Customer Reviews for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock

BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock

Meets or exceeds the California Department of Justice acceptable gun safe standards. The Bighorn 19ECB will give you security against fire & theft at an unbeatable value.    Thicker steel (2.75mm) and extra fire lining provide more security and fire protection, making the 19ECB substantially heavier than the competition.  This rock solid safe features heavy bodied construction, 30-minute/1200°F fire protection, fine styling and adjustable interior, and the industry's best residential warranty and customer service. Security Features: Listed with UL ® as a Residential Security Container and meets or exceeds California DOJ acceptable gun safe standards UL ® Listed commercial-grade Type 1 electronic lock Thick, rigid door for added security against prying attacks, 1.5” thick formed front, 4.75” overall thickness 1” diameter door bolts securely lock the door at 8 different points for maximum protection (8 door bolts total) Triple hardened steel plate protects the lock from drill attacks Spring loaded re-locker keeps safe secure if lock is tampered with or removed Weight:435 lbs. / 19.12 external cubic feet Interior Features:   13.13 cubic feet of interior space Interior dimensions: 57.5" H x 26.75" W x 14.75" D Holds up to 24 long guns Adjustable shelving and interior walls upholstered in automotive-grade fabric Predrilled for anchoring to the floor Predrilled through the steel for a dehumidifier (dehumidifier not included) External hinge, 180° opening door provides greater access than internal hinged designs limited to only 90° of opening Exterior Features:   19.12 cubic feet External dimensions:  59” H x 28” W x 20” D (not including handle) Durable, baked-on powder coated black finish with chrome accents Removable steel shipping feet Fire Protection: 30 minute / 1200°F fire protection: internal safe temperature remains below 350° Heat-activated expanding door seal helps keep out smoke and heat Fully fire lined, no uncovered hot spot areas like most internal hinge designs Residential Limited Lifetime Warranty: Limited Lifetime Warranty Free repair or replacement in the event of an attempted or actual burglary attack Free repair or replacement in the event of a fire For customer service please call:  800-701-9128 M-F  7:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. MST
Average Customer Rating:
4.442 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
38 of 43(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Review 1 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mission Viejo, CA
Date:July 21, 2014

Well worth the $

Pros: price warranty delivery, costco stands behind what they sell, you don't like it return it
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: 19ECB
"I looked and read every review and shopped forever and finally pulled the trigger and went for it. I'm really glad I went through Costco. Good quality, excellent price and the delivery was awesome. I ordered on 7/14/14 and it was delivered to my home on the following Friday (7/17/14) you can't beat that service. The appointment was between 1 and 4 and the driver showed up at 1:20 unloaded the safe in my garage (short driveway) and wouldn't accept a beverage or tip for the extra service. Just an awesome all around EXCELLENT experience!!! I'm not storing guns in my safe so I can't tell you how well it does from that perspective but it is plenty big for what I need and use it for. It was delivered on short metal legs so I didn't have to worry about trying to get a big wooden pallet into my place. The safe is awesome. I've read where some people change out the electronic lock with a combo lock instead of using the electronic lock for whatever reason (personal preference about concerns with the battery. I went out and bought a 10 year battery for less than $9.00.) When I read the warrantee, it’s voided if you change anything out. Bighorn has The Best Limited Lifetime Warranty in the Industry!!! Go ahead and shop around and I can assure you that you will make the same decision I did and you will be happy. It’s a great safe for the money you spend on it."
Review 2 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2014

Best Value

Pros: linning shelves, quality
Cons: none
Model Number: 19ECB
"High quality, Big Horn makes the safe for sale through Costco at a great price. Great starter safe or perfect if you only have about 8-10 long guns and a handful og handguns. fitting 24 long guns isn't going to happen unless you remove all selves and even than pushing. I love it would highly recommend"
Review 3 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014

BIGHORN 19ECB Safe

Cons: electronic lock is flimsy
"Good Product for the money. especially the shipping."
Review 4 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New England
Date:May 19, 2014

Great Safe- Excellent Customer Service

Pros: excellent customer servcie
Model Number: Big Horn 19 ECB Safe
"I purchased two of these safes. This safe is very solid and secure with nice shelving inside. The time from order to delivery was only a couple of weeks. The second safe was for another home so it was not opened until 2 weeks later. The lock housing was cracked but worked. I called the manufacturer to report this and spoke with Becka. I emailed a picture and had a new lock within 2 days."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento Ca
Date:May 15, 2014

Great Home Safe

Model Number: 19ECB
"I had been looking for a safe at several retail stores. This one I had seen in Costco a few months ago and did not purchase it then. When I made up my mind to buy it, the store no longer had it. Found it a couple of weeks later on-line. It fits just right where I wanted it and the size is also just right. Price was the best I could find even including delivery right to my front door."
Review 6 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Shore MA
Date:April 11, 2014

