Customer Reviews for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer

Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer

DELIVERY, INSTALLATION & HAUL AWAY ARE INCLUDED IN THE PURCHASE PRICE OF THE WASHER. Features: Model: WTW4910XQ Super Capacity Plus 3.5CuFt    4 Water Temperatures 5 Water Levels   White Porcelain Wash Basket   Normal - Regular Cycle   Normal - Light Cycle   Normal - Heavy Cycle   Delicate Cycle   Extra Rinse Cycle   4 Soil Levels   Status Indicator   Liquid Bleach Dispenser   Fabric Softener Dispenser   Dimensions: Height: 43" Depth: 26" Width: 27"   Included Accessories: 4ft Power cord attached 4ft Inlet hose   Delivery is made to the member's home; Quality Express will uncrate the unit and install it. The dimensions of the installation location must be appropriate for the new appliance. If damage is found, the member is to refuse DELIVERY OF THE UNIT . Whirlpool Quality Express will arrange to redeliver a new unit. Packaging materials will be removed and hauled away. Location of new appliance must be within reach of existing electrical outlets, venting outlets, water lines and / or drains. Quality Express cannot upgrade electrical outlets, wiring and / or plumbing to accommodate installation. All necessary installation accessories are provided to members free of charge. EXAMPLE: water tubing for refrigerators, venting for electric dryers, power cords for electric dryers. Item will be connected to: venting outlets, electrical outlets and water shutoff valves. For safety reasons, old accessory items cannot be reused, they will remain on / in the old appliance that is moved or hauled away. Proper functionality will be tested and confirmed on all installed appliances. At the member's direction, old like product will be moved to another location on the premises or hauled away and disposed of. REMOVAL AND HAUL AWAY IS NOT AVAILABLE FOR BUILT-IN OR COMMERCIAL GRADE APPLIANCES. INSTALLATION IS NOT AVAILABLE FOR ANY DISHWASHERS, ICE MAKERS, BUILT-IN OR GAS APPLIANCES.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
(out of 30 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
7
22 of 30(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Review 1 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Westport, Washington state
Date:August 5, 2011

Less CuFt than my last Washer

Pros: drain & spin option, rinse & spin option, no soap dispenser, smaller tub
Model Number: WTW4910XQ0
"My machine arrived about a week after I ordered it. First thing I noticed was that the over all size was smaller than my older Lady Kenmore.
the delivery service people were very helpful and answered all my questions in a professional manner.
I would like to address the one comment by a reviewer who wrote that he/she was unable to add cloths after the machine was started. Unless I have a newer model, I am able to on mine by pressing the START button. Whatever cycle the machine is in it stops and unlocks the lid. Press the start button again and proceeds on the cycle it was in. Press and hold the Start button for three seconds, and it cancels whatever cycle it is in.
Now to the details. The group of switches on the far left is the Load size, ranging from EX Small-Small-Med-Large and Super. Next is the Temperature control which has the settings of Cold-Cool-Warm and Hot. On the right of that group is this odd Fabric Softener On or Off with the option of an Extra Rinse . Fabric softener is dispensed from inside the agitator
The large dial to the far right is the washing cycle with Normal Heavy-Regular and Light and Casual Normal -Regular and Light.
Two interesting features also on the Dial is the Drain & Spin and a Rinse & Spin.
Drain and Spain is for thick items like comforters and towels than you may want to remove excess water before you place in the dryer. There is no water used in this function
The Rinse and Spin is a great option for me if you have pet hair or sand in your laundry and want it to go through an extra rinse cycle.
Now my machine has two options that are now displayed or mentioned in the manual and that is a Soak cycle and a Super Wash.
Laundry tip # 1: to retain the color of say newly purchased cloths, soak in the Soak cycle with the minimum amount of water and 1 cup of distilled white vinegar.
Laundry tip # 2: Do you ever get those dark oil-grease stains that are almost impossible to remove? Purchase a can of liquid lighter fluid and pour a small amount on the stain, enough to cover and wash as usual. I can almost guarantee those stains will come out.
The only complaints I have with this model is that there is no detergent dispenser. The manual just calls for you to dump the detergent in first then add then add your laundry.
Second complaint is the small tub. Smaller than my last washer.
Over all I am fairly pleased with my machine . It cleans sufficiently"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:June 13, 2011

