Customer Reviews for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock

BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock

Meets or exceeds the California Department of Justice acceptable gun safe standards. White Glove delivery is available for an additional fee, select white glove at checkout. White Glove not available in Alaska, Hawaii or Puerto Rico
Average Customer Rating:
4.233 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
(out of 60 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
5
49 of 60(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Review 1 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:April 25, 2015

Love this safe.

Pros: great product outstanding customer service
Cons: none
" Great Safe, Great Value. I am really happy with this safe. I bought some Velcro pistol holsters and stuck them on the door. Kind of tough to get to the second floor, but is strong and sturdy.
I have rifles on one side and ammo on the other. Holds about 10 long guns comfortably on each side.
"
Review 2 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SWFL
Date:April 22, 2015

Not what you would expect

Pros: not a lot
Cons: no quality
Model Number: 504164
" I hope I never have a break in or fire to really test the security and fire rating. This safe is very thin metal that wouldn't take a lot to break in. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:April 22, 2015

Residential Safe Quality Standard

Pros: value priced practically efficient
Cons: none that rise to a problem
Model Number: Bighorn Classic 19ECB
" I've read in different locations on the internet how good and how bad this safe is. The pros are reasonable some of the cons are silly.
This is a safe that can be used with a high level of effectiveness in most residential settings. It will prevent the opportunistic break-in perpetrator from getting at your valuables. It will likely limit damages to your property in the event of most residential fires. Bolt it to the floor (ideally a concrete floor) and it isn't going anywhere.
If a thief goes to your house with the intent of defeating this safe...he may accomplish that. He would have to know in advance what type safe you have - and bring along the means to enter it. That is extremely unlikely in most residential applications. If you have guns and valuables that rise to the level that a thief would identify your residence as a target and know enough that you have valuables that make a daring safe cracking worth the risk, then get a Fort Knox Gun Vault starting at $4500 and up.
This is more than enough for my and I would argue most residential needs. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:April 20, 2015

Great Safe - Great Value!

Pros: great value, well built
Cons: hard to move into the house
" This is a great safe! If you own a few guns and want to keep them safe and away from others, this does the job!. Very well worth $599 in my opinion. "
Review 5 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Danvile, CA
Date:January 26, 2015

Easy to break in

Pros: none - none - none
Cons: many many many
Model Number: Big Horn
" The electronic lock is useless, anyone with a little of electronic understanding and a 9V battery can open this safe within a minute. What a waste of money! "
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:November 17, 2014

Understand what you're buying

Pros: price
Cons: security
" Not that there's anything particularly wrong with them, but these are inexpensive thin metal imported safes. The thickness of the metal on the door, the door jamb, and the metal panels that support the bolts is critical to prevent pry-bar forced opening, the most common way to break in. 1/4" steel door, and jamb is a minimum (6.4mm).The gap between the door and the jamb should be tight enough to discourage pry-bar use. Second important is the thickness of the metal on the top, sides and bottom of the box. Bolt your safe to the floor. 1500F fire protection is normally quoted. And if you’re planning on putting 20 guns or $20K in your safe, then this grade of safe may not be the right one for you. Before you buy any safe watch a few safe videos on YouTube. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:October 29, 2014

Works well for me

Pros: simple to program and operate, good quality for the price.
Cons: none.
" Came quick! 3 of us moved it upstairs, put the battery in, programmed it, DUN! Easy to program and operate. As can be expected, the 24 long gun claim is like the ratings on hot tubs. No way 24 of what I have will fit. The 6 I actually have fit ok on one side, while the other side and top are for handguns and ammo. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chattanooga TN
Date:October 26, 2014

Electronic lock is INOP

Pros: looks nice though i do not like the matte finish.
Cons: locking mechanism is worthless.
Model Number: 19ECB
" I have now ordered two of these. Neither one has a working digital lock. They claim only a Duracell 9v will work. Yet even with that new battery it will not lock. If you get this, plan on putting on a hasp and a padlock. Quite frankly a battery operated electronic lock is suspect from the beginning but you cannot get a mechanical option. Makes you wonder how secure it really is. How did this ever get past QA? They are sending out a new lock for the first one. Haven't reached them yet for the second one. Very frustrating. "
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:October 24, 2014

Good Buy

Pros: value
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB
" This safe arrived promptly with no damage, and driver helped get it into my garage. No complaints. Would give it 5 stars if the electronic lock seemed as high quality as the product generally. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2014

BAD Keypad

" Poor quality Keypad broke after 1 year when warranty expired. Can't open the safe unless you pay $45 to buy a new one. I have a small safe made by Sentry using battery keypad, it last longer for more than 10 years and it still works great. "
Review 11 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Terrebonne, Oregon
Date:October 10, 2014

Great Bargain and Service

Pros: too many to list
Cons: need a brand new battery for the lock mechanism
Model Number: Bighorn 19ECB
" I ordered the safe online from Costco on Monday and it was delivered to my house on Thursday morning. The delivery driver put it in my garage and helped me place it where I wanted. He did not want extra for that service although I gave him some anyhow. The safe is as advertised and holds all my belongings with room to spare. The adjustable shelves make it easy to configure for your needs. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pullman, WA
Date:July 29, 2014

Very nice, well made

Pros: curb side service delivered right to my shop.
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB
" I have a bigger safe and wanted this smaller safe for my shop. Very impressed with the fit and finish, very heavy duty and beautiful finish!
Very happy with this product and as always Costco's great service. The safe company did a great job of packing and shipping,
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, Mo.
Date:July 24, 2014

