Customer Reviews for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe

BIGHORN 19ECB Safe

Meets or exceeds the California Department of Justice acceptable gun safe standards. The Bighorn 19ECB will give you security against fire & theft at an unbeatable value.    Thicker steel (2.75mm) and extra fire lining provide more security and fire protection, making the 19ECB substantially heavier than the competition.  This rock solid safe features heavy bodied construction, 30-minute/1200°F fire protection, fine styling and adjustable interior, and the industry's best residential warranty and customer service. Security Features: Listed with UL ® as a Residential Security Container and meets or exceeds California DOJ acceptable gun safe standards UL ® Listed commercial-grade Type 1 electronic lock Thick, rigid door for added security against prying attacks, 1.5” thick formed front, 4.75” overall thickness 1” diameter door bolts securely lock the door at 8 different points for maximum protection (8 door bolts total) Triple hardened steel plate protects the lock from drill attacks Spring loaded re-locker keeps safe secure if lock is tampered with or removed Weight:435 lbs. / 19.12 external cubic feet Interior Features:   13.13 cubic feet of interior space Interior dimensions: 57.5" H x 26.75" W x 14.75" D Holds up to 24 long guns Adjustable shelving and interior walls upholstered in automotive-grade fabric Predrilled for anchoring to the floor Predrilled through the steel for a dehumidifier (dehumidifier not included) External hinge, 180° opening door provides greater access than internal hinged designs limited to only 90° of opening Exterior Features:   19.12 cubic feet External dimensions:  59” H x 28” W x 20” D (not including handle) Durable, baked-on powder coated black finish with chrome accents Removable steel shipping feet Fire Protection: 30 minute / 1200°F fire protection: internal safe temperature remains below 350° Heat-activated expanding door seal helps keep out smoke and heat Fully fire lined, no uncovered hot spot areas like most internal hinge designs Residential Limited Lifetime Warranty: Limited Lifetime Warranty Free repair or replacement in the event of an attempted or actual burglary attack Free repair or replacement in the event of a fire For customer service please call:  800-701-9128 M-F  7:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. MST
Average Customer Rating:
4.395 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
(out of 38 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
33 of 38(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Review 1 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 17, 2014

Great Value - Would Buy Again

Pros: value, dimensions, interior, quality, delivery
Cons: none
Model Number: 19ECB
"This is a great little safe for the money. First lets say that anyone buying a $600 safe cannot expect it to be perfect, or comparable to safes twice, three, four times the cost. But for $600, this is worth every penny.
Sure there are things you could nitpick about. But it does its job; it holds my valuables securely and keeps them away from little hands. I'm a big fan of the gray lettering and chrome handles (hate the gold look). Some say they would prefer another long shelf; while I agree it wouldn't be bad to have, I don't see it bringing much value to the safe. It's already smaller in size...to try to squeeze another shelf in there would make both shelves less useful as they wouldn't have much clearance.
I bought this on a Friday afternoon and it was sitting my house 12 calender days later! Talk about quick service. Delivery service was professional and worked with me to reschedule my appointment to a more convenient time. Overall a great experience and great value from Costco and Rhino Metals."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene Oregon
Date:October 31, 2013

Great Safe for a Great Price

Pros: heavy very heavy. nobody can walk off with this!, quick delivery great price great quality, easy set up! great warranty!
Cons: nothing yet!
Model Number: Bighorn 19ECB
"Ok people, let's get real here. If you want to purchase a safe without "breaking the bank" so to speak, then this is the safe for you. This safe is a great buy for the money, $599.99 on sale. I looked around and a safe of this caliber would easily cost over $1000.00. This safe is heavy and looks to be of great quality. No weird odors as I have seen on some reviews. This safe arrived in 9 days, from order to delivery, and was in perfect shape. I felt so much better going to work today knowing that my stuff was locked up tight. If you want to lock up your valuables, guns, cameras, and important documents, then this will work great. I have learned to read the reviews when purchasing an item from the internet. I want to express in this review that for the money, I am very happy with my purchase. Not everyone can spend thousands of dollars for a home safe but still wants to be protected. This lock was easy to program and I am hoping it lasts for a very long time. Thanks to Costco and Bighorn, my valuables are safe!"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Marin, CA
Date:December 2, 2013

Great for the money

Pros: stron, heavy, has a relocker, fast shipping
Cons: cheap feeling lock, should have one more big shelf included, no option for a dial lock
Model Number: 19ECB
"Very happy with my purchase. Seems to be of good quality. My only complaint is there should at least be an option to order this safe with standard dial lock. I don't trust an electronic lock to last (especially not for years or even decades) and if the internals fail from static shock, EMP, or anything else you are effectively locked out of your own safe when you need it most. I called Bighorn before ordering and was given no option to put on a manual dial lock. They stated they don't do that anymore (they used to) and even if I paid more they wouldn't do it. So I bought it anyway and replaced the lock myself with a dial lock. I used a Sargent and Greenleaf Model 6730 lock and it is a direct replacement. Research online about how to replace it yourself first so you know what you are getting into but its not too difficult with some patience. Now that I replaced my lock I am VERY happy."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 8, 2014

Great Value, excellent service!

