Customer Reviews for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price.             Lens Specifications:     F-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens (3x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilization)   AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR lens (Optical Image Stabilization) Features and Benefits:   Effective Pixels: 14.2-megapixel DX-Format CMOS Sensor   LCD Monitor: 3.0” diagonal (230,000 dots) TFT-LCD with brightness adjustment   Motion Video Quality: 1080p (1920x1080 24fps), 720p (1280x720 30fps, 25fps, 24fps), 640x424 24fps   Top Shooting Rate: Up to 3 frames per second at full resolution   Shutter Speed: 1/4000 to 30 sec. in steps of 1/3 EV   ISO Sensitivity: ISO 100 to 3200 in steps of 1 EV - Can also be set to approx. 1 EV above ISO 3200 (ISO 6400 equivalent) or to approx. 2 EV above ISO 3200 (ISO 12800 equivalent)   One-Button Live View: Easy Live View access offers 4 autofocus modes, including Face-priority AF.   AF Area Mode: Single Area AF, Dynamic-area, Auto-area AF, 3D-tracking (11 points)   Dust Sensor Cleaning Unit: Image sensor cleaning, Airflow Control System, Image Dust Off reference data (optional Capture NX 2 software required)   Exposure Metering System: 420-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II   In-Camera Image Editing: Trim, D-Lighting, Image Overlay, Filter Effects, Small Pic, Monochrome, Color Balance, NEF (RAW) Processing, Quick retouch, Straighten, Distortion Control, Fisheye, Red-eye Correction, Perspective Control, Color Outline, Edit Movie, Miniature Effect   Power Source: EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-Ion Battery   Images Per Battery Charge: 550 shots based on CIPA standards   Dimensions: W 4.9” x H 3.8“ x D 2.9”; Weight: Approx. 16 oz. (body only)   Storage Media: SD/SDHC/SDXC   What's Included: Nikon D3100 Camera Body   AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens   AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR lens   Camera Case    4GB SDHC Card   Rechargeable Li-ion Battery   Battery Charger   Camera Strap   ViewNX 2 CD-ROM   Nikon School Training Pack:   Fast, Fun & Easy DVD for D3100    Understanding Digital Photography DVD    Guide to Digital Photography Booklet Model: D3100
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(1316 Reviews) 1310
(out of 1,316 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,316 reviews)
5 stars
1,060
4 stars
192
3 stars
28
2 stars
16
1 star
20
1,266 of 1,316(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Review 1 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:November 8, 2012

Great product, with issues

Pros: features, quality
Cons: lousy shape, lack of decent documentation
Model Number: D3100
"This is obviously a great, quality camera loaded with features and outstanding optics at a nice value. That’s part of the problem. The documentation that comes with it is seriously deficient in explaining how to use those features. As one who has owned an SLR camera for over sixty years, the case design of this one is horrible. I’m left handed and there is no case area provided on the left side of the box to grab a hold of while aiming for a picture. This has been a feature of the SLR since its inception and has to be an issue for right handers as well in order to hold the camera steady with both hands during an exposure."
Review 2 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern NJ
Date:August 27, 2012

Love this camera!

Cons: wish the bundle came with a usb cable
Model Number: Nikon D3100 DSLR camera & lens bundle
"I bought this SLR after I saw what beautiful, clear photos it took. I have only used compact digital cameras in the past, and was never quite satisfied with the quality of the photos. I am a casual user at best, but this camera makes me look like I know what I'm doing! It is very easy to use, has plenty of guidance, instructions and tips built right into the menu screen on the camera. It's like digital SLR for dummies."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NM
Date:August 16, 2012

Excellence Camera

Pros: i like the fact that it come with the tutorial cd.
Cons: it is not come with usb cable or av cable.
"I like the camera, I try to shot some pictures and it came out pretty nice. The camera is very easy to use. It came with the tutorial DVD.
However, I got a little frustrated when I found out that It doesn't come with USB, AV or HDMI cable. I have purchased many type of camera, and it always came with cable for transfer picture to PC or view the picture on your TV. I am a little shock when I could find the cable in the box, and I read the list to see what came with it. guess what? cable is not on the list.
"
Review 4 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:August 9, 2012

