Customer Reviews for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p Quad Pixel Plus Technology Built in Wi-Fi
Average Customer Rating:
4.576 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
(out of 106 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
5 stars
80
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
96 of 106(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Feeding Hills, MA
Date:March 8, 2012

Sharp 60" Aquomotion

Model Number: 832U
"Bought mine at Costco. The colors that this TV produces are absolutely stunning. They are so much better once it is set up at home.
Looked at many brands before deciding on this model. Having yellow as the 4th color certainly does make a difference. I can't say enough about it. Costco also had the best price.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, ca
Date:February 6, 2012

Best TV of all-time!!!

Cons: none.
Model Number: 832U
"I just bought this TV and couldn't be happier. It was super easy to set up and the $1,699 price is absolutely unbeatable. The 60 inch screen is enormous and the best picture I've ever seen.
I seriously get excited to watch almost anything on TV.
It gives you a zillion options in the picture setup to make it the perfect picture for anyone. I also paid an extra 100 and have a 5 year warranty. Brilliant!!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NEW JERSEY
Date:February 6, 2012

DON'T DELAY! PURCHASE! YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!

Pros: easy set up, excellent color, excellent sound as delivered
Cons: need two people to attach television to stand
"OK. Truth be told, I must confess that prior to this purchase I hadn't put out any significant $ for a television purchase in over a decade when I purchased a 36 inch Sony the summer of 2000 . It was the joke of the family that I was still waiting for my 27 inch Sony to break down that I purchased in 1996 and was still resident in the entertainment center. With that said, it is quite obvious that I am no hard code TV connoisseur, but I had been reading the reviews for this TV for almost a year and finally decided that when I did purchase, I would go with this model and I was not disappointed. Another reviewer was kind enough to list their preferred setings for us novices but once we got it set up we were very pleased with the picture quality as displayed and have done nothing to alter the initial settings from their original position. I also have no problem with the "soap opera look" in terms of the current viewing mode. ENJOY!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:February 1, 2012

Best TV Ever

Pros: excellent picture, price
Cons: i waited too long to purchase
Model Number: sharp quattron lc-60le832u
"This is the best TV I have ever purchased, period. It blows away the two Samsung LCD sets that I previously purchased.
Some people complain of ghosting, motion blur, etc., but these are common to all digital sets. This one just does a much better job of minimizing the effects. Other people complain of the "soap opera effect" but I'll take an effect that looks more lifelike any day!
If you set this TV up correctly, with HDMI cables, you will not be displeased."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:georgetown tx
Date:January 29, 2012

great tv

Pros: cost picture and overall look
"I purchased this for my master bedroom. I was told by my home theatre people that this tv dollar for dollar was the best on the market. I completely agree. It looks amazing even while off. The color accuracy and the sound thru the speakers are wonderful."
Review 6 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 17, 2012

LC - 60LE832U - BEST TV for the Price

Pros: wireless n, jaw-dropping color, beautiful design, light-weight, ultra thin!, 2 usb ports
Model Number: LC - 60LE832U
"I had purchased a 47" Vizio about a year before I bought this product. All of a sudden, my parents neeed a new TV. Lucky for me, I saw this model - and it was on sale (Memorial Day). I couldn't believe a model so new was available at Costco at such a low price ($1,799). So, I sold my Vizio to my parents and got this beautiful window into another world. I have since had this TV for over 6 months.
After having upgraded everything to Blu-Ray and HDMI - and then watching Lord of the Rings on it - I was absolutely in love! The colors are absolutely stunning, the size is amazing, and . . . on top of it all, it is less than 1" thick! It is thinner that the length of the last digit on my pinkie! PLUS, on top of it all - it has Wireless N (great for firmware updates and Netflix/Vudu), plenty (4) of HDMI ports, 2 USB ports, and even backwards compatible with previous A/V connections!
Absolutely 5 stars - 6 if it were possible!"
Review 7 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kenly, NC
Date:January 15, 2012

Great TV

Pros: great picture, east set up
Cons: delivery guys left the giant box and pkg material, have to use 2 remotes to work all features
Model Number: 832
"I love this TV. It's my first flat panel TV (I'm slow to upgrade). The picture is crisp, it was not hard to hook up (but I don't have module stereo equipment) and the onscreen assistant for set up was pretty clear. I paid for white glove delivery and the 2 guys that brought it in set it up on the stand and even took my old dinosaur of at TV with them. So I am very happy with the whole experience. I thought it odd that they did not bring their own screw driver with them, but no matter."
Review 8 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glenview, IL
Date:January 15, 2012

Very Nice, but turn Film Mode Off!!!!!!!!!

