Customer Reviews for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®

Internet Streaming: Netflix® & YouTube™, HDMI Cable Included
Average Customer Rating:
3.113 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
(out of 62 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
20
33 of 62(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Review 1 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Jonesboro, GA
Date:March 27, 2012

Not a great product

Cons: slow and intermittant
"I purchased this Blue-ray player thinking that I would have the same satisfaction that I usually have with Sony products, but this was far from satisfactory. The main complaint I have is how slow it operates when trying to do anything. Downloading Neftlix movies worked about 50% of the time - otherwise I received a "Network Error" message. I tried playing Pandora and it would not get past the first song, then..."Network Error". Also, it took a long time for the player to pick up the wireless network. I had to wait at least 3 min. for it to register the wifi. The blue-ray player itself was ok, but took a long time for the movie to actually play. This player is below average at best."
Review 2 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:March 25, 2012

Terribly Frustrating Experience

Pros: none
Cons: too many
"I can't say one positive thing about this product. Would not update firmware, even though it said my internet connection was fine. Would not connect to Netflix, even though it said my internet connection was fine. Terribly slow connecting to the internet, even though it said my internet connection was fine. Kept getting network connection failure message, then checked connections in settings and it always said it was fine. I am bringing this back tomorrow and purchasing a different brand, I really wish I checked the reviews first, because this rates pretty lousy on almost every site I can find. Oh well, thank god Costco has the best return policy."
Review 3 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tulare, California
Date:March 3, 2012

What a Letdown!

Pros: not terribly expensive., easy to hook-up to tv, multiple and diverse streaming options
Cons: unable to establish a quick internet connection, unbearable loud humming sound
Model Number: BDP-BX58
"After reading over 50 reviews of the BDP-BX58 I was fairly confident I would be purchasing a product that would be reliable, somewhat simple to connect and I'd be able to enjoy it for both the internet options as well as disc playback. It was very easy to hook up to my TV. I had registered it before I even took it out of the box so when it came time to program it I could stream movies and music immediately. It was a snap. Right? WRONG. Even though I have a high-speed connection and my last blu-ray player streamed videos without problems it took five hours to get it to accept already-established accounts. It repeatedly gave the message that there was no internet connection. I took it on the maiden voyage of using it for the first time by playing a disc. The loud buzzing noise was so bad it even overwhelmed the volume of the dialogue. The good thing was that at least the buzz fluctuated in intensity. The streaming of the videos was marginally better, but still constantly evident. There was not even one other reviewer that wrote of the obnoxious sound interference (that I read), so it was a surprise that a Sony electronic product failed on such a fundamental level. It goes back on Monday."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Livermore, CA
Date:February 26, 2012

Great purchase

Pros: internet, great picture on the upconvert, price
Cons: netflix streaming through sony's server
Model Number: BDP-BX58
"This is a great purchase. I have a flat screen in the living room that still works great, but I bought before internet TV was really big. I wanted a Blu-ray player and internet TV. This got me both for $120!! Easy to set up - just follow the instructions. I even use my iPad as the remote which helps speed up the Netflix searches. I love using Pandora through the TV as well. I liked the utility so much, I went back and bought a 2nd one to hook up to the TV in the bedroom. Only complaint is that, since the internet streams through Sony's server, it'll sometimes hang up during high traffic. Can be frustrating to have the streaming freeze for 30 seconds in the middle of a program. Most of the time, it's great, but it's happened to us a few times."
Review 5 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:February 20, 2012

Disappointing

Model Number: BDP-BX58, aka BDP-S580
"Played Blu-Ray discs well.
However, it could not stream Netflix for more than 5-7 minutes at a time without stopping to rebuffer. I am on a connection that tests out at a sustained 800kBps (6.5Mbs) and the Sony would simply stop midway through streaming with zero transfer, and then start buffering again.
It does this with any Netflix movie I tried, and it happened at various times of the day.
Also, when playing Pandora feeds, it is impossible to rate up or rate down a song.
I did not have either of these two problems when I used an original Roku box on the same connection.
Both of these are absolute dealbreakers for a device that is being used primarily for streaming media.
It will be returned."
Review 6 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2012

Don't waste your money. Purchase Samsung instead.