Get it now-Affordable Quality Safe

Pros: good build and affordable
Cons: you need to buy extended warranty
"I have this safe for almost a year. Though it is advertised as a 19 gun safe. It only fitted around 7 riffles with attachments to it. Well made, no damage upon delivery compared to the Cannon that i initally received. Pretty heavy. It seems like a 4 person lift. The locks are Good. The keypad is probably the cheapest but it is very secure as they cannot tap into it. Make sure you dont forget your password."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Date:April 10, 2014

So good, I bought a second

Pros: relatively lightweight and easy to move around, decent warranty, price, looks good
Cons: electronic lock isn't my favorite, would have been great to have a backup key
Model Number: 19ECB
"I originally bought one of these - and was worried that it might not work out. I generally don't trust something like a safe unless I've seen it personally and tested out the mechanism, etc. When it was delivered and set up, I was very impressed. The only minor complaint is the flimsy electronic lock - it worries me that if the chip goes out or something electronic fries, I can't get into my safe. That said, it's worked perfectly for a few years now.
As my gun collection grew, I needed a bigger safe - and started looking around again. My first thought was to switch up to a 30 cu. ft. safe - but then I realized I could buy another of these, sit them side-by-side, bolt them together, and I have a big space to safely store things, and it is going to be extra fire resistant and virtually impossible to move by a thief. But, if I do want to move them, all I have to do is unbolt them from each other and move each 450 lb. unit. Much easier than trying to move a 1000+ lb. monster of a safe.
All in all, I'm extremely satisfied with this safe. I bought two of them for about a quarter of the price of a similar quality "big" safe, and I've got all the storage I need."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 8, 2014

Great Value, excellent service!

Pros: quality price value
Cons: haven't found any yet.
Model Number: 19ECB
"I have nothing but great things to say about this product and the service behind it. I was in a situation where I needed to purchase a safe quick to secure some items while I went out town (house was recently burglarized so this would provide some comfort…this sucker is now bolted to the ground and i have a great security and surveillance system now!). Luckily I had been researching safes for a while and am decently knowledgable. They should be selling this safe for closer to $1000, so take advantage of this price while you can! I had to call the manufacturer for a couple reasons, and was assisted by Chelsee. She was kind, professional, extremely helpful, and answered all my questions to 100% satisfaction (i think she was able to expedite my order, but i had a good reason for needing it expedited, so don't take advantage, people); from the time I spoke with her to the time my safe was delivered was less than 3 days, I'm sure thats a record!
Dear Chelsee's boss…give her a raise and a bonus, and then promote her! I have a huge network of people who buy these kind of items, and I will absolutely be recommending this product, and more specifically, your brand and company."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Retired military
Date:March 6, 2014

Type 1 electronic lock Thick

Pros: price for product is unbeatable
Cons: electronic lock
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB
"Everything about this safe meets or exceeds my expectations except the electronic lock. When you remove the lock to load the batteries, your first impression is "its plastic and feels cheap". A metal dial lock would have been better for the "fit, form, and function" of this beautiful safe."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 5, 2014

great safe

Pros: great for the price
Cons: the lock is loose cheap lock
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB
"well built plus great deliveries straight to your door"
Review 11 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:February 25, 2014

Great Deal!!!

"Product was delivered just as described. Safe is high quality and met every expectation. Excellent value. Very, Very pleased."
Review 12 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:U.S.A
Date:February 21, 2014

Great for the money

Pros: price and size
Cons: no bolts on the top or the bottom of the door
Model Number: 19EBC
"Like what it is, dose the job.
For the price could not ask for more.
Any safe can be breached with the right tools so you have to decide what you want to spend.
Don't know how long the electronic lock will last but I will find out.
"
Review 13 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:In Sunny So Cal... with no water
Date:February 20, 2014

