Customer Reviews for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens

6fps Continuous Shooting Twin SD Card Slots 1080p HD Video Nikon School DVD and Booklet
Average Customer Rating:
4.66 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(1389 Reviews) 1388
(out of 1,389 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,389 reviews)
5 stars
1,130
4 stars
153
3 stars
37
2 stars
30
1 star
39
1,308 of 1,389(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Review 1 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:December 3, 2011

Best pics ever in AUTO

Pros: wonderful auto programming, amazing color balance, powerful flash, costco kit came with a very nice case.
Cons: big and heavy
Model Number: D7000
"18-200mm lens. I spent DAYS poring over the manual and experimenting with all the controls and ways to change them, and guess what? None of it is necessary! I used the D7000 at an indoor party for a hundred people in a big room with the walls painted 100% black. That was a nightmare setting for my other cameras but every picture came out perfectly. The walls looked black, not gray, but there was detail in them. The flash is powerful enough to properly expose things indoors twenty or thirty feet behind the subject, to prevent them standing in a square of darkness. The color balance is so good, all pictures came out more beautiful than anything I've shot before - straight out of the camera! Not one needed Photoshop. Perfect, even exposure, great focus, snappy response even in dim lighting, flash used on every picture but not one looks like a "flash picture." Very natural looking. Backlighting does not require forcing flash. I pointed it straight at two people in this dim room and purposely had them stand right in front of a window. AUTO. Snap. Perfect. It figures out everything. The color balance is particularly wonderful indoors. The pics look just as great on the computer screen as on the camera's monitor. It does white balance better in AUTO than my choosing any manual setting. It deals with MIXED fluorescent and incandescent lighting beautifully. Another day I shot a giant room with huge windows and full sunlight streaming in. You could still see the shaded areas yet nothing was overexposed. Not one bad picture out of a couple hundred, but the big news is that the pictures it takes look better than anything I've ever shot before. Not just normal, good pictures, but really wonderful looking pictures... and you don't have to screw around all day setting it up. A perfect TEN! Now if they could make it weigh six ounces and fit in my pocket!"
Review 2 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:GA
Date:October 17, 2011

Good Camera - Got a Messed up Piece in Hand

Model Number: D7000
"Got this from Costco 48hrs back - I was super excited when I got it home . To my utter disappointment this one has shutter related issues as all the images were over exposed - I thought I messed up some setting being a novice - But when I called Nikon Call center based in Dominican Republic & finally got them on phone after 35minutes of waiting . They tried to guide me to reset the camera to original setting but that didn't work. They asked me to upload a few snaps on to My Nikon website - Tech support immediately confirmed that it was a messed up piece . They asked me to return it to Costco . Costco took it back - NO Questions asked . I love them for their customer service . The sales associate told me that this was the 2 piece since last week that was returned due to issues.
Costco ran out of stock - I will still go back & buy this Camera once its available. I trust Nikon - Sometimes some things go wrong way"
Review 3 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago,il
Date:October 4, 2011

Perfect

Model Number: D7000
"This camera and this lens are unbeatable for 99.99% of pro-sumer pictures. No switching lenses all the time."
Review 4 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ajo, Arizona
Date:September 24, 2011

Great Purchase

Pros: great quality
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: D7000
"Have had Nikon Cameras in the past but were 35mm SLRs. Next purchase was Fuji DSLR which gave new meaning to Photography but then comes alone the Nikon D7000 and there is no equal for the money. Good for amature and the professional."
Review 5 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 15, 2011

This is a great camera

Model Number: d7000
"I own the D40x and was ready to upgrade. This is a great step. Those of you looking for a great camera with a great lens at an affordable price this is it. This camera will let you grow in Digital photography. Plenty of features to keep you busy"
Review 6 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2011

