Customer Reviews for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock

BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock

Meets or exceeds the California Department of Justice acceptable gun safe standards. White Glove delivery is available for an additional fee, select white glove at checkout. The Bighorn 19ECB will give you security against fire & theft at an unbeatable value.    Thicker steel (2.75mm) and extra fire lining provide more security and fire protection, making the 19ECB substantially heavier than the competition.  This rock solid safe features heavy bodied construction, 30-minute/1200°F fire protection, fine styling and adjustable interior, and the industry's best residential warranty and customer service. Security Features: Listed with UL ® as a Residential Security Container and meets or exceeds California DOJ acceptable gun safe standards UL ® Listed commercial-grade Type 1 electronic lock Thick, rigid door for added security against prying attacks, 1.5” thick formed front, 4.75” overall thickness 1” diameter door bolts securely lock the door at 8 different points for maximum protection (8 door bolts total) Triple hardened steel plate protects the lock from drill attacks Spring loaded re-locker keeps safe secure if lock is tampered with or removed Weight:435 lbs. / 19.12 external cubic feet Interior Features:   13.13 cubic feet of interior space Interior dimensions: 57.5" H x 26.75" W x 14.75" D Holds up to 24 long guns Adjustable shelving and interior walls upholstered in automotive-grade fabric Predrilled for anchoring to the floor Predrilled through the steel for a dehumidifier (dehumidifier not included) External hinge, 180° opening door provides greater access than internal hinged designs limited to only 90° of opening Exterior Features:   19.12 cubic feet External dimensions:  59” H x 28” W x 20” D (not including handle) Durable, baked-on powder coated black finish with chrome accents Removable steel shipping feet Fire Protection: 30 minute / 1200°F fire protection: internal safe temperature remains below 350° Heat-activated expanding door seal helps keep out smoke and heat Fully fire lined, no uncovered hot spot areas like most internal hinge designs Residential Limited Lifetime Warranty: Limited Lifetime Warranty Free repair or replacement in the event of an attempted or actual burglary attack Free repair or replacement in the event of a fire For customer service please call:  800-701-9128 M-F  7:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. MST
Average Customer Rating:
4.346 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
(out of 52 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
45 of 52(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Review 1 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chattanooga TN
Date:October 26, 2014

Electronic lock is INOP

Pros: looks nice though i do not like the matte finish.
Cons: locking mechanism is worthless.
Model Number: 19ECB
"I have now ordered two of these. Neither one has a working digital lock. They claim only a Duracell 9v will work. Yet even with that new battery it will not lock. If you get this, plan on putting on a hasp and a padlock. Quite frankly a battery operated electronic lock is suspect from the beginning but you cannot get a mechanical option. Makes you wonder how secure it really is. How did this ever get past QA? They are sending out a new lock for the first one. Haven't reached them yet for the second one. Very frustrating."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:October 24, 2014

Good Buy

Pros: value
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB
"This safe arrived promptly with no damage, and driver helped get it into my garage. No complaints. Would give it 5 stars if the electronic lock seemed as high quality as the product generally."
Review 3 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Terrebonne, Oregon
Date:October 10, 2014

Great Bargain and Service

Pros: too many to list
Cons: need a brand new battery for the lock mechanism
Model Number: Bighorn 19ECB
"I ordered the safe online from Costco on Monday and it was delivered to my house on Thursday morning. The delivery driver put it in my garage and helped me place it where I wanted. He did not want extra for that service although I gave him some anyhow. The safe is as advertised and holds all my belongings with room to spare. The adjustable shelves make it easy to configure for your needs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pullman, WA
Date:July 29, 2014

Very nice, well made

Pros: curb side service delivered right to my shop.
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB
"I have a bigger safe and wanted this smaller safe for my shop. Very impressed with the fit and finish, very heavy duty and beautiful finish!
Very happy with this product and as always Costco's great service. The safe company did a great job of packing and shipping,
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, Mo.
Date:July 24, 2014

Happy Customer

Pros: great delivery, great price, safe quality
Cons: cheap plastic combination lock, no back up for lock failures.
Model Number: 19ECB
"I ordered this safe some weeks ago, I ordered it on a Monday and received it at my door on the very next Friday of that same week, as far as delivery is concerned (R & L Carriers) it was fantastic, there was only one delivery person so he really couldn't help me much but he did bring the safe into my garage. My plan was to install this safe in my basement, so the task remained as to how to take this 435 pound box down ten stairs and through two rooms to it's final spot. After watching several you tube videos I and a friend figured out how to accomplish this, as it turned out it was a lot easier than we thought, we took the safe out of it's box, removed the packing feet attached to the safe, took off the door, (which by the way came off with ease, we simply opened the door at a 90 degree angle and the door came right off the hinges), we then very carefully slid the safe down the carpeted stairs through the carpeted rooms to the final spot, then bolted the safe into the concrete floor, we placed the door back on the safe, this entire task took us about one hour. I like the quality of the safe itself and it's size fits my needs to a tee, however I am very disappointed and concerned about the combination lock, made of cheap plastic material, not at all what I expected, and one thin wire attached to this cheap plastic lock which is the only thing ensuring the proper operation of the lock, that wouldn't be so bad accept, there is no back up (for access into the safe) for any lock failure, this has me very concerned, this lock is why I only gave 4 stars."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mission Viejo, CA
Date:July 21, 2014