The first DSLR of mine

Pros: two training dvds, two lens, price
Cons: no memory card reader, some auto focusing noise when shooting video
Model Number: Nikon D3100
"Two training DVD are telling me a lots and If you consider to buy one for beginner, I think this is the right package. Two lens are allowing more variety. Bundled camera bag is looking nice. One thing I hope to include is SD memory card reader for convenience.
When shooting video, sound was captured not only target sound but also auto focusing noise. Manual focusing or AF-L may be necessary for my next video.
Here are extra item I prepared
- Tripod / Flash / LCD film / 3' mini-HDMI cable
"
Review 5 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 5, 2012

First DSLR

Pros: cheap affordable nice comes with everything
Model Number: Nikon D3100 Camera Kit
"The Nikon D3100 is a must buy for people like me who just upgraded from Point and Shoot. This camera is great and affordable. It comes with everything you need. All you need to do it charge it and your ready to go."
Review 6 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2012

Great Digital SLR

Pros: many many pluses
Cons: nothing expected
Model Number: D3100
"Grew up wanting a Nikon and now I have one that is fantastic so far. Capabilities are extensive and Nikon offers support for any problem, which are not expected. Glad to buy a Nikon and received a most acceptable price from COSTCO. Best camera ever for me."
Review 7 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:clinton ,md
Date:May 3, 2012

perfect for a beginner

Model Number: D3100
"i love this camera, so many features it has everything you will need."
Review 8 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:April 17, 2012

Wow! Best Camera Ever

Cons: none
Model Number: Nikon D3100
"Cameras don't get much better! Received the package 2 days after purchase in perfect condition. Pictures are quantum leap (noticeably) better then our Cannon EOS. Clarity of lens together with computer enabled light settings produce "brilliance" to each picture. Easy to use. Versatile and numerous capabilities. Enclosed DVD very well produced and helpful. We bought on friends recommendation, now we will recommend to friends."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, Hawaii
Date:January 25, 2012

Best camera ever owned

Model Number: D3100
"I love this camera. The pictures it takes are great and it is so easy to use. The videos are awesome in High Definition and clarity is exquisite. The whole bundle with two lenses, camera case and instructional videos are great, especially for a novice like me."
Review 10 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carlsbad, Ca
Date:January 24, 2012

Worthy every penny

Model Number: Nikon D3100
"Before buying Nikon 3100 DSLR, I did all my researches, basically, comparing it with Canon EOS rebel t3i. Since the EOS rebel t2i I have used for two years, I know the features and characteristics. Nonetheless, I would like to try the Nikon.
As opening the box, it surprises none but I love the whole package where every thing I anticipate, including two lens which I anticipated long time ago for travel purpose.
I did a few indoor shootings and night life shootings where the quality of pictures is beyond my expectation.
With the two DVDs included that help to shrink the learning curve, I deem those particularly useful for me.
I will be shooting more pictures in the coming weeks to share with you."
Review 11 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:oregon
Date:December 25, 2011

excellent purchase

Pros: came as promised
Model Number: D3100
"I am very happy with the purchase of Nikon D3100. The pictures are bright and sharp.
The camera came one day sooner than promised.
"
Review 12 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Helena, AL
Date:December 22, 2011

Awesome camera!!!

Model Number: D3100
"I haven't really learned a whole lot about this camera, I don't know all the bells and whistles just yet, but it takes amazing pictures just having it on the basic setting. The pictures are more clear than any pictures I've ever taken with any point and shoot camera. I can't wait to read all the manuals and watch the videos and learn how to take spectacular pictures! I would definitely buy again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:December 13, 2011

bag is completely useless

Model Number: NIKON D-3100
"The camera is good enough, the lenses are just OK, the memory card is only 4 GB, and the camera bag is completely useless (it's way too big -- I bet that it could easily accommodate two DSLRs and three lenses).
So, now I'm forced to search for another bag (smaller, more travel-friendly), as I do not see myself carrying a ginormous (only half-full) piece of luggage all the time.
I wish the SD card were at least 16 GB (if not 32 GB).
The enclosed DVDs are still unopened (and chances are that they will remain so for many months).
Clearly, my personal choice would have been to get a better pair of lenses (as I've said, these are OK -- the image is not very sharp, compared to other lenses which are just a a couple of hundred more than the enclosed ones), bigger SD card (32 GB, ideally), perhaps another battery, and a smaller NIKON bag (which they do make). As it stands now, I am only 50% happy with the package. It seems that NIKON is offering a very basic (and quite unsatisfying) package, hoping that the customer will come back to buy more from them (such as another lens).
On a different note, I applaud COSTCO's service and policy (kudos to you, guys!), but I'll probably look for another package elsewhere. As I've said, the bag is completely useless (I just wish I could trade it for something smaller; if I'm unsuccessful, I'll probably let my kitty have it)."
0 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 12, 2011