Model Number: LC-60LE832U
"Love this TV. Please note Anonomous' note about turning Film Mode to "Off" in Advanced settings. This was the Silver Bullet that fixed my AquoMotion 240 blur. I'm sure it has it's place, but not for watching HD NFL Football. Having Film Mode "On" also produced weird blur around fingers moving quickly on HD TV shows. Turning off has fixed this too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Little Elm Texas
Date:December 27, 2011

A REAL "BANG" FOR YOUR BUCK

Pros: great for the $$$$
Cons: none! so far
"Ok, I consider myself a smart yet impulsive buyer i.e. gadget freak, but when my Samsung DLP started going out (TV would turn off without my permission) I felt very comfortable that this was a message from above to get a new TV. I agree with other posts Samsung has gone waaay to proud on the pricing of their products so I found this alternative. I advise all to do your homework but I'm putting my blessing on this Sharp! I bought it 12/24/2011 and after a few mistakes got it plugged up and WOW!! the pic is awesome and some reviewers took the time to even suggest settings which I've tried and I would suggest taking the OPC off look in the menu for pic options there's one for you! I totally recommend this product and to bloster my feeling that i did this at the right time an article came out today on yahoo/NY Times that it's a shoppers market for big screens. Anyway I don't do these reviews but this TV earned my attention!!"
Review 10 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prosper, TX
Date:December 12, 2011

Much better than expected!

Model Number: LC-60LE832U
"Here's the thing, I spent a lot of time reading reviews here and at other retail sites as well as scouring the expert sites like AVS Forum before buying this TV. Generally speaking, if you're like me and you read a lot of reviews about products, one thing becomes clear: As much as I think of myself as a careful consumer who is technically astute and studies before buying things, most of the really experienced expert reviewers clearly have a much narrower range of acceptability than I do. That’s the nicest way I can think to say it.
For instance, before deciding on this TV I read quite a few reviews that talk about the viewing angle and contrast (black levels). I swear I have no idea what they're talking about. I mean, I understand the terminology. I’m just saying it doesn’t seem to apply in this case. At least to me. I have to assume this is one of those “narrower range of acceptability” things like I mentioned above. From my past experience with viewing angle problems on my old 720p LCDs, a TV watcher sitting at a pretty steep viewing angle would have colors wash out and render the picture unwatchable. With this Sharp unit, however, I can walk over to where I am almost directly beside the TV - far beyond the geometric point at which anyone viewing a flat surface would no longer be interested in viewing that flat surface - and I can still clearly see all the colors every bit as brightly and perfectly as they were when I was sitting in front of it.
And as for contrast – I have several older 720p LCDs in my house that can’t get close to black. They show a dark charcoal gray at best. And when watching a movie that has lots of dark scenes in it, you simply can’t see what’s going on. That is not the case with this Sharp TV. The black levels on this thing are near perfect. I’ve seen perfectly-calibrated plasma TVs with unbelievable contrast, but honestly I’d be hard-pressed to see a major difference. In any case, even assuming there is a difference, that difference falls well within my range of acceptability. The Sharp’s contrasts are so good that that’s frequently the first thing my technology-buff friends say when they see it – “the black levels are amazing!” (Yeah, we actually talk like that.)
Here's the bottom line on this TV: It has an amazing picture, it has really good sound (for those of you who aren't going to use it with additional sound components), and it has lots of cool built-in features. It's also quite a bit cheaper than the big-named competition. Samsung used to be the golden child in TVs and probably will be again at some point, but right now they're overpriced for what you're getting. Sony used to be amazing in the TV space, and they just announced they're basically going to go back to the drawing board and revamp their whole TV lineup. And yes, Apple is coming out with a TV next year - the program Steve Jobs was working on when he died - that I'm sure is going to render everything else obsolete. But in the meantime, Sharp is for real as a player in the TV market now and you should seriously consider their array of models. Personally I wasn’t very price sensitive when I was shopping TVs. I just wanted it to work great. I have it in a room with big windows so I excluded plasma and certain LED TVs that have glass screens on them from consideration. I’ve been very happy with the Sharp in all lighting situations, be it in the afternoon when the sun shines in or late at night when the room is dark. It performs great in all of them. And it didn’t hurt my feelings that the price was a lot lower than some of the other TVs I was comparing it against.
As for details, I tend to buy things with all the bells and whistles whether I need them or not – it drives my wife crazy. All the bells and whistles pretty much describes the LC-60LE832U. The only thing you don't get is 3D -- for that you have to jump up to the LC-60LE835U which isn't sold by Costco at this time. I don't personally care about 3D TVs, I think it isn't a very well developed technology yet, and my family has no interest in wearing glasses to watch movies in our house. In a few years they'll dial in the 3D TVs that don't require glasses and I'll revisit it. But for now that's where we are. But my point is that this TV comes with bells and whistles like Quattron (the extra yellow pixel) and the Aquomotion feature. Not uncommonly with big TVs, you have to turn those fancy features off to get the best picture. It doesn’t make any sense that they go to all that trouble and it makes the picture look weird, but that’s what happens. And you’ll see that on any brand of TV. The fancy features make the picture so good it actually lessens your viewing experience. If you’re familiar with the term “soap opera effect” – that’s what it creates. Fortunately Sharp has a really nice menu system that lets you make your picture changes while still watching the TV to see how your changes impact the picture. You turn off all the features and tweak the color and contrast a bit, and all the sudden everything looks “right” (there are some very good guides on tweaking this TV on AVS Forum). Having said that, it seems like you could just as easily save some money and buy one of the cheaper Sharp models without Quattron and Aquomotion. That might have been the smart move for me, but I’m not returning it just for that. It does have other fancy features that I will use, such as the Wi-Fi connection to my network to get AQUOS Net. Pretty groovy.
So if you’re a normal consumer looking for a great deal on a fantastic 60” LED TV, buy this one. Or if you want to save a few bucks, take a look at the other 60” Sharp that Costco sells. I haven’t looked at it, but I bet it’s the same panel technology and would look fantastic like this one does. Good luck!"
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2011