Well worth the $

Pros: price warranty delivery, costco stands behind what they sell, you don't like it return it
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: 19ECB
"I looked and read every review and shopped forever and finally pulled the trigger and went for it. I'm really glad I went through Costco. Good quality, excellent price and the delivery was awesome. I ordered on 7/14/14 and it was delivered to my home on the following Friday (7/17/14) you can't beat that service. The appointment was between 1 and 4 and the driver showed up at 1:20 unloaded the safe in my garage (short driveway) and wouldn't accept a beverage or tip for the extra service. Just an awesome all around EXCELLENT experience!!! I'm not storing guns in my safe so I can't tell you how well it does from that perspective but it is plenty big for what I need and use it for. It was delivered on short metal legs so I didn't have to worry about trying to get a big wooden pallet into my place. The safe is awesome. I've read where some people change out the electronic lock with a combo lock instead of using the electronic lock for whatever reason (personal preference about concerns with the battery. I went out and bought a 10 year battery for less than $9.00.) When I read the warrantee, it’s voided if you change anything out. Bighorn has The Best Limited Lifetime Warranty in the Industry!!! Go ahead and shop around and I can assure you that you will make the same decision I did and you will be happy. It’s a great safe for the money you spend on it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2014

Best Value

Pros: linning shelves, quality
Cons: none
Model Number: 19ECB
"High quality, Big Horn makes the safe for sale through Costco at a great price. Great starter safe or perfect if you only have about 8-10 long guns and a handful og handguns. fitting 24 long guns isn't going to happen unless you remove all selves and even than pushing. I love it would highly recommend"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:May 19, 2014

Great safe - Great price

Pros: price & quality is great!
Cons: no way to get power inside of it while locked...
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
"I got this on sale for $599 on the $200 off special. Was delivered in 7 days from the time of order. Driver rolled it all the way up to the house no problem, took him 1 minute or less.
This safe is awesome. For this price you can buy 2 or 3 of them instead of wasting $2500-$4000 on a bigger version. Quality built, should provide all the comfort I need for many years. I will probably order more of these the next time they go on sale."
Review 9 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 19, 2014

This safe rocks!!!

Pros: solid construction and quality. price., layout and inside design., free delivery
Cons: wish it was a dial lock instead of electric., but that's just being picky. no other cons.
Model Number: 19ECB Big Horn
"In looking for a solid safe, I needed a safe that would both hold all my guns and was solid and provided some fire protection. Of course, price was a factor. I looked at dozens of safes this size, but didn't find any that matched the quality of the Big Horn safe, that was in the same price range. Sure, there's some out there that may be a little better made, but you'll pay 3 times what you pay for this safe. Several of my buddies looked at my safe, and all had safes similar in size and said they liked my safe better, because of the better quality and the way the safe was arranged inside; with it's shelves and center divider. All in all, I'm very glad Costco was carrying this safe, and that it was on sale. I was also floored at how fast it was delivered to my house, FOR FREE, I might add!!! Try to find another safe of this quality that will be delivered to your house for FREE."
Review 10 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014

BIGHORN 19ECB Safe

Cons: electronic lock is flimsy
"Good Product for the money. especially the shipping."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New England
Date:May 19, 2014

Great Safe- Excellent Customer Service

Pros: excellent customer servcie
Model Number: Big Horn 19 ECB Safe
"I purchased two of these safes. This safe is very solid and secure with nice shelving inside. The time from order to delivery was only a couple of weeks. The second safe was for another home so it was not opened until 2 weeks later. The lock housing was cracked but worked. I called the manufacturer to report this and spoke with Becka. I emailed a picture and had a new lock within 2 days."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento Ca
Date:May 15, 2014

Great Home Safe

Model Number: 19ECB
"I had been looking for a safe at several retail stores. This one I had seen in Costco a few months ago and did not purchase it then. When I made up my mind to buy it, the store no longer had it. Found it a couple of weeks later on-line. It fits just right where I wanted it and the size is also just right. Price was the best I could find even including delivery right to my front door."
Review 13 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:April 22, 2014

Great Price For A Great Safe!

