Customer Reviews for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set

Remington Bronze Finish Fixed Amorphous Panel No Wiring Required
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set
Review 1 for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, NY
Date:March 9, 2011

Excellent Buy...Quality Product

Pros: quality product, excellent buy, uses a lithium battery
Cons: none
Model Number: NE0208-78
"These solar lights are manufactured using quality materials and they are easy to install. They provide a very pleasant star lighting effect on the ground. The battery is a lithium battery which appears to hold a charge longer than the typical Ni-Cad batteries. Costco offers the lowest price.
I plan to purchase more of these lights for my backyard.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:May 12, 2011

Love these lights

Pros: gives off a lot of light, easy to assemble, great color of the item
"I bought one set of these lights after reading the other reviews. I am very impressed with the quality and the amount of light each individual piece gives off and the quality of the product. Plus the light illuminates on the ground giving a star-like look that is very pretty. I plan on purchasing two more sets to complete the front yard and to place in the back."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:August 10, 2011

Fleetingly Bright

Pros: bright
Cons: doesn't charge well in less than full sun, burns out after 3 to 4 hours even in full sun
"These burn brightly, but fleetingly, if allowed to charge in full sunlight. Those located in less than full sun must be moved around during the day to get enough sunlight to work later that night. This is not good.
To our amazement, although these lights are specified to burn for six hours, they tend to burn out after about three to four hours. In the middle of summer, when they turn on at about 8:30 p.m. they are all out or dim to the point of being useless by 12:30 a.m. So they are off for most of the night, which is very disappointing.
We bought four sets, for a total of 32 lights. So far, 12 have been tested, with one defective (will not light), and the other 11 installed with poor results. Everything will have to be packed up and returned.
Back to square one. We will probably have to give up on solar and go with low voltage."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richland, WA
Date:May 7, 2011

Starlight like lighting

"I purchased these last week and am very pleased. The glass is ribbed, so it produces a sparkling, star like lighting, not just a uniform glow. The lighting is a lot better than most solar lights, both in visual quality and quantity. I like the antique brass finish that just gives a touch of a coppery glow without being too showy. I plan on buying another set to finish off the entire yard."
Review 5 for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:August 5, 2011

Exceptional!

"We've been disappointed with a series of solar lighting over the years, but the advantages of solar don't go away -- we purchased one set of these lights based on the reviews of others. Seriously, the nanosecond you pull these out of the box and remove the contact film, every one of these light up. We love them, and they make up for a lot of bad experiences. We like them so much after several weeks, we've purchased a total of three boxes (we have a large, wide lot with little other lighting). A great value and excellent quality."
Review 6 for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area
Date:April 13, 2011

Almost as good as wired landscape lights...

"These lights are pretty good for solar. They have really big solar cells, an excellent battery and a very bright LED.
They're the best solar I've seen, and almost (but not quite) as good as wired.
The LED's are cool white, which are more efficient and brighter than warm white. I still would prefer warm white."
Review 7 for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:April 18, 2011

So Glad We Bought These

Pros: very pretty
Cons: one light in package is not operational
"Although one light wasn't working when we installed these this past weekend, the others give off such a beautiful light; almost like stars on the ground. I've had other solar lights in the past but none give off as much light as these. Love them!"
Review 8 for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:May 10, 2011

3rd set purchased

Cons: battery cant find replacement
Model Number: Westinghouse bronze color
"I bought a set of these same lights years ago. Only one is not working, due to the battery.
The leave a large star pattern on the ground. Very heavy duty, glass -well made. I am unable to find replacement batteries, lithium 3.2V - 18500- 600 mAh. same length as AA but fatter.
"
Review 9 for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 18, 2011

Hands down best solar lights available!

Pros: bright, lithium batteries, not made of cheap plastic, stay on at full brightness until they turn off
Model Number: Westinghouse Hemingway
"Brightest solar lights I've ever seen. They actually light up my walkway, my old ones wouldn't light up more than a foot diameter around each light. I'm very happy with these."
Review 10 for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Ca.
Date:August 6, 2011

Very satisfied

"As advertised, extremely bright, charges even is shaded area."
Review 11 for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pleasanton, CA
Date:August 13, 2011

exceeded expectations

Pros: bright lasts 6 hours
Cons: flat solar cells which accumulates water
"I bought these lights two months ago and very satisfied with it. I decided to write this review after seeing a negative review recently posted, which - I think - doesn't convey the true picture.
I live in northern California and I found these lights to remain lit for full six hours as advertised. Only the ones, which don't get enough sunlight due to shadow of home or bushes etc, remain lit for 4 hours. This doesn't affect brightness of the light - which is very good and equals the brightness of 7 w low voltage malibu lights - which I had before."
Review 12 for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Staten Island, NY
Date:May 21, 2011

Best solar set I have purchased

"Provides more light on my driveway then any of the any solar sets I have purchased."
Review 13 for Westinghouse Hemingway Solar Light 8-pack Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vestal, NY
Date:May 7, 2011

Very Nice But

Pros: bright, very well built
Cons: don't charge fully on a cloudy day as advertised.
Model Number: Hemingway
"The lights are high quality. They are as bright as advertised. Light is given off in a "star" effect as refracted by the glass lenses.
My only complaint is that this set is advertised to charge even on a cloudy day. My experience is that they stay dimly lit for about an hour if it was cloudy all day.
"