Customer Reviews for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock

Meets or exceeds the California Department of Justice acceptable gun safe standards. White Glove delivery is available for an additional fee, select white glove at checkout. White Glove not available in Alaska, Hawaii or Puerto Rico
Average Customer Rating:
4.243 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
(out of 70 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
6
59 of 70(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Review 1 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Orleans
Date:June 29, 2015

Great safe

" Great safe for the price. This is my second one. First one was purchased about 5 years ago and has been in my garage. I live in the Gulf South, so it is very hot and humid in my garage. This safe looks like it is new. "
Review 2 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Man of the world wherever my wanderlust takes me..
Date:June 22, 2015

Exceptional safe, awesome customer service

Pros: price delivery and manufacturers customer service
Cons: so far it is all good!
Model Number: 19ECB
" For the price including free delivery you would hard pressed to do better. Shipped quickly and delivered in a week or so. Delivery was hassle free and the delivery owner operated company dropped it in the garage ( Key Word to remember is TIP!) Contacted manufacturing to purchase to purchase optional additional 4 year warranty on top of the 1 year already included for 5 years. The package included an interior led light, dehumidifier and 3 really well made baseball caps. Placed order over the phone in the afternoon and the packed arrived the next day! Awesome surprise, awesome service. Would absolutely recommend this safe! "
Review 3 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:TN
Date:June 17, 2015

Definitely worth the money!

" I have been looking for some time and the safe gave me both quality and price that is palatable. "
Review 4 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Placerville, CA
Date:June 5, 2015

Great safe, great value and great customer service

Pros: they stand behind their products and the warranty
" I have owned this safe for approx. 3 years and was more worried about theft than fire when it was purchased. I just had a house fire less than two weeks ago and luckily I had but my guns, passport and over $4500 cash in it. I also had some pictures, etc and I am glad I used it as I did. Do yourself a favor and get this safe or one similar and put ALL of your valuables and photos, ID's, etc. in it ASAP. My only regret is not putting more things inside of it prior to suffering this hear breaking loss. I emailed Big Horn safe within a few days of my loss and after sending them a few things I now have a replacement safe enroute to my new address. Margaret was very helpful and they even let me upgrade with just a few hundred dollars to a heavier safe with a better fire rating. Thanks again Big Horn for the awesome warranty service and replacement! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:May 21, 2015

Previously Owned?

Pros: good price for this size of safe.
Cons: customer service was slow to respond, nuts at the bottom of the safe were stripped, inside of the safe was dirty, equipment dropped off delivery truck
Model Number: 19ECB
" First I want to say my rating is of the overall process and experience I went through, not the safe itself. Well the second safe that is, that one I would have rated a 5 stars by itself.
I like most people who read the reviews and specification for this safe was very excited. The price and looks all seemed good. The first safe I got was dirty inside, probably from building it but they could have spent a few minutes and vacuumed it out. But that wasn't even the real problem, it was the screws at the bottom of the safe that you needed to take off to get the safe all the way to the floor and off the feet. They were pretty badly stripped, so I was unable to get them off. So about after a month of trying to get a hold of support and work with them on options . They ended up shipping me a new one. My second safe was great. Legs came off easy, clean inside and everything just worked. I am going to work on bolting my safe to the ground next week but so far everything looks great.
One last thing delivery of your safe. Be careful when you deal with these guys, the guy I had seemed nice but he kept trying to just drop the safe off anywhere and leave. On top of this poor service, he dropped his lifting equipment off his truck twice. It damaged my concrete driveway.
Thank you.
mathris "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Morningside, Maryland
Date:May 7, 2015

Great!!! Just Great!*

Pros: the mr. was really happy all his guns an some fit
Cons: it was larger than expected (good really)
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB Safe - Item# 569035
" My husband has been asking for a safe for 3 years and I always said where is it going to Go! Well...My son moved to another state a few months ago. When I saw this size safe at a great price I ordered it on the spot. We found a great place.. Yup, right in my son's Closet! and it fit perfect* :-) "
Review 7 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Enfield,CT
Date:May 6, 2015

Great price for a good purchase

Pros: overall good product for the money
Cons: none
Model Number: 19.1 CU FT BigHorn Safe
" I am happy with my purchase. Th only thing that I thing could be improved is by place a seal around the door opening. By using a fire retardant seal it would increase the fire protection and make a tighter fitting door. "
Review 8 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:April 29, 2015

Bighorn Safe 19.1 CuFt

Pros: right size for home use
Cons: that thing is a b*tch to move!
Model Number: n/a
" Safe is right size and fit for me. Handles feel very "weak" and cheap, but all other aspects are solid.
When delivered, the side of the safe had been slightly damaged in shipping (scraping paint off), but wasn't worth hauling it back outside to take a new delivery of replacement safe. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Holden Beach, NC
Date:April 29, 2015

Value

Model Number: Bighorn 24 gun safe
" Excellent value for the money. Ordered on line. 24 gun safe weighed in excess of 435 pounds and delivered to door. Very happy with purchase. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:April 28, 2015

Good product

Pros: best prize good product and good delivery too.
Cons: nothing
Model Number: Bighorn 19.1 cufet
" Best prize from Costco compare to others reteller store "
Review 11 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:April 25, 2015

Love this safe.