Pros: price, solid construction
Cons: none!
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
"I did A LOT of shopping, googling, youtubing, etc. before pulling the trigger to purchase this Big Horn safe from Costco. I never realized how much goes into one of these things! As with anything else in the world, there's the high end, the low end & the middle end. This is definitely a middle end safe, but just happened to be EXACTLY what suited my needs perfectly. I almost paid full price for this safe a few months ago & I was VERY glad to see that the safe was $200 off this month! I would have been happy with the safe even if I had paid $799, but only having to pay $599 was a cherry on top of my safe hunting sundae! After ordering the safe online, I was told it could be up to 2 to 3 weeks for delivery, but was pleasantly surprised when I received a call from the shipping company letting me know it would be at my house only 6 days after ordering it online! WINNER WINNER CHICKEN DINNER! The delivery driver was nice enough to allow me to purchase (just to clarify, I offered him a tip & it was not solicited) a few minutes of his time to get the safe down my driveway & into my garage. I will address the "chemical" smell others have discussed in their reviews here , because I personally don't see it as a "CON." It was a brand new safe, with brand new lining inside & the "chemical" smell is the glue used to hold everything in place. On the day the safe was delivered, I simply left the safe door open over night & by the next day the smell was almost completely gone. Everyone loves "new car scent" when they buy a new car, well think of this as "new safe scent" for your safe. I would & have already recommended this safe to a friend, & in fact he received his safe yesterday.
Thanks Costco & thanks Rhino/Big Horn safes for an incredible buying experience!"
Review 14 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Shore MA
Date:April 11, 2014

Get it now-Affordable Quality Safe

Pros: good build and affordable
Cons: you need to buy extended warranty
"I have this safe for almost a year. Though it is advertised as a 19 gun safe. It only fitted around 7 riffles with attachments to it. Well made, no damage upon delivery compared to the Cannon that i initally received. Pretty heavy. It seems like a 4 person lift. The locks are Good. The keypad is probably the cheapest but it is very secure as they cannot tap into it. Make sure you dont forget your password."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Date:April 10, 2014

So good, I bought a second

Pros: relatively lightweight and easy to move around, decent warranty, price, looks good
Cons: electronic lock isn't my favorite, would have been great to have a backup key
Model Number: 19ECB
"I originally bought one of these - and was worried that it might not work out. I generally don't trust something like a safe unless I've seen it personally and tested out the mechanism, etc. When it was delivered and set up, I was very impressed. The only minor complaint is the flimsy electronic lock - it worries me that if the chip goes out or something electronic fries, I can't get into my safe. That said, it's worked perfectly for a few years now.
As my gun collection grew, I needed a bigger safe - and started looking around again. My first thought was to switch up to a 30 cu. ft. safe - but then I realized I could buy another of these, sit them side-by-side, bolt them together, and I have a big space to safely store things, and it is going to be extra fire resistant and virtually impossible to move by a thief. But, if I do want to move them, all I have to do is unbolt them from each other and move each 450 lb. unit. Much easier than trying to move a 1000+ lb. monster of a safe.
All in all, I'm extremely satisfied with this safe. I bought two of them for about a quarter of the price of a similar quality "big" safe, and I've got all the storage I need."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 8, 2014

Great Value, excellent service!

Pros: quality price value
Cons: haven't found any yet.
Model Number: 19ECB
"I have nothing but great things to say about this product and the service behind it. I was in a situation where I needed to purchase a safe quick to secure some items while I went out town (house was recently burglarized so this would provide some comfort…this sucker is now bolted to the ground and i have a great security and surveillance system now!). Luckily I had been researching safes for a while and am decently knowledgable. They should be selling this safe for closer to $1000, so take advantage of this price while you can! I had to call the manufacturer for a couple reasons, and was assisted by Chelsee. She was kind, professional, extremely helpful, and answered all my questions to 100% satisfaction (i think she was able to expedite my order, but i had a good reason for needing it expedited, so don't take advantage, people); from the time I spoke with her to the time my safe was delivered was less than 3 days, I'm sure thats a record!
Dear Chelsee's boss…give her a raise and a bonus, and then promote her! I have a huge network of people who buy these kind of items, and I will absolutely be recommending this product, and more specifically, your brand and company."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Retired military
Date:March 6, 2014

Type 1 electronic lock Thick

Pros: price for product is unbeatable
Cons: electronic lock
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB
"Everything about this safe meets or exceeds my expectations except the electronic lock. When you remove the lock to load the batteries, your first impression is "its plastic and feels cheap". A metal dial lock would have been better for the "fit, form, and function" of this beautiful safe."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 5, 2014

great safe

Pros: great for the price
Cons: the lock is loose cheap lock
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB
"well built plus great deliveries straight to your door"
Review 19 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:February 25, 2014

Great Deal!!!

"Product was delivered just as described. Safe is high quality and met every expectation. Excellent value. Very, Very pleased."
Review 20 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:U.S.A
Date:February 21, 2014

Great for the money

Pros: price and size
Cons: no bolts on the top or the bottom of the door
Model Number: 19EBC
"Like what it is, dose the job.
For the price could not ask for more.
Any safe can be breached with the right tools so you have to decide what you want to spend.
Don't know how long the electronic lock will last but I will find out.
"
1 2 3 next>>