Customer Reviews for ASUS G53JW-XA1 Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1.5GB NVIDIA GTX 460M DDR5 Graphics Bluetooth

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

ASUS G53JW-XA1 Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1.5GB NVIDIA GTX 460M DDR5 Graphics Bluetooth

8-cell Battery SuperMulti DVD±RW Drive USB 3.0 HDMI Illuminated Keyboard
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 of 9(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ASUS G53JW-XA1 Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1.5GB NVIDIA GTX 460M DDR5 Graphics Bluetooth
Review 1 for ASUS G53JW-XA1 Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1.5GB NVIDIA GTX 460M DDR5 Graphics Bluetooth
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:February 20, 2011

Great Gaming Laptop

Pros: excellent performance, top rated nvidia 460m with 1.5gb ddr5, fast processor (great performance for the money), amazing customer service
Cons: gaming laptop - less than two hours on battery, keyboard - flexes., case - only use on a hard surface
"When I found this laptop on Costco.com I was ecstatic;
First - this is an amazing deal! Combining a Core i&-740 and an NVIDIA GTX460M makes a potent computer. Checking the performance ratings on the video card, I found that without going exotic (Multiple Video cards) this is the best price performance combination I have found.
Second - Pricing is too good to pass up! I compared the same specs from other manufactures and this setup easily costs between 1,800 and 2,200...
Third - Costco! I previously purchased a laptop from Costco.com. I ended up having an issue 1.5 years into owning the computer. Costo concierge not only took great care of the problem, but when the manufacturer tried to give us the run around, the Costco team took over. They assigned us a personal account manager that quickly resolved the issues. I have previously worked as a laptop repair tech at a retail store, and this is the best service I have ever seen or heard of.
I will not buy a computer, or other piece of electronics from any retailer other than Costco!
Having said all that; understand what you are getting. This laptop is basically a portable desktop. Don't expect to run on battery for long (two hours top). If you play games - you need to be plugged into the wall.
The power supply is massive. Don't expect to be able to use a cheap replacement power supply to run in the car (or leave one at home and carry one with you). The Wattage is simply too high to power this beast.
The video card is amazing, but it is not a desktop card with SLI. Most games (say Call of Duty Black ops) are going to run great (70+ frames per second), but some demanding games are going to tax the system.
The Core i7-740 is not top of the line. The new sandybridge (35nm) is going to be even faster. What the 740 gives you is great performance at a reasonable price.
Don't use this laptop off a hard surface. The case is plastic and both the body and the keyboard will flex (I.E. you can pop keys off). This also means that you need to invest in a great bag to protect the laptop. Just in case - the documentation from ASUS states they cover damage for one year...
All in all it is a great laptop at an amazing price!"
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ASUS G53JW-XA1 Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1.5GB NVIDIA GTX 460M DDR5 Graphics Bluetooth
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Torrance, Ca
Date:March 26, 2011

Like it!

"First off, I am not a gamer and I got this unit because this was the only one with a 1080 resolution (which I find helpful for my work related stuff)
I have had this laptop (or more appropriately, a desktop replacement) for a week now and like what I see so far.
First off, the negatives: Design gets an F. This was probably designed by an intern who had no sense in aesthetics. Worse, the intern had designs from 90s to play around with. The power unit is literally a brick (just to give you a sense of the weight of the unit, the package from UPS weighed 15 lbs - the laptop package that I returned to get this was probably 8-9 lbs )
Once I got past the design issues and start treating this unit as a desktop replacement rather than a laptop, I like everything else that I see - sound is crisp. like the feel of the keyboard, noiseless fans, display that allows me and my wife to watching movies in bed. Generally, has a solid feel to it (unlike the HP unit that I returned)
Rating 4 and not a 5 because of the design"
Review 3 for ASUS G53JW-XA1 Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1.5GB NVIDIA GTX 460M DDR5 Graphics Bluetooth
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2011

Asus g53 great laptop

Model Number: G53 J
"Great laptop. If heat is a problem for you, like on old laptops the area where your wrists sit while typing gets hot.
But on this laptop it never gets hot at all! All the heat shoots out the back vents.
It is a little heavier than most laptops, but its not unbearable. It wont even be a problem if you have it sitting on a desk.
The feel of the keyboard and palm rest is great. I do think the mouse click buttons are a little hard to push, but you quickly get used to it.
One thing to mention, the hard drive is split into 2 partitions. But it is beyond easy to merge them into 1 if you want to.
First impression is great. It is really great for video editing, like with Adobe Premiere, the video is smooth, unlike my old laptop.
Another note: The battery life isn't that great if you plan on taking this for a long period away from a plug. You'll probably get about 2 hours until it needs to get plugged in."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ASUS G53JW-XA1 Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1.5GB NVIDIA GTX 460M DDR5 Graphics Bluetooth
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kent, WA
Date:March 17, 2011

Amazing Gaming Laptop!