Made the Right Choice

Pros: low light, design, menu
Model Number: Nikon D7000
"Though mostly a Nikon user for SLR, it was hard to get past Canon-Nikon image comparisons, as I really like the Canon saturation and color palette. I was concerned about dull colors and flatter images on Nikon, but ultimately took the plunge for a number of other reasons, including low light capabilities. Great decision. I was so pleasantly surprised at how accurately the D7000 duplicated color, especially reds and deep blues/purple which have suffered in various online color tests. I've had great exposure in general, though I shoot mostly in manual where I design my own outcome. Low light capability lives up to all the hype, the menu is so user-friendly, and the camera design gets an A+. Everything I generally need is at my finger tips without having to dip in to the menu or click buttons to switch between shutter speed and f-stop. I love the more "pro" feature of having two command dials to adjust settings and a data control panel on top so you can get a quick glance of everything you need to know without having to rely on the LCD (which takes you out of your "shooting stance" when you working quickly). Auto-focus is not perfect, but then again, nothing is. But when it's good, it's really good. All in all, I'm having a lot of fun and success with the D-7000."
Review 7 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Strasburg,PA
Date:September 1, 2011

Great Camera!

Pros: dual memory sd slots
Cons: need good external flash in some shots
Model Number: D-7000
"I have had Nikons for over 37 years and they have never disappointed me yet.. I purchased a D7000 in February and have shot thousands of photos and 4000 alone in Alaska in June.( Award winning shots). Fantastic Camera, well worth the money ..the Dual memory slots are great , the battery life is great , I always carry an extra battery anyway.I have shot with a variety of wide angles 11-17 Tokina,Nikor 55 to 200 and it came with a 18 to 125 ..( now they offer a 18 to 200) Along with an external flash you have everything you will need.. You can just shoot Automatic or take a course and/or the time to understand all the fabulous settings this camera has to offer!! A great investment , and the videos are great too! I use it almost everyday with no problems! Shoot JPeg or Raw at the same time and store the Raw on your second memory card.."
Review 8 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PIttsburgh, PA
Date:September 1, 2011

Excellent- even for a newbie

Pros: lightweight, reasonable price, easy to use
Cons: can be too small for large hands
Model Number: D7000
"This is my first DSLR purchase and I'm overjoyed! Don't be overwhelmed by all the gizmos- read the book and do it a little at a time.
Great in low light, used in cave overhangs. Great shooting sports-soccer.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Madera Ca
Date:August 14, 2011

Nikon d7000

Model Number: d7000
"I was excited by the reviews of the nikon d7000, so I ordered one online from Costco. I went on a trip and the camera quit working after about 200 photo's. I researched and found out the camera had focus and hot pixel on lcd issues. I could not get the camera to work, so I returned it. Costco was first class about the return. I went out and bought s Canon 60D and it works great."
Review 10 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:August 9, 2011

Nice camera

Pros: loaded with features, great picture quality
Cons: possible quality issue with autofocus, nikon service, possible quality issue with 18-200mm lens kits
"After researching, I finally bought this camera because we have a family trip coming up. The camera was fine, but started having issue with autofocusing. The shutter will not release at all in autofocus and you are unable to take pictures. It only works in manual focus at that point. I took the camera with me to a camera store nearby and found out the issue is a defective lens, the 18-200mm VRII. I have to send the lens to Nikon for service and pay for shipping myself. Meantime, I bought this camera so we can have a nice camera for our family vacation, but it looks like I will not be able to use this camera at all for that afterall."
Review 11 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2011

piece of junk

"Will not focus. Have tried every dffirent focus setting and spent hours online researching it. Grain and fuzz at iso 100. Can't even take a basic picture with mine. Old D50 takes infinitely better pictures.
Look at the reviews. Either 5 stars or 1. Must be a quality control issue. So either buy it and hope yours works OR go a different route."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MAUI
Date:July 31, 2011

FANTASTIC CAMERA

Model Number: D7000
"I upgraded from the Nikon D40x which I love to The D7000. Unbelievable photos. You can get on Nikon's web site for a tutorial if you feel overwhelmed. Great add is the movie mode, but not sure if I will use movie mode that often. ENJOY!"
Review 13 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:June 27, 2011

