Customer Reviews for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®

Internet Streaming: Netflix® & YouTube™, HDMI Cable Included
Average Customer Rating:
3.113 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
(out of 62 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
20
33 of 62(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Review 1 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:May 5, 2011

This is a great BDP

Pros: excellent player, great picture quality, easy to setup and use
Cons: none at all
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX57 & 58
"I own three of these, two are BX57's and the newest is a BX58. Never any trouble with any of them and the oldest is over 18 months old. To the person who complained that the unit kept dropping the wireless signal and pausing, get a better router and make sure it is streaming info at a sufficiant rate. To the person who complained about software and updates, welcome to the world of electronics. If you would check you would find out that most of these players need software installed to stream Netflix and they will all periodically need updates. Again, check your network speed and signal strength! I have three of these, a WII, a PS3, a XBOX 360, and a home computer all running wirelessly and for a test I streamed a different movie from Netflix on each device at the same time, no pauses, no stops, no lags, and no loss of signal on any of them. It is not the player, it is your internet network speed and setup."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:July 20, 2011

Excellent Purchase

Pros: good value, great performance, costco re-assurance
Cons: lacks a qwerty remote
Model Number: BDPBX58
"I was a bit worried after reading some of these reviews on here, but after 2 weeks of use, I can honestly say that I have experienced none of the problems that some of the other reviewers claim other than the buffering when trying to stream HD content. But that is only because my internet speed cannot handle HD content (1.5M = slow)(: When streaming SD content, there is no buffering. In other words, the player is not at fault with the buffering. If you can't stream HD smoothly from your computer, then you certainly will not be able to stream it through your Blu-Ray player.
As for the performance of the player, I have played Blu-Ray, 3D Blu-Ray, DVD, and recorded DVD-R discs with no problems. I was able to connect the Wi-Fi to my modem in a matter of a few minutes and was streaming video with no connectivity problems. I did have to do an update for You Tube, but that only took about 10 minutes."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sebastopol CA
Date:October 9, 2011

Expected better from Sony and Costco

Model Number: Sony BDP-BX58
"Sony has been a brand that I've usually trusted and I've trusted Costco to carry the good quality units of a brand. I'm disappointed in both as their attempt to sell a low cost blu-ray/wi-fi ready vcr such as this.
Pros:
nice looking, thin profile unit;
decent remote control
easy to set up with HDMI cord provided (I didn't try the wi-fi, so I can't comment on that)
Fairly simple controls
Decent picture and upscaling of regular DVDs.
Cons:
Slow to start
Noisy to run with a "whirring" sound while it searches
Slow to go search
No image on your TV in between sections and when you search or go between sections
If you stop the video for an extended period (like overnight) it does not remember where you left off
The wi-fi does not benefit from dual band (faster 5GHz) modems
poor instruction manual (not unusual today)
No optical audio out
One plus is that it should be easy to repack so I can take it back to Costco (my favorite store in part because of the return policy.)
Oh well, can't win them all.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:January 31, 2012

Should be great, but it's not.

Pros: good interface
Cons: drops connection, freezes
Model Number: BX-58
"After purchasing and returning an AppleTV and Roku XS, I thought I had finally found a winner with the Sony BX-58. It connected perfectly with my network and streamed movies from my hard drive in my basement. However, that is where the fun ended. This player CONSTANTLY lost connection to the internet - even though it showed as being connected to my home network with nearly full strength. The reason for this is that Sony makes all services run through their servers before connecting to sites like Hulu or Netflix. This results in constant buffering problems and lost connections. In addition, the player freezes and often requires a hard reset (unplugging). It's going back to Costco tomorrow.
I just don't understand how the XBox360 can connect to streaming video services flawlessly, with this player and Roku doing such a poor job. The only other media player that comes close to being fantastic is the AppleTV. Unfortunately, Apple doesn't have Hulu, which is a dealbreaker for me."
Review 5 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bend, OR
Date:January 5, 2012

Love It!

"I stream Netflix on several TV's but my main TV did not have online capability. I purchased this Sony DVD Player to add that service & internet. I had only one problem in setup and called the Costco Concierge for help. My wireless code uses some upper case letters and the instructions do not give you an option for that. Together we discovered if you press the 1 2 3 button on the remote twice you get upper case. Problem solved. Everything else was perfect. I love it, it was so simple to set-up and use even with my old TV, and the wireless adaptor is built in for additional savings!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:February 4, 2012