awesome experience

"This was the best purchase ever! It was also the smoothest from ordering, delivery to enjoyment of the TV. Highly recommend it!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:December 6, 2011

Fantastic!!

Pros: awesome colors!
Model Number: LC-60LE832U
"Purchased the 60" Sharp Aquos Quattron 240hz LED Edge in Nov 2011. Love this TV! Beautiful colors! Never realized what a huge difference adding yellow to the RGB pixel format would make. Oh my gosh, the yellows are incredible! Didn't know what we were missing. Set up was a snap and connection to our Wi-Fi was easy. The sound is good, but we did hook up to a home theatre system. The Quattron is definitely a big step up from our current 2 yr old 1080 HD Sharp Aquos that we moved to another room (and still enjoy very much). We now have 3 Sharp HD TV's and have been very satisfied."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:December 5, 2011

Satisfied with my purchase

"I purchased this product online with Costco and had it delivered to my house. So far, it has been working very well (about a month) and the telephone support number that Sharp provides when you register the TV was very helpful. The picture is very clear and sharp."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 5, 2011

Beautiful Picture

Pros: clarity, depth, color, thin screen, ease of use
Cons: netflix sound does not go through my speakers
Model Number: LC-60LE832U
"We replaced a 63" projection TV with this model. If you have an older TV, make a note that you will need new HDMI cable plugging into your cable box.. Our old TV had the component style HD plug-ins, but the new HDMI technology uses plug-ins that look more like USB ends. We have a surround sound system that goes through our DVR cable box. Make sure your cable box has a HDMI plug in, or you won't be getting the high def picture your TV is capable of. We had to run out & buy a new cable before we could use the TV.
The hardest part about setting up the TV was installing the stand. We thought the supports were on the base crooked, & wasted time straightening it, only to discover that once the TV is attached, the base swivels. Wish the instructions told us that. The rest of the set up was a breeze.
I read other reviews that thought the clarity was too clear--giving an almost soap opera quality to films. This is true in some cases, but doesn't bother us. There are adjustments for movies also, which I haven't tried yet. We've been in awe of clarity & depth--love this TV!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:December 4, 2011

