Customer Reviews for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser

Stainless Steel Tanks Indicator Lights
Average Customer Rating:
3.022 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
(out of 45 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
15
28 of 45(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Review 1 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:September 23, 2011

Not working well..... lots of flaws

Pros: looks good no ugly water bottle on the top
Cons: bad insulation heater makes normal/cold tank hot, too much left in bottle when pump stops, occasional dripping
"I was hoping that all the positive reviews were more right than the bad ones.
Here is my observation after less than two weeks of usage:
General handing:
1. The device is generally quiet
2. pump only runs if water needs to be pumped into the heater, cooler, or during dispense
3. Sometimes it is dripping, sometimes its not
4. There remains a lot of water left in the bottle when the pump stops working. So what is the point of a dispenser when I have to refill .5-1 gallon of water from one bottle to another to get it all used?
Heating/Cooling:
1. Hot water is good on temperature
2. If you turn on the hot water only, the water from the dispenser in Normal and Cold reservoir is getting really warm, almost hot. Bad insulation. This is probably why some of the other reviewers felt that the cold water is not really cold.
Bottom line: I am not satisfied at all. There is no point in this dispenser and I am going to return it today."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:July 13, 2011

Buyer Beware!

Pros: looks nice, hot water works great
Cons: water comes out cool & not cold, new unit leaked water all over the floor instantly
Model Number: 900135
"The first cooler I bought did not cool very well. I called customer service & they had me make an adjustment to the thermostat. (To do this there's a screw below the night light switch that needs to be turned clockwise but not all the way). This helped but the water was still cool & NOT cold. The hot water always worked great. Eventually cool water was dispensed when pressing the room temp button so I called customer service again & this time they had me remove the top panel to verify that everything was intact which it was so they then said to return it to Costco. Before doing so I ordered another cooler (same model) to avoid being without. Well, after it came in I returned the first one & then set up the new one only to have it start leaking water all over the floor right away! This is ridiculous. Thank goodness we don't have wood flooring in the kitchen! The customer service person at my local Costco store said that several of these had been returned. Looks like my new one will be added to the list. The cooler looks nice, the bottom loading makes changing out bottles much easier & the pump does make some noise when it's working but it's not too bad. It will stop pumping when there's still half a gallon of water remaining in the bottle which is annoying. The dispenser also drips quite a bit but luckily it all lands in the drip tray."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:June 21, 2011

Good after initial problems

Pros: bottom load is excellent
Cons: problems from shipping
Model Number: YL1135S
"Have had water cooler for 3 months now and it has not experienced any futher leaks, no metallic taste, and no problem that I see others had documented.
However, initially, the unit must have been mishandled in transit. Water leaked and pump would not shut off. I called the tech support line and got excellent advice on how to fix both problems. It turns out that the water level sensors can become loose during shipping. Once I did what was instructed to resolve the problem, there has been no recurrence or other problems. whatsoever with the cooler."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2011

Great . . . but . . . .

Pros: no more lifting, nice looking
Cons: noise
"I purchased this water cooler at my local Costco even though it got some poor ratings. The water tastes fine and there are no leaks. The first time we attached the hose we did it wrong and I would not be surprised if that is why other people had leaks so double check your work. This water cooler has a pump that kicks in every few cups to bring the water UP from the bottle. It sounds like a quiet jackhammer. If your kitchen is near your sleeping space or you live in an apartment this will drive you crazy. My kitchen is big and so is my house so I only hear it when I am at the table. When the water level gets low there is a beep that can be annoying so I just open the door and it stops. Normally I would not want anything noisy but the idea of not having to lift the bottles more than compensates for me but as I said earlier if this is near your bedroom or you are in an apartment you won't like the noise."
Review 5 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:January 12, 2012

Had to return it

"I wanted to like this water cooler, I really did. I LOVE that it looks so nice & hides the ugly water bottle underneath. So even though I read the less than great reviews here, I bought it anyway & hoped for the best. It worked great for 6 months & then started humming loudly & would not keep a seal on the bottle anymore. We would screw the pump onto the bottle & then we would hear a loud pop a few minutes later & the top would pop right off. It was almost like the threading was stripped & we have never over-tightened it or otherwise mishandled it. Thankfully Costco is awesome & took it back no problems. Just wish Costco currently carried a top-loading option so I could buy another one worry free!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:July 1, 2011

Great water cooler

Pros: easy to load
Cons: leaves some water at the bottom of the jug
"Cooler works great, we busted our old one by dropping the bottles down too hard. This eliminates that problem."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs
Date:April 24, 2011

GREAT WATER COOLER

Pros: bottom loading
Cons: none
"Good looking, easy to load full bottles of water, as "quiet" as I can expect a cooler to cool water, Definitely a recommendation to Costco Customers"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2011

Solid Purchase, One Flaw

"This is an attractive and effective dispenser with some nice design features. There is a hook to hold the water dispenser tube so that it isn't contaminated when changing bottles and there is a little ramp so bottles can easily be slid into the dispenser. However, the design results in about an 1 1/2 " of water remaining in the bottle when it needs to be changed. I hate to waste, so this is annoying. I dump it into a pitcher for other uses, but this is an extra step I didn't expect. This design flaw keeps me from giving this product 5 stars."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2011