Awesome

Pros: you won't wish you bought more of a camera instead
Model Number: D7000 w/ 18-200mm VR II
"Was looking to upgrade from my D50 and starting looking at new Nikons. If you’ve read any reviews on the D7000 you’ll know it’s a great camera. As far as lenses, the standard 18-105mm kit lens seemed like putting cheap tires on an expensive sports car. If you get a chance, look at the 18-105 and 18-200 side by side. You’ll see that the 18-200 is as finely made as the camera. The 18-105 with its plastic mount, not so much. But of course you pay for the quality and range of something like the 18-200. The 18-200 is a heavy lens, and I don’t think I’d want to drag it around Disney World for 3 days, but it is a whole camera bag in itself. It will focus down to a half meter so I can get better flower & bee shots with it than I could with my older 70-300. The VR on the lens didn’t sound like a big deal until taking 200mm shots, hand-held, with it on & off and comparing the differences. I’m sold on it as I can get clear shots hand-held that I would have needed at least a monopod to get with my D50 & 70-300.
If you’re shooting on Auto and don't know what depth-of-field means; save the bucks and buy a D3100, it will be lighter. If you want to take some beautiful pictures and can appreciate buttons for directly getting to settings such as bracketing and metering and focus modes, the D7000 is a beautiful camera to hold and use.
If you have other Nikon auto-focus lenses which do not have built-in focus motors (AF type), note that the D7000 body DOES have a built-in focus motor so those lenses WILL work with the D7000 just as well as AF-S lenses. The D3100 & D5100’s do not, so AF lenses will not auto-focus with those bodies, as those cameras need AF-S type lenses."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler, Arizona
Date:June 3, 2011

completely satisfied!!!

Pros: feels like quality
Model Number: D7000 DLSR
"I was going to buy a canon 7d but I am completely satisfied with D7000 love the 18-200mm lens do need to change lens this is the perfect all around lens. Love the HD 1080p video I have never had such perfect pictures in my life makes me feel like a pro, and the video is so easy to shoot. Every day I like it more and more I learn something new each day that I use this camera. Like I said You will not find anything better later. And you will never regret buying this camera. I only wish I buy it sooner."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Oswego, OR
Date:April 29, 2011

Wowie!! Can you believe it?!

Pros: adaptable to my ai lenses of the past., great dvd for instruction, software to work with your photos.
Cons: add a larger card (32gig) and a lens filter
Model Number: Nikon D7000
"I have agonized jumping from film to digital until now.
I have a color darkroom and a F-3 that will no longer be used!
This camera is superb. What a tool to enter all the aspects of digital photography - from clicking, filing, manipulation, to publishing.
"
Review 16 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 23, 2011

Great purchase

Model Number: D7000
"Will take time to learn all the bells and whistles. Taking beautiful pictures anyway......it will only get better."
Review 17 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:March 22, 2011

D7000-Not for the faint of Heart.

Pros: greast resolution, package has good value
Cons: lens in this kit less than ideal, camera requires tweaking to get great results
Model Number: Nikon D7000
"After having heard many positive and negative reviews of this product, I decided to take the plunge. Having used 4 different SLR's in the past 3 years, I can say that this particular one is a little more difficult to get great results with. Not that it can't be done, but this particular camera has characteristics unlike previous Nikon offerings. The Focus and Metering has quirks that if you can overcome them, you have an awesome camera. I've not made up my mind yet whether this was a good buy."
Review 18 for Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VR II lens
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:March 11, 2011

Would recommend with reservations.

Pros: a whopping 16 megapixels, produces some amazing shots, the lens is incredible for its wide range
Cons: exposure is sometimes way off, not great with difficult lighting at times
"I am a Nikon devotee. And I have been for forty years. I own this camera and the D90. I find the D90 much more reliable for getting the exposure right.
This camera does take some incredibly detailed shots, and for the most part, it gets the exposure correctly. But every once in a while, too often, it blows the exposure, completely, sometimes even giving me a totally black picture.
The specs are great, and for the price, you get quite a camera with 16 megpxls. Compared to a few years ago, this is nothing less than dynamite. But, I find the D90 does a much, much better job at getting a correct exposure.
And more than that, I find that the sensor in the D90 produces much better results than the D7000 when there is complex lightning.
The lens, 18-200mm, is a no-brainer. A remarkable lens that you should be incredibly happy with. It's razor sharp and is capable of producing remarkable shots for its long range of focal length.
I'd buy this again, and recommend this with the caveat above, but Nikon should have done a better job. A much better job."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.