Pros: great product outstanding customer service
Cons: none
" Great Safe, Great Value. I am really happy with this safe. I bought some Velcro pistol holsters and stuck them on the door. Kind of tough to get to the second floor, but is strong and sturdy.
I have rifles on one side and ammo on the other. Holds about 10 long guns comfortably on each side.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SWFL
Date:April 22, 2015

Not what you would expect

Pros: not a lot
Cons: no quality
Model Number: 504164
" I hope I never have a break in or fire to really test the security and fire rating. This safe is very thin metal that wouldn't take a lot to break in. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:April 22, 2015

Residential Safe Quality Standard

Pros: value priced practically efficient
Cons: none that rise to a problem
Model Number: Bighorn Classic 19ECB
" I've read in different locations on the internet how good and how bad this safe is. The pros are reasonable some of the cons are silly.
This is a safe that can be used with a high level of effectiveness in most residential settings. It will prevent the opportunistic break-in perpetrator from getting at your valuables. It will likely limit damages to your property in the event of most residential fires. Bolt it to the floor (ideally a concrete floor) and it isn't going anywhere.
If a thief goes to your house with the intent of defeating this safe...he may accomplish that. He would have to know in advance what type safe you have - and bring along the means to enter it. That is extremely unlikely in most residential applications. If you have guns and valuables that rise to the level that a thief would identify your residence as a target and know enough that you have valuables that make a daring safe cracking worth the risk, then get a Fort Knox Gun Vault starting at $4500 and up.
This is more than enough for my and I would argue most residential needs. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:April 20, 2015

Great Safe - Great Value!

Pros: great value, well built
Cons: hard to move into the house
" This is a great safe! If you own a few guns and want to keep them safe and away from others, this does the job!. Very well worth $599 in my opinion. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Danvile, CA
Date:January 26, 2015

Easy to break in

Pros: none - none - none
Cons: many many many
Model Number: Big Horn
" The electronic lock is useless, anyone with a little of electronic understanding and a 9V battery can open this safe within a minute. What a waste of money! "
5 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:November 17, 2014

Understand what you're buying

Pros: price
Cons: security
" Not that there's anything particularly wrong with them, but these are inexpensive thin metal imported safes. The thickness of the metal on the door, the door jamb, and the metal panels that support the bolts is critical to prevent pry-bar forced opening, the most common way to break in. 1/4" steel door, and jamb is a minimum (6.4mm).The gap between the door and the jamb should be tight enough to discourage pry-bar use. Second important is the thickness of the metal on the top, sides and bottom of the box. Bolt your safe to the floor. 1500F fire protection is normally quoted. And if you’re planning on putting 20 guns or $20K in your safe, then this grade of safe may not be the right one for you. Before you buy any safe watch a few safe videos on YouTube. "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:October 29, 2014

Works well for me

Pros: simple to program and operate, good quality for the price.
Cons: none.
" Came quick! 3 of us moved it upstairs, put the battery in, programmed it, DUN! Easy to program and operate. As can be expected, the 24 long gun claim is like the ratings on hot tubs. No way 24 of what I have will fit. The 6 I actually have fit ok on one side, while the other side and top are for handguns and ammo. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chattanooga TN
Date:October 26, 2014

Electronic lock is INOP

Pros: looks nice though i do not like the matte finish.
Cons: locking mechanism is worthless.
Model Number: 19ECB
" I have now ordered two of these. Neither one has a working digital lock. They claim only a Duracell 9v will work. Yet even with that new battery it will not lock. If you get this, plan on putting on a hasp and a padlock. Quite frankly a battery operated electronic lock is suspect from the beginning but you cannot get a mechanical option. Makes you wonder how secure it really is. How did this ever get past QA? They are sending out a new lock for the first one. Haven't reached them yet for the second one. Very frustrating. "
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:October 24, 2014

Good Buy

Pros: value
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB
" This safe arrived promptly with no damage, and driver helped get it into my garage. No complaints. Would give it 5 stars if the electronic lock seemed as high quality as the product generally. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2014

BAD Keypad

" Poor quality Keypad broke after 1 year when warranty expired. Can't open the safe unless you pay $45 to buy a new one. I have a small safe made by Sentry using battery keypad, it last longer for more than 10 years and it still works great. "
1 2 3 4 next>>