Customer Reviews for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier

Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier

The Advantage SportsRack TiltAWAY bike rack mounts right to 1.25” or 2” receivers. You can carry up to 4-bikes while allowing access to the rear cargo of a Truck/SUV or van without detaching the bike rack or taking off all the bikes. You can easily open the tailgate or rear cargo doors of a vehicle by tilting the bike rack away from the vehicle. Now all your gear is easily accessible in your vehicle and you can take more than a couple friends riding. The arms that hold the bikes in place come with Advantage saddle straps which hold the bikes securely without scratching the finish and have highly visible reflectors so drivers can see you more easily. The bike rack arms fold down then lock in place when not in use and conserve space in your garage when storing the rack away.  A hitch lock with an anti-wobble function and a 10’ cable lock are included, so you are ready to ride while your gear stays secure.  The rear mount design eliminates overhead lifting and increases fuel economy when compared to roof-mounted bike racks. Heavy-duty steel construction and corrosion-resistant black powder-coated ensures a long life. The tiltAWAY bike rack holds up to 150 lbs. and only weighs about 30 lbs. and comes with a limited lifetime warranty. Includes:   10' cable lock   Hitch lock with anti-wobble function   Adapter included to fit 2” or 1.25” receiver hitches TiltAWAY Features:   Capacity: 4 bikes   Fits 2” or 1.25” receiver hitches   Tilts away from vehicle to allow access to cargo   Advantage saddles swivel to accept women’s, BMX and complex geometry frames     Reflectors on bike rack to warn vehicles at night   Some assembly required   Dimensions: 9” L x 12” W x 37” H; Weight: 30 lbs.   Limited lifetime warranty Cable Lock Features:   5/16” cable   Vinyl coated   10’ length   2 keys included   Anti-Wobble Hitch Lock Features:   Locking hitch pin with integrated anti-wobble device   Powder coated   2 keys included Model: 3009
Average Customer Rating:
3.412 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
(out of 17 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
9 of 17(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Review 1 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2012

Cable lock won't unlock

"The cable lock seems to be jammed and won't unlock. Any other users have advice?"
Review 2 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2012

Anti-wobble Hitch Lock - I dont think so

"Ive read most of the reviews and although I agree, especially regarding the straps, I also have an issue with the 2" reciever fit. Way to sloppy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Murrieta, Ca
Date:June 29, 2012

buyer beware!!

Pros: features, price
Cons: poorly constructed, excessive wobble and bouncing
"Purchased carrier based on features, price, and Costco's reputation for backing products they sell online. Used carrier 1 time for long distance trip to Tahoe and Yosemite. Wow, what a headache! I wish I had read some of the reviews prior to purchasing the item. My mistake for not doing my due diligence. However, part of the blame must go to the buyer in charge for Costco for not doing more research on this product they chose to sell.
First of all, when assembling the unit the bolts did not fit properly and had to be hammered into place and out when folding carrier into up or down position. I noticed upper part of frame where bolts went in with cotter pin was slighltyly bent on one side. Secondly, receiver adapter did not fit snug so carrier wobbled and shaked excessively. I was so stressed and had a very uneasy feeling as I viewed bikes bouncing around quite a bit. Third problem is that the straps are way too short for mountain bikes with thicker frames and was very difficult to attach the straps. Straps will not last over time!! Finally, rubber saddles, no matter how much tightening they still slid all over the place and bikes were sliding and banging into each other and out toward the end of the carrier. I finally had to take cable lock and tie around bike frames and then wrap it around main unit of carrier to stop the sliding to the end of the unit. However, with all the bouncing our bikes still slid into one another and were scratched very badly down to the bare metal in some areas. Very disappointed! My expensive new mountain bike is scratched rather extensively.
Only saving grace is Costco's return policy......"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Diego County
Date:June 19, 2012

Tiltaway 4 bike carrier

Pros: tilt away good feature, held up nicely on freeway
Cons: wiggles, rubber straps may not last?, womens bikes difficult to put on.
"Have used this rack couple time now behind my pickup so I would be able to put other stuff in the bed. I like that it tilts. It held up on a long trip no problem but scares me that it wiggles. Rubber straps held but don't see them lasting long with this dry air. Can I order spares? womens bikes are a pain to put on. It held them, but they are at an odd angle."
Review 5 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:June 11, 2012