Great TV, sound is super

Pros: amazing picture
Cons: none found yet
Model Number: LC-60LE832U
"The picture is amazing. Handbook easy to understand, adjustment easy. Some reviews state that a sound bar is needed due to weak speakers, and that watching sports is blurry; NOT TRUE.
I bought a sound system in anticipation of buying the TV. After setting up the TV, the TV's sound was MORE than adequate, unless you are a professional audiophile, so I returned the sound system.
There is NO blur when watching fast motion sports.
The picture is amazing-sometimes I feel that I am watching 3D; that is how good the HD is.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Agoura Hills, CA
Date:December 3, 2011

Excellent Theater Effect

Pros: outstanding picture quality breathtaking visuals, surprisingly excellent surround sound, many apps, universal remote
Cons: do not see any in the tv, costco's delivery service....major disappointment
Model Number: LC-60LE832U
"It's been only 24 Hours, &, I am already it's fan.
Excellent TV. Right now I am playing around with it's menu....will update on that latter; however, for now here are my observations:
Size: I thought it would be too big & would intimidate my living room; however, it is so thin & occupies so little space, & it is not at all overwhelming. Fits perfectly in my living room.
Picture: Lovely Pictures, fantastic with Blue Ray Movies, breathtaking visuals. Outstanding images. It gives a feel of theater
Sound: Surprisingly amazing surround sound. I was not expecting such clarity & amazing quality; however, it was welcome surprise. Sound quality is superb.
Internet Apps: More than 25-30 Apps, I am still playing with them.
Connections: 4 HDMI...that's the best thing ever....I can use it for all my players now, no need to swap cables now.
Remote: Has Universal Remote control you can control almost any DVD/BD player or a STB or even a VHS Player.
Sharp Customer Service: Excellent Support, they were with me on the phone until the entire configuration was done & I was satisfied. By the Way the Tech-Support is FREE for the Life of TV !!!! Wow!
Overall: An Excellent Value for the $$$s that I spent.
Costco Shipping & Delivery Service:
An Advise for COSTCO: Most of the deliveries are RESIDENTIAL, then why does your delivery company comes only during weekdays. Many Working Families cannot be at home on Weekdays between the hours of 09:00 & 04:00 Pm; however, your delivery company only comes during those hours, & also weekend is not an option given by this company. I was a little disappointed with the delivery company, first they were VERY ARROGANT, they did not care whether I received the product or not, they did not care if we were home or not, & more importantly not at all flexible or friendly.
Costco, really needs to change their carrier. I was very disappointed with the delivery company. My Wife had to take a day-off to receive the TV.
Moral of the Review: TV is Great, Outstanding, A Thing of Beauty....however, Costco needs to improve it's delivery service."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 28, 2011

Great TV!

"I was an early HDTV adopter and this is my third HDTV. Echoing what others have said here, the picture quality is just incredible. Maybe I'm paying extra attention, but the yellows really pop with the Quattron system. Costco delivery service delivered the TV to my house on time as promised with a 30-minute prior courtesy call -- very helpful. Unpacking and setup was a breeze. I am using the TV with DirecTV HD DVR, Blue Ray DVD and as a PC monitor -- in all media types the TV is flawless. No complaints whatsoever. I'll be buying another one shortly for my mom."
Review 18 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 28, 2011

Very Happy

Pros: great picture, easy setup, very thin, enjoy the wi-fi, great price
Cons: none yet
"We love this TV, set up was easy, picture is great."
Review 19 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lakewood Ranch, FL
Date:November 25, 2011

Great TV!!!!

"I have pruchased this TV after researching all of the feed backs on this particular model and not only on Costco website. I am sooo very happy with my choice. Thank you Costco!!!!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sharp Aquos 60" Class 1080p Aquomotion 240 LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, California
Date:November 22, 2011

Best television ever

Pros: exceptional picture clarity
"We researched many televisions before settling on the Sharp Aquos. The clarity is exceptional. My previous tv was a Samsung 46" with 120 hz. The picture didn't extend to the edges. With the Aquos, we get every inch. The 240 hz guarantees the speed and crispness. I haven't had the tv long enough to see any cons. We love everything we see."
1 2 3 4 next>>