Great purchase

Pros: great camera great priced
Cons: can't find one
Model Number: Nikon D3100
"I love this camera. I'm by no means a pro, but I have love that this camera can make me look like I am. I've checked around and can't find a better deal anywhere. You shouldn't hesitate to jump on this one!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 7, 2011
Pros: superb picture quality, easy to use, lightweight small, a complete package for first dslr
Cons: short battery life
Model Number: Nikon D3100 Bundle
"I went into Costco debating whether to buy the Nikon D5100, or Canon T2i, but I couldn't pass up the great price on the D3100! After talking to the knowledgeable people at my local camera store, and reading reviews online I saw that the D5100 is more for people that will be taking video (which I'm not) and who will want the articulating screen. My last camera had one and it was time-consuming to constantly open and flip the screen every time I turned on the camera.
The Canon to me didn't feel as nice in my hands, or frankly look as sleek as the Nikon.
I'm so glad I went with the D3100, it's my first DSLR and I couldn't be happier! After looking at my photos from the last month I'm blown away by the quality, crispness, and colors of my photos. It's light and small so I can throw it in my purse and take it everywhere with me!
This is a great package! I love having the two lenses, and I also purchased the 50mm f/1.8g lens to take really nice portraits of my kids, so now I'm set!
My one and only complaint is that the battery lasts about 400-500 pictures (which for me could be one day with the continous shooting option.) So, you do need to remember to charge your battery after use, or puchase a back-up battery for about $50.
Overall, I HIGHLY recommend this camera! I LOVE it!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pa
Date:November 23, 2011

Great Camera

Pros: well written set up instructions with line drawin
Cons: no usb cable
Model Number: D3100 SLR
"I have only had this camera a couple weeks and I am thrilled. While it has many advanced functions, initial set up and use are easy. My only issue is that it did not come with a USB cable. Who packages a camera of this caliber without a way to upload the photo's? I did find one at the Nikon online store, no local retailers carry the USB, but they do have a little transfer plug that requires you to remove the memory card to transfer the photo's. I think that would be all right if you only do it once in a while, but I transfer photo's almost daily. That is too much in and out and wear and tear. I read quite a few on-line reviews with major complaints from other retailers who claim to have the right cable but it was not. Don't waste your money, buy the right one first. Further research led me to believe that Costco is not the only package that does not include the cable. You will love the camera."
Review 17 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2011

Satisfaction!

Model Number: Nikon D3100
"Finally, took a deep breath and went for a "real" camera! Couldn't pass the excellent price and faith in Costco service and support. Especially wanted a better camera for taking sport and family photos of four granddaughters! I am so happy I took the plunge! The camera and lenses are exceptional. Having a case and lens bag with software is just frosting on the cake! Recommend this camera to anyone that wants more control and true colors over point and shoot cameras."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jackson, Ca.
Date:November 23, 2011

Love my D3100!

Pros: intuitive to use, superb quality, can adapt to skill levels
Cons: can be "contrasty" in bright light
Model Number: Nikon D3100
"My husband gave me a Nikon D3100 for Christmas last year, and it is fantastic! I have used it extensively, and I'm getting raves on the pics. So this year, I'm buying the same camera for him."
Review 19 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:November 7, 2011

Great Camera at a Great Price

Model Number: Nikon D3100
"This camera works great. The kit is complete with all of the items needed to get off to a good start. I takes great pictures especially fast motion still pictures. The same package at good camera stores is around $1200 for the complete kit, so $699 is a real steal..."
Review 20 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Castle Rock, Colorago
Date:October 27, 2011

Fantastic Package and Price

Model Number: NIKON D3100 w/18-55mm & 55-200mm kit
"Have numerous NIKON products. There are none better. The D3100 incorporates many high-end features at an entry level price. 14 megapixels provides the ability to enlarge to wall print sizes with NO loss in resolution. This particular package is unbeatable for beginners and intermediate photographers. Camera is lighter and smaller than a D90 yet has most of the features - and some the D90 doesn't. Very intuitive and easy to use."
1 2 3 next>>