Pros: fast, max out every game, quiet, stays cool even while gaming, backlit keyboard looks awesome!, thx speakers work great!, usb 3.0, 120hz through hdmi, 3d through hdmi, rog
Cons: none
Model Number: G53J
"I had the HP DV7 from Costco but when I saw this I had to get it! So far I can Max out every game and the Fans keep almost silent! This is the First laptop or even Desktop that I have used that Can Play Dirt 2 in DX11 with Ultra Graphics and stay above 55FPS the whole time!
The processor is Really Fast and it has the Same Graphics Card as the Alienware MX17, This is rated the 2nd Fastest laptop in the world (G4, Attack of the Show, X-Play)
They way they have the Hard Drive Partitioned is Wierd and hard to get used to, I have had some Problems with The Backlit Keyboard not lighting but ASUS Fixed it for me.
Overall the best Laptop I have ever had!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ASUS G53JW-XA1 Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1.5GB NVIDIA GTX 460M DDR5 Graphics Bluetooth
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:March 3, 2011

better than dell and hp

Pros: very high resolution, lighted keyboard, large keyboard with a lot of extra functions, very reliable computer, usb-3, dont get hot
Cons: bad touchpad keys, heavy, not enough softwares come with it
Model Number: G53JW
"the positives: 1-very reliable computer. 2- lighted keyboard which comes very handy. 3-usb-3 which for example give you 10 times faster speed than usb-2 and are very helpfull when backing up or downloading large folders/movies etc. 4- excellent monitor resolution. i havent seen this high resolution in any other 15" notebook. you will love it. 5-it doesn't get hot.6- very practical design.
the negatives: 1-you wont like the keys on touch pad, they need too much pressure to click. if you have artheritis, it wont work for you. 2- very heavy. its not a laptop to be moved around all the time.3- not too many softwares come with it which make it kind of expensive."
Review 6 for ASUS G53JW-XA1 Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1.5GB NVIDIA GTX 460M DDR5 Graphics Bluetooth
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:April 1, 2011

It crashed after 3 days

Model Number: ASUS G53JW
"I saw this computer and was amazed at the specs for the price. After 3 days of using it for gaming the video card started crashing repeatedly, I contacted ASUS and they had me download the video card software...black screen, asked me to send it in for repair, I asked if they would extend the warranty while the computer was in their possesion they said no.I told them I would take it back and get my money back before would waste my warranty on a lemon! Other than that it seemed like a good computer...."
Review 7 for ASUS G53JW-XA1 Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1.5GB NVIDIA GTX 460M DDR5 Graphics Bluetooth
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:March 27, 2011

Heavy & Huge

Model Number: G53JW-XA1
"Didn't even power it up...pulled the 9 lbs. laptop out of the box thinking there were other things in the box causing the heaviness. Not only was the laptop heavy and bulky, the power supply was enormous. This thing is only for...actually I don't know who would want a laptop like this. ASUS went the wrong direction in size and design."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ASUS G53JW-XA1 Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1.5GB NVIDIA GTX 460M DDR5 Graphics Bluetooth
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:April 14, 2011

Great Laptop, but watch the drivers

Pros: fast great graphics
"Overall I really enjoy this laptop. The only dissappointment is that when windows updates, it apparently overwrites the keyboard driver (only once, but on a 72 hour old laptop it is a shock). I had to connect to ASUS support site, download and install the keyboard driver."
Review 9 for ASUS G53JW-XA1 Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1.5GB NVIDIA GTX 460M DDR5 Graphics Bluetooth
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Newark, NJ
Date:April 23, 2011

Not bad from Costco for the Price!

Pros: great for gaming (crysis 2 cod 4), system runs cool with high performance games, usb 3.0 add 15-30 mbps faster transferring stuff, costco warranty services
Cons: very bad viewing angles, resolution not impressive for a 1080p, power supply big & heavy, did not like the sound quality and speaker quality
Model Number: G53J series
"I personally love Costco for their great policies, such as 3 yr warrenty with American express, Tech Support and their return policy(which give one a chance to try out the product for NO restocking fee!!).
It's definitely a great deal through ONLY COSTCO!!"