Miss our Black & Decker

Pros: was cheaper than the black & decker, like the "room temp" water option
Cons: design needs work / confusing, wastes too much water when indicates "empty", liked the slide tray from the black & decker bettr
"When our Black & Decker dispenser went out (lasted 3+ years before failure), we did a search and found this product in its stead. Setup: easy. Design: so-so - the tray beneath the dispenser is confusing, making users think there are three dispenser outlets to coincide w/ the buttons on top - as a result, they (usually) place their cup directly beneath the corresponding button, just to have it pour out. Other reviewers already pointed out that it indicates the bottle is empty about 1" from it being so; but opening & re-shutting the door, you can usually get it to pour a bit more before you have to change it, but it DOES waste more water at the end than did the Black & Decker. In addition, the Black & Decker had a slide tray to load the water bottle in/easier to load, with a more anticeptic means to insert the tube into the bottle."
Review 10 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose
Date:August 31, 2011

Great Dispenser All Around

"I read a few reviews and was hesitant to purchase, but I am glad I did. The dispenser looks sleek and the water is great! A great addition to any home or office. After reviewing the comments about bad taste I made sure I followed the cleaning directions prior to use. I rinsed the valves and reservoir with a mixed solution of bleach and water and rinsed well prior to using. Water temperature can be adjusted and the noise issue is non exitant for my machine. 2 thumbs up!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:April 2, 2012

Worst piece of junk I EVER bought

"After 2 weeks the seal fell apart and I had the joy of dealing with the WORST customer (non)service department I ever dealt with. After a month it worked again; the pump sounds like an 18-wheeler using the engine to brake and the cooling sounds like an old metal kettle boiling on the stove. We keep the kitchen door closed so we don't hear it upstairs at night. What JUNK!!!!!!!!!! Don't buy this garbage!!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:June 11, 2011

STOP!!

"I really liked the concept of a hidden bottle. I had it in my counseling room, but moved it because it was too loud when heating water. Although I followed every direction for cleaning the unit, from bleach, to vinegar, to lemon juice, water from the bottle is great; from the cooler it tastes metallic. My clients don't even want to drink from it. A waste of money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:texas
Date:May 20, 2011

poor quality

"save yourself the hassle and don't purchase this product. we purchased this dispenser and it was defected upon arrival, water leaks from container. we returned and bought new one, unfortunately the same problem the second time around. very dissatisfied with overall quality, learned my lesson and will never purchase another primo product again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:May 23, 2011

Worthless

Cons: leaks leaks leaks
"Package arrived today via UPS...
First of all, the cooler looks and feels like it was USED then returned by a previous customer.
Second, after following the instructions and installing the parts, there was a major LEAK in the system. Flooded the kitchen and ruined the carpet!
Finally, I'm returning this JUNK tomorrow at my local Costco!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:May 25, 2011

Worst Product Ever

"I have never reviewed a product online before - that is how strongly I feel that this is the worst product ever. It worked ok for a couple of months, but now is horrible. The low water level indicator beeps constantly, even immediately after a bottle change. The hot water is only warm. Don't waste your money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Tan Valley, AZ
Date:May 23, 2011

Could be better

Pros: looks good and easy to load
Cons: not as cold as i would like
Model Number: Model 900135
"Purchased this to replace a top loader that only lasted a year. No damage when it arrived. Looks great. Easy to load the bottle in the bottom. The outlet leaked a little for a couple days then quit and is ok now.
I don't think the pump is excessively noisy. After all, it is a pump and pumps make some noise. But is doesn't run that long.
Only con I have is that if you want a small glass of water, it isn't cold enough. If you always fill an 8oz glass then it is cold. I use some 5oz paper cups and the water isn't cold enough. Top load is better for that. However top loads are a pain to load the bottle. Overall I am happy with it. Only had it about 3 weeks so will see.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:May 20, 2011

Don't be fooled

Model Number: 568339
"This thing has been a headache for weeks now, beeping relentlessly. We called the manufacturer several times and hooking and unhooking the plastic water lines has not helped. They keep giving us the same useless info. We have tried everything. Now it's unplugged & gathering dust."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:May 11, 2011

2nd Water Cooler

Pros: convenient bottom loading., beautiful appearance
Cons: the bottle will not complete empty at the end, it still has 1/2 gallon of water left., hot water does not hot to boiling point., still too much noise when coolant charging
Model Number: 900135
"We have thrown out the first one after one year of usage. The top bottle loading is too heavy for us to load, and it stops cooling after one year. We keep looking for replacement until we found this bottom loading water cooler. it's so cool...."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brookings, OR
Date:June 21, 2011

Wisest Purchase

Model Number: 568339
"We ordered this on a Thursday and received the item on the following Tuesday. We have had no problems with bad water taste, noise, or leaking oil."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Primo Deluxe Stainless Steel Bottom Loading Water Cooler and Dispenser
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Little River, SC
Date:June 17, 2011

Good Water Cooler

Pros: conveinent
Cons: water could be colder
"This is the first bottom loading cooler I ever owned. It looks nicer than the top loading ones."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>