Pros: quality price value
Cons: haven't found any yet.
Model Number: 19ECB
"I have nothing but great things to say about this product and the service behind it. I was in a situation where I needed to purchase a safe quick to secure some items while I went out town (house was recently burglarized so this would provide some comfort…this sucker is now bolted to the ground and i have a great security and surveillance system now!). Luckily I had been researching safes for a while and am decently knowledgable. They should be selling this safe for closer to $1000, so take advantage of this price while you can! I had to call the manufacturer for a couple reasons, and was assisted by Chelsee. She was kind, professional, extremely helpful, and answered all my questions to 100% satisfaction (i think she was able to expedite my order, but i had a good reason for needing it expedited, so don't take advantage, people); from the time I spoke with her to the time my safe was delivered was less than 3 days, I'm sure thats a record!
Dear Chelsee's boss…give her a raise and a bonus, and then promote her! I have a huge network of people who buy these kind of items, and I will absolutely be recommending this product, and more specifically, your brand and company."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Date:April 10, 2014

So good, I bought a second

Pros: relatively lightweight and easy to move around, decent warranty, price, looks good
Cons: electronic lock isn't my favorite, would have been great to have a backup key
Model Number: 19ECB
"I originally bought one of these - and was worried that it might not work out. I generally don't trust something like a safe unless I've seen it personally and tested out the mechanism, etc. When it was delivered and set up, I was very impressed. The only minor complaint is the flimsy electronic lock - it worries me that if the chip goes out or something electronic fries, I can't get into my safe. That said, it's worked perfectly for a few years now.
As my gun collection grew, I needed a bigger safe - and started looking around again. My first thought was to switch up to a 30 cu. ft. safe - but then I realized I could buy another of these, sit them side-by-side, bolt them together, and I have a big space to safely store things, and it is going to be extra fire resistant and virtually impossible to move by a thief. But, if I do want to move them, all I have to do is unbolt them from each other and move each 450 lb. unit. Much easier than trying to move a 1000+ lb. monster of a safe.
All in all, I'm extremely satisfied with this safe. I bought two of them for about a quarter of the price of a similar quality "big" safe, and I've got all the storage I need."
Review 6 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:north suburb of minneapolis, mn
Date:October 11, 2013

A really good buy

Pros: a solid safe; roomy enough; a great value;, room enough for the 'average' sportsmans tools, a great value
Cons: base is not as solid as the other five sides, needed to place struts under each pair lags, so it couldn't be 'rocked'
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB
"Overall quality is good. I was a little skeptical because the price was a few hundred less than other safes of the same size that I'd looked at in person. I was sold on it when I saw a posted video. It was easy to move into place (after taking the door off to lighten the load!). Drilling the holes in the concrete to mount it was the most difficult part (I hit a length of rebar!) Once bolted in place I feel even better about having it in in the house. The kids are safe....my firearms are safe...it feels good to do the right thing (and save a couple hundred bucks doing it). I have long guns, handguns, lots of ammo and enough room for important documents."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West, KY
Date:November 23, 2013