Flawless Blu-ray

Pros: easy set-up, ipod/iphone remote
Model Number: BDP-BX58
"I purchased this Blu-ray in April after going through all the others that Costco had. Each one had issues of one kind or another until I tried this one. I have had absolutely no challenge with ANYTHING with this Blu-ray. So I've recently purchased another one for another room in my house as well as one for my parents.
My favorite parts: streaming video options (Hulu Plus was a big draw), and the fact that my iPhone and my mom's iPod can work for remotes when the input requires a keyboard. This was easy to connect the first time, and even easier the second, because now all my information (Pandora/Amazon) are all saved with my Sony Bravia account. The second time took about 5 minutes to be fully functional from out of the box.
My least favorites: keyboard input from the remote is a challenge. I don't know what else could be done to make me more happy with this Blu-ray."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Jackson, WY
Date:April 29, 2011

Buyer beware

Pros: all the sony owned networks access perfectly
Cons: software required not included with unit
Model Number: BDP-BX58
"I recently helped my neighbor connect her Netflix ready Blu Ray Disc Player. (purchased at COSTCO) It was so easy we were streaming a movie in the time it took to make a pot of tea. I was convinced, I had to have one. I have been a loyal SONY customer for 35 years, so I bought a SONY, but this purchase is going back ASAP. The hook up went like silk, clicked on Netflix and unit said a new software version was required. 6 hours later after every online instruction was exhausted I called SONY and ordered the update disc.
Waited a week for the disc, inserted it, downloaded the new software, easy as 1, 2, 3, sat back ready to stream my first movie and now get a message an even newer software update is available. You can not access Netflix until you download the new update, period. This Wifi unit downloads via internet the entire update (8 minutes just as before) then says sorry try again later. I could wait another week for the new disc but by then will there be an even newer update?
This is going back and I'm purchasing the brand my neighbor has.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santee, CA
Date:May 3, 2011

Outstanding BluRay Player

Pros: easy setup wireless, extensive steaming abilities
Cons: not made in usa
"I found this player to be far better than the two Samsungs I took back because they were too sensitive about which type DVDs they play. This is the latest of several Sony DVD players I have purchased over the years. Some of the other reviews spoke of problems but my player set up easy and connected perfectly with Netflix, Pandora and all of the other services listed for the player. WiFi works perfect One thing I like is that the Sony units play the discs I have recorded from TV, family movies, etc... some of the other players are selective about the type of disc they will play."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Date:September 24, 2011

Very nice, easy to set up

Pros: simple setup, size
Model Number: BDP-BX58
"I buy, I install, I use. How could it be better? Got it going in minutes, plus another 15 or so to connect Netflix. Pay no attention to the lady who couldn't set it up, it's very straightforward.
Very happy with this purchase."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 2, 2011

Excellent value for money

Pros: easy setup, seamless wireless connection, superb playback on dvds and blu-rays, quick startup, ability to use smartphone as remote
Cons: none so far
Model Number: BDP BX58
"I had just written a lengthy review and then my browser unexpectedly quit so going to keep it short and sweet....
So here it is: easy set up, easy menu navigation, wireless connection setup took all of 2 seconds with no problems and streams beautifully. Superb picture whether playing regular DVDS or Blu-ray. Haven't watched a 3D movie on it yet so can't comment there.
Had reservations buying this player due to the numerous poor reviews which all seem to be due to people having problems with the wireless connection. After my seamless experience with it, I would have to agree with the other reviewer here who appears to be more tech savvy than I, that most people's troubles are due to the quality of their home network signal and/or equipment rather than the fault of the player. For the record I have hi-speed cable via Comcast for my internet service, a DOCSIS 3.0 modem and for my Wi-Fi I use an Airport Extreme which is dual-band 802.11n.
Also downloaded the latest update for the player and no issues there either. All in all I love this player so far and unless it prematurely dies on me as it has with some people I will be totally happy with keeping it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Simi Valley, California.
Date:November 24, 2011

Tremendous Value

Pros: it has a ton of apps which include netflix hulu
Cons: internet browser is weak.
"I hate the Samsung Blue-ray Disc Player, and I plan not to buy a dvd player from this company again.
I bought this model to replace my Samsung, and I am quite satisfied.
The device has wi-fi n built into the device, and does not require a separate U.S.B antenna like the Samsung device. The Samsung wi-fi adapter cost me an extra $79.99.
It has all the necessary software needed to run Netflix or Hulu. You will have to register on Sony's website.
It was a simple process. It took several minutes to get up and running.
I have the Hulu-Plus on my Sony Play Station 3, and there is something about Hulu that is not user friendly. I They really should try to follow Netflix's example. I find the Netflix to be more intuitive. I think this device is no different.
I have an older HD television set that requires component cables. It was easy switching from the default HDMI to component.
I was thinking of buying a Roku device at $99.99, but i would have had to buy special component cables for an additional ten dollars. In addition, I would have to order directly from Roku for the XDS. This was a better value. It offers the same amount of apps like Netflix and Hulu-Plus with the added benefit of Blue-ray movies.
If you want B.D. live content from your player, you will need to add a memory stick on the U.S.B. port on the back of the player. I am using a 2 gig memory stick.
I have had no problems with this device, so far!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:June 5, 2011

