Customer Reviews for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price.             Lens Specifications:     F-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens (3x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilization)   AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR lens (Optical Image Stabilization) Features and Benefits:   Effective Pixels: 14.2-megapixel DX-Format CMOS Sensor   LCD Monitor: 3.0” diagonal (230,000 dots) TFT-LCD with brightness adjustment   Motion Video Quality: 1080p (1920x1080 24fps), 720p (1280x720 30fps, 25fps, 24fps), 640x424 24fps   Top Shooting Rate: Up to 3 frames per second at full resolution   Shutter Speed: 1/4000 to 30 sec. in steps of 1/3 EV   ISO Sensitivity: ISO 100 to 3200 in steps of 1 EV - Can also be set to approx. 1 EV above ISO 3200 (ISO 6400 equivalent) or to approx. 2 EV above ISO 3200 (ISO 12800 equivalent)   One-Button Live View: Easy Live View access offers 4 autofocus modes, including Face-priority AF.   AF Area Mode: Single Area AF, Dynamic-area, Auto-area AF, 3D-tracking (11 points)   Dust Sensor Cleaning Unit: Image sensor cleaning, Airflow Control System, Image Dust Off reference data (optional Capture NX 2 software required)   Exposure Metering System: 420-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II   In-Camera Image Editing: Trim, D-Lighting, Image Overlay, Filter Effects, Small Pic, Monochrome, Color Balance, NEF (RAW) Processing, Quick retouch, Straighten, Distortion Control, Fisheye, Red-eye Correction, Perspective Control, Color Outline, Edit Movie, Miniature Effect   Power Source: EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-Ion Battery   Images Per Battery Charge: 550 shots based on CIPA standards   Dimensions: W 4.9” x H 3.8“ x D 2.9”; Weight: Approx. 16 oz. (body only)   Storage Media: SD/SDHC/SDXC   What's Included: Nikon D3100 Camera Body   AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens   AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR lens   Camera Case    4GB SDHC Card   Rechargeable Li-ion Battery   Battery Charger   Camera Strap   ViewNX 2 CD-ROM   Nikon School Training Pack:   Fast, Fun & Easy DVD for D3100    Understanding Digital Photography DVD    Guide to Digital Photography Booklet Model: D3100
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(1316 Reviews) 1310
(out of 1,316 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,316 reviews)
5 stars
1,060
4 stars
192
3 stars
28
2 stars
16
1 star
20
1,266 of 1,316(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Review 1 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orinda CA
Date:February 15, 2011

It's All About Value

Pros: compact light weight, rational intuitive controls, quick response times
Cons: no no aperture stop-down
Model Number: D3100
"This is a camera to grow your photography skills with or, if you are already experienced, just to carry and enjoy for the quality of the images it can produce. While it is very plastic everything fits well and functions smoothly. The kit includes items of equal quality and surpasses anything on the market by even the big New York retailers at an extremely good price. Even the bag is high-quality and the book & CD as well as the software included are first-rate. The camera itself was designed for someone who will make use of its manual controls and the "Guide" mode is a quick refresher course for those of us who have learned it all and then forgotten some. Altogether an outstanding value.."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 7, 2011
Pros: superb picture quality, easy to use, lightweight small, a complete package for first dslr
Cons: short battery life
Model Number: Nikon D3100 Bundle
"I went into Costco debating whether to buy the Nikon D5100, or Canon T2i, but I couldn't pass up the great price on the D3100! After talking to the knowledgeable people at my local camera store, and reading reviews online I saw that the D5100 is more for people that will be taking video (which I'm not) and who will want the articulating screen. My last camera had one and it was time-consuming to constantly open and flip the screen every time I turned on the camera.
The Canon to me didn't feel as nice in my hands, or frankly look as sleek as the Nikon.
I'm so glad I went with the D3100, it's my first DSLR and I couldn't be happier! After looking at my photos from the last month I'm blown away by the quality, crispness, and colors of my photos. It's light and small so I can throw it in my purse and take it everywhere with me!
This is a great package! I love having the two lenses, and I also purchased the 50mm f/1.8g lens to take really nice portraits of my kids, so now I'm set!
My one and only complaint is that the battery lasts about 400-500 pictures (which for me could be one day with the continous shooting option.) So, you do need to remember to charge your battery after use, or puchase a back-up battery for about $50.
Overall, I HIGHLY recommend this camera! I LOVE it!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orem, Utah
Date:March 9, 2011

WOW! What a deal

Model Number: Nikon D3100
"I've been looking around for a good camera for awhile. I wanted something that was more versatile that a point-and-shoot, but didn't cost a fortune. Everything I hoped for is in this package. The camera is amazing. You can choose from the ease of a point-and-shoot, to using the more advanced features to have more control over the shots you take. The guild feature makes it really easy to take great pictures while you are learning how to do it.
One of the best features of this package is the two videos that comes with it. In the Nikon school Fast, Fun and Easy professional photographer Kevin Kubota takes you step-by-step through every feature of the Nikon D3100 in a fun, interesting and informative way. In the other video, Nikon school, Understanding Digital Photography, Professional photographer Bob Krist takes you to a whole new level of how to take great pictures with your D3100.
I am very happy with my new camera
.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Renton, WA
Date:March 22, 2011

Not A Beginner's Camera!