Great Value - It's Worth the Try

Pros: love the ex-small load feature
Cons: can't load while water is running
Model Number: WTW4910XQ0
"As usual Costo is a great place to shop. Picked up the washing machine yesterday, two Costo employees loaded it in my small SUV and I was impressed with how comfortably it fit. Having a Kenmore that lasted over 17 years I wanted another top loader with a full agitator. I also wanted a washer that would fill up while it was being loaded ... I had to compromise since based on my on line research and from visiting various stores I found our that most (if not all) washing machines now have a lid lock as standard. Once I had it all ready to go I threw in a load of towels and was suprised at the weired sounds it made. Washing takes longer as you have to load the clothes first, then start it. I sat in front of it and listened to it click, hum, and make other weird noises. I thought it was defective but it's just how it works. Takes longer to fill with water than my old unit (of same capacity) so I know it's not a water pressure problem. Over all it cleans fine and is quieter than the one I replaced, I can now also do an extra small wash which could not happen previously. I'll miss my old washer but willing to work with this one."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:April 25, 2012

Cleans really well, spins almost dry

Pros: cleans really well., spins to almost dry
Cons: locks on start. hard to add items after starting
"I wanted to purchase the simplest washer out there, as the more whistles and bells you have, the more likely something can go wrong. This is a non-fancy washer, but it does have some bells and whistles.
My wash comes out CLEAN! it even cleaned the towel i used to wash the grit off my car wheels. It is very quiet. When it makes noise it is because of an uneven balance, at which point it turns itself off. If your clothes come out wet it is because it was unable to spin it dry. The spin cycle is AWESOME. My clothes come out virtually dry. So while the washer takes a long time to wash clothes (much longer than my previous machine), the clothes dry in no time, so it evens out time wise, but saves me money on energy as drying is expensive. I
It does seem large enough to wash king comforter, though it might be tight. We washed a queen comforter. Does have a central rotating cylinder to clean, which may be a positive or negative for you."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2011

Not heavy duty

Pros: costco, price, quick and convenient delivery
Cons: not a heavy use washer, lid locks are annoying
"This replaced a 9 year-old Kenmore, that at the time was about the same price. This washer seems tempramental when it comes to draining, takes some time for anything to happen once you press start, and includes a lid-lock that may or may not let you back in. I suppose it will do if I continue to run perfectly balanced smaller loads."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Rescue, CA
Date:September 17, 2011

I want good old washers

Pros: agitator
Cons: doesn't dissolve powder detergent, noisy
"The price was right on this washer, and it has an agitator and is top loading--good features. But it is very noisy and takes awhile for each cycle. It is not like the Maytag I had for so many years (which finally died). i hate the locking door. You can't fill up the washer with any water unless the door is locked. For the first few loads, I used my normal powder detergent and it made blue stains on my clothes because the washer didn't dissolve it. I found hard pieces of compacted detergent in the bottom of the washer after a cycle. I switched to a liquid detergent I don't like as well as Fresh Start, but at least it dissolves in this washer. I wish I could have a good old fashioned washing machine like the one that I had before."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Date:July 13, 2012

Good Value for Money

"I was impressed with the speedy delivery -- we ordered this on Sunday evening and on Tuesday I received a phone call saying they could deliver the next day. They also took the old washer rather than us having to wrestle it to the curb and call the garbage company for pickup.
Machine does not seem particularly noisy. I do wish it started filling with water before the clothes are loaded and the lid is closed, because I like to use liquid detergent and rinse out the cup under the water to get all the detergent into the washload.
Spin cycle is very fast. Clothes are well on their way to being dry before they hit the dryer.
I would like to see some type of shield over the fabric softener dispenser so that powdered detergent doesn't get into it by mistake.
And a choice of colours other than white would also be nice. Minor complaint, though. It washes the clothes just fine."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angles
Date:August 24, 2011

Best in base models

Pros: silent many load options wash comforter
Cons: non
"I replaced my GE washer with a whirlpool washer. I paid the same price I had paid 12 years ago. It has many new features. You cannot load additional laundry while the washer is running, this is for safety reasons. very good machine and work very well.water drain after 10 minute On pause. manufacturer must give reason for this. I liked it very much."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Petaluma
Date:June 30, 2011