Great safe at a great price! Bighorn 19ECB

Pros: great value, good quality, great warranty, fast shipping, compares with safes that cost alot more, very roomy, very nice interior, well built, nice exterior
Cons: no lighted keypad but most arent.
Model Number: Bighorn 19ECB Safe
"Let me start this off by saying that I researched different brands, models and sizes of safes for months before buying this one. At first I was a little uneasy about buying something this big sight unseen. After much thought I went ahead and took the chance and I have not regretted it for one minute since getting my Bighorn safe. The shipping rate was great and super fast. Exactly 5 days from the time I ordered it I had it sitting in my bed room! The truck driver was great and more than willing to help me move it inside where I wanted it. Let me say I was very nice to him as well in the hopes he would assist me, since I was the only one home at the time of delivery. The safe is very heavy, I am a decent sized guy and so was the truck driver but it too everything both of us had to get into the house and into the room it was going. I do suggest having an appliance dolly on hand. I went and rented one the day of the delivery for like 4 bucks and it was worth every penny and more. You will not regret it. The truck driver only had a pallet jack on his truck so I would had been up the creek if I had not had rented the dolly. I did slip the driver a 20 after he helped me get it in. Remember people the delivery is curbside only, the only thing the driver is required to do is get it off the truck. so either have a few friends there to help or hope the driver is nice enough to help. the 20 I gave him was well worth it. So now that I gave some delivery detail lets get to the safe. I did a lot of research and it came down to 2 safe that was within the limits and needs of what I wanted and wanted to spend. The other safe was a well known cannmodel36 gun, and the Bighorn 19ECb. I looked several times at the Cannon safes within the same price range and I almost bought one but I could not get past how cheap the interior of them were made. The flimsy felt liner to the cheap gun racks and shelves. Although the Cannon was a bit larger the quality is not even in the same ballpark. I was nervous when I got the safe unpacked a before I opened the door. I kept thinking please don't let the interior be cheap. I was so relieved when I opened it and saw what I had got. The carpet on the inside is actually like automotive carpet not like other safes that have felt like material. There is a glue smell as others have mentioned but after having it for a week the smell is about gone. The shelves look and feel to be made of quality material and not cheap partical board. I looked at safes at prices up to $3000 and IMO this one is not too far behind as far as look and quality goes. You don't get all the bells and whistles on this model but you also don't have to pay the price. I purchased a rechargeable dehumidifier and some battery operated LED lights that attach onto the safes interior perfectly and it lights up the inside just as good as if they were factory installed and you cant beat the price of DIY. Mine came equipped with an electronic lock which seems to be just as good as any other safe equipped with one. The pass code was no problem at all to change. Took me about 10 seconds to change it. the onlything about it is if it came with a lighted keypad for quicker opening in the dark without a flashlight. The inside of the safe has plenty of room, on one side I have 8 long guns some with scopes and magazines attached and I could maybe get one or two more in there. On the other side I have the adjustable shelves and have important papers and ammo with plenty of room for more. On the top shelf right now I have 8 full sized handguns and 3 compacts laying side by side so you have a ton of room up there. I do however plan on getting a door organizer and a nice pistol rack in the future. The exterior finish is very nice and mine arrived packaged well and without a scratch. If you are in the market for a safe this one comes with high regards from me and let me tell you like I said before I looked at a lot of safes before buying. I could not ask anything more from this safe at this price. I don't think you will regret it if you get it, I sure don't and would buy another one in a minute! Great safe,cant go wrong!"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Shore MA
Date:April 11, 2014

Get it now-Affordable Quality Safe

Pros: good build and affordable
Cons: you need to buy extended warranty
"I have this safe for almost a year. Though it is advertised as a 19 gun safe. It only fitted around 7 riffles with attachments to it. Well made, no damage upon delivery compared to the Cannon that i initally received. Pretty heavy. It seems like a 4 person lift. The locks are Good. The keypad is probably the cheapest but it is very secure as they cannot tap into it. Make sure you dont forget your password."
Review 9 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2013

Reasonable for the price

Pros: - arrived with no scratches or dents., - the door and lock mechanism works smoothly, - easy to change the combination, - easy to change the battery from the outside, - reasonably secure for the price, - room for about 6-7 rifles with scopes each side
Cons: - thin walls won't deter a serious thief., - would like a third shelf, - no door hanging organizer (i knew that though)
Model Number: 19ECB
"I did a lot of research before buying this safe. What I learned is if you want a truly secure safe you'd need to spend well in excess of $2,000, and more like $8,000 to have a safe that is not easily stolen or broken into. With this in mind I set my expectations.
We purchased this safe to store guns and other household valuables. Frankly the safe cost more than all the guns we have put in it. Beyond having the guns stolen we wanted them to be safe, away from little hands.
I both bolted the safe to the concrete floor in our garage, but I also drilled holes through the back and bolted it to wall studs. It may not stop thieves but it will certainly slow them down. In any case it's better than keeping the guns in the bedroom closet where they could very easily be taken."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Victorville, CA
Date:October 15, 2013

Good safe, bad lock

"I have had this for a couple of years and like the safe except for the lock. I started out using one 9 volt battery every 2 months. The safe gradually used more batteries until now I use one 9 volt battery every 2 weeks. I expect it will lock me out soon. Just got a call from the Manufacturer and it will cost me 110 dollars for a replacement lock. Out of warrentee"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fredericksburg, VA
Date:October 26, 2013

Fantastic safe, easy set up, great value

Pros: ease to set up and modify to my needs.
Cons: not a single one
Model Number: 19ECB
"Although i bought a "Gun Safe", i do not plan to use it as such. My goal is to store valuables in the safe for my ease of access yet secure from a possible intruder. The interior shelving was easy to remove and I purchased pieces of 1/4 inch tempered glass to use as shelves. It suits my needs perfectly. The safe arrived within 3 weeks, delivery was to my specific request and the delivery man even gave me some tips to help me move the safe inside.
I'm 150% satisfied with the safe, Costco's value, delivery speed, looks and ease to modify to my needs. Would strongly recommend to anyone needing an affordable yet very useful safe. It's alspo very spacious yet fits neatly in the space where placed."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:October 4, 2013