Pros: amazingly easy to use, great improvement over competition, great features
Cons: should have vr body, ferrite core but no pc transfer cable, needs uv filter protection, no one will buy my old camera!, not for newbies
Model Number: D3100
"I'm laughing at some of the reviews that compliment this camera on being good for beginners and then complain it doesn't do enough to help them learn to use the camera! If you're a beginner, then plan on taking a class or stick with Cool Pix. If you know what you are doing or at least have an inkling about SLR's, then this is perfectly suitable for the money. It's a great value! I just upgraded from my 3 year old 10 mp Canon Rebel XTI, which I really liked, except it is, at times, too sensitive to movement. Nikon addresses this problem with the VR lens .. (btw:it should be a VR body so you can use any Nikon lens, but I'm sure they will make MORE money if they force you to pay premiums for having a VR lens!)The Costco kit is an excellent deal, but I'm surprised it didn't come with a transfer cable. I mean, why provide a ferrite core, but no cable to attach it to? Oh, and how many newbies know what a ferrite core is? (Wik-it up guys!) In addition, there isn't a UV filter to protect the lenses. I can get a decent one on-line for under $10 so it would have been nice if the kit included two. It's worthwhile even if it increases the kit price just a bit. So all you newbies, buying your first DSLR, be sure to go out and buy UV protection (and I don't mean sunscreen!) The camera strap is ok, but the instructions for lacing it were hard to locate. I had to wik-it up and then I finally found it on the folded paper instructions. BUT, despite my petty complaints, this camera just blows my Canon away, which both surprises and impresses me a lot. It came with more items than my Canon and it cost less money! Regarding photography, I consider myself a talented amateur (I've owned an SLR since 1982), but what I enjoy is how the Nikon features playfully challenge me to learn how they work versus just using auto program every time. I feel my photography skills are improving again, which makes justifying the purchase that much easier. I even like the fact the camera makes hi-def movies, so I don't need to buy a video camera, but don't buy the D3100 for filming movies. Use it as a camera first and foremost ... and don't complain if you're new to DSLR's and don't understand how it all works. Get up off the couch and start taking pictures! You can always erase the bad ones and as you take more photos, you will eventually learn how to consistently take pictures you and many others will like!"
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pa
Date:November 23, 2011

Great Camera

Pros: well written set up instructions with line drawin
Cons: no usb cable
Model Number: D3100 SLR
"I have only had this camera a couple weeks and I am thrilled. While it has many advanced functions, initial set up and use are easy. My only issue is that it did not come with a USB cable. Who packages a camera of this caliber without a way to upload the photo's? I did find one at the Nikon online store, no local retailers carry the USB, but they do have a little transfer plug that requires you to remove the memory card to transfer the photo's. I think that would be all right if you only do it once in a while, but I transfer photo's almost daily. That is too much in and out and wear and tear. I read quite a few on-line reviews with major complaints from other retailers who claim to have the right cable but it was not. Don't waste your money, buy the right one first. Further research led me to believe that Costco is not the only package that does not include the cable. You will love the camera."
Review 6 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Beaver Falls, PA
Date:February 14, 2011

Nikon D3100 Kit from Costco

Pros: nice camera bag with good space for the size, i acturally leared from the nikon school videos, simple yet versitile
Cons: no bracketing, 3" screen is nice but not high res
Model Number: Nikon D-3100
"I bought the camera thinking that it would be purely a beginners camera. I was wrong. It has great features that IF you are a beginner then it should be no harder to use than a pont-and-shoot camera. But the camera does much more and with the Firmware update it takes great pictures (and they would be even better if I had a better photographic "eye")
Mine even came with a SanDisk class 6 card.
The only reason I didn't give it 4 stars is because it is NOT a D-7000. But it still takes wonderful pictures and it is easy yet offers good creativity capabilities.
"
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2011

Satisfaction!

Model Number: Nikon D3100
"Finally, took a deep breath and went for a "real" camera! Couldn't pass the excellent price and faith in Costco service and support. Especially wanted a better camera for taking sport and family photos of four granddaughters! I am so happy I took the plunge! The camera and lenses are exceptional. Having a case and lens bag with software is just frosting on the cake! Recommend this camera to anyone that wants more control and true colors over point and shoot cameras."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern NJ
Date:August 27, 2012

Love this camera!