Pros: ease of setup
Cons: netflix streaming
"I purchased this product based on past experiences with sony. What a mistake. The unit felt light and cheaply made. I downloaded the latest firmware and set up the unit up fairly easily. The main reason I purchased this unit was to stream netflix video. The unit took forever to connect to netflix and throughout movies, the unit would stop constantly and display a buffering message . Very frustrating and no help contacting Sony. I then purchased the Samsung BD-D6500 unit and the netflix streaming worked perfectly with no buffering whatsoever. DVD function also worked beautifully. The Samsung unit felt well made compared to the Sony. I then returned the Sony to Costco for a full refund."
Review 7 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sparta, NJ
Date:February 18, 2012

Look at no other

Pros: price $$$, plays ntfs formatted drives, this is identical to the bdp-580
Model Number: BDP-58
"Sony has redeemed it's name.
This is a great player and media player.
It plays every disk I have put into the machine.
It has played all formats of files.
Yes, it plays NTFS formated drives. Very few do.
The internet content it great
And the wireless worksd without a problem.
I'm willing to bet those that are having issues have the played in a cabinet or have their router set up incorrectly."
Review 8 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:OAK PARK, CA.
Date:February 13, 2012

EXCELLENT BLU-RAY PLAYER

Pros: ease of use
Cons: a bit noisy when reading a bluray disc
Model Number: BDP-BX58
"I hooked up this player not knowing what to expect. Setting up the wifi was easy, and also my TV is a Sony product, so there was no problem linking up the player to TV. I use Netflix on this machine all the time. I saw a bluray movie and couldn't be happier. The machine is very low profile and is a joy to operate. This machine replaces a DVD player because the other one was too complicated."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, California
Date:February 5, 2012

Worst Purchase Ever

"Horrible, the internet conncection is the worst, I have reset it up about 6 times and it does not retain it. Do Not Buy. Bought on January 25 th, 2012 and returning on February 6, 2012."
Review 10 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:February 4, 2012

Flawless Blu-ray

Pros: easy set-up, ipod/iphone remote
Model Number: BDP-BX58
"I purchased this Blu-ray in April after going through all the others that Costco had. Each one had issues of one kind or another until I tried this one. I have had absolutely no challenge with ANYTHING with this Blu-ray. So I've recently purchased another one for another room in my house as well as one for my parents.
My favorite parts: streaming video options (Hulu Plus was a big draw), and the fact that my iPhone and my mom's iPod can work for remotes when the input requires a keyboard. This was easy to connect the first time, and even easier the second, because now all my information (Pandora/Amazon) are all saved with my Sony Bravia account. The second time took about 5 minutes to be fully functional from out of the box.
My least favorites: keyboard input from the remote is a challenge. I don't know what else could be done to make me more happy with this Blu-ray."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naples, FL
Date:February 3, 2012

Great DVD player

"Set up was very easy, worked right off with our wireless, came with an HDMI cable in the box. All the internet based TV services are something, our other blu ray DVD just had NetFlix and Hulu on it, this one has those as well as Amazon and many others. It does take a while to turn on but that's because we have it in the mode to conserve power as we used it may once a day."
Review 12 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:February 2, 2012

issues with internet connection

Pros: dvd player seemed to work ok
Cons: bad manual, internet very unstable or wouldn't work at all
"internet access is poor - was able to connect to netflix account once but was very slow - tried roku box on same connection and it worked fine. After connecting once, it never would connect to netflix again. Also wouldn't bring up pandora. it indicated i was connected -the browser would work so there was actually a connection - but would then never actually bring up netflix or pandora."
Review 13 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:January 31, 2012

Should be great, but it's not.