Nice Safe and great customer service

Pros: easy to use, good service, great for 12 guns or less, feels solid, peace of mind
Cons: made in china!!!, cheap lock, bad glue on shelving
"It took about 3 weeks to get it delivered, the service was great. The delivery guy helped me get it into a special corner of my garage so I made sure to give him some beer money for his extra time. We went through it, looking for dings or scratches but it was in perfect condition. I did however, have one minor issue. The carpet on my smaller shelving pieces was not properly glued. I contacted Bighorn and they took care of it. So what could have been 3.5 stars was made 5 stars.
Here are a few observations if you are interested, Please keep in mind this is my first "real" safe:
1. While it works great, the digital lock is a little flimsy, as it’s in a plastic housing. It would have been nice in a metal housing of some sort.
2. I hate the fact it’s made China. I don't know if you can manufacture something like this for the same or similar price but I'd consider paying a little more for American made unit.
3. If you have 12 long guns or less, this will work (six on each side of the safe). It could get tight with more.
4. I wish they would have wired it for a network drive. I plan to run a network wire into the safe where I'll put a hard drive with photos. It would be nice if in the future something like that can be incorporated into the design.
5. The odor issue many comment on is the same as new carpet. It’s really not that big of a deal.
Over all, It’s a great safe I don't know what took me so long to get one. I go to work feeling so much more comfortable knowing my valuables are locked away. While there is never 100% security, if you want to try to man-handle almost 500 lbs. be my guest! But it is really worth it? At least with a safe like this the common thief will be forced to answer that question."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:January 21, 2014

Not Bad for the Price

Pros: price
Cons: delivery and construction
Model Number: 19ECB
"I ordered this online and it was delivered in about 2 weeks. The shipping company called me to set up a delivery date and time. They told me it would be between 10 AM and 6 PM however I could call the day of and get a better estimate. I called them on that day and was told they won’t be able to give me an estimate and in fact it was against their customer policy. After insistence and telling them what I was told in my first contact they narrowed it down to between 2-5 PM. It was delivered at 5:30, but it wasn’t that easy. The hydraulic platform that lowers in the back of the truck was stuck and the driver asked me for a hammer to beat up the plate to loosen it up. That didn’t work. Then we went to a bigger hammer (sledge) to do the job. The driver had a hard time to move the safe while it was still on the truck and that was because he said ‘he brought the wrong pallet jack, and that was not his truck’. I boarded the truck and helped him load it on the jack and we lowered it down and he moved it to my garage. I hired couple of helps to carry it to where I wanted to move. Here is the long and short of it. The safe is top heavy as it says on the box and in my opinion even if you bolt it down it probably will come off if someone rocks the safe. The back panel is a thin layer of metal. I noticed this when I drilled through the hole that is in there for a humidifier. The hole is visible on the back panel, but you still have to drill through the thin layer of wood and padding to get into the safe. I used this hole to pass a electric wire to be used for various things like humidifier, watch winder, light and so on. The electric lock is mentioned by someone else is a cheap plastic keypad with a flimsy wire behind it. When you are setting up the passcode be sure to leave the door open. Basically read the instructions. According to the instructions if you forget the passcode and can’t open the safe it will cost you at least $500 to get a locksmith to open the door. The safe is roomy and has plenty of storage and like I said it is a good price for this safe."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix az
Date:January 17, 2014

Poor Quality

Pros: nothing.
Cons: locks your stuff permanently
"Wow, I was expecting the quality Costco always delivers but nope not this time. Got it delivered, setup the password, tested it four times then proceeded to lock up all my thousands in valuables. Locked it then went to open again to throw something else in there only to find it refuses my password. Beeps at me over and over now is in lockout mode. Now I can't get my stuff. And it's Friday night and no one can assist me til Monday. The electric keypad is cheap plastic like a toy from a candy machine. How can I trust this garbage lock to my valuables!!"
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 17, 2014

Great Value - Would Buy Again

Pros: value, dimensions, interior, quality, delivery
Cons: none
Model Number: 19ECB
"This is a great little safe for the money. First lets say that anyone buying a $600 safe cannot expect it to be perfect, or comparable to safes twice, three, four times the cost. But for $600, this is worth every penny.
Sure there are things you could nitpick about. But it does its job; it holds my valuables securely and keeps them away from little hands. I'm a big fan of the gray lettering and chrome handles (hate the gold look). Some say they would prefer another long shelf; while I agree it wouldn't be bad to have, I don't see it bringing much value to the safe. It's already smaller in size...to try to squeeze another shelf in there would make both shelves less useful as they wouldn't have much clearance.
I bought this on a Friday afternoon and it was sitting my house 12 calender days later! Talk about quick service. Delivery service was professional and worked with me to reschedule my appointment to a more convenient time. Overall a great experience and great value from Costco and Rhino Metals."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Marin, CA
Date:December 2, 2013

Great for the money

Pros: stron, heavy, has a relocker, fast shipping
Cons: cheap feeling lock, should have one more big shelf included, no option for a dial lock
Model Number: 19ECB
"Very happy with my purchase. Seems to be of good quality. My only complaint is there should at least be an option to order this safe with standard dial lock. I don't trust an electronic lock to last (especially not for years or even decades) and if the internals fail from static shock, EMP, or anything else you are effectively locked out of your own safe when you need it most. I called Bighorn before ordering and was given no option to put on a manual dial lock. They stated they don't do that anymore (they used to) and even if I paid more they wouldn't do it. So I bought it anyway and replaced the lock myself with a dial lock. I used a Sargent and Greenleaf Model 6730 lock and it is a direct replacement. Research online about how to replace it yourself first so you know what you are getting into but its not too difficult with some patience. Now that I replaced my lock I am VERY happy."
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VALLEY VILLAGE,CA
Date:November 25, 2013

A great product for the value.