Perfect for my needs

Pros: high quality
Model Number: 19ECB
"Quality of the safe is very good, both interior and exterior. I originally set it up with guns on one side and shelfs for ammo on the other. Brought several guns back from my other house and now have guns on both sides. I have a dozen long guns and 8 handguns in it with room for a few more and spare scopes/barrels, etc. Delivery was quick, plenty of notification before arrival and driver helped me put it into a room off my garage. Considering buying a second one."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Retired military
Date:March 6, 2014

Type 1 electronic lock Thick

Pros: price for product is unbeatable
Cons: electronic lock
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB
"Everything about this safe meets or exceeds my expectations except the electronic lock. When you remove the lock to load the batteries, your first impression is "its plastic and feels cheap". A metal dial lock would have been better for the "fit, form, and function" of this beautiful safe."
Review 14 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix az
Date:January 17, 2014

Poor Quality

Pros: nothing.
Cons: locks your stuff permanently
"Wow, I was expecting the quality Costco always delivers but nope not this time. Got it delivered, setup the password, tested it four times then proceeded to lock up all my thousands in valuables. Locked it then went to open again to throw something else in there only to find it refuses my password. Beeps at me over and over now is in lockout mode. Now I can't get my stuff. And it's Friday night and no one can assist me til Monday. The electric keypad is cheap plastic like a toy from a candy machine. How can I trust this garbage lock to my valuables!!"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, Illinois
Date:August 7, 2013

Fits my needs just right!

Pros: heavy enough at 435 lbs.
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
"Great size safe, ample room inside for all kinds of things. Outside dims are perfect, not to large (59'x28'x20) fits well in room, does not take up too much floor space. All together a Great Buy."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 5, 2014

great safe

Pros: great for the price
Cons: the lock is loose cheap lock
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB
"well built plus great deliveries straight to your door"
Review 17 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:January 21, 2014

Not Bad for the Price

Pros: price
Cons: delivery and construction
Model Number: 19ECB
"I ordered this online and it was delivered in about 2 weeks. The shipping company called me to set up a delivery date and time. They told me it would be between 10 AM and 6 PM however I could call the day of and get a better estimate. I called them on that day and was told they won’t be able to give me an estimate and in fact it was against their customer policy. After insistence and telling them what I was told in my first contact they narrowed it down to between 2-5 PM. It was delivered at 5:30, but it wasn’t that easy. The hydraulic platform that lowers in the back of the truck was stuck and the driver asked me for a hammer to beat up the plate to loosen it up. That didn’t work. Then we went to a bigger hammer (sledge) to do the job. The driver had a hard time to move the safe while it was still on the truck and that was because he said ‘he brought the wrong pallet jack, and that was not his truck’. I boarded the truck and helped him load it on the jack and we lowered it down and he moved it to my garage. I hired couple of helps to carry it to where I wanted to move. Here is the long and short of it. The safe is top heavy as it says on the box and in my opinion even if you bolt it down it probably will come off if someone rocks the safe. The back panel is a thin layer of metal. I noticed this when I drilled through the hole that is in there for a humidifier. The hole is visible on the back panel, but you still have to drill through the thin layer of wood and padding to get into the safe. I used this hole to pass a electric wire to be used for various things like humidifier, watch winder, light and so on. The electric lock is mentioned by someone else is a cheap plastic keypad with a flimsy wire behind it. When you are setting up the passcode be sure to leave the door open. Basically read the instructions. According to the instructions if you forget the passcode and can’t open the safe it will cost you at least $500 to get a locksmith to open the door. The safe is roomy and has plenty of storage and like I said it is a good price for this safe."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern CA
Date:October 14, 2013

Seems need a better design....

Pros: good quality bigger
Cons: no back up for the electronic lock
Model Number: 19ECB
"It has only electronic lock, no key, no manual opening device. If the electronic lock is damaged or malfunction, the only thing you can do is to call the company, and you can do nothing before the company solve the problem."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:February 25, 2014

Great Deal!!!

"Product was delivered just as described. Safe is high quality and met every expectation. Excellent value. Very, Very pleased."
Review 20 for BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:U.S.A
Date:February 21, 2014

Great for the money

Pros: price and size
Cons: no bolts on the top or the bottom of the door
Model Number: 19EBC
"Like what it is, dose the job.
For the price could not ask for more.
Any safe can be breached with the right tools so you have to decide what you want to spend.
Don't know how long the electronic lock will last but I will find out.
"
1 2 next>>