Customer Reviews for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p 2-year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
3.975 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
(out of 40 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
32 of 40(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, CO
Date:November 25, 2011

Excellent value

Pros: nice picture quality, easy to set up
Cons: sound is good though i plan to add a sound system
"This is my second Viore; the first one arrived with the plastic bent where the base inserts. I contacted Costco and they promptly arranged for the first set to be picked up and the new set arrived within 5 days. No hassles getting this resolved with Costco.
Once the new set arrived, the installation and set up was very easy. This is my first HD set and I am very pleased.
"
Review 2 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:September 12, 2011

Good Value but you'll work for it

Pros: great value but...
Cons: picture aspect control
"I'd ordinarily rate the Viore four or five stars. We've had the unit for well over a month -- and it's performing very well, just as well as a Sony at a much higher price.
However, you should be alerted to a limitation of the Viore if you're considering purchasing it. It's the lack of an automatic and/or readily accessible picture aspect (size) control. On higher end HDTV's, even low end ones like the Hannspree (which I recommend w/o reservation), there's a picture aspect setting of "automatic." This adjusts the aspect ratio (e.g., 16:9, 4:3, etc.) automatically in response to changes in the channel signal input (an ad or new program often could be delivered in an aspect ratio different from the one your TV is set to currently). Some brands, such as Samsung, have a picture size button right on the remote. Even though there's no automatic feature, it's not much of a problem to change the picture size, just a couple of clicks.
With the Viore, if you want to change the aspect ratio, it will take a minimum of EIGHT clicks on the remote. There is no dedicated picture size button on the remote. First, you click on Menu, then three more clicks to settings, then two more down to picture, then one to three more to get the right setting, then two more to remove the menu window. And you have to do this every time you want to change the picture size.
No, I'm not technologically challenged (at least, with this simple stuff). This all has been verified with both Costco Concierge Service and Viore Tech Support ("So sorry").
So if this operation that you're guaranteed to have to perform at least once, but maybe several times a viewing session doesn't bother you, go with it!
It's touch and go with me. I like the value. But I'm not sure that I want to push buttons thousands of times if I don't have to. Just thought you ought to know.
(Thanks to the hundreds of fellow Costco members who have helped me make better purchase decisions through their thoughtful and incisive product reviews)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco-Bay Area
Date:September 11, 2011

Great buy!

"We so far love this TV! We have had it for a week. We have it in our small living room and it is the perfect size. It was easy to set up with our new blu-ray player and has a great picture! Also, since my husband has a hearing problem the close captioning works great! The only thing that isn't perfect so far is the sound is not the highest stereo quality, but it is loud enough."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:September 7, 2011

Poor sound quality

Pros: price
Cons: poor sound
"The picture is great, but you will have to pick up some accessory speakers. I'm not a big sound person, but the volume changes while watching a movie are drastic and constant."
Review 5 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:September 6, 2011

Great tv, great value

Pros: value, slick looking tv
Cons: trouble with the color blue
"I bought this tv about a month ago and I could not be happier with it! The only slight issue is the screen is a little blurry when blues are in the picture. Otherwise it is great. Totally worth the money!"
Review 6 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Arizona
Date:August 25, 2011

Great value, great service, & great TV

Pros: value quality ease of setup
Cons: the manual does not cover much
Model Number: Viore LC40VF60
"Very pleased with ease of ordering, ease of setup and most of all, very good product.
Unlike other reviewers, I found no problems with sound; in fact, there are multiple adjustments available for choosing the perfect sound for you.
I had called Dish Network to find out if they had remote codes I could use to operate the set with the one Dish remote. They gave me about 8 different codes, and the first one I tried worked like a charm.
I didn't need to use Costco'help in the setup, but it was good to know that help was available.
This TV is an excellent bargain and a quality set,
"
Review 7 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:August 24, 2011

Great value, not the best sound

Pros: great picture, easy set up
Cons: tinny sound, can't have speakers and tv sound on at once
Model Number: LC40VF60
"Ordering, delivery and set up was really easy! The picture is very vibrant and clear. Once of the main reasons we purchased this from Costco was for the 2 year warranty that is included, it makes me feel safer knowing that if something happens we'll be covered and it didn't cost extra. The only con that I have is that the sound through the TV directly is a little tinny and they don't make it easy to connect an outside sound source to the TV. If you do you can't have both the TV volume on and the outside sound source on, it's one or the other. That means getting an outside sound source with a remote or getting a universal remote so that you don't have to juggle more than one."
Review 8 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Helendale, CA
Date:August 20, 2011

It happened as asvertised.