Happy Customer

Pros: great delivery, great price, safe quality
Cons: cheap plastic combination lock, no back up for lock failures.
Model Number: 19ECB
" I ordered this safe some weeks ago, I ordered it on a Monday and received it at my door on the very next Friday of that same week, as far as delivery is concerned (R & L Carriers) it was fantastic, there was only one delivery person so he really couldn't help me much but he did bring the safe into my garage. My plan was to install this safe in my basement, so the task remained as to how to take this 435 pound box down ten stairs and through two rooms to it's final spot. After watching several you tube videos I and a friend figured out how to accomplish this, as it turned out it was a lot easier than we thought, we took the safe out of it's box, removed the packing feet attached to the safe, took off the door, (which by the way came off with ease, we simply opened the door at a 90 degree angle and the door came right off the hinges), we then very carefully slid the safe down the carpeted stairs through the carpeted rooms to the final spot, then bolted the safe into the concrete floor, we placed the door back on the safe, this entire task took us about one hour. I like the quality of the safe itself and it's size fits my needs to a tee, however I am very disappointed and concerned about the combination lock, made of cheap plastic material, not at all what I expected, and one thin wire attached to this cheap plastic lock which is the only thing ensuring the proper operation of the lock, that wouldn't be so bad accept, there is no back up (for access into the safe) for any lock failure, this has me very concerned, this lock is why I only gave 4 stars. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mission Viejo, CA
Date:July 21, 2014

Well worth the $

Pros: price warranty delivery, costco stands behind what they sell, you don't like it return it
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: 19ECB
" I looked and read every review and shopped forever and finally pulled the trigger and went for it. I'm really glad I went through Costco. Good quality, excellent price and the delivery was awesome. I ordered on 7/14/14 and it was delivered to my home on the following Friday (7/17/14) you can't beat that service. The appointment was between 1 and 4 and the driver showed up at 1:20 unloaded the safe in my garage (short driveway) and wouldn't accept a beverage or tip for the extra service. Just an awesome all around EXCELLENT experience!!! I'm not storing guns in my safe so I can't tell you how well it does from that perspective but it is plenty big for what I need and use it for. It was delivered on short metal legs so I didn't have to worry about trying to get a big wooden pallet into my place. The safe is awesome. I've read where some people change out the electronic lock with a combo lock instead of using the electronic lock for whatever reason (personal preference about concerns with the battery. I went out and bought a 10 year battery for less than $9.00.) When I read the warrantee, it’s voided if you change anything out. Bighorn has The Best Limited Lifetime Warranty in the Industry!!! Go ahead and shop around and I can assure you that you will make the same decision I did and you will be happy. It’s a great safe for the money you spend on it. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2014

Best Value

Pros: linning shelves, quality
Cons: none
Model Number: 19ECB
" High quality, Big Horn makes the safe for sale through Costco at a great price. Great starter safe or perfect if you only have about 8-10 long guns and a handful og handguns. fitting 24 long guns isn't going to happen unless you remove all selves and even than pushing. I love it would highly recommend "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:May 19, 2014

Great safe - Great price

Pros: price & quality is great!
Cons: no way to get power inside of it while locked...
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
" I got this on sale for $599 on the $200 off special. Was delivered in 7 days from the time of order. Driver rolled it all the way up to the house no problem, took him 1 minute or less.
This safe is awesome. For this price you can buy 2 or 3 of them instead of wasting $2500-$4000 on a bigger version. Quality built, should provide all the comfort I need for many years. I will probably order more of these the next time they go on sale. "
Review 17 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 19, 2014

This safe rocks!!!

Pros: solid construction and quality. price., layout and inside design., free delivery
Cons: wish it was a dial lock instead of electric., but that's just being picky. no other cons.
Model Number: 19ECB Big Horn
" In looking for a solid safe, I needed a safe that would both hold all my guns and was solid and provided some fire protection. Of course, price was a factor. I looked at dozens of safes this size, but didn't find any that matched the quality of the Big Horn safe, that was in the same price range. Sure, there's some out there that may be a little better made, but you'll pay 3 times what you pay for this safe. Several of my buddies looked at my safe, and all had safes similar in size and said they liked my safe better, because of the better quality and the way the safe was arranged inside; with it's shelves and center divider. All in all, I'm very glad Costco was carrying this safe, and that it was on sale. I was also floored at how fast it was delivered to my house, FOR FREE, I might add!!! Try to find another safe of this quality that will be delivered to your house for FREE. "
Review 18 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014

BIGHORN 19ECB Safe

Cons: electronic lock is flimsy
" Good Product for the money. especially the shipping. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New England
Date:May 19, 2014

Great Safe- Excellent Customer Service

Pros: excellent customer servcie
Model Number: Big Horn 19 ECB Safe
" I purchased two of these safes. This safe is very solid and secure with nice shelving inside. The time from order to delivery was only a couple of weeks. The second safe was for another home so it was not opened until 2 weeks later. The lock housing was cracked but worked. I called the manufacturer to report this and spoke with Becka. I emailed a picture and had a new lock within 2 days. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento Ca
Date:May 15, 2014

Great Home Safe

Model Number: 19ECB
" I had been looking for a safe at several retail stores. This one I had seen in Costco a few months ago and did not purchase it then. When I made up my mind to buy it, the store no longer had it. Found it a couple of weeks later on-line. It fits just right where I wanted it and the size is also just right. Price was the best I could find even including delivery right to my front door. "
1 2 3 next>>