Shook my bike loose

"Everything looked good when I got it last year. Hooked it up to back of a camping trailer and went camping. When I got there, my kid's half bike bracket came unfastened during the drive and fell off the bike. Because of the missing part, we could not use that bike. I thought it was my fault for not tightening the bracket. This year, similar thing happened again. A nut that tighten the bike wheel came off. Another 100 miles, I might have lost the wheel too. Once again, I thought that was my fault... Before I go back home from that same camping trip, I made sure everything was tight. It happened again....... Now I know it is not my fault.
I think what happen is that because the fit between the carrier and 2X2 hitch receive is not that tight, bike carrier was shaking up and down and loosening bike parts. Also, end of 30 ft camping trailer shakes more (because camping trailers only have springs. It does not have shock absorbers to dampen the bouncing motion of the springs) I also took a look at the 1 ¼ to 2 inch adaptor. Parts of it was worn off from all the motion. I have no idea whether this carrier has looser fit with hitch receiver compared to other bike carriers of similar design. All I know is that this won’t work with travel trailer.
I seldom return a product after using it for a long time. But since I felt this was a defective product that cost me money, I returned it to Costco. Because of the fact that I could return it, this earned 2 stars. I love Costco’s return policy although I cringe when I see people returning half eaten food items."
Review 6 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2012

Only good for Boys/Men bikes

Cons: can not be used for ladies or girls bike
"Surprised to find that this can only be used for boys or men bikes. It was not mentioned in the product detail. I bought it for whole family but had to return it to Costco as I could not use it for my daughter bike."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boca Raton, FL
Date:April 9, 2012

Not a good purchase

Pros: sturdy frame
Cons: poor quality saddles and straps are too short
"Although the frame is reasonably sturdy, the saddles are of poor quality and can not be tightened enough. The straps are too short. I used it twice and the saddles slided all the way down to the end, even after I tightened them quite a bit. I even used bungee cords to avoid movement. Not a good buy if you are planning to get on the highway and go long distances."
Review 8 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:south san francisco
Date:March 5, 2012

Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier

"Pros:
Priced well compared to other name brand carriers.
Cons:
Rubber straps can easily be lost and or will tear after use.
Wobbles a lot after attached to hitch.
Some of the bolts have already started to rust.
Bolts did not fit properly, had to use "hammer" to get them to fit.
May return."
Review 9 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fresno, ca.
Date:March 5, 2012

Adbvantage bike carrier

Pros: ease of set up and loading bikes
Cons: none yet.
"They promised delivery in 7 to 10 days, it came 2 days after I ordered it. It is everything I expected from something Costco offers. Well built, easy to install. The locking hitch pin and cable to secure the bikes are added bonuses. Other carriers I checked out on line wanted more for the basic carrier and then more for the locking hitch pin and cable to secure the bikes. ."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northwes Arkansas
Date:February 29, 2012

Great product

Pros: great features, very easy to operate, heavy duty
"I was very impressed with the quality of the bicycle carrier. It was made of heavy duty material and also was loaded with very helpful features. It exceeded my expections."
Review 11 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2012

Rock-solid, good value

Pros: locking bolt & locking cable included
Model Number: Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier - Costco Item# 571209
"Very stable and well built. Amazing value compared to the big-name brands, especially given the locking bolt & locking cable. No complaints."
Review 12 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arlington, TX
Date:February 14, 2012

Tiltaway 4 bike carrier

Pros: bikes fit comfortably, able to use rack and tailgate of truck easily
Model Number: 4 Bike Carrier
"Awesome bike carrier that is as stable as it comes when hauling bikes. Has a slight wobble but nothing to be concerned with. Bikes fit comfortably in the racks without being overlapped. Tailgate on my truck was able to be completely folded down when the rack was tilted."
Review 13 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gwynedd Valley PA
Date:October 26, 2011

Perfect for our needs

"The bike carrier is even better than expected. It is sturdy and substantial, and will even carry our tandem. Good value."
Review 14 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oxnard, CA
Date:July 24, 2011

So far, so good!!!

Pros: price, sturdy, 4-bike carrier
Cons: none so far
"I find this bike carrier to be very good for the price. So far, no issues. It is sturdy and doesn't wobble while driving at a high speed. It is easy to setup/remove. However, when I was setting up the bikes on the carrier, I noticed that I had to angle the bike frames properly in order to maintain a secure strap. I was able to setup two adult mountain bikes, one 20" youth bmx, and one 20" youth mountain bike. Needless to say, people were impressed with it's capability of handling four bikes with ease. Thanks Costco!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:July 21, 2011

Good but issues exist

Pros: durable steel construction
Cons: rubber straps are not attached well and fall off.
"My only issue with the bike carrier is the rubber straps that hold the bikes to the rack. The straps are not securely attached and frequently fall off. If the straps get lost, the carrier is useless."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kirkland, WA
Date:May 26, 2011

Very good product

Pros: quality, cost, additional features
Cons: not for kids bikes
"Again kudos to Costco! Very nice suprize-holds very well our bikes! It was very nice to include antiwobble hitch lock and cable lock. We needed to purchase hitch extention, because of the way our hitch is installed, but that will be true for any other hitch bike rack."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Advantage® TiltAWAY™ 4-bike Carrier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:boise
Date:May 16, 2011

excellent product

Pros: sturdy construction
Cons: pins a bit sticky to start
"super product, comparable/better than the expensive name-brand competitors. Pleasantly surprised when I opened the package!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.