5 years ago) re-did my system with Shel Reliance. I wish I had this when i started. the rotating can racks and color coded food labels makes rotation and using product a no brainer. It is great for everyday use or long term storage. With the storage racks any food you want is easy to get and the freshest in your stash. The food is good tasting, too. I wait until there are sales and stock up. You should check out their canned food pantry storage system, too. Yes, it is more expensive than the cannery…so buy from the cannery what you can, buy from Shelf Reliance what you can't and use their rotating shelf system."
20 of 22 people found this review helpful.