Pros: simple and clear manual
Model Number: LC40VF60
"Wow. On time delivery. This was an excellent buy. I especially liked the "Plug and Play" . Very nice picture."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So. Cal. Retired. Long time Costco customer
Date:August 19, 2011

Value TV

Pros: easy order fast delivery.
Model Number: 40"
"Picture seems vivid and clear. Purchased two for utility rooms just because I could not resist the pricing!"
Review 10 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, WA
Date:August 19, 2011

Great for the price

Pros: delivered to home, price
Cons: not as sharp a picture
Model Number: LC40VF60
"Took a chance on this brand of HDTV and not disappointed. Color is good"
Review 11 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West suburban Chicago, IL
Date:August 19, 2011

Should have known better

Pros: costco return policy :-)
Cons: tuner color
Model Number: LC40VF60
"What a piece of junk. The tuner takes FOREVER (~1/2 hr) to scan channels for setup. Once scan is complete channels randomly come and go. Picture will drop but sound continues. Also VERY slow to switch between channels. Color is awful unless you like red! Remote will only work if very close and pointed directly at the tv.And yes, I am " tech savvy" and have tried all the tricks. Have a different model, same brand ( bought elsewhere) with similar problems. Returning to Costco today!
One reason I bought this is Costco's extended warranty and return policy.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Summer home, Camano Island WA
Date:August 17, 2011

Great value

Model Number: 40" Viore LCD HD
"Easy to hook up and delivers a crisp, clear HD picture. I would have rated this 5 stars but my "Direct TV" remote would not recognize the brand, so I have to use both remotes to operate. A minor inconvenience."
Review 13 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marietta, GA
Date:August 17, 2011

Value

Model Number: #574040 Viore 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
"Great value for the price. Added 3 year Square Trade Service Plan for 5 year total protection."
Review 14 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:August 16, 2011

Not bad at all.

Cons: can't label source input, audio quality is hollow.
Model Number: LC40VF60
"The picture quality is good, not bad as a secondary TV. The power on process, however takes a bit longer, therefore making it difficult to program the Logitech Harmony universal remote to use with this TV. It's mainly also due to the way the TV souce input change implementation. Setting the Logitech remote to wait for 15 seconds solves this problem. I rated this TV with 4 stars but I think 3.5 stars would be more appropriate (better than average, less than good.)"
Review 15 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego CA
Date:August 16, 2011

Great Value

"This is a great value! the color and sound is great. We are very happy with this purchase and would buy it all over again!"
Review 16 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2011

Good entry-level flat screen

"At that price, I wasn't expecting the best quality or functionality but it meets our expectations. The picture is crisp and clear. The sound, as mentioned before, isn't the best but you can adjust various settings to find what suits you best. Installation was a snap. It will work nicely for our needs and you can't go wrong with Costco's extended warranty!"
Review 17 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, Calif
Date:August 15, 2011

False Expectations

Cons: no remote codes to sync with
Model Number: Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
"WOW! After reading all the reviews I thought I was going to get one real nice LCD HDTV. Setting it up was easy, nice stand, remote worked real good. That is where the fun stopped! Went to a HD channel (Baseball game.) There were random spots of blurred images. Other spots were crystal clear. Tried other HD channels and the images were not HD quality. Tried to get my Comcast remote to sync with the TV, but found out there are NO CODES with the VIORE TV to sync with. This means having two remotes all the time! No thanks! Only had it for one day! Took it back and got a 40" SONY, which was flawless!"
Review 18 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2011

Good Bet

"TV arrived quickly and in good condition.Picture is bright and clear. Audio is adequate for a small room. I am not using this as my primary TV but it is great for the price. I have had it for a month with no complaints."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2011

Great Deal, Good TV

Pros: great display esp. hd, lots of inputs, looks to be very well-constructed, great deal for the money
Cons: on a scale of 1-10 built-in speakers are a 5
Model Number: LC40VF60
"When our TV died, we scoured the Internet and found that this was by far the best deal for a new one. The size is nice and big but not overpoweringly so, the picture quality is excellent, and there are enough inputs on the back to meet my needs for a long, long time. On the down side, the sound is not as good as it could be--it sounds tinny out of the box--but you can adjust the levels to make it sound decent. My guess is that Viore thinks most people buying this TV have surround sound speakers anyway. Nevertheless, I am happy with the purchase."
Review 20 for Viore 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2011

Great value, Poor Packaging, Terrible Sound

Pros: great value, good display, good build
Cons: horrific sound
"The first product arrived at the door, and I couldn't help but notice that the middle of the box felt very hollow, with no padding in the center. Despite my concerns, I accepted shipment, as I didn't see any damage to the box. Alas, there was a crack on the screen when I powered it on. Thumbs up to Costco for immediately swapping it, but thumbs down to Viore for skimping on an extra piece of foam that would have prevented it.
The image quality is good, and the price point is incredible. Unfortunately, the sound quality is pretty horrific. If you close your eyes and just hear the sound, you would probably guess that the speaker is about the size of a pint of milk -- maybe a quart, at most. I was able to mitigate this with a budget sound bar, but you should almost treat this as a monitor, not a TV with speakers.
The problem, of course, is that most folks who are looking for a budget item are likely not looking to spend more money on a external speaker, so that's something you'll want to be mindful of when making this purchase. As a monitor with no sound, it's a great value. As a standalone TV, the speakers are just too terrible to recommend."
1 2 next>>