Best washing machine ever purchased

Pros: cleans great & large tub
Cons: can't open lid after starting the machine to add
"I love this machine its a great buy. The clothes come out better than ever. The tub is king size able to do large comforters and rugs with out a problem. The only down fall was I could not open the lid after starting to add more items."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:September 9, 2011

Great price; excellent customer service

"Am very pleased so far with our purchase. Ordered one evening and received call quickly to arrange delivery. We spent a day looking at the appliances at the mall stores, and this model made the most sense. If you need a great washer quickly; get this and be done with it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:April 18, 2012

Outstanding product

Pros: quiet and efficent
Model Number: 648282
"Purchased this washer about a month and a half ago and am very pleased with it. It's quiet and does a great job. It takes a little longer, but the clothes come out just slightly wet meaning the spin cycle does a very good job. I have cut the dry time by a third due to the sound spin cycle."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Windsor, CA
Date:September 8, 2011

Good (if noisy) product

Model Number: WTW4910XQB
"The price was unbeatable and the performance is fine. I like the simplicity of the control settings. My only complaint is the loud squeeks the machine makes while washing and rinsing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:April 7, 2012

Clean Clothes!

"After our Kenmore washer broke, we went back to a Whirlpool. This washer is great for the money. Plus, Costco customer service is truly one of the best out there. This washer really cleans the clothes & spins them super dry. It starts a little noisy and then gets very quiet. My neighbor bought the same one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Concord, CA
Date:June 9, 2012

Best for the money

Pros: best for its price
Cons: none for its price
"This is the best for the money if you need a decent washer that gets the job done. Clothes come out clean. Machine has no fancy look, no tons of never-use features and surprisingly not making loud/annoying sound as some reviews,
Costco delivery and set up is awsome.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2013

Wish I had listened to the other reviews

Pros: washes cloths so would any other washer
Cons: noisy, long cycles
Model Number: WTW4910XQ
"Very long washing time and through most of the washing & spinning it makes the most obnoxious noises. I can't imagine why Costco continues to sell such an annoying product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stony Run, Pa.
Date:June 25, 2012

Superior to the one it replaced. (GE)

Model Number: ?
"We have no complaints and wonder how this product could have negative reviews."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:KCMO
Date:June 21, 2011

GREAT delivery!

"I know I should rave about my purchase, but after all, it's a washer. I put detergent and water in it and it makes my clothes clean. It was a good value on a good product.
The impressive part was the DELIVERY. The website said up to two weeks, but I was contacted by the delivery service the NEXT DAY. I had my new washer and was working on Laundry Mountain in less than a week.
BONUS: the nice delivery guys hooked it up, made sure it worked properly, and HAULED THE DEAD ONE AWAY!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Alamos, NM
Date:June 4, 2013

Washer is making our lives easier (and cleaner!)

Pros: handles delicates and filthy ranch clothes well, gets so clean and spins almost dry!
Cons: not as quiet as some but not crazy-loud either.
"HUGE capacity, sturdy and efficient, works perfectly. Delivery and installation was right on-target and professional."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 28, 2012

Do not buy!

Pros: hmmm
Cons: see review... plenty of them
"Takes more than an hour to wash one load of clothes, loud, small... don't plan on large loads, does not clean clothes well at all, better use liquid soap unless you want clumps stuck to your clothes after each wash. Save your time and do not buy! On a better not I love Costco!"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tigard, OR
Date:July 29, 2013

Be very careful of Warranty Dates

Pros: initially worked good
Cons: broke down way too soon
Model Number: WED4910XQ0
"This dryer appeared to work fine when I purchased and installed it in my home. 1 day after the warranty expired the dryer stopped working. Talk about bad luck. So close to the date I thought surely I could get a repair under the warranty. I called both Whirlpool and Costco, no one would help me. Very disappointed in both Costco and Whirlpool :-("
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Whirlpool® Top Load 3.5CuFt Washer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:July 15, 2011

Very Noisy

Pros: the washer seems to operate ok.
Cons: very noisy
"This washer is a new style washer from Whirlpool. The motor is no longer connected to the transmission and now the transmission is belt driven. The transmission is very noisy when the agitator is washing. The service man just left and said all of these models are noisy and if I want to keep the washer you will have to live with it. Luckily my washer is in the garage."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>