Pros: very sturdy easy to set the combination.
Cons: nothing.
Model Number: 19ECB
"So far very happy with this safe. It will accomodate all my guns plus other items. Ihad no problem setting the combination. Also the delivery driver was great for a few $ he moved the safe down a long driveway and into the exact spot I wanted. Also unpacked and verified everything was included."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West, KY
Date:November 23, 2013

Great safe at a great price! Bighorn 19ECB

Pros: great value, good quality, great warranty, fast shipping, compares with safes that cost alot more, very roomy, very nice interior, well built, nice exterior
Cons: no lighted keypad but most arent.
Model Number: Bighorn 19ECB Safe
"Let me start this off by saying that I researched different brands, models and sizes of safes for months before buying this one. At first I was a little uneasy about buying something this big sight unseen. After much thought I went ahead and took the chance and I have not regretted it for one minute since getting my Bighorn safe. The shipping rate was great and super fast. Exactly 5 days from the time I ordered it I had it sitting in my bed room! The truck driver was great and more than willing to help me move it inside where I wanted it. Let me say I was very nice to him as well in the hopes he would assist me, since I was the only one home at the time of delivery. The safe is very heavy, I am a decent sized guy and so was the truck driver but it too everything both of us had to get into the house and into the room it was going. I do suggest having an appliance dolly on hand. I went and rented one the day of the delivery for like 4 bucks and it was worth every penny and more. You will not regret it. The truck driver only had a pallet jack on his truck so I would had been up the creek if I had not had rented the dolly. I did slip the driver a 20 after he helped me get it in. Remember people the delivery is curbside only, the only thing the driver is required to do is get it off the truck. so either have a few friends there to help or hope the driver is nice enough to help. the 20 I gave him was well worth it. So now that I gave some delivery detail lets get to the safe. I did a lot of research and it came down to 2 safe that was within the limits and needs of what I wanted and wanted to spend. The other safe was a well known cannmodel36 gun, and the Bighorn 19ECb. I looked several times at the Cannon safes within the same price range and I almost bought one but I could not get past how cheap the interior of them were made. The flimsy felt liner to the cheap gun racks and shelves. Although the Cannon was a bit larger the quality is not even in the same ballpark. I was nervous when I got the safe unpacked a before I opened the door. I kept thinking please don't let the interior be cheap. I was so relieved when I opened it and saw what I had got. The carpet on the inside is actually like automotive carpet not like other safes that have felt like material. There is a glue smell as others have mentioned but after having it for a week the smell is about gone. The shelves look and feel to be made of quality material and not cheap partical board. I looked at safes at prices up to $3000 and IMO this one is not too far behind as far as look and quality goes. You don't get all the bells and whistles on this model but you also don't have to pay the price. I purchased a rechargeable dehumidifier and some battery operated LED lights that attach onto the safes interior perfectly and it lights up the inside just as good as if they were factory installed and you cant beat the price of DIY. Mine came equipped with an electronic lock which seems to be just as good as any other safe equipped with one. The pass code was no problem at all to change. Took me about 10 seconds to change it. the onlything about it is if it came with a lighted keypad for quicker opening in the dark without a flashlight. The inside of the safe has plenty of room, on one side I have 8 long guns some with scopes and magazines attached and I could maybe get one or two more in there. On the other side I have the adjustable shelves and have important papers and ammo with plenty of room for more. On the top shelf right now I have 8 full sized handguns and 3 compacts laying side by side so you have a ton of room up there. I do however plan on getting a door organizer and a nice pistol rack in the future. The exterior finish is very nice and mine arrived packaged well and without a scratch. If you are in the market for a safe this one comes with high regards from me and let me tell you like I said before I looked at a lot of safes before buying. I could not ask anything more from this safe at this price. I don't think you will regret it if you get it, I sure don't and would buy another one in a minute! Great safe,cant go wrong!"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BIGHORN Safe | 19.1 CuFt | 30 min Fire Protection | 59"H x 28"W x 20"D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lancaster County, PA
Date:November 12, 2013

Awesome Purchase

Pros: ease of use
Cons: none!
Model Number: BIGHORN 19ECB Safe
"We purchased this product because we needed secure storage for our collections"
1 2 3 next>>