Cons: wish the bundle came with a usb cable
Model Number: Nikon D3100 DSLR camera & lens bundle
"I bought this SLR after I saw what beautiful, clear photos it took. I have only used compact digital cameras in the past, and was never quite satisfied with the quality of the photos. I am a casual user at best, but this camera makes me look like I know what I'm doing! It is very easy to use, has plenty of guidance, instructions and tips built right into the menu screen on the camera. It's like digital SLR for dummies."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:April 17, 2012

Wow! Best Camera Ever

Cons: none
Model Number: Nikon D3100
"Cameras don't get much better! Received the package 2 days after purchase in perfect condition. Pictures are quantum leap (noticeably) better then our Cannon EOS. Clarity of lens together with computer enabled light settings produce "brilliance" to each picture. Easy to use. Versatile and numerous capabilities. Enclosed DVD very well produced and helpful. We bought on friends recommendation, now we will recommend to friends."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Helena, AL
Date:December 22, 2011

Awesome camera!!!

Model Number: D3100
"I haven't really learned a whole lot about this camera, I don't know all the bells and whistles just yet, but it takes amazing pictures just having it on the basic setting. The pictures are more clear than any pictures I've ever taken with any point and shoot camera. I can't wait to read all the manuals and watch the videos and learn how to take spectacular pictures! I would definitely buy again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:May 29, 2011

Birthday Present

"Bought this for my wife's birthday and she loves it. Easy to use right out of the box, and she is not very electronically gifted. The training DVDs have helped her to improve her photography skills and I expect we will love this camera more as we continue to use it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:August 17, 2011

Glad I finally upgraded

Model Number: D3100 Digital SLR
"I am glad that I purchased the Nikon D3100 Digital SLR bundle package from costco.com. It has everything I had with my film SLR. The videos were informative on how to use the camera. Better than trying to learn from the manual."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 12, 2011

Great purchase

Pros: great camera great priced
Cons: can't find one
Model Number: Nikon D3100
"I love this camera. I'm by no means a pro, but I have love that this camera can make me look like I am. I've checked around and can't find a better deal anywhere. You shouldn't hesitate to jump on this one!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2011

Great product and Value

"The bundle is a great value. The camera is great and both lenses included are high quality. The fact it comes with memory card, case, manuals and dvds is an added bonus for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Desert's Edge,CA
Date:July 6, 2011

Nikon 3100 Bundle

Pros: shipped quickly - in stock, easy to use
Model Number: NIKON D3100
"It came quickly and was easy to get started taking pics. Nice bonus of the DVDs and the lens included were a nice savings - love the anti vibrate button on lens for close ups"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Fl
Date:July 30, 2011

Lives up to its ratings

Pros: great value for a two lens kit
Model Number: D3100 kit with 2 lenses
"Outstanding value for a "Leading Consumer Reporting Magazine" Best Buy. It has enough features to satisfy the advanced user while not being so overwhelming for the beginner."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 11, 2011

Excellent Purchase

Model Number: 3453904
"Received the camera and the next day was up and taking pictures. Easy directions for use and the video was extremely helpful. Great camera for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carlsbad, Ca
Date:January 24, 2012

Worthy every penny

Model Number: Nikon D3100
"Before buying Nikon 3100 DSLR, I did all my researches, basically, comparing it with Canon EOS rebel t3i. Since the EOS rebel t2i I have used for two years, I know the features and characteristics. Nonetheless, I would like to try the Nikon.
As opening the box, it surprises none but I love the whole package where every thing I anticipate, including two lens which I anticipated long time ago for travel purpose.
I did a few indoor shootings and night life shootings where the quality of pictures is beyond my expectation.
With the two DVDs included that help to shrink the learning curve, I deem those particularly useful for me.
I will be shooting more pictures in the coming weeks to share with you."
Review 19 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:July 1, 2011

Yet another great model

Pros: small form factor, improved image sensor, versatile
Cons: no remote capability (like d40x), no flip-out lcd (like d5000)
Model Number: Nikon D3100 D-SLR
"This is my third DSLR (all bought from Costco). My first one was D40x. I liked the fact that it was smaller than D80 I was considering. Next one was D5000, it had a flip-out LCD display which I liked. Now I got this for my birthday from my wife. It's actually smaller than my D40x and higher resolution. Nikon has consistently improved their sensor and this one has a built-in duster to keep dust off the sensor.
I know this is because of the pricing, but I wish Costco would offer models with 15-200mm lense instead of two. Sometimes it's just not convenient to switch out lenses out in the field (like beach and Disney/Universal parks during my last vacation trip).
"
Review 20 for Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:November 8, 2012

Great product, with issues

Pros: features, quality
Cons: lousy shape, lack of decent documentation
Model Number: D3100
"This is obviously a great, quality camera loaded with features and outstanding optics at a nice value. That’s part of the problem. The documentation that comes with it is seriously deficient in explaining how to use those features. As one who has owned an SLR camera for over sixty years, the case design of this one is horrible. I’m left handed and there is no case area provided on the left side of the box to grab a hold of while aiming for a picture. This has been a feature of the SLR since its inception and has to be an issue for right handers as well in order to hold the camera steady with both hands during an exposure."
1 2 3 next>>