Pros: good interface
Cons: drops connection, freezes
Model Number: BX-58
"After purchasing and returning an AppleTV and Roku XS, I thought I had finally found a winner with the Sony BX-58. It connected perfectly with my network and streamed movies from my hard drive in my basement. However, that is where the fun ended. This player CONSTANTLY lost connection to the internet - even though it showed as being connected to my home network with nearly full strength. The reason for this is that Sony makes all services run through their servers before connecting to sites like Hulu or Netflix. This results in constant buffering problems and lost connections. In addition, the player freezes and often requires a hard reset (unplugging). It's going back to Costco tomorrow.
I just don't understand how the XBox360 can connect to streaming video services flawlessly, with this player and Roku doing such a poor job. The only other media player that comes close to being fantastic is the AppleTV. Unfortunately, Apple doesn't have Hulu, which is a dealbreaker for me."
Review 14 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:January 30, 2012

Horrible wireless connection

Model Number: BDP-BX58
"Horrible wireless connection. If you are thinking to buy this BD to use the wireless (built in) capability, forget it. I placed my device at less than 20 feet away from my wireless router and the signal had a 50% degradation. Internet connection is impossible. More than 1 hour at phone with customer service. Solution, I am returning my BDP-BX58 to Costco."
Review 15 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:January 29, 2012

Lots to like, poor manual, limited remote features

Pros: many streaming video choices, easy setup including wireless, slim design, great value
Cons: vizio tvs not controlled by remote, remote too limited, confusing manual, search is difficult
Model Number: Sony BDP BX-58
"The setup (including wireless) is easy; it has many streaming video choices plus music, photos and internet. The manual is good for the cabling setup and playing videos, but downhill after that. Poor explanation of how connect an iphone/android device. The remote has quite limited features (e.g., no repeat, slow motion, etc.).
Costco customers note: The remote does not have a code to control Vizio TVs Searching for content is painful unless you are using an iPhone etc. device. I'm returning it; I can live without these features until this is easier to use."
Review 16 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 29, 2012

Doesn't work

Model Number: Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
"Bought this so we could watch Blu-ray and internet videos. The only internet sites allowed are the ones listed on the box. You cannot watch videos from just any site. After about 3 weeks the device froze up and would not play a disc or anything from the internet. I took it back and am looking for something with more access to the internet."
Review 17 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:January 26, 2012

Coolest player I have used!

Pros: full of features, almost can play everything, dlna and wifi features are cool
Cons: manual difficult to understand, difficult to set up, iphone remote control can't show track details
Model Number: BDP-BX58
"It can play almost all the format I can think of! You can play blu-ray movies, music files, and movies on your PC, on your flash drives, or on a DVD you burned. It also can access Internet to watch movies from movie web sites.
Yet the set up is not easy. The user manual is too brief. It took me a while to set it up although I have master's degree in EE. One thing I am not satisfied with is that the iPhone remote control software can't show song or movie titles. Therefore, in order to know what I am playing, I have to turn on my TV. Otherwise you can only do "blind playing.""
Review 18 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2012

great value

Pros: easy to setup
"Very easy to install. I have not used the blu ray player as I purchased it primarily for streaming internet content. But I highly recommend this item because of the simplicity of setting it up."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:January 24, 2012

Excellent DVD player

Pros: can use my ipod touch as a remote
Cons: none
"Great dvd player, with the wifi they have come a long way. I have only used the streaming one time and it seems great.
The price was awesome the picture quality is awesome. The only reason I gave it only 4 stars is because I haven't used every feature at this point and really can't give it a five until I do. (if everything works well)
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eagle Rock, CA
Date:January 20, 2012

Great Movie Player

Pros: wi-fi
"I bought this Blue ray player one year ago for my kids. It's been great, the wi-fi is really good. The quality is good, the kids are very rough with the player and press all the buttons all day and it is working fine. I will get one for my room this year."
1 2 3 4 next>>