Great product; two BIG weaknesses (IMHO)

Pros: solid product (see other reviews)
Cons: internet menu confusing (if your sony tv has it), does not play all dvd-rs/dvd+rs
Model Number: BDP BX58
"I agree with the many pro's listed by others. It *IS* a great product, especially in general and for the BRAVIA sync feature (if you have a Sony BRAVIA TV, receiver, etc.).
BUT the Internet streaming menu is duplicated in the BRAVIA TV which makes NO SENSE whatsoever! (Which Internet menu are you on, you are constantly asking yourself.) AND it does not play many DVD-R and DVD+R (home recorded) DVDs well at all -- do NOT get rid of your old DVD player
Also, Sony's using JAVA is probably why menu selection is slow (JAVA has never lived up to the hype)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cali
Date:April 27, 2011

We are buying more!

"Now that some rental stores are closing and we don't have cable, this would be perfact to purchase. We have netflicks instant and DVD and we have internet. No need to buy cable with this."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sparks, NV
Date:August 4, 2011

Great product

Model Number: Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
"This is the 2nd one of these models purchased. Easy to set-up, really easy to use and I love that I don't have to go through the Wii to use Netflix.
I recommend it highly.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:April 28, 2011

Wireless Streaming Not as Expected

Pros: blu-ray picture
Cons: wireless streaming very poor
"I purchased this Blu-ray player so that I could stream Netflix to my tv wirelessly. This player constantly stops streaming and says "loading" since the connection has slowed. During the time when it is loading, you can't press anything. In fact, it was so bad I ordered the Sony wireless adapter so I could plug it directly into my tv - it seems to work great and downloads very quickly. I plugged it into the Blu-ray and it has not had the pauses for loading the connection since. I ordered the Sony Blu-ray player without wifi and will just plug in the adapter since it works much better. However, the quality of the Blu-ray is good and I like the menu with lots of apps and options."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Payson AZ-Scottsdale AZ Costco
Date:August 30, 2011

Excellant value

Model Number: BDP-BX58
"Hooked it up-plugged it in-been working beautifully ever since without a hitch. Even the update was seamless."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Beautiful Santa Barbara, CA
Date:August 19, 2011

Good Enough for Netflix Streaming and DVDs

Pros: good for watching netflix streams, can watch video stored on a usb hard drive, can watch video stored on a flash drive
Cons: remote is basic and keying in text is a drag, will not work with other free sites like abc
"Have had this for some months and find it Good Enough for Netflix Streaming and DVDs.
If you want to watch shows from sites like ABC or FOX you will be looking for another product like Roku or Apple TV or hooking your computer to your TV as I currently do.
Using your ipod touch like a remote is a waste and offers no know features not offered in the regular remote...Would have been very nice to be able to use the ipod touch as a way to key in text.
Keying in text is such a bother and navigating websites is so difficult that this is a royal pain for web surfing.
Will pay videos stored on a hard drive or Flash Drive so if you have a way to download videos from your computer and then load to a hard drive with USB you may watch on your TV with this device.
I have yet to try to access videos on my Networked Attached Storage (NAS) to see if that will work."
Review 18 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2011

Don't recommend

"I used it only for a few hours, so I can't give it a thorough review. I got it connected, and it played a DVD just fine. Then I established the wireless network connection, which also went fine. After that, I used the network connection to get the latest update to the firmware. It was taking a long time (not unexpected), so I left the room for a while. When I got back, the system had powered off, but I don't know why. Was it normal? Did we have a momentary power outage that I did not notice? When I tuned it back on, it did not work; it just flashed "Waiting" on the front. I called Sony, and they said it was messed up. So, I decided to return it. After reading the other reviews on this site, I am going to buy something else. I don't want to risk having it die every time I do a firmware update."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:May 9, 2011

Bad vibration, Netflix won't stream

Cons: loud vibration, poor streaming performance
Model Number: BDP-BX57
"I have the BDP-BX57 bought at Costco. After three months of regular use, it has developed a severe vibration which you can hear as a thrumming sound during playback and if you pick up the unit it shakes very strongly in your hands. After struggling to get SW downloaded to support Netflix, it's useless - won't sustain the stream without buffering then dropping the stream. Same Netflix stream works just fine to a PC on the same wireless network."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:January 3, 2012

Sony blu-ray

"This player works great and streams from netflix without problems. We don't use 3D but this gives us the option for the future and was less expensive to get this player than other non-3D players with Wi-Fi added. It's hard to go wrong with Sony products and this interfaces with our Sony t.v. seamlessly. We can also play movies directly from our portable hard drive with a USB connection, which we can't do on our other brand player."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>