Customer Reviews for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features

1000VA / 600 Watts / 120V 8 Outlets
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 16(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Review 1 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jefferson City, MO
Date:July 3, 2011

Needed an additional UPS

Model Number: bx100g
"Had two one larger one smaller but needed an addtional one."
Review 2 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:April 25, 2011

looks good

"just bought it. looks good. hooked up to server. Have to see if it lasts. It is much bigger than I expected"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2011

Good Backup

"I only had for about a week.
So, I can't say anything about the durability.
So far so good, hasn't broke down yet so it's a good sign.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:June 8, 2011

Great purchase

Model Number: apcxs1000
"This unit is great for the home computer. Easy install and of course, quick delivery by Costco. As always, love the warranty program. It's the best."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:August 17, 2011

Does the job well

"Easy to install, when the power goes out it takes over and does it's job well keeping my computer up and running with plenty of time to shut down safely."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pendleton, Oregon
Date:December 7, 2011

Ok for Model Rating

Pros: good ports
Cons: for lower usage requirments
Model Number: BX1000G
"Nice design but easily sensitive to higher loads. If you are going to use more then just the basic PC and printer a 1500 would be recommended.
Comes with lots of usable ports to plug into."
Review 7 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:July 29, 2011

Excellent Product

Pros: simple set up, great reputation for durability
Model Number: APC® BX1000G
"Have been using for about one month. Plugged iMac into main outlet, and also connected UPS to mac via a provided USB cord. iMac immediately recognized and has tools to set shutdown protocol. Basically plug and play."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2011

Works like a champ!

"Really easy to get it all going and set up... I chose not the down load the software and go through all that set up-I just couldn't rationalize the benefit... But I'm sure if I had set it up it would have worked just fine!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2011

APC BX1000 UPS

Pros: the avr feature is outstanding, excellent build quality.
Cons: none at this price!
Model Number: APC BX1000 UPS
"I have owned many UPS systems over the years and APC continues to be the best. This model is even better than I had hoped. Setup was easy and the defaults were right on. All you have to do is plug it in. Outstanding product and a must have."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:April 21, 2011

Great Product

Pros: easy to set up, easy to monitor system
Cons: none at all
Model Number: BX1000G
"I just received this Backup a few days ago before the storm season arrives. Setup and install was very easy with simple instructions supplied. This unit is capable of providing power to my PC, Monitor, Printer and Wireless Router. Also the software is very user friendly and easy to tweak. I tested the unit twice and it was flawless."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, PA
Date:June 8, 2011

APC is the best

Pros: quick setup, reliable, digital volt/watt/runtime display
Cons: power saving outlet not compatible with my new pc
Model Number: APC BX1000G
"I bought a CyberPower UPS and a APC UPS about the same time and have since replaced the CyberPower UPS with a TripLite UPS. Now I am replacing that with a APC BX1000G. I replaced the battery in my old APC and it is still going strong. I will never buy any other brand ever again. The battery installation was a snap - no tools required."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Bridgewater, MA
Date:August 15, 2011

Great UPS

Pros: great value, apc quality and dependability, great software
Cons: none
Model Number: APC BX1000G
"I have had a good experience with APC products (several Back-UPS RS 1000) . This model seems to be a modern version of my old APC power supplies, none of which have or need to be replaced. This version (I bought 4) works well. The software is great. I wouln't chance my computers to a cheap UPS. By the way, each time I ordered one of these, I got it days sooner than Costco suggested it would arrive."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Memphis TN
Date:June 21, 2011

bought two of these

"I bought two of these a couple years ago, and left in the box for almost a year before getting around to using it. I then plugged one in, and it ran about a month and turned off, and would not turn on again. So I plugged in the spare, and it ran about a week, and then started alarming, and would not stop. I can't say I would recommend this brand, though I am reluctant to spend the money experimenting on something else."
0 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, Washington
Date:October 21, 2011

APC Back-UPS XS 1000

Model Number: APC Back-UPS BX1000G
"I bought the earlier model of the APC Back-UPS BX1000G which was the APC Back-UPS XS 1000 in December 2003 from Office Depot. It has been in continuous use for almost 8 years! I live in an area where the power grid is pretty dirty (PSE) and it has saved my bacon many, many times. So now, after 8 years the battery is starting to fail - wow - can't say that I'm disappointed - 8 years - on all the time - computer on all the time - laser printer on all the time.
As you can guess - this IS the only model that I'm seriously considering for my new UPS."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:September 13, 2011

Great Performance and Value

Pros: compact good runtime replaceable batteries
Model Number: BX1000G
"Costco has a great price on this UPS making it an outstanding value. Smaller UPS units cost nearly as much and do not come close in capacity or runtime. This unit delivers quite a bit for the price. I bought it to backup my desktop hard drive, VOIP equipment, router and desk telephone. These are light loads but it tells me that I have 245 minutes of backup available. With the VOIP internal battery this will stretch my phone service to the 12 hours of the San Diego blackout. What I really like is that the inverter is not a full on or nothing system. It can provide as much as needed quietly and not even turn on a fan with light loads. The batteries are user-replacable for about $65."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for APC® BX1000G Uninterruptible Power Supply with Green Features
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Spring, TX
Date:February 4, 2012

Favorite UPS from Costco so far

Model Number: BX1000G
"A few comments, after using this model for the past 2 months:
* I like the configurable display, as long as the UPS is positioned below eye level (at or above eye level it's unreadable). The display can be configured to stay on all the time, unlike Cyberpower models that shut off after 60 seconds. The display cannot be rotated nor contrast-adjusted however (features I've only seen on the Tripplite 1010).
* One of the display screens shows how many times the UPS kicked in to prevent a power loss; a nice feature.
* This model has a mute button, and the mute state seems to be remembered even after the UPS is turned off and has lost power (unlike two Cyberpower models I tried that un-mute themselves if turned off).
* The output voltage tends to fluctuate between 107V~132V when on battery power at a load around 110W, causing my test light to flicker. The display on the UPS indicates the true fluctuating output voltage (see photos), matching my multimeter, so I give APC credit for showing the true voltage. In contrast, a Cyberpower model CyberPower CP825AVRLCD 8-Outlet Intelligent LCD Green UPS (825VA/450W) had a similar voltage regulation problem but would always indicate 120V regardless of its actual output voltage.
* The input voltage sensitivity is configurable on this model, which is a great feature that I haven't seen on any UPS I've tried from Cyberpower, Tripplite, or Belkin. Tested multiple power interruptions at the default "medium" sensitivity level and and my PC was able to tolerate the failover-delay without getting reset. (If the PC had been reset, I could adjust the APC's input voltage sensitivity so the battery-backup would kick in faster.)
* The power outlets on the back of this model were too closely spaced to plug in power adapter "bricks". Some Cyberpower models had more room between power outlets on the back.
* The on/off switch must be held in a few seconds to turn on/off the connected equipment. I like this feature, as it prevents the UPS from getting turned off accidentally (unlike two Cyberpower models I've tried that immediately shut off power to the "UPS-protected-battery-backed equipment" if the power switch is accidentally bumped)
* I have been using this UPS with Power-Factor-Correction computer power supplies with no problem, although ideally Costco should offer a UPS with true sine-wave output which are recommended for use with high-efficiency computer power supplies.
In summary, I'm pretty happy with this model and considering purchasing a second one."